DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to the application filed on August 20, 2024.
2. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Double Patenting Rejection
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patents 11,775,379 and 12,093,127. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other (the claims under examination are anticipated by the reference claims) because claims of the present application are just broader versions of the patent claims.
US Patent 11,775,379
Present Application
1. A method, comprising: receiving, via a processor, a first set of values reported by an electronic device over a first period of time that is prior to a firmware release to the electronic device, the first set of values associated with a plurality of metrics; determining, via the processor and for each metric from the plurality of metrics, a set of statistical properties associated with a subset of values included in the first set of values that are associated with that metric; receiving, via the processor, a second set of values reported by the electronic device over a second period of time that is after the firmware release, the second set of values associated with the plurality of metrics; determining, via the processor and for each metric from the plurality of metrics, a set of statistical properties associated with a subset of values included in the second set of values that are associated with that metric; comparing, via the processor, for each metric from the plurality of metrics, to detect an anomaly associated with at least one of the firmware release or the electronic device, and without using a third set of values that are associated with that metric and reported by a different electronic device that is not the electronic device, (1) the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the first set of values associated with that metric with (2) the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the second set of values associated with that metric; and sending, via the processor and automatically in response to detecting the anomaly, a signal to cause a remedial action.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is a camera.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of metrics include at least one of a central processing unit efficiency, a load amount, or a network traffic amount.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the remedial action includes causing a mode of operation of the electronic device to change.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the remedial action includes causing a mode of operation of firmware of the firmware release to change.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein: for each metric from the plurality of metrics: the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the first set of values that are associated with that metric include (1) a mean value of the subset of values included in the first set of values that are associated with that metric and (2) a standard deviation value of the subset of values included in the first set of values that are associated with that metric; and the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the second set of values that are associated with that metric include (1) a mean value of the subset of values included in the second set of values that are associated with that metric, (2) a standard deviation value of the subset of values included in the second set of values that are associated with that metric.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the firmware release is a first firmware release, the anomaly is a first anomaly, the signal is a first signal, the remedial action is a first remedial action, and the method further comprises: receiving, via the processor and after a second firmware release to the electronic device that is after the first firmware release, a third set of values (1) reported by the electronic device over a third period of time that is after the second firmware release and (2) associated with the plurality of metrics; determining, via the processor and for each metric from the plurality of metrics, a set of statistical properties associated with a subset of values included in the third set of values that are associated with that metric; comparing, via the processor, for each metric from the plurality of metrics, and to detect a second anomaly associated with at least one of the second firmware release or the electronic device, the set of statistical properties associated with the second set of values with the set of statistical properties associated with the third set of values; and sending, via the processor and in response to detecting the second anomaly, a second signal to cause a second remedial action.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the firmware release is a first firmware release, the anomaly is a first anomaly, the signal is a first signal, the remedial action is a first remedial action, and the method further comprises: receiving, via the processor and after a second firmware release to the electronic device that is after the first firmware release, a third set of values (1) reported by the electronic device over a third period of time that is after the second firmware release and (2) associated with the plurality of metrics; determining, via the processor and for each metric from the plurality of metrics, a set of statistical properties associated with a subset of values included in the third set of values that are associated with that metric; comparing, via the processor, for each metric from the plurality of metrics, and to detect a second anomaly associated with at least one of the second firmware release or the electronic device, the set of statistical properties associated with the first set of values with the set of statistical properties associated with the third set of values; and sending, via the processor and in response to detecting the second anomaly, a second signal to cause a second remedial action.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is a first electronic device, the firmware release is further to a second electronic device, the plurality of metrics is a first plurality of metrics, the signal is a first signal, the remedial action is a first remedial action, and the method further comprises: receiving, via the processor, a third set of values reported by the second electronic device over the first period of time, the third set of values associated with a second plurality of metrics not identical to the first plurality of metrics, the second electronic device being of an electronic device type; determining, via the processor and for each metric from the second plurality of metrics, a set of statistical properties associated with a subset of values included in the third set of values that are associated with that metric; receiving, via the processor, a fourth set of values reported by the second electronic device over the second period of time, the fourth set of values associated with the second plurality of metrics; determining, via the processor and for each metric from the second plurality of metrics, a set of statistical properties associated with a subset of values included in the third set of values that are associated with that metric; computing, via the processor and for each metric from the second plurality of metrics, an anomaly confidence score (1) associated with at least one of the firmware release or the second electronic device, and (2) determined based on (i) the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the third set of values associated with that metric, (ii) the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the fourth set of values associated with that metric, and (iii) an anomaly ratio associated with that metric for a set of electronic devices being of the electronic device type; and sending, via the processor and automatically in response to the anomaly confidence score for each metric from the second plurality of metrics being outside a predetermined range, a second signal to cause a second remedial action.
