DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210314148 A1 (YANG et al.) (hereinafter YANG) in view of US 20200314638 A1 (Veneroso).
In re claims 1, 13 and 20, YANG discloses a method for electronic subscriber identity module (eSIM) transfer from a source wireless device (Fig. 3:102-1) to a target wireless device (Fig. 3:102-2, [0004], “This application describes various embodiments that relate to wireless communications, including methods and apparatus to support credential wrapping for secure transfer of electronic SIMS (eSIMs) between wireless devices...transfer of an eSIM from a source device to a target device can be preceded or accompanied by re-encryption of sensitive eSIM data...”), a processor of the source wireless device (Fig. 3:104), a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions for configuring the processor of a source wireless device ([0029], “A source device 102-1 can be configured for transfer of an eSIM profile 208 with credential rewrapping to a target device 102-2. The source device 102-1 can include at least: one or more antennas, a storage element, an eUICC 108-1, and at least one processor 104 communicatively coupled to a memory storing instructions that when executed by the at least one processor...”), the processor configured to: obtaining one or more network addresses for one or more applet asset servers corresponding to one or more applets associated with the eSIM to be transferred from an embedded universal integrated circuit (eUICC) of the source wireless device to an eUICC of the target wireless device; obtaining, from the one or more applet asset servers, one or more subscription service files corresponding to the one or more applets of the eSIM ([0027], “In some embodiments, the Ks encrypted eSIM supplemental data 712 includes information for updating eSIM sensitive data in the Ks encrypted eSIM algorithm data 706. In some embodiments, the K s encrypted eSIM supplemental data 712 includes sensitive data for applets associated with the eSIM 208. For example, some applets 212 of the eSIM 208 can store sensitive data that requires encryption protection for transfer between the source device eUICC 108-1 and the target device eUICC 108-2”); generating an eSIM export package that includes the eSIM and at least one of the one or more subscription service files (Fig. 7, [0027], “FIG. 7 illustrates a diagram 700 of an example of partial eSIM (sensitive data) rewrapping to generate a new bound profile package (BPP) 714 (generating a eSIM export package) for transfer of an eSIM 208 from a source device eUICC 108-1 to a target device eUICC 108-2... In some embodiments, the BPP 702 includes multiple distinct eSIM data portions, each encrypted with the same symmetric key Ks or with distinct symmetric keys (includes eSIM)...In some embodiments, an indication of which information to protect can be included in and/or accompany the Ks encrypted eSIM algorithm data 706 and Ks encrypted eSIM supplemental data 712 received from the provisioning server 116” (package includes subscription service files)); and sending the eSIM export package to the target wireless device ([0027], “For transfer (export) of the eSIM 208 to another mobile wireless device 102, e.g., to a target device eUICC 108-2, the source device eUICC 108-1 can establish an eSIM transfer session with the target device eUICC 108-2” (sending export package to target wireless device)).
YANG does not explicitly disclose obtaining one or more network addresses for one or more applet asset servers corresponding to one or more applets associated with the eSIM to be transferred from an embedded universal integrated circuit (eUICC) of the source wireless device to an eUICC of the target wireless device; obtaining, from the one or more applet asset servers, one or more subscription service files corresponding to the one or more applets of the eSIM.
Veneroso discloses obtaining one or more network addresses for one or more applet asset servers corresponding to one or more applets associated with the eSIM to be transferred from an embedded universal integrated circuit (eUICC) of the source wireless device to an eUICC of the target wireless device; obtaining, from the one or more applet asset servers, one or more subscription service files corresponding to the one or more applets of the eSIM ([0002], “Embodiments of the present disclosure relate to a method for managing profiles in Embedded Universal Integrated Circuit Cards, a corresponding system and computer program product”. [0027], “the solution may include that the requested operation include a profile download operation, the operation request including a network address of a preparation server in which a profile to be downloaded is stored, and the profile management module, upon accessing the operation request accessing the preparation server at the network address, downloading the profile in a local communication device”. [0058], “The system 10′ includes also a Subscription Manager-Discovery Server (SM-DS) 25 to... inform the Local Discovery Service 14c within any device that an SM-DP+ like server 13 wishes to communicate with it”. [0063], “Such activation code AC is an activation code as defined under SGP.22 RSP Technical Specification of the GSM, i.e., information issued by an Operator/Service Provider to an End User...”. [0064], “In Fig. 8 is exemplary of an embodiment of the operation request RO. Such operation request RO includes a first eUICC identifier UI, which in particular corresponds to the EID value of the eUICC 116. EID (eUICC ID) is a serial number of the eUICC (defined in SGP.2, SGP.22). Also, such operation request RO includes a specification of the requested operation RO, in the case shown a profile download operation. Also, the operation request RO includes a signature SN of the OEM 111. Additionally, the operation request OR may include an operation parameter, which in the case of the download operation is an activation code AC. This activation code AC may correspond to a network address UA, e.g. the address of the server 113 at which the profile P to be downloaded is stored”. [0092], “the smart card integrated in the communication device is a card device which allows the download of a different Operating System for each Profile; the smart card is equivalent to an eUICC with the difference that the Profile contains, in addition to Data, Application and Files, also Operating System (OS) components that execute only when the Profile is actually enabled” (a person skilled in the art would appreciate that obtaining subscription service files from a server would require to centrally manage the files)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YANG with Veneroso to provide a mechanism for receiving service of a mobile communication provider in a communication system in which a server manages an encrypted profile which can be transferred to a UE. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
In re claim 3, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Veneroso discloses the method further comprising: obtaining, from the eUICC of the source wireless device, the one or more network addresses for the one or more applet asset servers ([0027], “the solution here described may include that the requested operation include a profile download operation, the operation request including a network address of a preparation server in which a profile to be downloaded is stored, and the profile management module, upon accessing the operation request accessing the preparation server at the network address, downloading the profile to be downloaded in the smart card integrated in in a local communication device”. [0064], “In Fig. 8 is exemplary of an embodiment of the operation request RO. Such operation request RO includes a first eUICC identifier UI, which in particular corresponds to the EID value of the eUICC 116. EID (eUICC ID) is a serial number of the eUICC (defined in SGP.2, SGP.22). Also, such operation request RO includes a specification of the requested operation RO, in the case shown a profile download operation. Also, the operation request RO includes a signature SN of the OEM 111. Additionally, the operation request OR may include an operation parameter, which in the case of the download operation is an activation code AC. This activation code AC may correspond to a network address UA, e.g. the address of the server 113 at which the profile P to be downloaded is stored” (obtaining network address from the source device)).
