DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the communication filed on August 20, 2024. Claims 1-4 were originally received for consideration. No preliminary amendments for the claims have been received.
2. Claims 1-4 are currently pending consideration .
Information Disclosure Statement
3. An initialed and dated copies of Applicant’s IDS (form 1449), received on June 6, 2025, is communicated with this Office Action
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,096,011. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application are rendered obvious by the claims of the ‘011 Patent as disclosed below. The bolded portion of claim 1 (the representative claim) is the only aspect not explicitly disclosed by the ‘011 Patent. The present application requires that only one information among the information related to the ALF parameters, the information related to the LMCS parameters, and the information related to the scaling list data is included in the APS based on the type information, wherein the APS includes scaling list data based on the type information. However, it would have been obvious to modify the claims of the ‘011 Patent such that the APS includes only one parameter (ALF, LMCS or scaling list data) based on APS type information as this would simplify the APS parameter set and signaling. Therefore the present application claims are rendered obvious in view of the claims of the ‘011 Patent.
Present Application
Patent 12,096,011
1. An image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, the method comprising:
obtaining image information including residual information from a bitstream;
deriving quantized transform coefficients for a current block based on the residual information;
deriving transform coefficients based on the quantized transform coefficients;
deriving residual samples based on the transform coefficients; and
generating reconstructed samples based on the residual samples, wherein the image information includes an adaptation parameter set (APS), wherein the APS includes APS identification information and type information of APS parameters, wherein the type information specifies which information is included in the APS among information related to Adaptive Loop Filter (ALF) parameters, information related to Luma Mapping with Chroma Scaling (LMCS) parameters, and information related to scaling list data,
wherein only one information among the information related to the ALF parameters, the information related to the LMCS parameters, and the information related to the scaling list data is included in the APS based on the type information, wherein the APS includes scaling list data based on the type information,
wherein the scaling list data includes scaling list parameters used in a dequantization process for the quantized transform coefficients, and
wherein the deriving of the transform coefficients comprising:
obtaining the scaling list data based on the type information included in the APS; and deriving the transform coefficients by applying the dequantization process to the quantized transform coefficients based on the scaling list data.
2. An image encoding method performed by an image encoding apparatus, the method comprising:
deriving residual samples for a current block; deriving transform coefficients based on the residual samples;
deriving quantized transform coefficients by applying a quantization process to the transform coefficients;
generating residual information including information on the quantized transform coefficients; and
encoding image information including the residual information, wherein the image information includes an adaptation parameter set (APS), wherein the APS includes scaling list data including scaling list parameters, wherein the APS includes APS identification information and type information of APS parameters, wherein the type information specifies which information is included in the APS among information related to Adaptive Loop Filter (ALF) parameters, information related to Luma Mapping with Chroma Scaling (LMCS) parameters, and information related to the scaling list data, wherein only one information among the information related to the ALF parameters, the information related to the LMCS parameters, and the information related to the scaling list data is configured to be included in the APS based on the type information, and wherein the APS includes the scaling list data based on the type information.
3. A non-transitory computer-readable digital storage medium storing a bitstream generated by the method of claim 2.
4. A method for transmitting data for image information, the method comprising:
obtaining a bitstream of the image information including residual information, wherein the bitstream is generated based on deriving residual samples for a current block deriving transform coefficients based on the residual samples deriving quantized transform coefficients by applying a quantization process to the transform coefficients generating residual information including information on the quantized transform coefficients and encoding image information including the residual information; and
transmitting the data comprising the bitstream of the image information including the residual information, wherein the image information includes an adaptation parameter set (APS), wherein the APS includes scaling list data including scaling list parameters, wherein the APS includes APS identification information and type information of APS parameters, wherein the type information specifies which information is included in the APS among information related to Adaptive Loop Filter (ALF) parameters, information related to Luma Mapping with Chroma Scaling (LMCS) parameters, and information related to the scaling list data, wherein only one information among the information related to the ALF parameters, the information related to the LMCS parameters, and the information related to the scaling list data is configured to be included in the APS based on the type information, and wherein the APS includes the scaling list data based on the type information.
