DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 09/09/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2023-150692 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
Figures 8-10 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a second signal line extending from above a second end of the phase shifter to the patch antenna … and the second signal line is connected to the second end of the phase shifter by electromagnetic coupling” from claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 9-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements, and omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements and structural cooperative relationships are: “the signal line includes a first signal line extending from a signal source to above a first end of the phase shifter and a second signal line extending from above a second end of the phase shifter to the patch antenna, and wherein the first signal line is connected to the first end of the phase shifter by electromagnetic coupling, and the second signal line is connected to the second end of the phase shifter by electromagnetic coupling” as recited in claim 3.
Paragraphs [0004] discusses prior art and how the characteristic impedance of the signal line may fluctuate which is not desired, and paragraph [0005] states “An object of the present disclosure is to provide a planar antenna and an antenna device in which fluctuations in characteristic impedance in a signal line is suppressed.” In each of the drawn embodiments, and as explained in paragraphs [0029]-[0030], [0040], [0048], and [0051], the disclosed invention uses signal source that is connected to first signal line, which is then electromagnetically coupled to a first end of a phase shifter that is placed on another plane that provides a phase shift, and then another end of that phase shifter is electromagnetically coupled to a second signal line which is then connected to a patch antenna. This is different in comparison to the prior art and the comparative examples of figures 8-10, where the phase shifter and the signal lines are on the same plane. The use of the two signal lines and how they are electromagnetically coupled to the phase shifter as recited in claim 3 is what allows for prevention of that interference and fluctuation of the characteristic impedance in signal lines as explained in paragraph [0065], [0067], [0075]-[0076], [0089], [0093], and is deemed essential to the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 2022/0224006, hereby referred as Zhu).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Zhu teaches the following:
a planar antenna comprising:
an antenna array in which a plurality of patch antennas (elements 41, figures 1-2) are disposed in a two-dimensional array;
a substrate (element 12, figures 1-2) on which a phase shifter layer including a phase shifter (element 40, figures 1-2) associated with each of the plurality of patch antennas and wiring (elements 38, figures 1-2) used for controlling the phase shifter is formed;
a signal line (element 42, figures 1-2) that is disposed on the same plane as the antenna array and through which a communication signal propagates (as shown in figures 1-2); and
a ground layer (element 39, figures 1-2) disposed between the phase shifter layer and the signal line, and having a slot (elements 391, figures 1-2) formed at least between the signal line and the phase shifter.
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Zhu as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
Wherein the ground layer (element 39, figures 1-2) has the slot (element 391, figures 1-2) above the phase shifter (element 40, figures 1-2), and
the signal line (element 42, figures 1-2) and the phase shifter (element 40, figures 1-2) are connected by electromagnetic coupling via the slot (paragraphs [0132] and [0134]).
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Warnick et al. (US 2013/0187830, hereby referred as Warnick).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Warnick teaches the following:
a planar antenna comprising:
an antenna array in which a plurality of patch antennas (elements 106, figures 1-3) are disposed in a two-dimensional array;
a substrate (element 316 is an integrated circuit which would have a substrate, figure 3) on which a phase shifter layer including a phase shifter (elements 316, figures 3, paragraphs [0046], [0049], [0092]) associated with each of the plurality of patch antennas and wiring (elements 314, figures 3) used for controlling the phase shifter is formed;
a signal line (element 204, figures 2-3) that is disposed on the same plane as the antenna array and through which a communication signal propagates (as shown in figures 2-3); and
a ground layer (element 306, figures 2-3) disposed between the phase shifter layer and the signal line, and having a slot (as shown in figures 3) formed at least between the signal line and the phase shifter.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Warnick as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
further comprising: a first insulating layer (element 302, figures 3) having an upper face on which the signal line and the patch antenna are disposed, and a lower face on which the ground layer is disposed (as shown in figures 3);
a second insulating layer (element 312a, figures 3) having an upper face on which the ground layer is disposed and a lower face with which an upper face of the phase shifter layer is in contact (as shown in figures 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warnick et al. (US 2013/0187830, hereby referred as Warnick).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Warnick as referred in claim 1 teaches the planar antenna with the exception for the following:
wherein a ground plate is disposed on a lower face of the substrate.
However, the substrate is an integrated circuit (paragraph [0092]) and it is well-known that integrated circuits have ground plates to act as a return path for the power supply.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the planar antenna of Warnick to include a ground plate is disposed on a lower face of the substrate as integrated circuit substrates are known to have ground plates to act as a return path for the power supply of the integrated circuit, which can help reduce noise and provide stable operation.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 2022/0224006, hereby referred as Zhu) in view of Marumoto et al. (US 6556168, hereby referred as Marumoto).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Zhu as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
an antenna device (figures 1-2) comprising:
the planar antenna according to claim 1 (as explained in claim 1);
a signal source connected to the signal line included in the planar antenna (as shown in figures 1-2, paragraph [0136]).
Zhu does not teach a matrix circuit in which a plurality of thin film transistors connected to wiring included in the planar antenna is disposed in a two-dimensional array; a drive circuit that drives the thin film transistor included in the matrix circuit; and a control circuit that drives the drive circuit in accordance with a control signal.
Marumoto suggests the teachings of a matrix circuit (element 14, figures 1-4, 15A-B) in which a plurality of thin film transistors connected to wiring included in the planar antenna is disposed in a two-dimensional array (as shown in figures 1-4 and 9; column 11, lines 8-11); a drive circuit (element 12X, figures 1-4, 15A-B) that drives the thin film transistor included in the matrix circuit; and a control circuit (element 11, figures 1-4, 15A-B) that drives the drive circuit in accordance with a control signal (as shown in figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the antenna device of Zhu to include a matrix circuit in which a plurality of thin film transistors connected to wiring included in the planar antenna is disposed in a two-dimensional array; a drive circuit that drives the thin film transistor included in the matrix circuit; and a control circuit that drives the drive circuit in accordance with a control signal as suggested by the teachings of Marumoto in order to reduce the area occupied by these circuit components used to control the phase shifters (column 2, lines 63-64).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, the combination of Zhu and Marumoto as referred in claim 9 teaches the following:
the control circuit causes the plurality of patch antennas included in the planar antenna to transmit a radio wave having directivity from the antenna array configured by the plurality of patch antennas (Marumoto, column 4, lines 51-53).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AB SALAM ALKASSIM JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845