In re claim 5, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Veneroso discloses the method further comprising: obtaining, from an applet asset discovery server ([0058], “A Local Discovery Service (LDS) 14c is also shown as included in the LPA module 15. The system 10′ includes also a Subscription Manager-Discovery Server (SM-DS) 25 to provide mechanisms that allow an SM-DP+, like the server 13, to inform the Local Discovery Service 14c within any device that an SM-DP+ like server 13 wishes to communicate with it”), the one or more network addresses for the one or more applet asset servers”), the one or more network addresses for the one or more applet asset servers ([0027], “the solution may include that the requested operation include a profile download operation, the operation request including a network address of a preparation server in which a profile to be downloaded is stored, and the profile management module, upon accessing the operation request accessing the preparation server at the network address, downloading the profile in a local communication device”. [0063], “The LPA 115 then accesses the operation discovery server 112 to download the operation request OR, if it is available. If the operation request OR is available, the LPA 115 execute a requested operation RO which is specified in the operation request OR, in particular downloads a profile P from the preparation server 112 on the basis of an activation code AC comprised in the operation request OR. Such activation code AC is an activation code as defined under SGP.22 RSP Technical Specification of the GSM, i.e., information issued by an Operator/Service Provider to an End User, used by the End User to request the download and installation of a Profile association and includes a network address UA, e.g., a URL, for the LPA 115 to access and download the profile P, then, in a manner per se known, the LPA 115 installs the profile P in the eUICC 116”. [0064], “Additionally, the operation request OR may include an operation parameter, which in the case of the download operation is an activation code AC. This activation code AC may correspond to a network address UA, e.g. the address of the server 113 at which the profile P to be downloaded is stored”).
Claim(s) 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210314148 A1 (YANG et al.) (hereinafter YANG) in view of US 20200314638 A1 (Veneroso) and in further view of US 20180146361 A1 (JIANG).
In re claims 2 and 14, the combination discloses the method of claim 1 and the processor of claim 13, but does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the one or more subscription service files comprise a Customized Applications for Mobile network Enhanced Logic (CAMEL) Application Part (CAP) file.
JIANG discloses wherein at least one of the one or more subscription service files comprise a Customized Applications for Mobile network Enhanced Logic (CAMEL) Application Part (CAP) file ([0041], “cloudSIM hub 120 converts one or more signaling parameters of signaling associated with the Home operator's IMSI to one or more signaling parameters of the signaling associated with user device's IMSI”. The signaling parameters can be either MAP signaling, call signaling, subscriber's MSISDN, CAMEL/SIP/TCAP transaction, data sessions and data traffic”. [0147], “The subscription data is fully managed by the cloudSIM applet and any OTA downloads of additional IMSIs are directed to this applet. These enhancements ensure the CloudSIM Applet can be ported to any SIM card compliant to Java Card standards from any SIM card manufacturer supplier with minimum testing effort”).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jiang's teaching of being able to port any Java Card compliant SIM cards using CAMEL protocol in the system of Yang for eSIM profile transfer and Veneroso’ s method of centrally managing subscription service files including CAP files during export and/or transfer of an electronic SIM (eSIM) from a source wireless device in order to handle a variety of operator services including those enabled by CAMEL logic for supporting mobile network services. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
Claims 4, 8, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210314148 A1 (YANG et al.) (hereinafter YANG) in view of US 20200314638 A1 (Veneroso) and in further view of US 20160142906 A1 (Park et al.) (hereinafter Park).
In re claim 4, the combination discloses the method of claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein: the one or more network addresses include one or more application identifier (AID) values; and each AID value is paired with a network address for a corresponding applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers.
Park discloses wherein: the one or more network addresses include one or more application identifier (AID) values ([0018], “The method includes generating a profile package; dividing the profile package into a unit installable in a UICC of an electronic device, reconfiguring the divided profile information in an encryptable unit; and transmitting the reconfigured profile information to the electronic device”. [0064], “In the present specification, AID can be an application identifier. This value can be an identifier by which different applications within the eUICC are identified”); and each AID value is paired with a network address for a corresponding applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers ([0083], “A memory necessary for generating the Profile within the eUICC, an AID value, or the like can be allocated to a Profile Container”. [0175], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC extracts encrypted APDU commands in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmits the encrypted APDU command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value. Then, the Security Domain (or the Profile Domain or the Application) can decode and then process the encrypted APDU command”. [0192], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC can extract encrypted Profile Package TLV in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmit the encrypted Profile Package TLV command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value...” (a eUICC can extract or retrieve encrypted profile packages from the text of a message using AID values or TAR values and transmit the encrypted Profile Package command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or TAR value, which can be decoded and used to install a profile on the UE)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Park's teaching of using AID values for decoding and installing profiles using decoded Profile Packages with YANG’s E-SIM profile transfer method and Veneroso’ s method of centrally managing subscription service files in order to ensure the retrieval and installation of the appropriate profile data for effective and enhanced communications. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
In re claim 8, the combination discloses the method of claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising: obtaining, from the eUICC of the source wireless device, one or more application identifier (AID) values and wherein Veneroso discloses obtaining, from the eUICC of the source wireless device, a network address for the applet asset discovery server ([0027], “the solution here described may include that the requested operation include a profile download operation, the operation request including a network address of a preparation server in which a profile to be downloaded is stored, and the profile management module, upon accessing the operation request accessing the preparation server at the network address, downloading the profile to be downloaded in the smart card integrated in in a local communication device”. [0064], “In Fig. 8 is exemplary of an embodiment of the operation request RO. Such operation request RO includes a first eUICC identifier UI, which in particular corresponds to the EID value of the eUICC 116. EID (eUICC ID) is a serial number of the eUICC (defined in SGP.2, SGP.22). Also, such operation request RO includes a specification of the requested operation RO, in the case shown a profile download operation. Also, the operation request RO includes a signature SN of the OEM 111. Additionally, the operation request OR may include an operation parameter, which in the case of the download operation is an activation code AC. This activation code AC may correspond to a network address UA, e.g. the address of the server 113 at which the profile P to be downloaded is stored” (a person skilled in the art would appreciate that obtaining subscription service files from a server would require to centrally manage the files)).
