DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
Claims 1 and 19 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if amended and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIRSCHNING (US 20070102038 A1).
Regarding claim 1, KIRSCHNING teaches an auto-connecting electrical contact system (see the system comprising at least one holding element and at least one photovoltaic module, which provides auto electrical connection) (see Figs. 1-7) comprising:
a solar panel (see the photovoltaic module 3);
a panel electrical contact (see the connecting element 7) configured to be coupled to the solar panel (see Fig. 5);
a solar panel mount (see the holding element 1 & holding part 11 & supporting structure 12) operable to receive and support the solar panel in an installed position (The holding element 1 & holding part 11 & supporting structure 12 has a capability of this function) (see Fig. 5); the solar panel mount comprising:
a frame (see the holding element 1 & holding part 11) having a first support structure (see the holding element 1) comprising a retaining channel operable to receive and retain a first side of the solar panel (see the retaining channel which receive and retain the top side of the photovoltaic module 3) (see Fig. 5);
a second support structure (see the holding part 11) operable to receive and retain a second side of the solar panel (The holding part 11 has a capability of this function) (see Fig. 5); and
a panel rest (see the supporting structure 12) extending between the first and second support structures (see Fig. 5), wherein the frame is operable to receive and support the solar panel in an installed position within the frame (The holding element 1 & holding part 11 & supporting structure 12 has a capability of this function) (see Fig. 5); and
a mount electrical contact (see the connecting element 6) configured to be coupled to the solar panel mount (see Fig. 5),
wherein the panel electrical contact is operable to electrically connect with the mount electrical contact upon installing the solar panel within the solar panel mount (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
KIRSCHNING teaches a mounting assembly (see the mounting assembly of the connecting element 7 & the connecting element 6) operable to facilitate coupling of the panel electrical contact to the solar panel (The mounting assembly of the connecting element 7 & the connecting element 6 has this function; see the rejection of claim 1 and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
KIRSCHNING teaches a mounting assembly (see the mounting assembly of the connecting element 7 & the connecting element 6) operable to facilitate coupling of the mount electrical contact to the solar panel mount (The mounting assembly of the connecting element 7 & the connecting element 6 has this function; see the rejection of claim 1 and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 19, KIRSCHNING teaches a method of configuring a solar panel mount system (see the method of configuring the system comprising at least one holding element and at least one photovoltaic module) (see Figs. 1-9) for electrically connecting an installed solar panel (see the photovoltaic module 3) with an electrical power system (see the cable harness 10) (see Figs. 1-9), the method comprising:
configuring the solar panel mount system (see the system comprising at least one holding element and at least one photovoltaic module in Fig. 5) to comprise a solar panel (see the photovoltaic module 3) and a solar panel mount (see the holding element 1 & holding part 11 & supporting structure 12) configured to receive and support the solar panel in an installed position (The holding element 1 & holding part 11 & supporting structure 12 has a capability of this function) (see Fig. 5); the solar panel mount comprising:
a frame (see the holding element 1 & holding part 11) having a first support structure (see the holding element 1) comprising a retaining channel operable to receive and retain a first side of the solar panel (see the retaining channel which receive and retain the top side of the photovoltaic module 3) (see Fig. 5);
a second support structure (see the holding part 11) operable to receive and retain a second side of the solar panel (The holding part 11 has a capability of this function) (see Fig. 5); and
a panel rest (see the supporting structure 12) extending between the first and second support structures (see Fig. 5), wherein the frame is operable to receive and support the solar panel in an installed position within the frame (The holding element 1 & holding part 11 & supporting structure 12 has a capability of this function) (see Fig. 5);
configuring the solar panel mount system to comprise an auto-connecting electrical contact system (see the connecting element 7 & the connecting element 6, which provides auto electrical connection) operable to electrically connect the solar panel with the solar panel mount (see Fig. 5), the auto-connecting electrical contact system comprising:
a panel electrical contact (see the connecting element 7) coupled to the solar panel (see Fig. 5); and
a mount electrical contact (see the connecting element 6) coupled to the solar panel mount (see Fig. 5),
wherein the panel electrical contact is operable to electrically connect with the mount electrical contact with the solar panel in the installed position (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 19.