1. An image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, the method comprising: obtaining image information including residual information from a bitstream;
deriving quantized transform coefficients for a current block based on the residual information;
deriving transform coefficients based on the quantized transform coefficients;
deriving residual samples based on the transform coefficients; and
generating reconstructed samples based on the residual samples, wherein the image information includes an adaptation parameter set (APS), wherein the APS includes APS identification information and type information of APS parameters, wherein the type information specifies which information is included in the APS among information related to Adaptive Loop Filter (ALF) parameters, information related to Luma Mapping with Chroma Scaling (LMCS) parameters, or information related to scaling list data, wherein the APS includes scaling list data based on the type information,
wherein the scaling list data includes scaling list parameters used in a dequantization process for the quantized transform coefficients,
wherein the deriving of the transform coefficients comprising:
obtaining the scaling list data based on the type information included in the APS; and
deriving the transform coefficients by applying the dequantization process to the quantized transform coefficients based on the scaling list data, wherein the image information includes header information, wherein the header information includes APS identification information related to the scaling list data, wherein the scaling list data is obtained from the APS by identifying the APS based on the APS identification information of the header information, wherein the image information includes a sequence parameter set (SPS), wherein the SPS includes first available flag information related to indicating whether the scaling list data is available, wherein the APS identification information related to the scaling list data is obtained from the header information based on the first available flag information related to indicating that the scaling list data is available, wherein the header information includes second available flag information related to indicating whether the scaling list data is available in a picture or a slice, wherein the second available flag information is obtained from the header information based on the first available flag information, and wherein the APS identification information related to the scaling list data is obtained from the header information based on the second available flag information.
2. An image encoding method performed by an image encoding apparatus, the method comprising:
deriving residual samples for a current block; deriving transform coefficients based on the residual samples;
deriving quantized transform coefficients by applying a quantization process to the transform coefficients;
generating residual information including information on the quantized transform coefficients; and
encoding image information including the residual information, wherein the image information includes an adaptation parameter set (APS), wherein the APS includes scaling list data including scaling list parameters, wherein the APS includes APS identification information and type information of APS parameters, wherein the type information specifies which information is included in the APS among information related to Adaptive Loop Filter (ALF) parameters, information related to Luma Mapping with Chroma Scaling (LMCS) parameters, or information related to the scaling list data, wherein the APS includes the scaling list data based on the type information, wherein the image information includes header information, wherein the header information includes APS identification information related to the scaling list data, wherein the APS identification information of the header information specifies identification information of the APS including the scaling list data, wherein the image information includes a sequence parameter set (SPS), wherein the SPS includes first available flag information related to indicating whether the scaling list data is available, wherein the header information includes the APS identification information related to the scaling list data based on the first available flag information related to indicating that the scaling list data is available, wherein the header information includes second available flag information related to indicating whether the scaling list data is available in a picture or a slice, wherein the header information includes the second available flag information based on the first available flag information, and wherein the header information includes the APS identification information related to the scaling list data based on the second available flag information.
3. A non-transitory computer-readable digital storage medium storing a bitstream generated by the method of claim 2.
4. A method for transmitting data for image information, the method comprising:
obtaining a bitstream of the image information including residual information, wherein the bitstream is generated based on deriving residual samples for a current block, deriving transform coefficients based on the residual samples, deriving quantized transform coefficients by applying a quantization process to the transform coefficients, generating residual information including information on the quantized transform coefficients, encoding the image information including the residual information; and
transmitting the data comprising the bitstream of the image information including the residual information, wherein the image information includes an adaptation parameter set (APS), wherein the APS includes scaling list data including scaling list parameters, wherein the APS includes APS identification information and type information of APS parameters, wherein the type information specifies which information is included in the APS among information related to Adaptive Loop Filter (ALF) parameters, information related to Luma Mapping with Chroma Scaling (LMCS) parameters, or information related to the scaling list data, wherein the APS includes the scaling list data based on the type information, wherein the image information includes header information, wherein the header information includes APS identification information related to the scaling list data, wherein the APS identification information of the header information specifies identification information of the APS including the scaling list data,
wherein the image information includes a sequence parameter set (SPS), wherein the SPS includes first available flag information related to indicating whether the scaling list data is available, wherein the header information includes the APS identification information related to the scaling list data based on the first available flag information related to indicating that the scaling list data is available, wherein the header information includes second available flag information related to indicating whether the scaling list data is available in a picture or a slice, wherein the header information includes the second available flag information based on the first available flag information, and wherein the header information includes the APS identification information related to the scaling list data based on the second available flag information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Auwera et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. US 2014/0369404) in view of Sullivan et al. (Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11).