Park discloses obtaining, from the eUICC of the source wireless device, one or more application identifier (AID) values ([0018], “The method includes generating a profile package; dividing the profile package into a unit installable in a UICC of an electronic device, reconfiguring the divided profile information in an encryptable unit; and transmitting the reconfigured profile information to the electronic device”. [0064], “In the present specification, AID can be an application identifier. This value can be an identifier by which different applications within the eUICC are identified”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Park's teaching of using AID values for decoding and installing profiles using decoded Profile Packages into the systems of YANG and Veneroso in order to ensure the proper installation of the appropriate profiles for supporting mobile network services. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
In re claim 15, the combination discloses the processor of claim 13, wherein Veneroso discloses wherein: the processor is further configured to obtain, from the eUICC of the source wireless device, the one or more network addresses for the one or more applet asset servers ([0027], “the solution here described may include that the requested operation include a profile download operation, the operation request including a network address of a preparation server in which a profile to be downloaded is stored, and the profile management module, upon accessing the operation request accessing the preparation server at the network address, downloading the profile to be downloaded in the smart card integrated in in a local communication device”. [0064], “In Fig. 8 is exemplary of an embodiment of the operation request RO. Such operation request RO includes a first eUICC identifier UI, which in particular corresponds to the EID value of the eUICC 116. EID (eUICC ID) is a serial number of the eUICC (defined in SGP.2, SGP.22). Also, such operation request RO includes a specification of the requested operation RO, in the case shown a profile download operation. Also, the operation request RO includes a signature SN of the OEM 111. Additionally, the operation request OR may include an operation parameter, which in the case of the download operation is an activation code AC. This activation code AC may correspond to a network address UA, e.g. the address of the server 113 at which the profile P to be downloaded is stored” (obtaining network address from source device)); but does not explicitly disclose the one or more network addresses include one or more application identifier (AID) values; and each AID value is paired with a network address for a corresponding applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers.
Park discloses the one or more network addresses include one or more application identifier (AID) values ([0018], “The method includes generating a profile package; dividing the profile package into a unit installable in a UICC of an electronic device, reconfiguring the divided profile information in an encryptable unit; and transmitting the reconfigured profile information to the electronic device”. [0064], “In the present specification, AID can be an application identifier. This value can be an identifier by which different applications within the eUICC are identified”)); and each AID value is paired with a network address for a corresponding applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers ([0083], “A memory necessary for generating the Profile within the eUICC, an AID value, or the like can be allocated to a Profile Container”. [0175], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC extracts encrypted APDU commands in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmits the encrypted APDU command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value. Then, the Security Domain (or the Profile Domain or the Application) can decode and then process the encrypted APDU command”. [0192], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC can extract encrypted Profile Package TLV in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmit the encrypted Profile Package TLV command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value...” (a eUICC can extract or retrieve encrypted profile packages from the text of a message using AID values or TAR values and transmit the encrypted Profile Package command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or TAR value, which can be decoded and used to install a profile on the UE)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Park's teaching of using AID values for decoding and installing profiles using decoded Profile Packages with YANG’s E-SIM profile transfer method and Veneroso’ s method of centrally managing subscription service files in order to ensure the retrieval and installation of the appropriate profile data for effective and enhanced communications. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
In re claim 17, the combination discloses the processor of claim 13, but does not explicitly disclose the method further configured to: obtain, from the eUICC of the source wireless device, one or more application identifier (AID) values and a network address for an applet asset discovery server; and wherein Veneroso discloses obtain, from the applet asset discovery server, the one or more network addresses for the one or more applet asset servers ([0027], “the solution here described may include that the requested operation include a profile download operation, the operation request including a network address of a preparation server in which a profile to be downloaded is stored, and the profile management module, upon accessing the operation request accessing the preparation server at the network address, downloading the profile to be downloaded in the smart card integrated in in a local communication device”. [0064], “In Fig. 8 is exemplary of an embodiment of the operation request RO. Such operation request RO includes a first eUICC identifier UI, which in particular corresponds to the EID value of the eUICC 116. EID (eUICC ID) is a serial number of the eUICC (defined in SGP.2, SGP.22). Also, such operation request RO includes a specification of the requested operation RO, in the case shown a profile download operation. Also, the operation request RO includes a signature SN of the OEM 111. Additionally, the operation request OR may include an operation parameter, which in the case of the download operation is an activation code AC. This activation code AC may correspond to a network address UA, e.g. the address of the server 113 at which the profile P to be downloaded is stored” (obtaining network address from the source device)).
