DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more (See 2019 Update: Eligibility Guidance).
Independent Claim(s) 1 recites
A plasma monitoring method
comprising:
acquiring an optical signal data
the optical signal data comprises a first optical signal data;
and
analyzing the first optical signal,
wherein
the first optical signal data comprises:
a first wavelength data on a first wavelength of light emitted from the first material;
a second wavelength data on a second wavelength of the light emitted from the first material;
and
a third wavelength data on a third wavelength of the light emitted from the first material,
and
wherein
the analyzing the first optical signal data comprises:
generating first representative data that is representative of the first, the second, and the third wavelength data;
obtaining a first value, a second value, and a third value, comprising respective correlation values between the first representative data and each of the first, the second, and the third wavelength data;
and
choosing a representative value from among the first, the second, and the third values
[Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation] and/or [Mental Processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)].
Independent Claim(s) 10 recites
A plasma monitoring method
comprising:
performing a first process;
performing a second process;
and
comparing the first process with the second process,
wherein
the first process comprises
obtaining first data on a first plasma generated in the substrate processing apparatus during the first process,
wherein
the second process comprises
obtaining second data on a second plasma generated in the substrate processing apparatus during the second process,
and
wherein the comparing the first process with the second process comprises comparing the first data with the second data
[Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation] and/or [Mental Processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)].
Independent Claim(s) 17 recites
A substrate processing method
comprising:
performing a first process,
wherein
the first process generates a first plasma data;
and
monitoring the first plasma data,
wherein
the monitoring the first plasma data:
measuring an optical signal data,
and
the optical signal data comprises a first optical signal data;
and
analyzing the first optical signal data,
and
wherein
the analyzing the first optical signal data comprises:
generating first representative wavelength data on a first representative wavelength,
wherein
the first representative wavelength is representative of a plurality of wavelengths of light emitted from the first material;
obtaining respective correlation coefficients between wavelength data on the plurality of wavelengths of light and the first representative wavelength data;
and
choosing a smallest value from among the correlation coefficients as a representative value
[Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation] and/or [Mental Processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)].
In combination with Independent Claim(s) 1, 10, 17, Claim(s) 2-9, 11-16, 18-20 recite(s)
the first wavelength data comprises data representing a time-varying intensity behavior of the light of the first wavelength,
and
the first value is a correlation coefficient between the first wavelength data and the first representative data.
the choosing the representative value comprises
choosing a smallest value from among the first, the second, and the third values as the representative value.
based on the representative value being smaller than a threshold value,
generating an alert signal.
based on the stability index being greater than a threshold value,
generating an alert signal.
based on the alert signal being generated,
changing a process recipe utilized by the substrate processing apparatus or performing preservative maintenance on the substrate processing apparatus.
the generating the first representative data comprises
performing a principal component analysis.
the generating the first representative wavelength comprises
performing a principal component analysis on the plurality of wavelengths of light emitted from the first material.
the generating the first representative wavelength data on the first representative wavelength comprises
performing a principal component analysis.
the optical signal comprises a second optical signal emitted from the second material,
and
the plasma monitoring method further comprises analyzing the second optical signal.
the obtaining the first data comprises
generating a first matrix,
the first matrix comprises
a correlation matrix between wavelengths of light emitted from one or more materials in the first plasma,
and
the obtaining the second data comprises
generating a second matrix,
the second matrix comprises
a correlation matrix between wavelengths of light emitted from one or more materials in the second plasma.
the comparing the first with the second data comprises:
generating a comparison matrix by obtaining a difference between the first matrix and the second matrix;
and
choosing a largest value in the comparison matrix as a stability index.
the generating the first matrix comprises:
generating a first representative wavelength,
the first representative wavelength is representative of a plurality of wavelengths of light emitted from a first material in the first plasma;
generating a second representative wavelength,
the second representative wavelength is representative of a plurality of wavelengths of light emitted from a second material in the first plasma;
generating a third representative wavelength,
the third representative wavelength is representative of a plurality of wavelengths of light emitted from a third material in the first plasma;
and
generating the first matrix,
the first matrix comprises
a correlation matrix between the first representative wavelength, the second representative wavelength, and the third representative wavelength.
performing a third process on a third substrate in the substrate processing apparatus;
and
comparing the second process with the third process.
performing a second process on a second substrate in the substrate processing apparatus,
the second process generates a second plasma;
monitoring the second plasma in the substrate processing apparatus;
and
comparing the first process with the second process,
the comparing of the first and the second processes comprises
comparing first data obtained from the first plasma with second data obtained from the second plasma.
[Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation] and/or [Mental Processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)].
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application:
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) (i.e. based on the alert signal being generated, changing a process recipe utilized by the substrate processing apparatus or performing preservative maintenance on the substrate processing apparatus);
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) (i.e. generic data acquisition/measurement structure/function [e.g. measuring an optical signal, and wherein the optical signal comprises a first optical signal; obtaining data; performing a first process on a first substrate in a substrate processing apparatus, wherein the first process generates a first plasma; the measuring the optical signal emitted from the first plasma comprises measuring the optical signal through a window in a portion of a process chamber of the substrate processing apparatus]; generic data output structure/function [e.g. generating an alert signal]); or
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)) (i.e. emitted from plasma in a substrate processing apparatus, wherein the plasma comprises a first material; emitted from the first material; on a first substrate in a substrate processing apparatus; on a second substrate in the substrate processing apparatus; emitted from the first plasma; the first material comprises one of Ar, CF, CF2, CO, CO2, F, O, O2, or SiF2; the plasma comprises a second material different from the first material; the first material comprises argon (Ar), the first wavelength is 434.8 nm, the second wavelength is 476.5 nm, and the third wavelength is 488.0 nm).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because looking at the additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. The additional elements simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)) (i.e. See Alice Corp. and cited references for evidence of additional elements (i.e., generic computer structure)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 11, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LAM ET AL. (US 20040008336 A1) (hereinafter “LAM”).
With respect to Claim(s) 10, LAM teaches ‘A plasma processing system that comprises a process chamber, a plasma source, a light detection device and a controller. The controller is useful for determining a seasoning state of the plasma processing system. The present invention further provides a method of determining the seasoning state of a plasma processing system comprising the steps of forming a first plasma in the process chamber utilizing the plasma source; measuring a first signal related to light emitted from the first plasma using the light detection device and storing the first signal using the controller; forming a second plasma in the process chamber utilizing the plasma source; measuring a second signal related to light emitted from the second plasma using the light detection device and storing the second signal using the controller; and correlating a change between the first signal and the second signal with a seasoning state of the plasma processing system’ and the BRI of:
A plasma monitoring method (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-5)
comprising:
performing a first process on a first substrate in a substrate processing apparatus (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11);
performing a second process on a second substrate in the substrate processing apparatus (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11);
comparing the first process with the second process (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11),
the first process comprises
obtaining first data on a first plasma generated in the substrate processing apparatus during the first process (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11),
the second process comprises
obtaining second data on a second plasma generated in the substrate processing apparatus during the second process (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11),
the comparing the first process with the second process comprises comparing the first data with the second data (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11).
With respect to Claim(s) 11, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
LAM further teaches the BRI of:
the obtaining the first data comprises
generating a first matrix (See, e.g., ¶ 0046-0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13),
the first matrix comprises
a correlation matrix between wavelengths of light emitted from one or more materials in the first plasma (See, e.g., ¶ 0046-0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13),
the obtaining the second data comprises
generating a second matrix (See, e.g., ¶ 0046-0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13),
the second matrix comprises
a correlation matrix between wavelengths of light emitted from one or more materials in the second plasma (See, e.g., ¶ 0046-0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13).
