DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed November 25, 2025 has been received, Claims 1-20 are currently pending, with Claims 1-8 remaining withdrawn from prosecution at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 9-10 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Podhajny (US 2014/0245634).
Regarding Claim 9, Podhajny discloses an article of footwear comprising an upper (120) and a sole structure (110) secured to the upper (para.32), the upper comprising: a knitted component (116), comprising: a base portion (136), comprising: a first side (i.e. medial side), and a second side (i.e. lateral side), wherein the first side is one of a medial side or a lateral side of the article of footwear (para.61-62); and an extended portion comprising a tensile element (158), the extended portion (124,126) extending from a first toe edge (137 in toe region) of the first side, below the base portion, and to a second toe edge (135 in toe region) of the second side (para.63)(as seen in Fig.1 & 5), wherein the extended portion forms a one-piece knit structure with the base portion (para.34 & 39-40).
Regarding Claim 10, Podhajny discloses an article of footwear of claim 9, wherein the tensile element (158) is inlaid in the knitted component and extends through intermeshed loops forming the knitted component (para.43).
Regarding Claim 13, Podhajny discloses an article of footwear of claim 10, wherein the tensile element (158) extends at least partially through an underside (i.e. 124 is an underside) of the upper (as seen in Fig.5 & 6).
Regarding Claim 14, Podhajny discloses an article of footwear of claim 10, wherein the tensile element (158) extends through a knitted tubular structure in the knitted component (as seen in Fig.7; para.85).
Regarding Claim 15, Podhajny discloses an upper for an article of footwear, the upper (120) comprising a knitted component (116), the knitted component comprising: a base portion (medial 126,136) comprising a first side (i.e. medial side of 124) and a second side (i.e. lateral side of 136), the base portion comprising at least two tensile elements (each section of 158) that at least partially extend through intermeshed loops of a knit structure forming the base portion (para.43), wherein the at least two tensile elements splay relative to each other such that the at least two tensile elements extend through the base portion in a non-parallel orientation (see annotated Figure below).
Regarding Claim 16, Podhajny discloses an upper of claim 15, wherein the knitted component further comprises an extended portion (124, lateral 126) comprising the at least two tensile elements, the extended portion extending from a first edge (137 in toe region) of the first side, passing below the upper from the first side to the second side, and extending beyond (at 159) a second edge (lateral side of 136) of the second side (para.63; as seen in Fig.1, 5 & 6).
Regarding Claim 17, Podhajny discloses an upper of claim 16, wherein the at least two tensile elements splay near a central area of a forefoot region to extend to the first edge of the first side in the non-parallel orientation (see annotated Figure above).
Regarding Claim 18, Podhajny discloses an upper of claim 17, wherein, at the first edge (137 in toe region) of the first side, the at least two tensile elements exit (at 160) the base portion (medial 126), the extended portion (124, lateral 126) comprising the a least two tensile elements passing below the upper from the first edge of the first side to the second edge of the second side (para.63; as seen in Fig.1, 5 & 6).
Regarding Claim 19, Podhajny discloses an upper of claim 18, wherein the base portion and the extended portion comprise a unitary knit construction (para.34 & 39-40; as seen in Fig.5).
Regarding Claim 20, Podhajny discloses an upper of claim 15, wherein the at least two tensile elements extend within courses within the base portion (para.43), and wherein the at least two tensile elements splay in a direction away from a throat area (131) of the knitted component (as seen in Fig.1 & 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podhajny (US 2014/0245634) in view of Sokolowski (US 2008/0110049).
Regarding Claims 11 and 12, Podhajny discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Podhajny does not disclose the tensile element comprises a flattened lace structure; wherein the tensile element is flat or flattened. However, Sokolowski teaches a tensile element (33) inlaid (within 44,54) in a knit upper that is a flattened lace structure; wherein the tensile element is flat or flattened (as seen in Fig.1-2 & 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tensile element shape of Podhajny to be flat or flattened, as taught by Sokolowski, in order to provide the desired aesthetic appearance to the upper. Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the tensile element of Podhajny to be flat or flattened, since applicant has not disclosed that this solves any stated problem or is anything more than one of numerous shapes or configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a tensile member. In re Dailey and Eilers, 149 USPQ 47 (1966). It is noted that Applicant has no criticality for the use of a flat or flattened tensile member over that of a rounded tensile member.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732