Park discloses obtain, from the eUICC of the source wireless device, one or more application identifier (AID) values ([0018], “The method includes generating a profile package; dividing the profile package into a unit installable in a UICC of an electronic device, reconfiguring the divided profile information in an encryptable unit; and transmitting the reconfigured profile information to the electronic device”. [0064], “In the present specification, AID can be an application identifier. This value can be an identifier by which different applications within the eUICC are identified”); and a network address for an applet asset discovery server ([0083], “A memory necessary for generating the Profile within the eUICC, an AID value, or the like can be allocated to a Profile Container”. [0175], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC extracts encrypted APDU commands in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmits the encrypted APDU command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value. Then, the Security Domain (or the Profile Domain or the Application) can decode and then process the encrypted APDU command”. [0192], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC can extract encrypted Profile Package TLV in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmit the encrypted Profile Package TLV command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value...” (a eUICC can extract or retrieve encrypted profile packages from the text of a message using AID values or TAR values and transmit the encrypted Profile Package command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or TAR value, which can be decoded and used to install a profile on the UE)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Park's teaching of using AID values for decoding and installing profiles using decoded Profile Packages with YANG’s E-SIM profile transfer method and Veneroso’ s method of centrally managing subscription service files in order to ensure the retrieval and installation of the appropriate profile data for effective and enhanced communications. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
Claims 6, 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210314148 A1 (YANG et al.) (hereinafter YANG) in view of US 20200314638 A1 (Veneroso) in view of US 20240422529 A1 (HAMPALI) and in further view of US 20160142906 A1 (Park et al.) (hereinafter Park).
In re claim 6, the combination discloses the method of claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: sending, to the applet asset discovery server, a first message requesting the one or more network addresses for the one or more applet asset servers; and receiving, from the applet asset discovery server, a second message including one or more application identifier (AID) values, each AID value paired with a network address for a corresponding applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers.
HAMPALI discloses sending to the applet asset discovery server, a first message requesting the one or more network addresses for the one or more applet asset servers (Fig. 4: 402, [0051], “At step 402, a user device currently being used by the user may initiate, based, for example, on a user input, an e-SIM transfer request by sending EID of a new user device to the server 304”); and receiving, from the applet asset discovery server, a second message including one or more application identifier (AID) values, each AID value paired with a network address for a corresponding applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers (Fig. 4:404, 406, [0052], “At step 404, the server 304 may update the e-SIM profile to map with the new EID associated with the second communication device 310” (server updating eSIM). [0053], “At step 406, the user may wait for a short duration of time to receive notification for installation of the e-SIM at the second communication device 310. The short duration of time may be required by the server 304 to map the e-SIM profile with the EID of the second communication device 310. In an example embodiment, the short duration of time may correspond to 5-10 mins” (receiving from the server notification network address for installation of the eSIM)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate HAMPALI’s eSIM transfer method into the systems of YANG and Veneroso to ensure the retrieval and installation of the appropriate profile data for effective and enhanced communications. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
HAMPALI does not explicitly disclose receiving from the applet asset discovery server, application identifier (AID) values, each AID value paired with a network address for a corresponding applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers.
Park discloses receiving from the applet asset discovery server, application identifier (AID) values ([0018], “The method includes generating a profile package; dividing the profile package into a unit installable in a UICC of an electronic device, reconfiguring the divided profile information in an encryptable unit; and transmitting the reconfigured profile information to the electronic device”. [0064], “In the present specification, AID can be an application identifier. This value can be an identifier by which different applications within the eUICC are identified”); each AID value paired with a network address for a corresponding applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers ([0083], “A memory necessary for generating the Profile within the eUICC, an AID value, or the like can be allocated to a Profile Container”. [0175], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC extracts encrypted APDU commands in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmits the encrypted APDU command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value. Then, the Security Domain (or the Profile Domain or the Application) can decode and then process the encrypted APDU command”. [0192], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC can extract encrypted Profile Package TLV in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmit the encrypted Profile Package TLV command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value...” (a eUICC can extract or retrieve encrypted profile packages from the text of a message using AID values or TAR values and transmit the encrypted Profile Package command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or TAR value, which can be decoded and used to install a profile on the UE)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Park's teaching of using AID values for decoding and installing profiles using decoded Profile Packages into YANG and HAMPALI’s E-SIM profile transfer system and Veneroso’s subscription file management system in order to ensure the proper installation of the appropriate profiles for supporting mobile network services. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
In re claim 16, the combination discloses the processor of claim 13, wherein Veneroso discloses the method further configured to: obtain, from an applet asset discovery server ([0058], “A Local Discovery Service (LDS) 14c is also shown as included in the LPA module 15. The system 10′ includes also a Subscription Manager-Discovery Server (SM-DS) 25 to provide mechanisms that allow an SM-DP+, like the server 13, to inform the Local Discovery Service 14c within any device that an SM-DP+ like server 13 wishes to communicate with it”), the one or more network addresses for the one or more applet asset servers”), the one or more network addresses for the one or more applet asset servers ([0027], “the solution may include that the requested operation include a profile download operation, the operation request including a network address of a preparation server in which a profile to be downloaded is stored, and the profile management module, upon accessing the operation request accessing the preparation server at the network address, downloading the profile in a local communication device”. [0063], “The LPA 115 then accesses the operation discovery server 112 to download the operation request OR, if it is available. If the operation request OR is available, the LPA 115 execute a requested operation RO which is specified in the operation request OR, in particular downloads a profile P from the preparation server 112 on the basis of an activation code AC comprised in the operation request OR. Such activation code AC is an activation code as defined under SGP.22 RSP Technical Specification of the GSM, i.e., information issued by an Operator/Service Provider to an End User, used by the End User to request the download and installation of a Profile association and includes a network address UA, e.g., a URL, for the LPA 115 to access and download the profile P, then, in a manner per se known, the LPA 115 installs the profile P in the eUICC 116”. [0064], “Additionally, the operation request OR may include an operation parameter, which in the case of the download operation is an activation code AC. This activation code AC may correspond to a network address UA, e.g. the address of the server 113 at which the profile P to be downloaded is stored”); but does not explicitly disclose send, to the applet asset discovery server, a first message requesting the one or more network addresses for the one or more applet asset servers, the first message including one or more application identifier (AID) values; and receive, from the applet asset discovery server, a second message including the one or more AID values, each AID value paired with a network address for a corresponding applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers.
