DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 8/20/2024. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending and are examined.
Priority/Benefit
Applicant’s priority claim is hereby acknowledged of FRANCE 2309347 09/06/2023, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement PTO-1449
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted by applicant on 8/20/2024, 12/24/2024 and 12/24/2024 has/have been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 5-6 and 17 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: The examiner suggests the following corrections:Claim 5-6 and 17:
Please place the period after the parenthesis.
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an input configured to receive instructions that are received at an input terminal of said microcontroller or that are being processed by a code pointer of said microcontroller” in claim 1; and “a module for monitoring instructions of the microcontroller, the module including: an input configured to receive instructions that are received at an input terminal of said microcontroller or that are being processed by a code pointer of said microcontroller” in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim(s) 1 and 13, 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is invoked by the limitation " an input configured to receive instructions". However, Applicant's Specification does not clearly link this function to any structure (e.g., hardware and any necessary algorithm) capable of performing it. See, e.g., Telcordia Techs., Inc. v. Cisco Systems, Inc., 612 F.3d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 2010). Accordingly, the limitation "the input" renders the claim indefinite. See, e.g., In re Donaldson Co., 16 F.3d 1189, 1195 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (en banc).
Dependent claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons presented above with respect to rejected claim(s) in view of their dependence thereon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (a), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. In particular, the specification does not describe “an input configured to receive instructions” as in claims 1 and 13. The dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the claims upon which they ultimately claim; the analysis provided above applies to each of the claims and are rejected as well.
Examiner’s Note – Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 overcomes the prior art and would otherwise be allowable if incorporated into the base claim along with any intervening claims. Further, the claims must overcome the 35 USC 112(b) and 35 USC 112(a) rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10, 13-16, and 18-20, is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grocutt (US 2013/05125 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 18, Grocutt teaches:
“A module for monitoring instructions of a microcontroller, comprising: an input configured to receive instructions that are received at an input terminal of said microcontroller or that are being processed by a code pointer of said microcontroller (Grocutt, Fig. 1, ¶ 85 teaches microcontroller. Grocutt, Fig. 1, ¶ 90 teaches pointers of the microcontroller. Grocutt, Fig. 1, ¶ 96 teaches receiving instructions at the fault checking instructions circuitry); and circuitry configured to verify the instructions that are received on the input terminal of said microcontroller or that are being processed by the code pointer of said microcontroller (Grocutt, Figs. 1 and 7, ¶ 96 and 121-122 teaches receiving instructions at the fault checking instructions and checking if they are valid)”.
Regarding claims 2, 14, and 19, Grocutt teaches:
“The module according to claim 1 (Grocutt teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above), wherein the microcontroller is configured to process the instructions in response to the module verifying the instructions (Grocutt, Fig. 7, ¶ 121 teaches processing the normal branch instruction when it is within a given range)”.
Regarding claims 3, 15, and 20, Grocutt teaches:
“The module according to claim 1 (Grocutt teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above), wherein the microcontroller is set to an error mode in response the verification by the module indicating that the instructions are not valid (Grocutt, Fig. 7, ¶ 122 when the branch instruction is invalid a fault is created)”.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Grocutt teaches:
“The module according to claim 1 (Grocutt teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above), wherein the circuitry is configured to verify the instructions by comparing at least one data element corresponding to said instructions with a reference data element (Grocutt, Fig. 7, ¶ 122 the branch instruction is compared with the assigned dummy function call return address as part of the process to verify it)”.
Regarding claim 7, Grocutt teaches:
“The module according to claim 1 (Grocutt teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above), wherein said input terminal of said microcontroller is a terminal having a connection to a data bus (Grocutt, Fig. 1 depicts the data connection wires between elements)”.
Regarding claim 10, Grocutt teaches:
“The module according to claim 1 (Grocutt teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above), wherein said instructions originate from a memory (Grocutt, Fig. 1 teaches that the instructions are fetched from the memory stacks)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grocutt in view of Wagner (US 2024/00193309 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Grocutt teaches:
“The module according to claim 4 (Grocutt teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above), wherein when the instructions are received on said input terminal of said microcontroller, the reference data element is data element (Grocutt, Fig. 7, ¶ 122 the branch instruction is compared with the assigned dummy function call return address as part of the process to verify it)”.
Grocutt does not, but in related art, Wagner teaches:
“‘0xFFFFFFFF’ (Wagner, ¶ 76 teaches utilizing a “one” state)”.
Before applicant’s earliest effective filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Grocutt and Wagner, to modify the program checker of Grocutt to include the use of a particular address as taught in Wagner. The motivation to do so constitutes a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Grocutt teaches:
“The module or method according to claim 10 (Grocutt teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above)”.
Grocutt does not, but in related art, Wagner teaches:
“wherein said memory is a flash-type RAM (Wagner, ¶ 56 and 76 teaches flash memory processing)”.
Before applicant’s earliest effective filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Grocutt and Wagner, to modify the program checker of Grocutt to include the use of a particular address as taught in Wagner. The motivation to do so constitutes applying a known technique to known devices and/or methods ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grocutt in view of Ruelle (US 2022/0327193 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Grocutt teaches:
“The module according to claim 7 (Grocutt teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above)”.
Grocutt does not, but in related art, Ruelle teaches:
“wherein the data bus is a communication bus of Advanced High-performance Bus type (Ruelle, ¶ 33 teaches AHB implementation)”. Before applicant’s earliest effective filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Grocutt and Ruelle, to modify the program checker of Grocutt to include the use of AHB as taught in Wagner. The motivation to do so constitutes applying a known technique to known devices and/or methods ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grocutt in view of Conti (US 2007/0226795 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Grocutt teaches:
“The module according to claim 7 (Grocutt teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above)”.
Grucutt does not, but in related art Conti teaches:
“wherein the data bus is a communication bus of an Advanced eXtensible Interface (AXI) type (Conti, ¶ 167 teaches memory checking with an AXI bus system)”. Before applicant’s earliest effective filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Grocutt and Conti, to modify the program checker of Grocutt to include the use of an AXI bus as taught in Conti. The motivation to do so constitutes applying a known technique to known devices and/or methods ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grocutt in view of Vaassen (US 2024/0135040 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Grocutt teaches:
“The module or method according to claim 10 (Grocutt teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above)”.
Grocutt does not, but in related art, Vaassen teaches:
wherein said memory is a non-volatile memory (Vaassen, ¶ 42 and 123 teaches verification unit for non-volatile memory)”.
Before applicant’s earliest effective filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Grocutt and Vaassen, to modify the program checker of Grocutt to include the NVM checking as taught in Vaassen. The motivation to do so constitutes applying a known technique to known devices and/or methods ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: See PTO-892.
/STEPHEN T GUNDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435