DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
2. Claims 2-3 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3 of claim 2: … the second content, … should be changed to --… the second content; …--;
In line 4 of claim 2: … the third content, and … should be changed to --… the third content; and …--; and
In lines 3-4 of claim 10: … the second gaze target, and … should be changed to --… the second gaze target; and …--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
4. Claims 1-11, 14-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dryer (U.S. Pub. No. US 2024/0220009 A1).
As to claim 1, Dryer (Figs. 1-32) teaches a computer system (a computer system 101) configured to communicate with one or more display generation components (a display generation component 120, e.g., a television set, a handheld device, or a head-mounted device) and one or more input devices (one or more input devices 125) (Fig. 1), the computer system (the computer system 101) comprising:
one or more processors (processing unit(s) 202 in a controller 110) (Figs. 1-2); and
memory (a memory 220) storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors (the processing unit(s) 202 in a controller 110) (claim 1, lines 4-5), the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the one or more display generation components (the display generation component 120, e.g., the television set, the handheld device, or the head-mounted device), a user interface (user interfaces (“UI”); [0199], lines 1-5; Figs. 7A-7G4), the user interface including:
a first gaze target (one of application virtual objects 760b-760h; Fig. 7G1;or a first virtual object (e.g., 730); [0247], line 6); and
a second gaze target (other of application virtual objects 760b-760h; Fig. 7G1;or a second virtual object; [0217], lines 13-14), different from the first gaze target (the one of application virtual objects 760b-760h; Fig. 7G1) (Fig. 7G1);
while displaying the user interface (the user interfaces (“UI”); [0199], lines 1-5; Figs. 7A-7G4), detecting, via the one or
more input devices (the one or more input devices 125), a gaze (a gaze direction 722d) of a user (a user 720) of the computer system (the computer system 101) directed to a respective gaze target (respective application virtual objects 760a-760h) (Figs. 7A-7G4); and
in response to detecting the gaze (the gaze direction 722d) of the user (the user 720) of the computer system (the computer system 101) directed to the respective gaze target, displaying, via the one or more display generation components (the display generation component 120, e.g., the television set, the handheld device, or the head-mounted device), respective content (respective content for the respective application virtual objects 7601-760h) corresponding to the respective gaze target (the respective application virtual objects 760a-760h) (Figs. 7A-7G4), including:
in accordance with a determination that the respective gaze target is the first gaze target (e.g., the application virtual object 760f; Fig. 7G3), displaying first content (e.g., a calendar event (e.g., “BOOK CLUB” event) for a home screen user interface; Fig. 7G3) corresponding to the first gaze target (e.g., the application virtual object 760f) (Fig. 7G3)and
in accordance with a determination that the respective gaze target is the second gaze target (the other of application virtual objects 760b-760h; Fig. 7G1), displaying second content (second virtual content; [0247], lines 16-17) corresponding to the second gaze target (the other of application virtual objects 760b-760h; Fig. 7G1), wherein the second content is different from the first content (the second virtual content is different from the first virtual content; [0247], lines 11-20) (Figs. 7E-7G1-7G3).
As to claim 2, Dryer teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein:
displaying the user interface includes displaying third content that is different from the first content and the second content (the third content corresponding to the third user interface that is different from the first user interface and the second user interface (e.g., the third user interface does not include the first virtual object and/or the second user interface object; [0220], lines 26-37) (Figs. 7D and 7G1-7G3),
the first gaze target (the virtual arrow 1132) is positioned at a first side (a right side) of the third content (the stock information (center)) (Figs. 11C1 or 11C2), and
the second gaze target (the virtual arrow (left)) is positioned at a second side (a left side) of the third content (the stock information (center)) that is different from the first side (the right side) of the third content (the stock information (center)) (Fig. 11C1 or 11C2).
As to claim 3, Dryer teaches the computer system of claim 2, wherein:
displaying the respective content corresponding to the respective gaze target includes reducing a size of the third content (displaying the animation includes changing (e.g., increasing and/or decreasing) (e.g., gradually changing) a first size of the first virtual object (e.g., 730) over a first period of time while (e.g., while detecting that) the gaze of the user is in the second predetermined gaze direction (e.g., 722d) and is directed to the first virtual object ([0226], lines 1-8) (Figs. 7C-7F).