HAMPALI discloses send, to the applet asset discovery server, a first message requesting the one or more network addresses for the one or more applet asset servers (Fig. 4: 402, [0051], “At step 402, a user device currently being used by the user may initiate, based, for example, on a user input, an e-SIM transfer request by sending EID of a new user device to the server 304”), the first message including one or more application identifier (AID) values; and receive, from the applet asset discovery server, a second message including the one or more AID values (Fig. 4:404, 406, [0052], “At step 404, the server 304 may update the e-SIM profile to map with the new EID associated with the second communication device 310” (server updating eSIM). [0053], “At step 406, the user may wait for a short duration of time to receive notification for installation of the e-SIM at the second communication device 310. The short duration of time may be required by the server 304 to map the e-SIM profile with the EID of the second communication device 310. In an example embodiment, the short duration of time may correspond to 5-10 mins” (receiving from the server notification network address for installation of the eSIM)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate HAMPALI’s eSIM transfer method into the systems of YANG and Veneroso to ensure the retrieval and installation of the appropriate profile data for effective and enhanced communications. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
HAMPALI does not explicitly disclose receiving from the applet asset discovery server, application identifier (AID) values, each AID value paired with a network address for a corresponding applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers.
Park discloses receiving from the applet asset discovery server, application identifier (AID) values ([0018], “The method includes generating a profile package; dividing the profile package into a unit installable in a UICC of an electronic device, reconfiguring the divided profile information in an encryptable unit; and transmitting the reconfigured profile information to the electronic device”. [0064], “In the present specification, AID can be an application identifier. This value can be an identifier by which different applications within the eUICC are identified”); each AID value paired with a network address for a corresponding applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers ([0083], “A memory necessary for generating the Profile within the eUICC, an AID value, or the like can be allocated to a Profile Container”. [0175], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC extracts encrypted APDU commands in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmits the encrypted APDU command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value. Then, the Security Domain (or the Profile Domain or the Application) can decode and then process the encrypted APDU command”. [0192], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC can extract encrypted Profile Package TLV in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmit the encrypted Profile Package TLV command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value...” (a eUICC can extract or retrieve encrypted profile packages from the text of a message using AID values or TAR values and transmit the encrypted Profile Package command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or TAR value, which can be decoded and used to install a profile on the UE)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Park's teaching of using AID values for decoding and installing profiles using decoded Profile Packages into YANG and HAMPALI’s E-SIM profile transfer and Veneroso’ s subscription file management system in order to ensure the proper installation of the appropriate profiles for supporting mobile network services. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
In re claim 7, the combination discloses the method of claim 6, wherein Park discloses wherein the first message includes the one or more AID values ([0018], “The method includes generating a profile package; dividing the profile package into a unit installable in a UICC of an electronic device, reconfiguring the divided profile information in an encryptable unit; and transmitting the reconfigured profile information to the electronic device”. [0064], “In the present specification, AID can be an application identifier. This value can be an identifier by which different applications within the eUICC are identified”. [0175], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC extracts encrypted APDU commands in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmits the encrypted APDU command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value. Then, the Security Domain (or the Profile Domain or the Application) can decode and then process the encrypted APDU command”. [0192], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC can extract encrypted Profile Package TLV in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmit the encrypted Profile Package TLV command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value...”).
In re claim 16, the combination discloses the processor of claim 13, wherein Veneroso discloses the method further configured to: obtain, from an applet asset discovery server ([0058], “A Local Discovery Service (LDS) 14c is also shown as included in the LPA module 15. The system 10′ includes also a Subscription Manager-Discovery Server (SM-DS) 25 to provide mechanisms that allow an SM-DP+, like the server 13, to inform the Local Discovery Service 14c within any device that an SM-DP+ like server 13 wishes to communicate with it”), the one or more network addresses for the one or more applet asset servers”), the one or more network addresses for the one or more applet asset servers ([0027], “the solution may include that the requested operation include a profile download operation, the operation request including a network address of a preparation server in which a profile to be downloaded is stored, and the profile management module, upon accessing the operation request accessing the preparation server at the network address, downloading the profile in a local communication device”. [0063], “The LPA 115 then accesses the operation discovery server 112 to download the operation request OR, if it is available. If the operation request OR is available, the LPA 115 execute a requested operation RO which is specified in the operation request OR, in particular downloads a profile P from the preparation server 112 on the basis of an activation code AC comprised in the operation request OR. Such activation code AC is an activation code as defined under SGP.22 RSP Technical Specification of the GSM, i.e., information issued by an Operator/Service Provider to an End User, used by the End User to request the download and installation of a Profile association and includes a network address UA, e.g., a URL, for the LPA 115 to access and download the profile P, then, in a manner per se known, the LPA 115 installs the profile P in the eUICC 116”. [0064], “Additionally, the operation request OR may include an operation parameter, which in the case of the download operation is an activation code AC. This activation code AC may correspond to a network address UA, e.g. the address of the server 113 at which the profile P to be downloaded is stored”); but does not explicitly disclose send, to the applet asset discovery server, a first message requesting the one or more network addresses for the one or more applet asset servers, the first message including one or more application identifier (AID) values; and receive, from the applet asset discovery server, a second message including the one or more AID values, each AID value paired with a network address for a corresponding applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers.
HAMPALI discloses send, to the applet asset discovery server, a first message requesting the one or more network addresses for the one or more applet asset servers (Fig. 4: 402, [0051], “At step 402, a user device currently being used by the user may initiate, based, for example, on a user input, an e-SIM transfer request by sending EID of a new user device to the server 304”), the first message including one or more application identifier (AID) values; and receive, from the applet asset discovery server, a second message including the one or more AID values (Fig. 4:404, 406, [0052], “At step 404, the server 304 may update the e-SIM profile to map with the new EID associated with the second communication device 310” (server updating eSIM). [0053], “At step 406, the user may wait for a short duration of time to receive notification for installation of the e-SIM at the second communication device 310. The short duration of time may be required by the server 304 to map the e-SIM profile with the EID of the second communication device 310. In an example embodiment, the short duration of time may correspond to 5-10 mins” (receiving from the server notification network address for installation of the eSIM)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate HAMPALI’s eSIM transfer method into the systems of YANG and Veneroso to ensure the retrieval and installation of the appropriate profile data for effective and enhanced communications. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
HAMPALI does not explicitly disclose receiving from the applet asset discovery server, application identifier (AID) values, each AID value paired with a network address for a corresponding applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers.
