Contents of this rejection:
35 U.S.C. 101 interpretation and explanation
Double Patenting rejections
Prior Art Rejections
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 5-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 13-19 of parent case 17/089622 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are simply a broader version of the parent application. The parent application teaches each and every limitation of the above claims.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 101
The present claims are not subject to a 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection because they do not fall under one of the enumerated groupings of mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, or mental processes. The claims are directed towards anonymizing clinically data by processing image representation data. This cannot be said to be a mathematical concept, nor is it fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). It would also be unreasonable to state that this can be performed in the human mind, as it goes beyond an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and 102(a2) as being anticipated by Nokia (EP3451209A1), hereinafter “Nokia.”
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Nokia discloses a method of anonymizing clinical data (Abstract discloses that Nokia is directed towards an apparatus comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to: train, using a set of training images a generative model network and a discriminator model network to generate a generic image of anonymizing an input image whilst maintaining unprocessed a condition and/or feature; and infer from the input image using the generative model network an output anonymized image) comprising:
receiving a photo-realistic image of a craniofacial region, representation data corresponding to a craniofacial region, the photo-realistic image comprising a clinically relevant region and an anonymization region, wherein the representation data is determined based on locations in the photo-realistic image corresponding to anatomical key points in the craniofacial region ((Paragraphs 2 and 3 disclose that the image is representation data of a body parts including faces and body parts anonymized to prevent the image from being associated with a specific person. P57 and P58 further disclose that the image is of a person and the apparatus is trained on a region identifier using a network by using input photographs. A specific example is P35 which shows that there is a part of the face, such as a mouth or nose that are not anonymized, so this is the clinically relevant region, and the eyes are anonymized, thus making it the anonymization region. These are anatomical key points in the craniofacial region. The mouth is the oral cavity and the eyes are outside of it);
extracting, from the photo-realistic image, clinical representation data corresponding to the clinically relevant region of the photo-realistic image (A specific example is P35 which shows that there is a part of the face, such as a mouth or nose that are not anonymized, so this is the clinically relevant region, and the eyes are anonymized, thus making it the anonymization region These are anatomical features);
generating artificial representation data corresponding to the anonymization region of the photo-realistic image (As above, the eyes are at a specific position on the face. This is structure representation and it is in the anonymization region. The landmark is the position of the face, as it is a location with respect to the nose and the mouth);
creating, based at least on the clinical representation data and the artificial representation data, anonymized representation data that substantially preserves the clinically relevant region (See above and Fig. 6);
creating an anonymized photo-realistic image of the craniofacial region using the anonymized representation data (See above).
Regarding claim 5, Nokia discloses wherein extracting the clinical representation data further comprises determining key points of the craniofacial region from the representation data; identifying key points corresponding to the clinically relevant region and selecting sub-representation data from the representation data based on identified key points (the key points on the facial area include the boundaries of that area – such as the nose, as clearly shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, see claim 5 rejection.
Regarding claim 10, see claim 1 rejection.
Regarding claim 11, Nokia teaches representation data includes connected key points (See, again, Fig. 6 and P35).
Regarding claims 12-14, Nokia teaches wherein the representation data includes a polygon formed from connected key points, which are based on edge detection, and an artificial representation data is created (See, again, Fig. 6 and P35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia
Regarding claims 7-9, the differentiating features between claims 7-9 and claims 5-6 is what the key point is. This represents non-functional descriptive material because it does not change any of the method steps. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the key points of Nokia with any other key points not claimed because the steps of determining, identifying, and selectin sub-representation data remain the same.
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia in view of GaussianBlur, https://computergraphics.stackexchange.com/questions/39/how-is-gaussian-blur-implemented, 2015. Hereinafter “GaussianBlur.”
Regarding claims 15-19, GaussianBlur clearly shows that one way to blur an image in real time on graphics is by using a GaussianBlur, and the first two answers show the image is color.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce both a color and black and white photograph using common, generic photography technology such as Gaussian Blur for the purposes of seeing a clearer, more life-like image.
Comment on Closest Pieces of Prior Art
The two closest pieces of prior art are Nokia, which is described above, and GaussianBlur which shows that one way to blur an image in real time on graphics is by using a GaussianBlur, and the first two answers show the image is color.
Neither of these references teach the limitations of claims 3 and 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but are deemed unpersuasive. The present amendments are taught by Nokia. A specific example is P35 which shows that there is a part of the face, such as a mouth or nose that are not anonymized, so this is the clinically relevant region, and the eyes are anonymized, thus making it the anonymization region. These are anatomical key points in the craniofacial region.
The Double Patenting rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ARYAN E. WEISENFELD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3689
/ARYAN E WEISENFELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663