Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 10057467, 10750066, 11496659, 12096108 in view of the art used in the 103 below. The main differences between the limitations of current application and the patents appears to be the angles and directions of bending surfaces which, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to provide an alternate mechanism to attach the PCBs using fasteners that also can limit the movement of the portions of the PCB (Garman 2:20-31) and taught by Garman below with fasteners in order to ground circuits mounted in place (2:32-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-11 13-18 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Garman US 3066367 in view of Yang US 2006/0189183
Garman discloses:
1. A camera module, comprising: a first PCB (printed circuit board) (Figs. 1-6: A, B, 10); disposed below the first PCB (Figs. 1-6: A, B, 10); wherein the outer shield includes four sidewalls disposed between the first PCB and the second PCB, a hole extending from any one of the four sidewalls and coupled to a portion of a side of the second PCB, and an extension portion inclined at a predetermined angle from the hole formation area (Figs. 1-6: 4 fasteners F, 17-22).
Garman does not explicitly disclose the following, however Yang teaches An outer shield, a second PCB disposed below the first PCB and coupled to the outer shield (Fig. 3: 22, 3, 13; 0031; 0036-7)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to metal layer is conductive so that it offers protection from electromagnetic interference (EMI) (Yang 0031)
2. The camera module of claim 1, wherein the outer shield has a support surface in surface contact with the second PCB (Figs. 1-6: 4 fasteners F, 12-22).
3. The camera module of claim 2, wherein the support surface is formed by bending at a right angle from the sidewall (Figs. 1-6: 4 fasteners F, 12-22).
4. The camera module of claim 2, wherein the support surface is formed by bending inward from the sidewall (Figs. 1-6: 4 fasteners F, 17-22).
5. The camera module of claim 1, comprising: a first PCB (printed circuit board) including a first ground part; and a second PCB including a second ground part; wherein the outer shield includes a tension spring that is partially bent from the sidewall and disposed at positions corresponding to the first and second ground parts (Figs. 1-6: 4 fasteners F, 12-22; 2:32-9; would be obvious to do two groundings considering combination).
6. The camera module of claim 5, wherein the first ground part and the second ground part are respectively disposed on a side surface, an upper surface, or a lower surface of the first PCB and the second PCB (Figs. 1-6: 4 fasteners F, 12-22; 2:32-9; would be obvious to do two groundings considering combination).
7. The camera module of claim 6,
Garman does not explicitly disclose the following, however Yang teaches wherein a plurality of the first ground part and the second ground part are provided along a circumference of the first PCB and the second PCB, respectively. (Fig. 3: 22, 3, 13, 14; Fig. 5; 0029-0031; 0036-7)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to metal layer is conductive so that it offers protection from electromagnetic interference (EMI) (Yang 0031)
8. The camera module of claim 5, wherein the tension spring is in contact with the first ground part and the second ground part (Figs. 1-6: 4 fasteners F, 112-22; 2:32-9; would be obvious to do two groundings considering combination).
9. The camera module of claim 5, wherein a hole is formed around the tension spring (Figs. 1-6: 17-22;.
10. The camera module of claim 8, wherein the tension spring includes a first pressing part in contact with the first ground part and a second pressing part in contact with the second ground part (Figs. 1-6: 4 fasteners F, 12-22; 2:32-9; would be obvious to do two groundings considering combination).
11. The camera module of claim 10, wherein a pair of the first and second pressing parts are vertically (Figs. 1-6: 4 fasteners F, 12-22; 2:32-9; would be obvious to do two groundings considering combination).
Garman does not explicitly disclose the following, however Yang teaches disposed on a side surface of the outer shield. (Fig. 3: 22, 3, 13, 14)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to metal layer is conductive so that it offers protection from electromagnetic interference (EMI) (Yang 0031)
13. The camera module of claim 1, wherein the outer shield supports at least three surfaces of the first and second PCBs (Figs. 1-6: 4 fasteners F, 12-22; 2:32-9; would be obvious to do two groundings considering combination).
14. The camera module of claim 5, wherein the outer shield is electrically connected to the first and second ground parts, and the first and second PCBs are grounded through the outer shield (Figs. 1-6: 4 fasteners F, 12-22; 2:32-9; would be obvious to do two groundings considering combination).
15. The camera module of claim 1, wherein the outer shield has a sidewall surface greater than a sum of a thicknesses of the first and second PCBs and a spacing therebetween (Figs. 1-6: 4 fasteners F, 12-22; 2:32-9; would be obvious to do two groundings considering combination).
16. The camera module of claim 5, wherein a distance between the first PCB and the second PCB is determined by the tension spring (Figs. 1-6: 4 fasteners F, 12-22; 2:32-9; would be obvious to do two groundings considering combination).
17. The camera module of claim 10, wherein a distance between the first PCB and the second PCB is determined by a distance between the first pressing part and the second pressing part (Figs. 1-6: 4 fasteners F, 12-22; 2:32-9; would be obvious to do two groundings considering combination).
18. The camera module of claim 5, wherein the tension spring (Figs. 1-6: 17-22;)
Garman does not explicitly disclose the following, however Yang teaches one body with a side wall of the outer shield (Fig. 3: 22, 3, 13, 14; Fig. 5; 0029-0031; 0036-7)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to metal layer is conductive so that it offers protection from electromagnetic interference (EMI) (Yang 0031)
Claim 12 and 19 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Garman US 3066367 in view of Yang US 2006/0189183 and Nakamura US 2011/0199485.
12. The camera module of claim 1,
Garman does not explicitly disclose the following, however Nakamura teaches comprising: a lens module disposed over the first PCB and configured to transfer an image to the image sensor; and a cover member configured to cover a top of the lens module and the first PCB (Fig. 5: 20, 11, 12, 14, 15; 0050 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to the unit of the lens barrel and the imaging mechanism is commonly applicable to various housings fit for various vehicles having different external designs (Nakamura 0050).
19. Garman does not explicitly disclose the following, however Nakamura teaches A vehicle comprising the camera module of claim 1. (0050 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to the unit of the lens barrel and the imaging mechanism is commonly applicable to various housings fit for various vehicles having different external designs (Nakamura 0050).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W BECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2483