As to claim 4, Dryer teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
in response to detecting the gaze of the user of the computer system directed to the respective gaze target and prior to displaying the respective content associated with the respective gaze target, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, an indication of progress toward meeting a gaze dwell threshold (in response to detecting that the attention (e.g., 1922a, 1922cm 1924a and/or 1924c) of the user is directed to the respective location and in accordance with a determination that the respective location corresponds to (e.g., is) a location of the application launch virtual object (e.g., 1910), the computer system displays a virtual object (e.g., 1910a) that indicates progress towards meeting the criterion that is satisfied when the attention of the user is directed to the application launch virtual object (e.g., 1910) for at least the threshold amount of time, wherein the virtual object that indicates progress is updated over a first period of time while the attention of the user is detected as being directed to the respective location; [0465], lines 1-13) (Figs. 19A-19E).
As to claim 5, Dryer teaches the computer system of claim 4,
wherein displaying the indication of progress toward meeting the gaze dwell threshold includes increasing a brightness of the respective gaze target (in response to detecting an input on brightness control 2370, the state of lamp 2030b is changed, such that the brightness of lamp 2030b is adjusted (e.g., increased and/or described) in accordance with the input (e.g., the movement, the intensity, and/or the direction of the input) on brightness control 2370) (Fig. 23E).
As to claim 6, Dryer teaches the computer system of claim 4,
wherein displaying the indication of progress toward meeting the gaze dwell threshold includes increasing a size of the respective gaze target (computer system 700 can increase the size of focus virtual object 2524 based on a determination that a greater level of focus is required; [0571], lines 16-18) (Fig. 25D).
As to claim 7, Dryer teaches the computer system of claim 4,
wherein displaying the indication of progress toward meeting the gaze dwell threshold includes reducing a brightness of a background (reducing a brightness of both sides of display 704) (Fig. 13F).
As to claim 8, Dryer teaches the computer system of claim 4, wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
in response to detecting the gaze of the user of the computer system directed to the respective gaze target:
after displaying the respective content, changing an appearance of the indication of progress toward meeting the gaze dwell threshold toward an original state (the virtual object that indicates progress is updated over a first period of time while the attention of the user is detected as being directed to the respective location; [0465], lines 1-13; i.e., after updating, the appearance is changed to an original state) (Figs. 19A-19E).
As to claim 9, Dryer teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
displaying, via the one or more display generation components (the display generation component 120, e.g., the television set, the handheld device, or the head-mounted device), a visual gaze indicator (a visual object, e.g., “X” that is labeled 724d in Fig. 7D) at a first position (an area of the gaze target 730) that is based on the detected gaze (a gaze direction 722d) of the user (the user 720) of the computer system (computer system 700) (Fig. 7D); and
in response to detecting a change (e.g., 760f to 760d) in the gaze of the user (the user 720) of the computer system (computer system 700), displaying the visual gaze indicator (the visual object, e.g., “X”) at a second position (e.g., an area of the gaze target 760d) that is different from the first position (e.g., the area of the gaze target 760f) (Figs. 7G1-7G2).
As to claim 10, Dryer teaches the computer system of claim 9, wherein:
the gaze of the user (the user 720) of the computer system (computer system 700) is directed (e.g., directed to an application virtual object 760a) outside of a first region (a region 764; Fig. 7G1) of the one or more display generation components (the display generation component 120, e.g., the television set, the handheld device, or the head-mounted device) that includes the first gaze target (the one of application virtual objects 760b-760h; Fig. 7G1) and the second gaze target (the other of application virtual objects 760b-760h; Fig. 7G1), and
displaying the visual gaze indicator (the visual object, e.g., “X”) at the first position (the one of application virtual objects 760b-760h; Fig. 7G1; e.g., 760f) that is based on the detected gaze (722d) of the user (the user 720) of the computer system (computer system 700) includes displaying the visual gaze indicator (the visual object, e.g., “X”) within the first region (the region 764; Fig. 7G1) of the one or more display generation components (the display generation component 120, e.g., the television set, the handheld device, or the head-mounted device) that includes the first gaze target (the one of application virtual objects 760b-760h; Fig. 7G1) and the second gaze target (the other of application virtual objects 760b-760h; Fig. 7G1).