With respect to Claim(s) 14, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
LAM further teaches the BRI of:
the generating the first matrix comprises:
generating a first representative wavelength (See, e.g., Fig(s). 7A-7C),
the first representative wavelength is representative of a plurality of wavelengths of light emitted from a first material in the first plasma (See, e.g., ¶ 0068);
generating a second representative wavelength (See, e.g., Fig(s). 7A-7C),
the second representative wavelength is representative of a plurality of wavelengths of light emitted from a second material in the first plasma (See, e.g., ¶ 0068);
generating a third representative wavelength (See, e.g., Fig(s). 7A-7C),
the third representative wavelength is representative of a plurality of wavelengths of light emitted from a third material in the first plasma (See, e.g., ¶ 0068);
generating the first matrix (See, e.g., ¶ 0046-0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13),
the first matrix comprises
a correlation matrix between the first representative wavelength, the second representative wavelength, and the third representative wavelength (See, e.g., ¶ 0046-0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13).
With respect to Claim(s) 15, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
LAM further teaches the BRI of:
the generating the first representative wavelength comprises
performing a principal component analysis on the plurality of wavelengths of light emitted from the first material (See, e.g., ¶ 0048-0067).
With respect to Claim(s) 16, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
LAM further teaches the BRI of:
performing a third process on a third substrate in the substrate processing apparatus (See, e.g., ¶ 0068);
comparing the second process with the third process (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LAM ET AL. (US 20040008336 A1) (hereinafter “LAM”) in view of ASAKURA ET AL. (US 20160225681 A1) (hereinafter “ASAKURA”).
With respect to Claim(s) 1, LAM teaches ‘A plasma processing system that comprises a process chamber, a plasma source, a light detection device and a controller. The controller is useful for determining a seasoning state of the plasma processing system. The present invention further provides a method of determining the seasoning state of a plasma processing system comprising the steps of forming a first plasma in the process chamber utilizing the plasma source; measuring a first signal related to light emitted from the first plasma using the light detection device and storing the first signal using the controller; forming a second plasma in the process chamber utilizing the plasma source; measuring a second signal related to light emitted from the second plasma using the light detection device and storing the second signal using the controller; and correlating a change between the first signal and the second signal with a seasoning state of the plasma processing system’ and the BRI of:
A plasma monitoring method (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-5)
comprising:
measuring an optical signal emitted from plasma in a substrate processing apparatus (See, e.g., ¶ 0030; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 11),
the plasma comprises a first material (See, e.g., ¶ 0030; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1),
the optical signal comprises a first optical signal emitted from the first material (See, e.g., ¶ 0030; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 11);
analyzing the first optical signal (See, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13),
the first optical signal comprises:
a first wavelength data on a first wavelength of light emitted from the first material (See, e.g., Fig(s). 7A-7C);
a second wavelength data on a second wavelength of the light emitted from the first material (See, e.g., Fig(s). 7A-7C);
a third wavelength data on a third wavelength of the light emitted from the first material (See, e.g., Fig(s). 7A-7C),
the analyzing the first optical signal comprises:
generating first representative data that is representative of the first, the second, and the third wavelength data (See, e.g., ¶ 0046-0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13);
obtaining a first value, a second value, and a third value, comprising respective correlation values between the first representative data and each of the first, the second, and the third wavelength data (See, e.g., ¶ 0046-0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13).
However, LAM is lacking the explicit language of:
choosing a representative value from among the first, the second, and the third values.