10. A non-transitory processor-readable medium storing code representing instructions to be executed by one or more processors, the instructions comprising code to cause the one or more processors to: receive a first set of values reported by an electronic device and not reported by another electronic device over a first period of time that is prior to a firmware release to the electronic device, the first set of values associated with a metric; determine a set of statistical properties associated with the first set of values; receive a second set of values reported by the electronic device and not reported by another electronic device over a second period of time that is after the firmware release, the second set of values associated with the metric; determine a set of statistical properties associated with the second set of values; compare the set of statistical properties associated with the first set of values and the set of statistical properties associated with the second set of values; detect an anomaly associated with at least one of the firmware release or the electronic device based on comparing the set of statistical properties associated with the first set of values and the set of statistical properties associated with the second set of values; and send, in response to detecting the anomaly, a signal to cause a remedial action.
11. The non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the firmware release is a first firmware release, the metric is a first metric, and the code further comprises code to cause the one or more processors to: receive, prior to a second firmware release to the electronic device that is after the first firmware release, a third set of values (1) reported by the electronic device over a third period of time after the second period of time and (2) associated with a second metric; determine a set of statistical properties associated with the third set of values; receive, after the second firmware release to the electronic device, a fourth set of values (1) reported by the electronic device over a fourth period of time after the third period of time and (2) associated with the second metric; determine a set of statistical properties associated with the fourth set of values; compare the set of statistical properties associated with the third set of values and the set of statistical properties associated with the fourth set of values; and detect that an anomaly associated with at least one of the second firmware release or the electronic device does not exist based on comparing the set of statistical properties associated with the third set of values and the set of statistical properties associated with the fourth set of values.
12. The non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the electronic device is a first electronic device being a first model, the firmware release is a first firmware release, the metric is a first metric, the anomaly is a first anomaly, the signal is a first signal, the remedial action is a first remedial action, and the code further comprises code to cause the one or more processors to: receive, prior to a second firmware release to a second electronic device that is a second model different than the first model, a third set of values (1) reported by the second electronic device over a third period of time and (2) associated with a second metric; determine a set of statistical properties associated with the third set of values; receive, after the second firmware release to the second electronic device, a fourth set of values (1) reported by the second electronic device over a fourth period of time after the third period of time and (2) associated with the second metric; determine a set of statistical properties associated with the fourth set of values; compare the set of statistical properties associated with the third set of values and the set of statistical properties associated with the fourth set of values; detect a second anomaly associated with at least one of the second firmware release or the second electronic device based on comparing the set of statistical properties associated with the third set of values and the set of statistical properties associated with the fourth set of values; and send, in response to detecting the second anomaly, a second signal to cause a second remedial action.
13. The non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the electronic device is a first electronic device associated with a model type, the firmware release is further to a second electronic device associated with the model type, the anomaly is a first anomaly, the signal is a first signal, the remedial action is a first remedial action, and the code further comprises code to cause the one or more processors to: receive a third set of values (1) reported by the second electronic device over the first period of time and (2) associated with the metric; determine a set of statistical properties associated with the third set of values; receive a fourth set of values (1) reported by the second electronic device over the second period of time and (2) associated with the metric; determine a set of statistical properties associated with the fourth set of values; compare the set of statistical properties associated with the third set of values and the set of statistical properties associated with the fourth set of values; detect a second anomaly associated with at least one of the firmware release or the second electronic device based on comparing the set of statistical properties associated with the third set of values and the set of statistical properties associated with the fourth set of values; and send, in response to detecting the second anomaly, a second signal to cause a second remedial action.