Park discloses receiving from the applet asset discovery server, application identifier (AID) values ([0018], “The method includes generating a profile package; dividing the profile package into a unit installable in a UICC of an electronic device, reconfiguring the divided profile information in an encryptable unit; and transmitting the reconfigured profile information to the electronic device”. [0064], “In the present specification, AID can be an application identifier. This value can be an identifier by which different applications within the eUICC are identified”); each AID value paired with a network address for a corresponding applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers ([0083], “A memory necessary for generating the Profile within the eUICC, an AID value, or the like can be allocated to a Profile Container”. [0175], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC extracts encrypted APDU commands in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmits the encrypted APDU command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value. Then, the Security Domain (or the Profile Domain or the Application) can decode and then process the encrypted APDU command”. [0192], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC can extract encrypted Profile Package TLV in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmit the encrypted Profile Package TLV command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value...” (a eUICC can extract or retrieve encrypted profile packages from the text of a message using AID values or TAR values and transmit the encrypted Profile Package command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or TAR value, which can be decoded and used to install a profile on the UE)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Park's teaching of using AID values for decoding and installing profiles using decoded Profile Packages into YANG and HAMPALI’s E-SIM profile transfer and Veneroso’ s subscription file management system in order to ensure the proper installation of the appropriate profiles for supporting mobile network services. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
Claims 9, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210314148 A1 (YANG et al.) (hereinafter YANG) in view of US 20200314638 A1 (Veneroso) in view of US 20160142906 A1 (Park et al.) (hereinafter Park) and in further view of US 20240422529 A1 (HAMPALI).
In re claim 9, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising: for each applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers: obtaining, from the eUICC of the source wireless device, an AID value for an applet associated with the eSIM and with the applet asset server; sending, to the applet asset server, a message requesting a subscription service file corresponding to the AID value; and receiving, from the applet asset server, the subscription service file, wherein YANG discloses wherein the subscription service file is included in the one or more subscription service files included in the eSIM export package ([0027], “FIG. 7 illustrates a diagram 700 of an example of partial eSIM (sensitive data) rewrapping to generate a new bound profile package (BPP) 714 (generating a eSIM export package) for transfer of an eSIM 208 from a source device eUICC 108-1 to a target device eUICC 108-2... In some embodiments, the BPP 702 includes multiple distinct eSIM data portions, each encrypted with the same symmetric key Ks or with distinct symmetric keys (includes eSIM) ...In some embodiments, an indication of which information to protect can be included in and/or accompany the Ks encrypted eSIM algorithm data 706 and Ks encrypted eSIM supplemental data 712 received from the provisioning server 116” (package includes subscription service files)).
Park discloses for each applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers: obtaining, from the eUICC of the source wireless device, an AID value for an applet associated with the eSIM and with the applet asset server ([0018], “The method includes generating a profile package; dividing the profile package into a unit installable in a UICC of an electronic device, reconfiguring the divided profile information in an encryptable unit; and transmitting the reconfigured profile information to the electronic device”. [0064], “In the present specification, AID can be an application identifier. This value can be an identifier by which different applications within the eUICC are identified”. [0083], “A memory necessary for generating the Profile within the eUICC, an AID value, or the like can be allocated to a Profile Container”. [0175], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC extracts encrypted APDU commands in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmits the encrypted APDU command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value. Then, the Security Domain (or the Profile Domain or the Application) can decode and then process the encrypted APDU command”. [0192], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC can extract encrypted Profile Package TLV in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmit the encrypted Profile Package TLV command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value...” (obtaining from the eUICC AID values or TAR values associated with asset server which can be decoded and used to install a profile on the UE)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Park's teaching of using AID values for decoding and installing profiles using decoded Profile Packages with YANG’s ESIM profile transfer method and Veneroso’ s system of centrally managing subscription files in order to ensure the installation of the appropriate profiles for effective communication. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
Park does not explicitly disclose sending, to the applet asset server, a message requesting a subscription service file corresponding to the AID value; and receiving, from the applet asset server, the subscription service file.
HAMPALI discloses sending, to the applet asset server, a message requesting a subscription service file corresponding to the AID value (Fig. 4: 402, [0051], “At step 402, a user device currently being used by the user may initiate, based, for example, on a user input, an e-SIM transfer request by sending EID of a new user device to the server 304”); and receiving, from the applet asset server, the subscription service file (Fig. 4:404, 406, [0052], “At step 404, the server 304 may update the e-SIM profile to map with the new EID associated with the second communication device 310” (server updating eSIM). [0053], “At step 406, the user may wait for a short duration of time to receive notification for installation of the e-SIM at the second communication device 310. The short duration of time may be required by the server 304 to map the e-SIM profile with the EID of the second communication device 310. In an example embodiment, the short duration of time may correspond to 5-10 mins” receiving from the server notification network address for installation of the eSIM)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hampali's eSIM profile transfer method with Park's teaching of using AID values for decoding and installing profiles into the systems of YANG and Veneroso to ensure the proper installation of the appropriate profiles for effective communication. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
In re claim 10, the combination discloses the method of claim 9, wherein YANG discloses wherein the subscription service file comprises a newer version of the applet associated with the eSIM installed on the eUICC of the source wireless device ([0028], “The eSIM profile 704 (along with sensitive data extracted from a decrypted version of the Ks encrypted eSIM algorithm data 706) can be installed on the source device eUICC 108-1 within a dedicated security domain for the eSIM 208, e.g., within an ISD-P, while the Ks encrypted eSIM algorithm data 706 can be stored at the source device eUICC 108-1 (e.g., inside or outside the ISD-P containing the installed eSIM 208, e.g., in a root issuer security domain ISD-R) or in some embodiments on a memory of the mobile wireless device 102 external to the source device eUICC 108-1...In some embodiments, the installed eSIM profile 708 can be updated, e.g., based on MNO OTA updates and/or user customizations, to produce an updated installed eSIM profile 808. In some embodiments, the Ks encrypted eSIM algorithm data 706 can be updated (within a secure protected environment of the source device eUICC 108-1, such as in the ISD-P) and re-encrypted with Ks and stored as Ks encrypted updated algorithm data 806 (which can be stored inside or outside the ISD-P). Updating of the eSIM profile and the eSIM algorithm data can occur independently, e.g., one or both may be updated prior to re-wrapping for transfer of the eSIM 208 to the target device eUICC 108-2” (newer version of an applet of the eSIM installed with the eSIM on an embedded universal integrated circuit card (eUICC) of the source wireless device)).