ASAKURA teaches ‘A plasma processing apparatus, plasma processing method, and plasma processing analysis method in which a suitable combination of wavelength, time interval, and etching condition parameter for control to change etching conditions is determined among wavelengths, time intervals, and changeable parameters for spectroscopic measurement data in order to ensure stable etching conditions. Specifically, a regression equation which represents the correlation between emission intensity and etching result at a wavelength and a time interval is obtained for each of two or more combinations of wavelength, time interval, and etching condition parameter. Furthermore, for each of the combinations, the amount of change is calculated from the regression equation when the value set for the etching condition parameter is changed. Among the combinations, the combination for which the amount of change is the smallest is determined as the combination of wavelength, time interval, and changed etching condition parameter to be used for control’ and the BRI of:
choosing a representative value from among a plurality of values (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT, 0007, 0013, 0045, 0085, 0086, 0116-0119, 0137, 0149, 0160, 0167, 0172, 0177, 0179; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LAM to include choosing a representative value from among a plurality of values.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LAM because it would be beneficial to improve plasma processing. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 17, LAM teaches ‘A plasma processing system that comprises a process chamber, a plasma source, a light detection device and a controller. The controller is useful for determining a seasoning state of the plasma processing system. The present invention further provides a method of determining the seasoning state of a plasma processing system comprising the steps of forming a first plasma in the process chamber utilizing the plasma source; measuring a first signal related to light emitted from the first plasma using the light detection device and storing the first signal using the controller; forming a second plasma in the process chamber utilizing the plasma source; measuring a second signal related to light emitted from the second plasma using the light detection device and storing the second signal using the controller; and correlating a change between the first signal and the second signal with a seasoning state of the plasma processing system’ and the BRI of:
A substrate processing method (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-5)
comprising:
performing a first process on a first substrate in a substrate processing apparatus (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11),
the first process generates a first plasma (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11);
monitoring the first plasma in the substrate processing apparatus (See, e.g., ¶ 0030; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 11),
the monitoring the first plasma comprises:
measuring an optical signal emitted from the first plasma (See, e.g., ¶ 0030; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 11),
the first plasma comprises a first material (See, e.g., ¶ 0030; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 11),
the optical signal comprises a first optical signal emitted from the first material (See, e.g., ¶ 0030; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 11);
analyzing the first optical signal (See, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13),
the analyzing the first optical signal comprises:
generating first representative wavelength data on a first representative wavelength (See, e.g., ¶ 0046-0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13),
the first representative wavelength is representative of a plurality of wavelengths of light emitted from the first material (See, e.g., ¶ 0046-0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13);
obtaining respective correlation coefficients between wavelength data on the plurality of wavelengths of light and the first representative wavelength data (See, e.g., ¶ 0046-0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13).
However, LAM is lacking the explicit language of:
choosing a smallest value from among the correlation coefficients as a representative value.
ASAKURA teaches ‘A plasma processing apparatus, plasma processing method, and plasma processing analysis method in which a suitable combination of wavelength, time interval, and etching condition parameter for control to change etching conditions is determined among wavelengths, time intervals, and changeable parameters for spectroscopic measurement data in order to ensure stable etching conditions. Specifically, a regression equation which represents the correlation between emission intensity and etching result at a wavelength and a time interval is obtained for each of two or more combinations of wavelength, time interval, and etching condition parameter. Furthermore, for each of the combinations, the amount of change is calculated from the regression equation when the value set for the etching condition parameter is changed. Among the combinations, the combination for which the amount of change is the smallest is determined as the combination of wavelength, time interval, and changed etching condition parameter to be used for control’ and the BRI of:
choosing a smallest value from among the correlation coefficients as a representative value (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT, 0007, 0013, 0045, 0085, 0086, 0116-0119, 0137, 0149, 0160, 0167, 0172, 0177, 0179; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LAM to include choosing a smallest value from among the correlation coefficients as a representative value.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LAM because it would be beneficial to improve plasma processing. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 2, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
LAM further teaches the BRI of:
the first wavelength data comprises data representing a time-varying intensity behavior of the light of the first wavelength (See, e.g., ¶ 0046-0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13),
the first value is a correlation coefficient between the first wavelength data and the first representative data (See, e.g., ¶ 0046-0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13).
With respect to Claim(s) 3, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ASAKURA further teaches the BRI of:
the choosing the representative value comprises
choosing a smallest value from among the first, the second, and the third values as the representative value (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT, 0007, 0013, 0045, 0085, 0086, 0116-0119, 0137, 0149, 0160, 0167, 0172, 0177, 0179; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LAM to include the choosing the representative value comprises choosing a smallest value from among the first, the second, and the third values as the representative value.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LAM because it would be beneficial to improve plasma processing. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 4, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
LAM further teaches the BRI of:
the first material comprises one of Ar, CF, CF2, CO, CO2, F, O, O2, or SiF2 (See, e.g., ¶ 0037).