14. The non-transitory processor-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the remedial action includes causing at least one of a mode of operation of at least one electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices to change or a mode of operation of firmware of the firmware release to change.
15. An apparatus, comprising: a memory; and a processor operatively coupled to the memory, the processor configured to: receive a first plurality of sets of values reported by a plurality of electronic devices over a first period of time that is prior to a firmware release to the plurality of electronic devices, the first plurality of sets of values associated with a set of metrics, each set of values from the first plurality of sets of values associated with an electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices different than remaining sets of values from the first plurality of sets of values; for each set of values from the first plurality of sets of values, determine, for each metric from the set of metrics and to generate a first plurality of sets of statistical properties associated with the first plurality of sets of values, a set of statistical properties associated with a subset of values included in that set of values that are associated with that metric; receive a second plurality of sets of values reported by the plurality of electronic devices over a second period of time that is after the firmware release, the second plurality of sets of values associated with the set of metrics, each set of values from the second plurality of sets of values associated with an electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices different than remaining sets of values from the second plurality of sets of values; for each set of values from the second plurality of sets of values, determine, for each metric from the set of metrics and to generate a second plurality of sets of statistical properties associated with the second plurality of sets of values, a set of statistical properties associated with a subset of values included in that set of values that are associated with that metric; determine, for an electronic device included in the plurality of electronic devices, an anomaly (1) based on comparing the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the first set of values that are associated with a metric included in the plurality of metrics with the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the second set of values that are associated with the metric and (2) that is associated with at least one of the firmware release or the electronic device, the comparing occurring without consideration of (a) remaining sets of statistical properties included in the first plurality of sets of statistical properties different than the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the first set of values that are associated with the metric and (b) remaining sets of statistical properties included in the second plurality of sets of statistical properties different than the set of statistical properties associated with the subset of values included in the second set of values that are associated with the metric; and send, in response to determining the anomaly, a signal to cause a remedial action.
16. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the plurality of electronic devices are of the same electronic device model.
17. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein a duration of the first period of time is substantially identical to a duration of the second period of time.
18. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the remedial action includes causing a mode of operation of the plurality of electronic devices to change.
19. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the remedial action includes causing a mode of operation of firmware of the firmware release to change.
20. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the plurality of electronic devices are associated with the same organization.
16. A method, comprising: comparing (1) a first set of statistical properties associated with a first set of values (a) associated with a metric, and (b) reported by an electronic device before a release of a firmware, with (2) a second set of statistical properties associated with a second set of values (a) associated with the metric, and (b) reported by the electronic device after the release of the firmware, to generate a plurality of comparisons; and sending, in response to detecting an anomaly based on the plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a remedial action that includes causing a mode of operation of the firmware to change.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the firmware is released to the electronic device and the electronic device is a camera.
18. The method of claim 16, wherein the electronic device is included in a plurality of electronic devices, and the first set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices before the release of the firmware.
19. The method of claim 16, wherein the electronic device is included in a plurality of electronic devices, and the second set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices after the release of the firmware.
20. The method of claim 16, wherein sending the signal to cause the remedial action occurs (1) in response to detecting the anomaly based on the plurality of comparisons, and (2) without human intervention.
1. A non-transitory, processor-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: for each electronic device from a plurality of electronic devices, compare (1) a first set of statistical properties associated with a first set of values (a) associated with a metric, and (b) reported by that electronic device before a release of a firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, with (2) a second set of statistical properties associated with a second set of values (a) associated with the metric, and (b) reported by that electronic device after the release of the firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, to generate a plurality of comparisons; and send, in response to detecting an anomaly based on the plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a remedial action that includes at least one of (i) causing a mode of operation of at least one electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices to change, or (ii) causing a mode of operation of the firmware to change.
2. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the first set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices before the release of the firmware.
3. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the second set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices after the release of the firmware.
4. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the plurality of electronic devices includes a camera.
5. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the metric includes at least one of a central processing unit efficiency, a load amount, or a network traffic amount.
6. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein: the first set of statistical properties includes (1) a mean value of the first set of values and (2) a standard deviation value of the first set of values; and the second set of statistical properties includes (1) a mean value of the second set of values and (2) a standard deviation value of the second set of values.
7. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the firmware is a first firmware, the anomaly is a first anomaly, the plurality of comparisons is a first plurality of comparisons, and the remedial action is a first remedial action, the non-transitory, processor-readable medium further storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: for each electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices, compare (1) the second set of statistical properties with (2) a third set of statistical properties associated with a third set of values (a) associated with the metric, and (b) reported by that electronic device after a release of a second firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, the second firmware different from and released after the first firmware, to generate a second plurality of comparisons; and send, in response to detecting a second anomaly based on the second plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a second remedial action.
8. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the firmware is a first firmware, the anomaly is a first anomaly, the plurality of comparisons is a first plurality of comparisons, and the remedial action is a first remedial action, the non-transitory, processor-readable medium further storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: for each electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices, compare (1) the first set of statistical properties with (2) a third set of statistical properties associated with a third set of values (a) associated with the metric, and (b) reported by that electronic device after a release of a second firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, the second firmware different from and released after the first firmware, to generate a second plurality of comparisons; and send, in response to detecting a second anomaly based on the second plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a second remedial action.
9. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein each electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices is of a common electronic device model.
10. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein each electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices is associated with a common organization having associated users that operate the plurality of electronic devices.
11. An apparatus, comprising: a memory; and a processor operatively coupled to the memory, the processor configured to: compare (1) a first set of statistical properties associated with a first set of values (a) associated with a metric, and (b) reported by an electronic device before a release of a firmware, with (2) a second set of statistical properties associated with a second set of values (a) associated with the metric, and (b) reported by the electronic device after the release of the firmware, to generate a plurality of comparisons; and send, in response to detecting an anomaly based on the plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a remedial action that includes causing a mode of operation of the electronic device to change.
12. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the firmware is released to the electronic device.
13. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the electronic device is included in a plurality of electronic devices, and the first set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices before the release of the firmware.
14. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the electronic device is included in a plurality of electronic devices, and the second set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices after the release of the firmware.
15. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a confidence score that indicates a confidence of the anomaly being present and that is based on the first set of statistical properties and the second set of statistical properties.
US Patent 12,093,127
Present Application
1. A non-transitory, processor-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: for each electronic device from a plurality of electronic devices, compare (1) a first set of statistical properties associated with a first set of values (a) associated with a metric, (b) reported by that electronic device before a release of a firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, and (c) not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices before the release of the firmware, with (2) a second set of statistical properties associated with a second set of values (a) associated with the metric, (b) reported by that electronic device after the release of the firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, and (c) not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices after the release of the firmware, to generate a plurality of comparisons; and send, in response to detecting an anomaly based on the plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a remedial action.
2. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the plurality of electronic devices includes a camera.
3. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the metric is at least one of a central processing unit efficiency, a load amount, or a network traffic amount.
4. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the remedial action includes causing a mode of operation of at least one electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices to change.
5. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the remedial action includes causing a mode of operation of the firmware to change.
6. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein: the first set of statistical properties includes (1) a mean value of the first set of values and (2) a standard deviation value of the first set of values; and the second set of statistical properties includes (1) a mean value of the second set of values and (2) a standard deviation value of the second set of values.
7. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the firmware is a first firmware, the anomaly is a first anomaly, the plurality of comparisons is a first plurality of comparisons, and the remedial action is a first remedial action, the non-transitory, processor-readable medium further storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: for each electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices, compare (1) the second set of statistical properties with (2) a third set of statistical properties associated with a third set of values (a) associated with the metric, (b) reported by that electronic device after a release of a second firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, and (c) not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices after the release of the second firmware, the second firmware different from and released after the first firmware, to generate a second plurality of comparisons; and send, in response to detecting a second anomaly based on the second plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a second remedial action.
8. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the firmware is a first firmware, the anomaly is a first anomaly, the plurality of comparisons is a first plurality of comparisons, and the remedial action is a first remedial action, the non-transitory, processor-readable medium further storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: for each electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices, compare (1) the first set of statistical properties with (2) a third set of statistical properties associated with a third set of values (a) associated with the metric, (b) reported by that electronic device after a release of a second firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, and (c) not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices after the release of the second firmware, the second firmware different from and released after the first firmware, to generate a second plurality of comparisons; and send, in response to detecting a second anomaly based on the second plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a second remedial action.
9. A method, comprising: comparing, on a per-electronic device basis and via a processor, (1) a first set of statistical properties associated with a first set of values (a) associated with a metric and (b) reported by an electronic device before a release of a firmware to a set of electronic devices that includes the electronic device, with (2) a second set of statistical properties associated with a second set of values (a) associated with the metric and (b) reported by the electronic device after the release of the firmware to the set of electronic devices; and sending, via the processor and in response to detecting an anomaly based on the comparing, a signal to cause a remedial action.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the firmware is a first firmware and the metric is a first metric, the method further comprising: comparing, via the processor, (1) a third set of statistical properties associated with a third set of values (a) associated with a second metric and (b) reported by the electronic device before a release of a second firmware to the set of electronic devices, with (2) a fourth set of statistical properties associated with a fourth set of values (a) associated with the second metric and (b) reported by the electronic device after the release of the second firmware to the set of electronic devices.
11. The method of claim 9, wherein the firmware is a first firmware, the metric is a first metric, the anomaly is a first anomaly, and the remedial action is a first remedial action, the method further comprising: comparing, via the processor, (1) a third set of statistical properties associated with a third set of values (a) associated with a second metric and (b) reported by the electronic device before a release of a second firmware to the set of electronic devices, with (2) a fourth set of statistical properties associated with a fourth set of values (a) associated with the second metric and (b) reported by the electronic device after the release of the second firmware to the set of electronic devices; detecting, via the processor, a second anomaly associated with the second firmware based on the comparing the third set of statistical properties with the fourth set of statistical properties; and sending, via the processor and in response to detecting the second anomaly, a signal to cause a second remedial action.
12. The method of claim 9, wherein the firmware is a first firmware, the metric is a first metric, and the anomaly is a first anomaly, the method further comprising: comparing, via the processor, (1) a third set of statistical properties associated with a third set of values (a) associated with a second metric and (b) reported by the electronic device before a release of a second firmware to the set of electronic devices, with (2) a fourth set of statistical properties associated with a fourth set of values (a) associated with the second metric and (b) reported by the electronic device after the release of the second firmware to the set of electronic devices; detecting, via the processor, a second anomaly associated with the second firmware based on the comparing the third set of statistical properties with the fourth set of statistical properties; and sending, via the processor and in response to detecting the second anomaly, a signal to cause the remedial action.
13. The method of claim 9, wherein the firmware is a first firmware, the metric is a first metric, the anomaly is a first anomaly, and the remedial action is a first remedial action, the method further comprising: comparing, via the processor, (1) a third set of statistical properties associated with a third set of values (a) associated with a second metric and (b) reported by the electronic device before a release of a second firmware to the set of electronic devices, with (2) a fourth set of statistical properties associated with a fourth set of values (a) associated with the second metric and (b) reported by the electronic device after the release of the second firmware to the set of electronic devices; detecting, via the processor, a lack of a second anomaly associated with the second firmware based on the comparing the third set of statistical properties with the fourth set of statistical properties; and in response to not detecting the second anomaly, refraining from sending a signal to cause at least one of the remedial action or a second remedial action.
14. The method of claim 9, wherein the remedial action includes at least one of (1) causing a modification to a mode of operation of the single electronic device, or (2) causing a modification to a mode of operation of the firmware.
15. An apparatus, comprising: a memory; and a processor operatively coupled to the memory, the processor configured to: for each electronic device from a plurality of electronic devices, compare (1) a first set of statistical properties associated with a first set of values (a) associated with a metric and (b) reported by that electronic device and not reported by remaining electronic devices from the plurality of electronic devices before a release of a firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, with (2) a second set of statistical properties associated with a second set of values (a) associated with the metric and (b) reported by that electronic device and not reported by remaining electronic devices from the plurality of electronic devices after the release of the firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, to generate a plurality of comparisons; and send, in response to detecting an anomaly based on the plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a remedial action.
16. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein each of the electronic devices from the plurality of electronic devices is of a common electronic device model.
17. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein each of the electronic devices from the plurality of electronic devices is associated with a common organization.
18. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the metric is a central processing unit efficiency.
19. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the metric is a load amount.
20. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the metric is a network traffic amount.
1. A non-transitory, processor-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: for each electronic device from a plurality of electronic devices, compare (1) a first set of statistical properties associated with a first set of values (a) associated with a metric, and (b) reported by that electronic device before a release of a firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, with (2) a second set of statistical properties associated with a second set of values (a) associated with the metric, and (b) reported by that electronic device after the release of the firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, to generate a plurality of comparisons; and send, in response to detecting an anomaly based on the plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a remedial action that includes at least one of (i) causing a mode of operation of at least one electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices to change, or (ii) causing a mode of operation of the firmware to change.
2. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the first set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices before the release of the firmware.
3. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the second set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices after the release of the firmware.
4. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the plurality of electronic devices includes a camera.
5. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the metric includes at least one of a central processing unit efficiency, a load amount, or a network traffic amount.
6. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein: the first set of statistical properties includes (1) a mean value of the first set of values and (2) a standard deviation value of the first set of values; and the second set of statistical properties includes (1) a mean value of the second set of values and (2) a standard deviation value of the second set of values.
7. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the firmware is a first firmware, the anomaly is a first anomaly, the plurality of comparisons is a first plurality of comparisons, and the remedial action is a first remedial action, the non-transitory, processor-readable medium further storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: for each electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices, compare (1) the second set of statistical properties with (2) a third set of statistical properties associated with a third set of values (a) associated with the metric, and (b) reported by that electronic device after a release of a second firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, the second firmware different from and released after the first firmware, to generate a second plurality of comparisons; and send, in response to detecting a second anomaly based on the second plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a second remedial action.
8. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the firmware is a first firmware, the anomaly is a first anomaly, the plurality of comparisons is a first plurality of comparisons, and the remedial action is a first remedial action, the non-transitory, processor-readable medium further storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: for each electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices, compare (1) the first set of statistical properties with (2) a third set of statistical properties associated with a third set of values (a) associated with the metric, and (b) reported by that electronic device after a release of a second firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, the second firmware different from and released after the first firmware, to generate a second plurality of comparisons; and send, in response to detecting a second anomaly based on the second plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a second remedial action.
9. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein each electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices is of a common electronic device model.
10. The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein each electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices is associated with a common organization having associated users that operate the plurality of electronic devices.
16. A method, comprising: comparing (1) a first set of statistical properties associated with a first set of values (a) associated with a metric, and (b) reported by an electronic device before a release of a firmware, with (2) a second set of statistical properties associated with a second set of values (a) associated with the metric, and (b) reported by the electronic device after the release of the firmware, to generate a plurality of comparisons; and sending, in response to detecting an anomaly based on the plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a remedial action that includes causing a mode of operation of the firmware to change.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the firmware is released to the electronic device and the electronic device is a camera.
18. The method of claim 16, wherein the electronic device is included in a plurality of electronic devices, and the first set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices before the release of the firmware.
19. The method of claim 16, wherein the electronic device is included in a plurality of electronic devices, and the second set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices after the release of the firmware.
20. The method of claim 16, wherein sending the signal to cause the remedial action occurs (1) in response to detecting the anomaly based on the plurality of comparisons, and (2) without human intervention.
11. An apparatus, comprising: a memory; and a processor operatively coupled to the memory, the processor configured to: compare (1) a first set of statistical properties associated with a first set of values (a) associated with a metric, and (b) reported by an electronic device before a release of a firmware, with (2) a second set of statistical properties associated with a second set of values (a) associated with the metric, and (b) reported by the electronic device after the release of the firmware, to generate a plurality of comparisons; and send, in response to detecting an anomaly based on the plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a remedial action that includes causing a mode of operation of the electronic device to change.
12. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the firmware is released to the electronic device.
13. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the electronic device is included in a plurality of electronic devices, and the first set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices before the release of the firmware.
14. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the electronic device is included in a plurality of electronic devices, and the second set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices after the release of the firmware.
15. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a confidence score that indicates a confidence of the anomaly being present and that is based on the first set of statistical properties and the second set of statistical properties.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §102
5. Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(b) as being anticipated by US 2012/0239981 to Franke et al. (hereafter “Franke”).
Claim 1.
Franke discloses a non-transitory, processor-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to:
for each electronic device from a plurality of electronic devices, compare (1) a first set of statistical properties associated with a first set of values (a) associated with a metric, and (b) reported by that electronic device before a release of a firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, with (2) a second set of statistical properties associated with a second set of values (a) associated with the metric, and (b) reported by that electronic device after the release of the firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, to generate a plurality of comparisons (0023, 0029, 0031, 0041, 0047, 0057, 0058); and
send, in response to detecting an anomaly based on the plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a remedial action that includes at least one of (i) causing a mode of operation of at least one electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices to change, or (ii) causing a mode of operation of the firmware to change (0041, 0048, 0052).
Claim 2.
Franke discloses the non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the first set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices before the release of the firmware (0047, an error related to a specific dual in-line memory module (DIMM) of a particular electronic device, but not related to the same old/previous firmware release installed in other electronic devices).
Claim 3.
Franke discloses the non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the second set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices after the release of the firmware (0047, an error related to a specific dual in-line memory module (DIMM) of a particular electronic device, but not related to the same new/updated firmware release installed in other electronic devices).
Claim 4.
Franke discloses the non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the plurality of electronic devices includes a camera (0052).
Claim 7.
Franke discloses the non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the firmware is a first firmware, the anomaly is a first anomaly, the plurality of comparisons is a first plurality of comparisons, and the remedial action is a first remedial action, the non-transitory, processor-readable medium further storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
for each electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices, compare (1) the second set of statistical properties with (2) a third set of statistical properties associated with a third set of values (a) associated with the metric, and (b) reported by that electronic device after a release of a second firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, the second firmware different from and released after the first firmware, to generate a second plurality of comparisons (FIG.1, S104, S108, S112, S118 and related text); and
send, in response to detecting a second anomaly based on the second plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a second remedial action (0029, 0031, 0041, 0047, 0048, 0052, 0057).
Claim 8.
Franke discloses the non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the firmware is a first firmware, the anomaly is a first anomaly, the plurality of comparisons is a first plurality of comparisons, and the remedial action is a first remedial action, the non-transitory, processor-readable medium further storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
for each electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices, compare (1) the first set of statistical properties with (2) a third set of statistical properties associated with a third set of values (a) associated with the metric, and (b) reported by that electronic device after a release of a second firmware to the plurality of electronic devices, the second firmware different from and released after the first firmware, to generate a second plurality of comparisons (FIG.1, S104, S108, S112, S118 and related text); and
send, in response to detecting a second anomaly based on the second plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a second remedial action (0029, 0031, 0041, 0047, 0048, 0052, 0057).
Claim 9.
Franke discloses the non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein each electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices is of a common electronic device model (0047, 0052).
Claim 11.
Franke discloses an apparatus, comprising: a memory; and a processor operatively coupled to the memory, the processor configured to:
compare (1) a first set of statistical properties associated with a first set of values(a) associated with a metric, and (b) reported by an electronic device before a release of a firmware, with (2) a second set of statistical properties associated with a second set of values (a) associated with the metric, and (b) reported by the electronic device after the release of the firmware, to generate a plurality of comparisons (0023, 0029, 0031, 0041, 0047, 0057, 0058); and
send, in response to detecting an anomaly based on the plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a remedial action that includes causing a mode of operation of the electronic device to change (0041, 0048, 0052).
Claim 12.
Franke discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the firmware is released to the electronic device (0031, 0041, 0047, 0048, 0052).
Claim 13.
Franke discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the electronic device is included in a plurality of electronic devices, and the first set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices before the release of the firmware (0047, an error related to a specific dual in-line memory module (DIMM) of a particular electronic device, but not related to the same old/previous firmware release installed in other electronic devices).