In re claim 18, the combination discloses the processor of claim 13, further configured to: for each applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers: but does not explicitly disclose obtain, from the eUICC of the source wireless device, an AID value for an applet associated with the eSIM and with the applet asset server; send, to the applet asset server, a message requesting a subscription service file corresponding to the AID value; and receive, from the applet asset server, the subscription service file, wherein YANG discloses wherein: the subscription service file is included in the one or more subscription service files included in the eSIM export package([0027], “FIG. 7 illustrates a diagram 700 of an example of partial eSIM (sensitive data) rewrapping to generate a new bound profile package (BPP) 714 (generating a eSIM export package) for transfer of an eSIM 208 from a source device eUICC 108-1 to a target device eUICC 108-2... In some embodiments, the BPP 702 includes multiple distinct eSIM data portions, each encrypted with the same symmetric key Ks or with distinct symmetric keys (includes eSIM) ...In some embodiments, an indication of which information to protect can be included in and/or accompany the Ks encrypted eSIM algorithm data 706 and Ks encrypted eSIM supplemental data 712 received from the provisioning server 116” (package includes subscription service files)); and the subscription service file comprises a newer version of the applet associated with the eSIM installed on the eUICC of the source wireless device ([0028], “The eSIM profile 704 (along with sensitive data extracted from a decrypted version of the Ks encrypted eSIM algorithm data 706) can be installed on the source device eUICC 108-1 within a dedicated security domain for the eSIM 208, e.g., within an ISD-P, while the Ks encrypted eSIM algorithm data 706 can be stored at the source device eUICC 108-1 (e.g., inside or outside the ISD-P containing the installed eSIM 208, e.g., in a root issuer security domain ISD-R) or in some embodiments on a memory of the mobile wireless device 102 external to the source device eUICC 108-1...In some embodiments, the installed eSIM profile 708 can be updated, e.g., based on MNO OTA updates and/or user customizations, to produce an updated installed eSIM profile 808. In some embodiments, the Ks encrypted eSIM algorithm data 706 can be updated (within a secure protected environment of the source device eUICC 108-1, such as in the ISD-P) and re-encrypted with Ks and stored as Ks encrypted updated algorithm data 806 (which can be stored inside or outside the ISD-P). Updating of the eSIM profile and the eSIM algorithm data can occur independently, e.g., one or both may be updated prior to re-wrapping for transfer of the eSIM 208 to the target device eUICC 108-2” (newer version of an applet of the eSIM installed with the eSIM on an embedded universal integrated circuit card (eUICC) of the source wireless device)).
Park discloses for each applet asset server of the one or more applet asset servers: obtaining, from the eUICC of the source wireless device, an AID value for an applet associated with the eSIM and with the applet asset server ([0018], “The method includes generating a profile package; dividing the profile package into a unit installable in a UICC of an electronic device, reconfiguring the divided profile information in an encryptable unit; and transmitting the reconfigured profile information to the electronic device”. [0064], “In the present specification, AID can be an application identifier. This value can be an identifier by which different applications within the eUICC are identified”. [0083], “A memory necessary for generating the Profile within the eUICC, an AID value, or the like can be allocated to a Profile Container”. [0175], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC extracts encrypted APDU commands in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmits the encrypted APDU command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value. Then, the Security Domain (or the Profile Domain or the Application) can decode and then process the encrypted APDU command”. [0192], “When the HTTP is restored, the eUICC can extract encrypted Profile Package TLV in the body text of the HTTP message using an AID value or a TAR value in a header area, and then transmit the encrypted Profile Package TLV command to a Security Domain, a Profile Domain, or an Application corresponding to the AID value or the TAR value...” (obtaining from the eUICC AID values or TAR values associated with asset server which can be decoded and used to install a profile on the UE)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Park's teaching of using AID values for decoding and installing profiles using decoded Profile Packages with YANG’s ESIM profile transfer method and Veneroso’ s system of centrally managing subscription files in order to ensure the installation of the appropriate profiles for effective communication. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
Park does not explicitly disclose send, to the applet asset server, a message requesting a subscription service file corresponding to the AID value; and receive, from the applet asset server, the subscription service file.
HAMPALI discloses send, to the applet asset server, a message requesting a subscription service file corresponding to the AID value (Fig. 4: 402, [0051], “At step 402, a user device currently being used by the user may initiate, based, for example, on a user input, an e-SIM transfer request by sending EID of a new user device to the server 304”); and receive, from the applet asset server, the subscription service file (Fig. 4:404, 406, [0052], “At step 404, the server 304 may update the e-SIM profile to map with the new EID associated with the second communication device 310” (server updating eSIM). [0053], “At step 406, the user may wait for a short duration of time to receive notification for installation of the e-SIM at the second communication device 310. The short duration of time may be required by the server 304 to map the e-SIM profile with the EID of the second communication device 310. In an example embodiment, the short duration of time may correspond to 5-10 mins” receiving from the server notification network address for installation of the eSIM)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hampali's eSIM profile transfer method with Park's teaching of using AID values for decoding and installing profiles into the systems of YANG and Veneroso to ensure the proper installation of the appropriate profiles for effective communication. The advantage of doing so is to secure access to eSIM credentials stored in the dedicated security domains and protecting installed credentials such as financial transactions, credit card data and the like.
