Claim Objections
Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3 “firmed” should read “formed”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the insert is constructed of one of sheet metal, a polymeric material, ceramic or a combination thereof” should read “further comprising an insert, wherein the insert is constructed of one of sheet metal, a polymeric material, ceramic or a combination thereof” for proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mangin (EP3805132A1), referring to the English translation dated 07/31/2026.
Regarding claim 1, Mangin teaches
an appliance handling system (“the invention relates to a gripping means intended to facilitate the transport, handling and/or placement of a thermally insulated container, in particular a hot water storage drum as present on the above-mentioned devices”) [0002], the system comprising:
an appliance (thermally insulated container 11) having a top face (fig. 5) and a bottom face (fig. 8);
one or more cutouts formed in at least one of the top face (18 and 18’ as shown on figs. 5-6) or the bottom face (19 and 19’ as shown on figs. 7-8), each of the one or more cutouts having at least one sidewall (inner sidewalls of 18, 18’, 19, and 19’ as shown on figs. 5 and 8); and
one or more inserts (gripping means 1), each of the one or more inserts having a cavity (between side walls 3, 3', fig. 1), wherein each of the one or more cavities of the one or more inserts is aligned with at least one of the cutouts (fig. 5 and fig. 8)
Regarding claim 2, Mangin teaches the appliance handling system of claim 1,
wherein at least one of the one or more cutouts is formed in the top face and at least one of the one or more cutouts is formed in the bottom face (fig. 5 and fig. 8)
Regarding claim 3, Mangin teaches the appliance handling system of claim 1,
wherein the appliance has a cylindrical shape (cylindrical shape of thermally insulated container 11 shown on fig. 5)
Regarding claim 4, Mangin teaches the appliance handling system of claim 1,
wherein the appliance is a water heater (“accumulation water heaters”) [0001]
Regarding claim 5, Mangin teaches the appliance handling system of claim 4,
wherein the water heater is a storage tank water heater (“hot water storage drum”) [0002]
Regarding claim 6, Mangin teaches the appliance handling system of claim 1,
wherein the insert is constructed of one of sheet metal, a polymeric material, ceramic, or a combination thereof (“As mentioned, the means according to the invention is characterized in that it is made of synthetic material in an injection molding process, preferably a polypropylene or polyamide” [0026]; thus gripping means 1 comprises a polymeric material)
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Antonelli (EP4296591A1).
Regarding claim 1, Antonelli teaches
an appliance handling system (“The present invention relates to gripping means integrated with a storage water heater”) [0001], the system comprising:
an appliance (water heater WH) having a top face (upper cap 4) and a bottom face (shown on fig. 2);
one or more cutouts formed in at least one of the top face or the bottom face (four seats 44 in center of upper cap 4, fig. 3), each of the one or more cutouts having at least one sidewall (fig. 3); and
one or more inserts (two handles 2, fig. 1-2), each of the one or more inserts having a cavity (holes 25, fig. 3), wherein each of the one or more cavities of the one or more inserts is aligned with at least one of the cutouts (figs. 3-4, [0029])
Regarding claim 3, Antonelli teaches the appliance handling system of claim 1,
wherein the appliance has a cylindrical shape (water heater WH, fig. 1)
Regarding claim 4, Antonelli teaches the appliance handling system of claim 1,
wherein the appliance is a water heater (water heater WH)
Regarding claim 5, Antonelli teaches the appliance handling system of claim 4,
wherein the water heater is a storage tank water heater (“The invention finds particular application in the sector of large-sized thermo-sanitary appliances, having a storage tank able to store a large volume of water to be heated”) [0002]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mangin (EP3805132A1), referring to the English translation dated 07/31/2026, in view of Choi (US20090260583A1).
Regarding claim 7, Mangin teaches
an appliance handling system (“the invention relates to a gripping means intended to facilitate the transport, handling and/or placement of a thermally insulated container, in particular a hot water storage drum as present on the above-mentioned devices”) [0002], the system comprising:
an appliance (thermally insulated container 11) having at least one sidewall (sleeve or casing 13), a first opening, and a second opening (“top and bottom closure covers or covers 14 and 15 closing the opposite openings of said sleeve or casing 13”) [0027];
one or more pans (top and bottom closure covers 14 and 15), each of the one or more pans having one or more cutouts formed therein (18 and 18’ as shown on figs. 5-6, 19 and 19’ as shown on figs. 7-8), each of the one or more cutouts having at least one sidewall (figs. 5 and 8); and
one or more inserts (gripping means 1), each of the one or more inserts having a cavity (between side walls 3, 3', fig. 1), wherein: each of the one or more cavities of the one or more inserts are aligned with at least one of the cutouts (fig. 5 and fig. 8)
Mangin does not teach
one or more removable pans
Choi teaches
one or more removable pans (fig. 11; cover 200 secured to body 100 via body screw part 101)
Figs. 5 and 8 of Mangin show the top and bottom closure covers 14 and 15 as coupled to thermally insulated container 11, however do not explicitly teach the covers 14 and 15 as removably coupled to the container. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the coupling system of fig. 11 of Choi for the covers of Mangin, in order to effectively allow for simple assembly and disassembly of the system while simultaneously providing a sealing means 300 to ensure a water tight coupling.