Claim 14.
Franke discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the electronic device is included in a plurality of electronic devices, and the second set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices after the release of the firmware (0047, an error related to a specific dual in-line memory module (DIMM) of a particular electronic device, but not related to the same old/previous firmware release installed in other electronic devices).
Claim 16.
Franke discloses a method, comprising:
comparing (1) a first set of statistical properties associated with a first set of values (a) associated with a metric, and (b) reported by an electronic device before a release of a firmware, with (2) a second set of statistical properties associated with a second set of values (a) associated with the metric, and (b) reported by the electronic device after the release of the firmware, to generate a plurality of comparisons (0023, 0029, 0031, 0041, 0047, 0057, 0058); and
sending, in response to detecting an anomaly based on the plurality of comparisons, a signal to cause a remedial action that includes causing a mode of operation of the firmware to change (0041, 0048, 0052).
Claim 17.
Franke discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the firmware is released to the electronic device and the electronic device is a camera (0052).
Claim 18.
Franke discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the electronic device is included in a plurality of electronic devices, and the first set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices before the release of the firmware (0047, an error related to a specific dual in-line memory module (DIMM) of a particular electronic device, but not related to the same old/previous firmware release installed in other electronic devices).
Claim 19.
Franke discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the electronic device is included in a plurality of electronic devices, and the second set of values is not reported by any other electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices after the release of the firmware (0047, an error related to a specific dual in-line memory module (DIMM) of a particular electronic device, but not related to the same old/previous firmware release installed in other electronic devices).
Claim 20.
Franke discloses the method of claim 16, wherein sending the signal to cause the remedial action occurs (1) in response to detecting the anomaly based on the plurality of comparisons, and (2) without human intervention (0014, 0029, 0041).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §103
7. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franke in view of US 2014/0157040 to Bennah et al. (hereafter “Bennah”).
Claim 5.
Franke does not disclose the non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the metric includes at least one of a central processing unit efficiency, a load amount, or a network traffic amount.
However, Bennah discloses the metric includes at least one of a central processing unit efficiency, a load amount, or a network traffic amount (0034).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bennah’s teaching into Franke‘s teaching. One would have been motivated to do so to detect irregularity of system health as suggested by Bennah (0034).
8. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franke in view of US 2017/0147322 to Vopni et al. (hereafter “Vopni”).
Claim 10.
Franke does not disclose the non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein each electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices is associated with a common organization having associated users that operate the plurality of electronic devices.
However, Vopni discloses each electronic device from the plurality of electronic devices is associated with a common organization having associated users that operate the plurality of electronic devices (0055).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vopni’s teaching into Franke‘s teaching. One would have been motivated to do so to fix firmware defects of devices manufactured by a specific manufacture in an enterprise as suggested by Vopni (0055).
9. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franke in view of US 2022/0413993 to Farinas et al. (hereafter “Farinas”).
Claim 15.
Franke does not disclose the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a confidence score that indicates a confidence of the anomaly being present and that is based on the first set of statistical properties and the second set of statistical properties.
However, Farinas discloses determine a confidence score that indicates a confidence of the anomaly being present and that is based on the first set of statistical properties and the second set of statistical properties (0028, 0056).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Farinas’ teaching into Franke‘s teaching. One would have been motivated to do so to flag firmware revision having higher threshold of error than standard deviations as suggested by Farinas (0028, 0056).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. After search and analysis, Examiner concluded that the claimed invention has been recited in such a manner that dependent claim 6 is not taught by any prior reference found through search.
The primary reason for allowance of the claims in this case, is the inclusion of the limitations “The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein: the first set of statistical properties includes (1) a mean value of the first set of values and (2) a standard deviation value of the first set of values; and the second set of statistical properties includes (1) a mean value of the second set of values and (2) a standard deviation value of the second set of values,” which are not found in the prior art of record.
Incorporating claim 6 into claims 1, 11, and 16 would put the case in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, Examiner’s supervisor, Hyung (Sam) Sough, can be reached at (571) 272 6799.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273 8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature of relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2100 Group receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272 2100.
/Thuy Dao/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192