Regarding claim 2, Van der Auwera discloses:
An image encoding method performed by an image encoding apparatus, the method comprising:
deriving residual samples for a current block (Fig. 3, items 80, 86, 88: the first four items specify a generic HEVC or VVC decoding process);
deriving transform coefficients based on the residual samples (paragraphs 0005, 0042: the quantized transform coefficients, initially arranged in a two-dimensional array, may be scanned in order to produce a one-dimensional vector of transform coefficients, and entropy coding may be applied to achieve even more compression);
deriving quantized transform coefficients by applying a quantization process to the transform coefficients (paragraphs 0005, 0048, 0064, 0065: the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized. The quantized transform coefficients, initially arranged in a two-dimensional array, may be scanned in order to produce a one-dimensional vector of transform coefficients, and entropy coding may be applied to achieve even more compression);
generating residual information including information on the quantized transform coefficients (Fig. 3, items 80, 86, 88: the first four items specify a generic HEVC or VVC decoding process); and
encoding image information including the residual information (paragraphs 0005, 0048, 0064, 0065: the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized. The quantized transform coefficients, initially arranged in a two-dimensional array, may be scanned in order to produce a one-dimensional vector of transform coefficients, and entropy coding may be applied to achieve even more compression),
wherein the image information includes an adaptation parameter set (APS) (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information),
wherein the APS includes scaling list data including scaling list parameters (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information), and wherein the APS includes the scaling list data based on the type information (paragraph 0171, Table 20: scaling_list_param()),
wherein the APS includes APS identification information and type information of APS parameters (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information), and
the information related to the scaling list data is configured to be included in the APS based on the type information (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information), and
wherein the APS includes the scaling list data based on the type information (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information).
Van der Auwera does not explicitly disclose wherein the type information specifies which information is included in the APS among information related to Adaptive Loop Filter (ALF) parameters, information related to Luma Mapping with Chroma Scaling (LMCS) parameters, and information related to scaling list data, wherein only one information among the information related to the ALF parameters, the information related to the LMCS parameters, and the information related to the scaling list data is configured to be included in the APS based on the type information. Van der Auwera does disclose that the APS includes parameters such as an Adaptive Loop Filter (ALF). In an analogous art, Sullivan et al. (Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11) discloses the use of LMCS and ALF as parameters (page 49) in an Adaption parameter set (page 18). Sullivan uses the LMCS parameter to provide picture reconstruction (paged 19: JVET-M0427). Van de Auwera discloses placing filter parameters and scaling list data into APS (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information), while Sullivan discloses a NAL unit type (page 10) which is a field identifies the content and purpose of the data that follows. It would have been obvious to allow the APS system of Van de Auwera to provide additional parameters such as LMCS as taught by Sullivan in order to support multiple tools in the APS signaling system of Van de Auwera.
Claim 3 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 2. Furthermore, Van der Auwera discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable digital storage medium storing a bitstream generated by the method of claim 2 (paragraph 0019: computer readable medium).
Regarding claim 4, Van der Auwera discloses:
A method for transmitting data for image information, the method comprising:
obtaining a bitstream of the image information including residual information, wherein the bitstream is generated based on deriving residual samples for a current block (Fig. 3, items 80, 86, 88: the first four items specify a generic HEVC or VVC decoding process) deriving transform coefficients based on the residual samples deriving quantized transform coefficients by applying a quantization process to the transform coefficients (paragraphs 0005, 0042: the quantized transform coefficients, initially arranged in a two-dimensional array, may be scanned in order to produce a one-dimensional vector of transform coefficients, and entropy coding may be applied to achieve even more compression) generating residual information including information on the quantized transform coefficients (Fig. 3, items 80, 86, 88: the first four items specify a generic HEVC or VVC decoding process) and encoding image information including the residual information (paragraphs 0005, 0048, 0064, 0065: the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized. The quantized transform coefficients, initially arranged in a two-dimensional array, may be scanned in order to produce a one-dimensional vector of transform coefficients, and entropy coding may be applied to achieve even more compression); and
transmitting the data comprising the bitstream of the image information including the residual information (Fig. 3, items 80, 86, 88: the first four items specify a generic HEVC or VVC decoding process),
wherein the image information includes an adaptation parameter set (APS) (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information),
wherein the APS includes scaling list data including scaling list parameters (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information), and wherein the APS includes the scaling list data based on the type information (paragraph 0171, Table 20: scaling_list_param()),
wherein the APS includes APS identification information and type information of APS parameters (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information), and
the information related to the scaling list data is configured to be included in the APS based on the type information (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information), and
wherein the APS includes the scaling list data based on the type information (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information).