KIRSCHNING teaches configuring the mount electrical contact of the auto-connecting electrical contact system to facilitate electrical connection of the mount electrical contact with the electrical power system (see the cable harness 10), thereby facilitating electrical connection of the solar panel with the electrical power system (see Figs. 1-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 7, 11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIRSCHNING (US 20070102038 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of HANOKA (US 20080149170 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
Regarding the claimed “a plug comprising a housing in support of a plug electrical contact, and wherein the plug electrical contact comprises one of the panel electrical contact or the mount electrical contact”, KIRSCHNING teaches a plug comprising a plug electrical contact (see the plug with a plug electrical contact in the connecting element 6) (see Fig. 5), wherein the plug electrical contact comprises the mount electrical contact (see Fig. 5), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “a housing”. However, HANOKA discloses plug-together photovoltaic modules, wherein a female connector 30 can engage the male connector 32 (see Figs. 3-6). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the male connectors & the female connectors as described in Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA for the connecting element 6 & the connecting element 7 in the device of KIRSCHNING, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a plug (see the male connector of HANOKA) comprising a housing (see the male housing) in support of a plug electrical contact (see the single electrical conductor pin) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 3, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches a receptacle (see the female connector of HANOKA) comprising a housing (see the female housing in the female connector of HANOKA) in support of a receptacle electrical contact (see the receptacle electrical contact in the female connector of HANOKA) (see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA), wherein the receptacle electrical contact comprises the panel electrical contact (see Fig. 5 of KIRSCHNING and Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 4, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
Regarding the claimed “a seal operable to seal the panel electrical contact and the mount electrical contact from an environment with the solar panel in the installed position”, KIRSCHNING does not explicitly disclose the claimed feature. However, HANOKA discloses plug-together photovoltaic modules, wherein a female connector 30 can engage the male connector 32 (see Figs. 3-6), wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment (see Claim 10). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the male connectors & the female connectors including a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment as described in Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA for the connecting element 6 & the connecting element 7 in the device of KIRSCHNING, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a seal operable to seal the panel electrical contact and the mount electrical contact from the environment with the solar panel in the installed position (HANOKA: Claim 10, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function; see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 7, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 3.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the plug (see the male housing) and the housing of the receptacle (see the female housing) are configured to facilitate multi-axis alignment of the mount electrical contact with the plug electrical contact (The male housing and the female housing have this function; see Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 11, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the plug comprises one or more materials configured to deform under an applied load (HANOKA: Claim 10, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 14, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the one or more materials of the plug comprises an elastic material configured to deform under an applied load and to be biased to return to an undeformed state (HANOKA: Claim 10, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 15, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 3.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the plug comprises an elastic material configured to apply a biasing force to bias the housing of the plug to the undeformed state and to bias the plug electrical contact into electrical connection with the receptacle electrical contact within the receptacle (HANOKA: Claim 10, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function) (see the rejections of claims 1-3 and Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 16, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 3.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the plug comprises an elastic material that provides a biasing force to bias the housing of the plug into contact with the housing of the receptacle, the biasing force being configured to be sufficient to form a seal between the plug and the receptacle (HANOKA: Claim 10, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function) (see the rejections of claims 1-3 and Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Regarding claim 17, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 3.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the receptacle comprises one or more materials configured to deform under an applied load (HANOKA: Claim 10, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function).
Regarding claim 18, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 3.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the receptacle comprises an elastic material configured to deform under an applied load and to be biased to return to an undeformed state, and wherein the elastic material of the housing of the receptacle provides a biasing force to bias the housing of the receptacle into contact with the housing of the plug, thereby forming a seal at an interface between the housing of the receptacle and the housing of the plug (HANOKA: Claim 10, wherein the at least one electrical connector includes a conductor and an elastomeric material surrounding the conductor to seal the conductor with respect to the ambient environment; The elastomeric material has the function) (see the rejections of claims 1-3 and Figs. 5-6 of HANOKA).
Claims 2-3, 8-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIRSCHNING (US 20070102038 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of ZHAO (CN 211700658 U, see English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 2, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 1.
Regarding the claimed “a plug comprising a housing in support of a plug electrical contact, and wherein the plug electrical contact comprises one of the panel electrical contact or the mount electrical contact”, KIRSCHNING teaches a plug comprising a plug electrical contact (see the plug with a plug electrical contact in the connecting element 6) (see Fig. 5), wherein the plug electrical contact comprises the mount electrical contact (see Fig. 5), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed “a housing”. However, ZHAO discloses an electrical connector assembly comprising a male head and a female head (see Figs. 1-5), wherein the male head has the spring ejector pins 102 and the housing block with the dovetail tenons 101 and the limit block 103, and the female head has the ejector pin seat 202 and the housing block with the vertical dovetail grooves 201 and the inclined groove 203. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the male head and the female head described in Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO for the connecting element 6 & the connecting element 7 in the device of KIRSCHNING, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144). Therefore, modified KIRSCHNING teaches a plug (see the male head of ZHAO) comprising a housing (see the housing block of the male head) in support of a plug electrical contact (see the spring ejector pins) (see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO).
Regarding claim 3, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 2.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches a receptacle (see the female head of ZHAO) comprising a housing (see the housing block of the female head) in support of a receptacle electrical contact (see the ejector pin seat) (see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO), wherein the receptacle electrical contact comprises the panel electrical contact (see Fig. 5 of KIRSCHNING and Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO).
Regarding claim 8, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 3.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the plug further comprises a spring (see the spring in the spring ejector pins) supported by the housing of the plug to supply a biasing force that biases the plug electrical contact into electrical connection with the receptacle electrical contact within the receptacle (The spring has this function; see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO).
Regarding claim 9, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 3.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the housing of the receptacle comprises an opening and an interior cavity defining a guiding surface (see the opening and the interior cavity defining a guiding surface; see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO); the housing of the plug comprises a surface configuration operable to be received within the opening of the receptacle (see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO), wherein the plug is operable to be guided within the interior cavity of the receptacle such that the plug electrical contact aligns and electrically connects with the receptacle electrical contact as the solar panel is moved into the installed position within the solar panel mount (see the rejections of claims 1-3 and see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO).
Regarding claim 10, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the plug is guided by the guiding surface of the housing of the receptacle in two or more directions each corresponding to an axis (see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO).
Regarding claim 12, Applicant is directed above for a full discussion as applied to claim 9.
Modified KIRSCHNING teaches the plug further comprises a spring (see the spring in the spring ejector pins) encapsulated in the housing of the plug (see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO), and wherein the spring supplies a biasing force that biases the plug electrical contact into electrical connection with the receptacle electrical contact and biases the housing of the plug into contact with the guiding surface of the housing of the receptacle, thereby forming a seal at an interface between the housing of the receptacle and the housing of the plug (see the rejections of claims 1-3 and see Figs. 1-5 of ZHAO).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/29/2025 have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Contact Information
/TAE-SIK KANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728