Objection to the Specification
2. Applicant is requested to update status of related applications cited in page 1 of the specification, i.e., providing patent numbers where appropriate.
Non-Art Rejection
4. Claims 1-21 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of double patenting as being unpatentable over prior U.S. Patent No. 12,057,788.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because the patent claims comprise all limitations required in the present claims. The present claims are merely broader in scope than that of the patent claims.
Art Rejection
7. Claims 1-5 and 7-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2014/0282972, in view of Dintenfass, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2017/0323398.
Per claims 1 and 4, Fan discloses a computer implemented method in a computing system, comprising:
a) for a user, at a first time, receiving sign-in name or user ID to authenticate the user for accessing network applications or services (see par 0063, 0069-0070);
b) in response to the receiving at the first time:
i) expanding the received sign-in name to include text identifying a service or an application instance, i.e., generating a token comprising user ID and a service nonce (see par 0072); and
ii) creating persistent state for the user comprising the expanded sign-in name and an identifier by which the user is known to the application instance, e.g., storing/mapping user ID with service identifier (see par 0078);
c) at a second time later than the first time, receiving from the user the sign-in name (see par 0073);
d) verifying the user by:
i) expanding the sign-in name received at the second time to include text identifying an application instance, i.e., identifying a user/service nonce (see par 0075); and
ii) verifying that the expanded sign-in name matches the persistent state created for the user, i.e., matching the extracted user/service nonce with stored user/service nonce (see par 0076); and
e) in response to the verifying, using the identifier by which the user is known to the application instance to authenticate the user to the application instance (see par 0077).
Fan does not explicitly teach using an externally created (or User ID) and a password to authenticate the user for the first time. However such use sign-in name and password externally created by the user for authenticating the user is well known in the art as disclosed by Dintenfass (see Dintenfass, par 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention
Per claims 2-3, Dintenfass teaches that sign-in name can be created by the application (see Dintenfass, par 0040). It would have been further obvious to one skilled in the art to recognize that Fan invention can be practiced with any type of application including medical record application.
Per claim 5, Fan teaches storing/mapping user ID with many service or application instances that user is allowed to access in an authorization table, wherein one of the table entries can be identified/selected to authenticate the user to the application instance (see par 0077).
Claims 7-19 and 21 are similar in scope as that of claims 1-5.
Per claim 20, Fan teaches discerning the identified service/application from referrer field within a HTTP request (see par 0045).
8. Claim 6 is not rejected on art.
Conclusion
/Viet D Vu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455
10/1/25