Van der Auwera does not explicitly disclose wherein the type information specifies which information is included in the APS among information related to Adaptive Loop Filter (ALF) parameters, information related to Luma Mapping with Chroma Scaling (LMCS) parameters, and information related to scaling list data, wherein only one information among the information related to the ALF parameters, the information related to the LMCS parameters, and the information related to the scaling list data is configured to be included in the APS based on the type information. Van der Auwera does disclose that the APS includes parameters such as an Adaptive Loop Filter (ALF). In an analogous art, Sullivan et al. (Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11) discloses the use of LMCS and ALF as parameters (page 49) in an Adaption parameter set (page 18). Sullivan uses the LMCS parameter to provide picture reconstruction (paged 19: JVET-M0427). Van de Auwera discloses placing filter parameters and scaling list data into APS (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information), while Sullivan discloses a NAL unit type (page 10) which is a field identifies the content and purpose of the data that follows. It would have been obvious to allow the APS system of Van de Auwera to provide additional parameters such as LMCS as taught by Sullivan in order to support multiple tools in the APS signaling system of Van de Auwera.
6. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Auwera et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. US 2014/0369404) in view of Sullivan et al. (Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11) in further in view of Bross et al. “Joint Collaborative Team on Video Coding (JCT-VC) of ITU-T SG16 WP3 and ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/WG11.”
Regarding claim 1, Van der Auwera discloses:
An image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, the method comprising:
obtaining image information including residual information from a bitstream (paragraphs 0042, 0046, 0062, 0063: calculate residual values);
deriving quantized transform coefficients for a current block based on the residual information; deriving transform coefficients based on the quantized transform coefficients (paragraphs 0005, 0048, 0064, 0065: the residual data may be transformed from the pixel domain to a transform domain, resulting in residual transform coefficients, which then may be quantized. The quantized transform coefficients, initially arranged in a two-dimensional array, may be scanned in order to produce a one-dimensional vector of transform coefficients, and entropy coding may be applied to achieve even more compression);
deriving residual samples based on the transform coefficients (Fig. 3, items 80, 86, 88: the first four items specify a generic HEVC or VVC decoding process); and
generating reconstructed samples based on the residual samples (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information),
wherein the image information includes an adaptation parameter set (APS), wherein the APS includes APS identification information and type information of APS parameters (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information), and
the information related to the scaling list data is included in the APS based on the type information (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information),
wherein the APS includes scaling list data based on the type information (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information),
wherein the scaling list data includes scaling list parameters used in a dequantization process for the quantized transform coefficients (paragraphs 0171, 0173: scaling list parameters), and
wherein the deriving of the transform coefficients comprising:
obtaining the scaling list data based on the type information included in the APS (paragraphs 0035, 0121: HEVC).
Van der Auwera does not explicitly disclose wherein the type information specifies which information is included in the APS among information related to Adaptive Loop Filter (ALF) parameters, information related to Luma Mapping with Chroma Scaling (LMCS) parameters, and information related to scaling list data, wherein only one information among the information related to the ALF parameters, the information related to the LMCS parameters, and the information related to the scaling list data is configured to be included in the APS based on the type information. Van der Auwera does disclose that the APS includes parameters such as an Adaptive Loop Filter (ALF). In an analogous art, Sullivan et al. (Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11) discloses the use of LMCS and ALF as parameters (page 49) in an Adaption parameter set (page 18). Sullivan uses the LMCS parameter to provide picture reconstruction (paged 19: JVET-M0427). Van de Auwera discloses placing filter parameters and scaling list data into APS (paragraph 0171, Table 20: aps_id is the identification information and aps_scaling_list_data_present_flag is type information), while Sullivan discloses a NAL unit type (page 10) which is a field identifies the content and purpose of the data that follows. It would have been obvious to allow the APS system of Van de Auwera to provide additional parameters such as LMCS as taught by Sullivan in order to support multiple tools in the APS signaling system of Van de Auwera.
The combination of Van der Auwera and Sullivan does not explicitly disclose deriving the transform coefficients by applying the dequantization process to the quantized transform coefficients based on the scaling list data. Van der Auwera does disclose the use of HEVC. In an analogous art, Bross discloses that the HEVC standard uses a scaling_list_enable_flag (see Bross: pages 67, and sections 7.4.2.3. and 7.4.2.4 on pages 70-73, section 8.6.3 on page 143). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the scaling list for the dequantized transform coefficients as Van Der Auwera discloses the use of HEVC which is defined to use the scaling list (page 67: scaling_list_enable_flag).
Conclusion
/KAVEH ABRISHAMKAR/
03/26/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494