With respect to Claim(s) 5, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ASAKURA further teaches the BRI of:
based on the representative value being smaller than a threshold value,
generating an alert signal (See, e.g., Fig(s). 0023, 0024).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LAM to include based on the representative value being smaller than a threshold value, generating an alert signal.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LAM because it would be beneficial to improve plasma processing. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 6, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
ASAKURA further teaches the BRI of:
based on the alert signal being generated,
changing a process recipe utilized by the substrate processing apparatus or performing preservative maintenance on the substrate processing apparatus (See, e.g., Fig(s). 0023, 0024).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LAM to include based on the alert signal being generated, changing a process recipe utilized by the substrate processing apparatus or performing preservative maintenance on the substrate processing apparatus.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LAM because it would be beneficial to improve plasma processing. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 7, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
LAM further teaches the BRI of:
the generating the first representative data comprises
performing a principal component analysis (See, e.g., ¶ 0048-0067).
With respect to Claim(s) 18, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
LAM further teaches the BRI of:
the generating the first representative wavelength data on the first representative wavelength comprises
performing a principal component analysis (See, e.g., ¶ 0048-0067).
With respect to Claim(s) 8, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
LAM further teaches the BRI of:
the plasma comprises a second material different from the first material (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11),
the optical signal comprises a second optical signal emitted from the second material (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11),
the plasma monitoring method further comprises analyzing the second optical signal (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11).
With respect to Claim(s) 19, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
LAM further teaches the BRI of:
performing a second process on a second substrate in the substrate processing apparatus (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11),
the second process
generates a second plasma (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11);
monitoring the second plasma in the substrate processing apparatus (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11);
comparing the first process with the second process (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11),
the comparing of the first and the second processes comprises
comparing first data obtained from the first plasma with second data obtained from the second plasma (See, e.g., Fig(s). 11).
With respect to Claim(s) 20, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
LAM further teaches the BRI of:
the measuring the optical signal emitted from the first plasma comprises
measuring the optical signal through a window in a portion of a process chamber of the substrate processing apparatus (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT, 0005-0008, 0030-0045, 0067).
Claim(s) 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) in view of MORISAWA ET AL. (US 20090253222 A1) (hereinafter “MORISAWA”).
With respect to Claim(s) 12, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
LAM further teaches the BRI of:
the comparing the first with the second data comprises:
generating a comparison matrix by obtaining a difference between the first matrix and the second matrix (See, e.g., ¶ 0046-0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13);
choosing a value in the comparison matrix (See, e.g., ¶ 0046-0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 6-13).
However, LAM is lacking the explicit language of:
choosing a largest value in the comparison matrix as a stability index.
MORISAWA teaches ‘An etching process state judgment method comprising: a spectral data obtaining step, in which an optical emission spectrum distribution is obtained by monitoring optical emission during an etching process of a plurality of wafers; a peak detection step, in which peaks are detected from the optical emission spectrum distribution at a specific time point during the etching process, to obtain peak characteristics; a common peak identifying step, in which peaks common to the wafers are identified among the peaks detected in the peak detection step; and a state detection step, in which the characteristics are compared regarding the common peaks, to detect a state of each wafer in the etching process’ and the BRI of:
choosing a largest value in the comparison matrix as a stability index (See, e.g., ¶ 0049, 0063, 0064, 0178-0195, 0212).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LAM to include choosing a largest value in the comparison matrix as a stability index.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LAM because it would be beneficial to improve state judgement processing. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 13, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
MORISAWA further teaches the BRI of:
based on the stability index being greater than a threshold value,
generating an alert signal (See, e.g., ¶ 0049, 0063, 0064, 0178-0195, 0212; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 9, 12).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LAM to include based on the stability index being greater than a threshold value, generating an alert signal.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LAM because it would be beneficial to improve state judgement processing. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter (over prior art)
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter over prior art:
None of the cited prior art alone or in combination provides motivation to explicitly teach:
the first material comprises argon (Ar),
the first wavelength is 434.8 nm,
the second wavelength is 476.5 nm,
and
the third wavelength is 488.0 nm
of claim(s) 9 (including dependent claim(s)).
Conclusion
RAYMOND NIMOX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/RAYMOND L NIMOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit