DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anabuki (pub # 20050159916) in view of Shimoda (pub # 20160320863).
Consider claim 1. Anabuki teaches An electronic device (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0029). comprising:
an image sensor; (Fig. 4 and paragraph 0030, image sensing unit 1).
memory storing instructions; (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0035).
and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the image sensor and the memory, (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0029).
wherein the one or more instructions when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
transmit control signal to an external electronic device to cause the external electronic device to display a screen including at least one object, (Fig. 4 and paragraph 0051, The image display unit 11 receives the mixed reality space image from the image composition unit 10, and displays it, thus presenting the mixed reality space image to the user and allowing the user to experience mixed reality. Fig. 4 shows a real object being displayed to the user).
and a plurality of markers; (Fig. 6A and paragraph 0039, When the image sensing unit 1 senses markers 602 to 604 set on the real space, a real space image 610 includes images of the markers 602 to 604, as shown in FIG. 6B. Hence, the positions of the markers 602 to 604 on this image 610 are detected).
detect the plurality of markers displayed on the screen via the image sensor (Fig. 6A and paragraph 0039, a real space image 610 includes images of the markers 602 to 604, as shown in FIG. 6B. Hence, the positions of the markers 602 to 604 on this image 610 are detected).
identify a first coordinate corresponding to a position of the target image based on a position of the detected plurality of markers, (paragraph 0093, The positional relationship between the real and virtual markers may be determined by comparing, e.g., the absolute values of the coordinate values of the real and virtual marker positions to have the image center as an origin).
determine an accuracy error indicating a positional difference between the first coordinate and the second coordinate by calculating a difference between the first coordinate and the second coordinate: (paragraph 0075, the CPU 501 compares the virtual and real marker positions on the real space image to calculate correction values of the position and orientation data that allow these positions to match, and adds the calculated correction values to the position and orientation data by executing the program that serves as the position/orientation/field angle correction unit 7 (step S910)).
store accuracy correction data in the memory based on the determined accuracy error, (paragraph 0082, predetermined reference value).
the accuracy correction data being used to correct a coordinate of the user's finger and determine the coordinate of the user's finger in the AR environment based on the stored accuracy correction data. (paragraph 0083, If the average value is larger than the predetermined reference value, the flow advances to step S914 to calculate the correction amounts of the field angle data, and to add these correction amounts to the field angle data (step S914)).
Anabuki does not specifically disclose the at least one object including a target image indicating a touch position,
and a user's finger touching the target image,
and a second coordinate of a virtual finger in an augmented reality (AR) environment based on the detected user's finger.
In an analogous art Shimoda teaches the at least one object including a target image indicating a touch position, (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0057, The user U11, while watching the output image displayed on the image display unit 21, performs touch operation for the virtual image V11 by stretching a hand to the virtual image V11 which is displayed as if existing in a real space. That is, the user performs operation such as pushing of a button displayed on the virtual image V11).
and a user's finger touching the target image, (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0057, The user U11, while watching the output image displayed on the image display unit 21, performs touch operation for the virtual image V11 by stretching a hand to the virtual image V11 which is displayed as if existing in a real space).
and a second coordinate of a virtual finger in an augmented reality (AR) environment based on the detected user's finger. (paragraph 0183, The touch coordinates calculation unit 111 calculates, and supplies to the touch correction unit 112, the coordinates of the user's touch position on the virtual image V21).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of Shimoda with the system and method of Anabuki in order to improve the operability of the display apparatus (Shimoda paragraph 0093).
Consider claim 4. Anabuki teaches A method for operating an electronic device, the method comprising:
transmitting control signal to an external electronic device to cause the external electronic device to display a screen including at least one object, (Fig. 4 and paragraph 0051, The image display unit 11 receives the mixed reality space image from the image composition unit 10, and displays it, thus presenting the mixed reality space image to the user and allowing the user to experience mixed reality. Fig. 4 shows a real object being displayed to the user).
and a plurality of markers; (Fig. 6A and paragraph 0039, When the image sensing unit 1 senses markers 602 to 604 set on the real space, a real space image 610 includes images of the markers 602 to 604, as shown in FIG. 6B. Hence, the positions of the markers 602 to 604 on this image 610 are detected).
detecting the plurality of markers displayed on the screen via an image sensor (Fig. 6A and paragraph 0039, a real space image 610 includes images of the markers 602 to 604, as shown in FIG. 6B. Hence, the positions of the markers 602 to 604 on this image 610 are detected).
identifying a first coordinate corresponding to a position of the target image based on a position of the detected plurality of markers, (paragraph 0093, The positional relationship between the real and virtual markers may be determined by comparing, e.g., the absolute values of the coordinate values of the real and virtual marker positions to have the image center as an origin).
determining an accuracy error indicating a positional difference between the first coordinate and the second coordinate by calculating a difference between the first coordinate and the second coordinate (paragraph 0075, the CPU 501 compares the virtual and real marker positions on the real space image to calculate correction values of the position and orientation data that allow these positions to match, and adds the calculated correction values to the position and orientation data by executing the program that serves as the position/orientation/field angle correction unit 7 (step S910)).
storing accuracy correction data in memory based on the determined accuracy error, (paragraph 0082, predetermined reference value).
the accuracy correction data being used to correct a coordinate of the user's finger and determining the coordinate of the user's finger in the AR environment based on the stored accuracy correction data. (paragraph 0083, If the average value is larger than the predetermined reference value, the flow advances to step S914 to calculate the correction amounts of the field angle data, and to add these correction amounts to the field angle data (step S914)).
Anabuki does not specifically the at least one object including a target image indicating a touch position, and a user's finger touching the target image
and a second coordinate of a virtual finger in an augmented reality (AR) environment based on the detected user's finger.
In an analogous art Shimoda teaches the at least one object including a target image indicating a touch position, (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0057, The user U11, while watching the output image displayed on the image display unit 21, performs touch operation for the virtual image V11 by stretching a hand to the virtual image V11 which is displayed as if existing in a real space. That is, the user performs operation such as pushing of a button displayed on the virtual image V11).
and a user's finger touching the target image, (Fig. 2 and paragraph 0057, The user U11, while watching the output image displayed on the image display unit 21, performs touch operation for the virtual image V11 by stretching a hand to the virtual image V11 which is displayed as if existing in a real space).
and a second coordinate of a virtual finger in an augmented reality (AR) environment based on the detected user's finger. (paragraph 0183, The touch coordinates calculation unit 111 calculates, and supplies to the touch correction unit 112, the coordinates of the user's touch position on the virtual image V21).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of Shimoda with the system and method of Anabuki in order to improve the operability of the display apparatus (Shimoda paragraph 0093).
Consider claim 2. Shimoda further teaches The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first coordinate corresponding to the position of the target image is identified when the user's finger touches the target image. (paragraph 0183, The touch coordinates calculation unit 111 calculates, and supplies to the touch correction unit 112, the coordinates of the user's touch position on the virtual image V21).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anabuki (pub # 20050159916) in view of Shimoda (pub # 20160320863) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Barth (pub # 20190004667).
Consider claim 3. Anabuki in view of Shimoda does not specifically disclose The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: display a guide message to encourage the user to touch the target image in response to detect the at least one object via the image sensor. However Barth in at least Fig. 6 and paragraph 0086 discloses a guided calibration procedure wherein the user is asked here to press the buttons 1 to 5 sequentially. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of Barth with the system and method of Anabuki in view of Shimoda in order to improve user experience by making the instructions clear and precise.
Conclusion
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624