Regarding claim 8, Mangin, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 7,
wherein at least one of the one or more cutouts is formed in the removable pan proximate to the first opening (18 and 18’, fig. 5) and at least one of the one or more cutouts is formed in the removable pan proximate to the second opening (19 and 19’, fig. 8)
Regarding claim 9, Mangin, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 7,
wherein the appliance has a cylindrical shape (cylindrical shape of thermally insulated container 11 shown on fig. 5)
Regarding claim 10, Mangin, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 7,
wherein the appliance is a water heater (“accumulation water heaters”) [0001]
Regarding claim 11, Mangin, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 10,
wherein the water heater is a storage tank water heater (“hot water storage drum”) [0002]
Regarding claim 12, Mangin, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 7,
wherein the insert is constructed of one of sheet metal, a polymeric material, ceramic, or a combination thereof (“As mentioned, the means according to the invention is characterized in that it is made of synthetic material in an injection molding process, preferably a polypropylene or polyamide” [0026]; thus gripping means 1 comprises a polymeric material)
Regarding claim 13, Mangin, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 7,
wherein each of the one or more removable pans are coupled to the appliance by interference fit (fig. 11 of Choi; “a body engagement member 130 , which is made of plastic and so on, is fixed to the outer surface of the body 100 through an insert injection method or a forced press-in method, and the body screw part 101 is formed on the outer surface of the body engagement member 130” [0102 of Choi]; therefore, cover 200 is fixed to body engagement member 130 of Choi via screw fit, and body engagement member 130 is fixed to body 100 of Choi via press fit; thus, cover 200 is fixed to body 100 via press (interference) fit, as applied to Mangin)
Regarding claim 14, Mangin teaches
an appliance handling system (“the invention relates to a gripping means intended to facilitate the transport, handling and/or placement of a thermally insulated container, in particular a hot water storage drum as present on the above-mentioned devices”) [0002], the system comprising:
an appliance (thermally insulated container 11) having at least one sidewall (sleeve or casing 13), a first opening, and a second opening (“top and bottom closure covers or covers 14 and 15 closing the opposite openings of said sleeve or casing 13”) [0027];
one or more pans (top and bottom closure covers 14 and 15), each of the one or more pans having a cutout and a cavity formed therein (18 and 18’ as shown on figs. 5-6, 19 and 19’ as shown on figs. 7-8), each of the one or more pans coupled to the appliance and covering at least one of the first opening and the second opening (“top and bottom closure covers or covers 14 and 15 closing the opposite openings of said sleeve or casing 13”) [0027]
Mangin does not teach
one or more removable pans
Choi teaches
one or more removable pans (fig. 11; cover 200 secured to body 100 via body screw part 101)
Figs. 5 and 8 of Mangin show the top and bottom closure covers 14 and 15 as coupled to thermally insulated container 11, however do not explicitly teach the covers 14 and 15 as removably coupled to the container. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the coupling system of fig. 11 of Choi for the covers of Mangin, in order to effectively allow for simple assembly and disassembly of the system while simultaneously providing a sealing means 300 to ensure a water tight coupling.
Regarding claim 15, Mangin, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 14,
wherein at least one of the one or more cutouts is formed in a removable pan covering the first opening and at least one of the one or more cutouts is firmed in a removable pan covering the second opening (“top and bottom closure covers or covers 14 and 15 closing the opposite openings of said sleeve or casing 13”) [0027]
Regarding claim 16, Mangin, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 14,
wherein the appliance has a cylindrical shape (cylindrical shape of thermally insulated container 11 shown on fig. 5)
Regarding claim 17, Mangin, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 14,
wherein the appliance is a water heater (“accumulation water heaters”) [0001]
Regarding claim 18, Mangin, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 17,
wherein the water heater is storage tank water heater (“hot water storage drum”) [0002]
Regarding claim 19, Mangin, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 14,
wherein the insert is constructed of one of sheet metal, a polymeric material, ceramic or a combination thereof (“As mentioned, the means according to the invention is characterized in that it is made of synthetic material in an injection molding process, preferably a polypropylene or polyamide” [0026]; thus gripping means 1 comprises a polymeric material)
Regarding claim 20, Mangin, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 14,
wherein each of the one or more removable pans are coupled to the appliance by interference fit (fig. 11 of Choi; “a body engagement member 130 , which is made of plastic and so on, is fixed to the outer surface of the body 100 through an insert injection method or a forced press-in method, and the body screw part 101 is formed on the outer surface of the body engagement member 130” [0102 of Choi]; therefore, cover 200 is fixed to body engagement member 130 of Choi via screw fit, and body engagement member 130 is fixed to body 100 of Choi via press fit; thus, cover 200 is fixed to body 100 via press (interference) fit, as applied to Mangin)
Claim(s) 7-11, 13-14, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonelli (EP4296591A1), in view of Choi (US20090260583A1).
Regarding claim 7, Antonelli teaches
an appliance handling system (“The present invention relates to gripping means integrated with a storage water heater”) [0001], the system comprising:
an appliance (water heater WH) having at least one sidewall (constraint means 5), a first opening, and a second opening (two seats 44 on outer edge of upper cap 4, annotated fig. 3 below);
one or more pans (upper cap 4, fig. 1-2), each of the one or more pans having one or more cutouts formed therein (four seats 44 in center of upper cap 4, annotated fig. 3 below), each of the one or more cutouts having at least one sidewall (fig. 3); and
one or more inserts (two handles 2, fig. 1-2), each of the one or more inserts having a cavity (holes 25, fig. 3), wherein: each of the one or more cavities of the one or more inserts are aligned with at least one of the cutouts (figs. 3-4, [0029])
Antonelli does not teach
one or more removable pans
Choi teaches
one or more removable pans (fig. 11; cover 200 secured to body 100 via body screw part 101)
Antonelli does not explicitly teach the upper cap 4 as removably coupled to the container. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the coupling system of fig. 11 of Choi for the cap of Antonelli, in order to effectively allow for simple assembly and disassembly of the system while simultaneously providing a sealing means 300 to ensure a water tight coupling.
Annotated fig. 3 of Antonelli
Regarding claim 8, Antonelli, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 7,
wherein at least one of the one or more cutouts is formed in the removable pan proximate to the first opening (two inner seats 44 on left side of upper cap 4 reading on cutouts proximate to the first opening, annotated fig. 3) and at least one of the one or more cutouts is formed in the removable pan proximate to the second opening (two inner seats 44 on right side of upper cap 4 reading on cutouts proximate to the second opening, annotated fig. 3)
Regarding claim 9, Antonelli, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 7,
wherein the appliance has a cylindrical shape (water heater WH, fig. 1)
Regarding claim 10, Antonelli, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 7,
wherein the appliance is a water heater (water heater WH)
Regarding claim 11, Antonelli, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 10,
wherein the water heater is a storage tank water heater (“The invention finds particular application in the sector of large-sized thermo-sanitary appliances, having a storage tank able to store a large volume of water to be heated”) [0002]
Regarding claim 13, Antonelli, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 7,
wherein each of the one or more removable pans are coupled to the appliance by interference fit (fig. 11 of Choi; “a body engagement member 130 , which is made of plastic and so on, is fixed to the outer surface of the body 100 through an insert injection method or a forced press-in method, and the body screw part 101 is formed on the outer surface of the body engagement member 130” [0102 of Choi]; therefore, cover 200 is fixed to body engagement member 130 of Choi via screw fit, and body engagement member 130 is fixed to body 100 of Choi via press fit; thus, cover 200 is fixed to body 100 via press (interference) fit, as applied to Antonelli)
Regarding claim 14, Antonelli teaches
an appliance handling system (“The present invention relates to gripping means integrated with a storage water heater”) [0001], the system comprising:
an appliance (water heater WH) having at least one sidewall (constraint means 5), a first opening, and a second opening (“said housing S comprising a cylindrical shell, closed at the top by an upper cap 4 and at the bottom by a lower cap (not shown in figure)” [0018]; thus, caps close two openings);
one or more pans (upper cap 4, fig. 1-2), each of the one or more pans having a cutout and a cavity formed therein (four seats 44 in center of upper cap 4, annotated fig. 3), each of the one or more pans coupled to the appliance and covering at least one of the first opening and the second opening (“said housing S comprising a cylindrical shell, closed at the top by an upper cap 4”) [0018]
Antonelli does not teach
one or more removable pans
Choi teaches
one or more removable pans (fig. 11; cover 200 secured to body 100 via body screw part 101)
Antonelli does not explicitly teach the upper cap 4 as removably coupled to the container. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the coupling system of fig. 11 of Choi for the cap of Antonelli, in order to effectively allow for simple assembly and disassembly of the system while simultaneously providing a sealing means 300 to ensure a water tight coupling.
Regarding claim 16, Antonelli, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 14,
wherein the appliance has a cylindrical shape (water heater WH, fig. 1)
Regarding claim 17, Antonelli, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 14,
wherein the appliance is a water heater (water heater WH)
Regarding claim 18, Antonelli, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 17,
wherein the water heater is storage tank water heater (“The invention finds particular application in the sector of large-sized thermo-sanitary appliances, having a storage tank able to store a large volume of water to be heated”) [0002]
Regarding claim 20, Antonelli, as modified, teaches the appliance handling system of claim 14,
wherein each of the one or more removable pans are coupled to the appliance by interference fit (fig. 11 of Choi; “a body engagement member 130 , which is made of plastic and so on, is fixed to the outer surface of the body 100 through an insert injection method or a forced press-in method, and the body screw part 101 is formed on the outer surface of the body engagement member 130” [0102 of Choi]; therefore, cover 200 is fixed to body engagement member 130 of Choi via screw fit, and body engagement member 130 is fixed to body 100 of Choi via press fit; thus, cover 200 is fixed to body 100 via press (interference) fit, as applied to Antonelli)
Conclusion
The prior art of record not relied upon includes:
Hong (CN112303896A), which teaches a similar appliance handling system to that claimed
/BRETT P. MALLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762