DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-27, 30-36 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 22 includes limitations directed towards 22. (New) The target system of claim 21, the target face further including a locking support. The closest art of record Fernandez teaches the locking plate but is silent with regards to the locking support. The prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest the above-identified limitations, and claim 22 is therefore allowed.
Claim 25 includes limitations directed towards 25. (New) The target system of claim 21, the target face further including a target stem. The closest art of record Fernandez teaches a target face but is silent with regards to the target stem. The prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest the above-identified limitations, and claim 25 is therefore allowed.
Claim 30 includes limitations directed towards 30. (New) The target system of claim 21, wherein the locking plate includes an opening to the second aperture through an exterior edge of the locking plate. The closest art of record Fernandez teaches the locking plate but is silent with regards to an opening to the second aperture through an exterior edge of the locking plate. The prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest the above-identified limitations, and claim 30 is therefore allowed.
Claim 32 includes limitations directed towards 32. (New) The target system of claim 21, wherein the locking plate includes an opening to the first aperture through an exterior edge of the locking plate, the opening and the second aperture having the same width. The closest art of record Fernandez teaches the locking plate but is silent with regards to an opening to the first aperture through an exterior edge of the locking plate, the opening and the second aperture having the same width. The prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest the above-identified limitations, and claim 32 is therefore allowed.
Claim 33 includes limitations directed towards 33. (New) The target system of claim 21, wherein the second aperture is defined by a first tab and a second tab in the locking plate. The closest art of record Fernandez teaches the locking plate but is silent with regards to the second aperture as claimed in the locking plate. The prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest the above-identified limitations, and claim 33 is therefore allowed.
Double Patenting
A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claims 21, 28-29 and 33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2 and 5-6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,030,944 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain substantially similar subject matter.
For example, Claim 21 of the instant invention and claim 1 of the ‘944 patent both contain elements directed towards a locking plate, apertures and a target face being similar in scope. Claim 29 of the instant invention is similar to claim 2 of the ‘944 patent in that both contain a locking plate includes a third aperture. Claim 33 of the instant invention contains limitations directed towards a first aperture being defined by a first tab and a second tab disposed within the locking plate is similar to claim 5 of the ‘944 patent. Claim 28 of the instant invention includes limitations directed towards a target face further including a target similar to claim 6 of the ‘944.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 28-29 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fernandez (US 20170343324 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Fernandez teaches 21. (New) A target system, comprising: a locking plate having a first aperture and a second aperture, where the first aperture is wider than the second aperture; and a target face including a locking retainer, wherein the locking retainer is wider than the first aperture. See Fig. 12; (212)(210)(365).
Regarding claim 28, Fernandez teaches 28. (New) The target system of claim 21, the target face further including a target. See Fig. 9; Fig. 9 shows the hanger which would include a target.
Regarding claim 29, Fernandez teaches 29. (New) The target system of claim 21, wherein the locking plate further includes a third aperture. See Fig. 12 which shows multiple apertures that is inclusive of a third.
Regarding claim 38, Fernandez teaches 38. (New) The target system of claim of claim 21, wherein the locking plate is connectable to a stand. See Fig. 9; (200A)(300).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
The notations noted below apply to all rejections: In as much structure set forth by the applicant in the claims, the device is capable of use in the intended manner if so desired (See MPEP 2112). It should be noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, it meets the claim limitations. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 939, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). The intended use defined in the preamble and body of the claim breathes no life and meaning structurally different than that of the applied reference.
Claims 37, 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernandez (US 20170343324 A1) in view of Kochuba (US 20140217674 A1).
Regarding claim 37, Kochuba teaches 37. (New) The target system of claim 21, wherein the target is disposed at a bottom of the target face. See Fig. 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the date of the effective filing, to modify Fernandez with Kochuba to provide a hittable target for the use to strike with a projectile.
Regarding claim 39, Kochuba teaches 39. (New) The target system of claim 21, wherein the target face is flat. See Fig. 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the date of the effective filing, to modify Fernandez with Kochuba to provide a hittable target for the use to strike with a projectile.
Regarding claim 40, Kochuba teaches 40. (New) The target system of claim 21, further comprising a three dimensional target on the target face. See Fig. 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the date of the effective filing, to modify Fernandez with Kochuba to provide a hittable target for the use to strike with a projectile.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lambert US 20050001381 A1 - which teaches a target hanger.
Anderson US 20160209184 A1 - which teaches a target with hangers.
/JEFFREY S VANDERVEEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3711