Claims 11, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210314148 A1 (YANG et al.) (hereinafter YANG) in view of US 20200314638 A1 (Veneroso) and in further view of US 20140031024 A1 (Xie et al.) (hereinafter Xie).
In re claim 11, the combination discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising: saving, on the eUICC of the source wireless device, personalized applet data associated with each applet identified by a corresponding AID value for the eSIM.
Xie discloses saving, on the eUICC of the source wireless device, personalized applet data associated with each applet identified by a corresponding AID value for the eSIM (Fig. 2C, [0024], “FIG. 2C shows a flowchart or process of personalizing an applet related to an application already installed in a mobile device according to one embodiment of the present invention”. Abstract, “With the controllable trusted service manager (CTSM), a service provider can use the SSD to personalize applets installed on each SE securely and independently”. [0057], “The applets provided by a service provider can be pre-installed on an SE during manufacturing process. They can also be downloaded and installed on the SE by an end user via the CTSM 202 or TSM 204. With the SSD installed on the SE 207 in FIG. 2A, the SC TSM 202 can use the SSD to establish a first establish secure channel and then use the channel to personalize an installed applet when an end user requests to personalize it” (discloses capability of personalizing an applet related to an application installed on a mobile device)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Xie's method of personalizing applets into Yang and Veneroso’ s system in order to provide customized and secure services to users.
In re claim 12, the combination discloses the method of claim 11, wherein Xie discloses the method further comprising: transferring, to the eUICC of the target wireless device, the personalized applet data for personalizing one or more applets of the eSIM transferred to the target wireless device ([0089], “The personalization of the application may be activated by a user selecting the application to subscribe or a provider thereof pushes a notification to the mobile device”. [0091], “The interface or SDK 210 then sends a request message (e.g., AppletPersoRequest) to the CTSM. The request includes IMEI and CPLC of the mobile device and an application ID”. [0092], “If the applet request has not been done, this process 230 will be aborted and a notification will be sent to the user...”. [0095], “The personalized data is then used to compose a data set (e.g., a sequence of STORE DATA APDUs). The final data preparation script is wrapped in a response message and returned to the SDK 210”. [0096], “After extracting the STORE DATA APDUs from the response message, the SDK 210 executes STORE DATA against the SE sequentially to personalize the applet”. [0097], “The SDK 210 sends a response message (e.g., applet perso complete message) to the CTSM 202. The message will include the status of all STORE DATA APDUs, SE UID, IMEI, Application ID, and transaction ID”. [0098], “If enabled by the service provider, the CTSM 202 uses a notification (e.g., the AppletLifeCycleChange notification) to inform the RHG about the status of the applet provision. This notification includes SE UID, IMEI, Application ID, and respective status” (notification of the status of a personalized applet provisioning may include Application ID)).
In re claim 19, the combination discloses the processor of claim 13, but does not explicitly disclose the method further configured to: save, on the eUICC of the source wireless device, personalized applet data associated with each applet identified by a corresponding AID value for the eSIM; and transfer, to the eUICC of the target wireless device, the personalized applet data for personalizing one or more applets of the eSIM transferred to the target wireless device.
Xie discloses saving, on the eUICC of the source wireless device, personalized applet data associated with each applet identified by a corresponding AID value for the eSIM (Fig. 2C, [0024], “FIG. 2C shows a flowchart or process of personalizing an applet related to an application already installed in a mobile device according to one embodiment of the present invention”. Abstract, “With the controllable trusted service manager (CTSM), a service provider can use the SSD to personalize applets installed on each SE securely and independently”. [0057], “The applets provided by a service provider can be pre-installed on an SE during manufacturing process. They can also be downloaded and installed on the SE by an end user via the CTSM 202 or TSM 204. With the SSD installed on the SE 207 in FIG. 2A, the SC TSM 202 can use the SSD to establish a first establish secure channel and then use the channel to personalize an installed applet when an end user requests to personalize it” (discloses capability of personalizing an applet related to an application installed on a mobile device)); and transfer, to the eUICC of the target wireless device, the personalized applet data for personalizing one or more applets of the eSIM transferred to the target wireless device ([0089], “The personalization of the application may be activated by a user selecting the application to subscribe or a provider thereof pushes a notification to the mobile device”. [0091], “The interface or SDK 210 then sends a request message (e.g., AppletPersoRequest) to the CTSM. The request includes IMEI and CPLC of the mobile device and an application ID”. [0092], “If the applet request has not been done, this process 230 will be aborted and a notification will be sent to the user...”. [0095], “The personalized data is then used to compose a data set (e.g., a sequence of STORE DATA APDUs). The final data preparation script is wrapped in a response message and returned to the SDK 210”. [0096], “After extracting the STORE DATA APDUs from the response message, the SDK 210 executes STORE DATA against the SE sequentially to personalize the applet”. [0097], “The SDK 210 sends a response message (e.g., applet perso complete message) to the CTSM 202. The message will include the status of all STORE DATA APDUs, SE UID, IMEI, Application ID, and transaction ID”. [0098], “If enabled by the service provider, the CTSM 202 uses a notification (e.g., the AppletLifeCycleChange notification) to inform the RHG about the status of the applet provision. This notification includes SE UID, IMEI, Application ID, and respective status” (notification of the status of a personalized applet provisioning may include Application ID)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Xie's method of personalizing applets into Yang and Veneroso’ s system in order to provide customized and secure services to users.
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649