Objection to the Specification
2. Applicant is requested to update status of related applications cited in page 1 of the specification, i.e., providing patent numbers where appropriate.
Non-Art Rejection
4. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The following language lacks proper antecedent basis:
In claim 1, line 12, “the distinguished internal identifier”.
In claim 1, line 13-14, “the distinguished identifier assigned to the user by the first application instance”.
The same indefiniteness of claim 1 is also applied to claims.
Art Rejection
6. Claims 1, 4, 9-10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Shih, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2013/01109220.
Per claim 1, Shih discloses a computer memory device storing a data structure for managing information a plurality of users comprising:
a) first information relating an identifier (token) assigned to the user by an authentication service to an internal identifier (ESMMP ID) assigned to the user (see Fig. 4A); and
b) second information relating the internal identifier (ESMMP ID) assigned to the user to
an external identifier (external ID) assigned to the user by a first application instance, e.g., Facebook page (see Figs 4B and 4C); and
c) such that the contents of the data structure are usable to, when a distinguished user is authenticated by the authentication service to produce a distinguished identifier assigned to the distinguished user by the authentication service:
i) map from the distinguished identifier assigned to the distinguished user by the authentication service to the internal identifier assigned to the user (see par 0042);
ii) map from the internal identifier assigned to the user to the identifier assigned to the user by the first application instance, e.g., Asset ID 19 (see par 0044-0045); and
iii) automatically authenticate the distinguished user to the first application instance using the distinguished identifier assigned to the user by the first application instance (see par 0043).
Per claim 4, Shih teaches that the data structure further comprises third information mapping the internal identifier assigned to the user to an identifier (external ID) assigned to the user by a second application instance, e.g., Asset ID (see fig. 4B, 4C).
Claims 9-10 and 14-15 are similar in scope as that of claims 1 and 4 and hence are rejected for the same rationale set forth for claims 1 and 4.
9. Claims 2-3, 5-8, 11-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih.
Per claims 2-3, Shih teaches that each identifier assigned to the user by the application instance (asset) is a page ID or record number, e.g., Facebook page or Twitter feed ID (see par 0044 and fig. 4B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize that the identifier can be used to identify any type of records including medical records.
Per claim 5, Shih also teaches storing third information relating the identifier assigned to the user by the authentication service to an internal identifier assigned to the user to a sign-in name (username) and password, i.e., login credentials, such that the third information can be used to authenticate the user by the authentication service (see par 0020). Shih does not explicitly teach utilizing a hash result for a password for the user. Shih however teaches using a security token in lieu of a password to authenticate user (see par 0043).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to utilize any form and/or any combination of credentials including a has result of a password to authenticate user.
Per claim 6, Shih teaches using the sign-in name and the text (NAME, fig. 4B) identifying the first application instance to access the first application instance (see par 0047-0048).
Per claim 7, Shih teaches that data structure comprises information of web-based applications instance which can be accessed by their Internet addresses (see par 0019).
Per claim 8, Shih teaches that data structure comprises information of user assets, many of which include demographic profile about the user, e.g., Facebook account (see par 0018).
Claims 11-13 and 16-20 are similar in scope as that of claims 2-3 and 5-8 and hence are rejected for the same rationale set forth for claims 2-3 and 5-8.
Conclusion
/Viet D Vu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455
1/12/26