As to claim 11, Dryer teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein displaying the user interface includes displaying a first content item (the virtual arrow 1132) in a set of content items (an application virtual objects 760a-760h and a stock application user interface virtual object 1180a1; Figs. 7G1 and 11B1), and wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
in accordance with a determination that the first content item (the stock application user interface virtual object 1180a1) is not at a terminus of the set of content items (the application virtual objects 760a-760h and the stock application user interface virtual object 1180a1; Figs. 7G1 and 11B1):
displaying the first gaze target (the virtual arrow 1132) at a first side (a right side) of the first content item (the stock application user interface virtual object 1180a1) (Figs. 7G1 and 11B1); and
displaying the second gaze target (the virtual arrow (left)) at a second side (a left side) of the first content item (the stock application user interface virtual object 1180a1), different from the first side (the right side) of the first content item (the stock application user interface virtual object 1180a1) (Figs. 7G1 and 11B1).
As to claim 14, Dryer teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein:
the respective gaze target (the virtual objects 2902a-2902f) has a first color (a white color) and a background of the respective content (e.g., preview virtual object 2920b) has the first color (the white color) (Fig. 29A).
As to claim 15, Dryer teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
prior to displaying the first gaze target (the virtual arrow 1132 (right)) and the second gaze target (the virtual arrow (left)) (Figs. 11A1 and 11C1), detecting that the gaze (the gaze direction 722d) of the user (the user 720) of the computer system (the computer system 101) is directed to a predefined position (a gaze location 1124a1) (Fig. 11A1); and
in response to detecting that the gaze (the gaze direction 722d) of the user (the user 720) of the computer system (the computer system 101) is directed to the predefined position (the gaze location 1124a1) (Fig. 11A1), displaying the first gaze target (the virtual arrow 1132 (right)) and the second gaze target (the virtual arrow (left)) (Figs. 11A1 and 11C1).
As to claim 17, Dryer teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
while displaying the respective content corresponding to the respective gaze target, detecting that the gaze of the user of the computer system is directed to a representation of an environment in which the computer system is located (computer system 700 is showing a representation of the physical environment via display 704, which is the viewpoint of user 720; that is, when user 720 looks at display 704, user 720 can see a representation of the physical environment that can include one or more virtual objects that are displayed via display 704; [0255], lines 12-17) (Fig. 9A); and
in response to detecting that the gaze of the user of the computer system is directed to the representation of the environment in which the computer system is located (computer system 700 is showing a representation of the physical environment via display 704, which is the viewpoint of user 720; that is, when user 720 looks at display 704, user 720 can see a representation of the physical environment that can include one or more virtual objects that are displayed via display 704; [0255], lines 12-17), ceasing display of the respective content corresponding to the respective gaze target (computer system 700 causes external device 900 to cease to display photo 904 and/or display user interface 966 to indicate that content associated with the media application running on external device 900 is being displayed on display 704 (e.g., and/or computer system 700); [0258], lines 18-22) (Fig. 9C).
As to claim 18, this claim differs from claim 1 in that claim 1 is a computer system claim whereas claim 18 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim thereof. Thus, claim 18 is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to claim 1.
As to claim 19, this claim differs from claim 1 in that claim 1 is a computer system claim whereas claim 19 is a method claim thereof. Thus, claim 19 is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 12-13 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, Dryer, does not teach a limitation “wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: in accordance with a determination that the first content item is at a respective terminus of the set of content items: displaying the first gaze target at a respective side of the first content item; and forgoing display of the second gaze target” of claim 12 and a limitation “wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: while displaying the respective content corresponding to the respective gaze target, detecting that the gaze of the user of the computer system is not directed to the respective content; and in response to detecting that the gaze of the user of the computer system is not directed to the respective content, ceasing display of the respective content corresponding to the respective gaze target” of claim 16 in combination with other limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Krivoruchko (U.S. Pub. No. US 2024/0103803 A1) is cited to teach electronic devices that provide virtual reality and mixed reality experiences via a display.
Yerkes (U.S. Pub. No. US 2024/0103617 A1) is cited to teach computer systems that are in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices that provide computer-generated experiences, including electronic devices that provide virtual reality and mixed reality experiences via a display.
Inquiry
/KWANG-SU YANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623