DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Species 1 and Species X in the reply filed on 7/31/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 3-6, 8-10 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/20/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 7 and 11-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8, 10 and 12-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,064,626. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they anticipate the current claims in that the patented claims are narrower than the current claims and contain all features of the current claims as well as additional limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thenuwara et al. (US 2014/0343626, hereinafter Thenuwara).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 7 and 11-18, Thenuwara discloses an implantable cochlear implant, as seen in figure 1. The implant has an implantable coil case 320 containing a communications coil 187 for transcutaneous communication, the coil case inherently being made of a material that is biocompatible and “resilient” in order to be safely implanted in the body (fig. 1 and 3 and par. 0051). A magnet receptacle (i.e., hole) is located within the coil case with an opening in the top and bottom (see figure 3 and 4). A disc-shaped implant magnet 310 is a rectangle with rounded corners, and thus the opposing end surfaces of the magnet have a smaller diameter than a center body region (see at least figure 7). The magnet is placed within or removed from the top or bottom openings of the magnet receptacle, as seen in figure 7 (par. 0056). A stiffening ring 530/540 is embedded in the coil case around the magnet receptacle, the stiffening ring configured to promote securement of the implant magnet using a rotating snap fit with element 540 of the stiffening ring and outer surface feature 605 of the magnet into the implant, such that the stiffening ring has a larger outer diameter than the magnet (fig. 7, par. 0064). An external device has a magnet and is aligned with the internal magnet (par. 0053).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thenuwara in view of Zimmerling et al. (US 2011/0264172, hereinafter Zimmerling).
Thenuwara discloses the applicant’s basic invention but is silent as to the direction of the magnetic dipole. Zimmerling discloses a cochlear implant using magnets for alignment, and thus is analogous art with Thenuwara. Zimmerling discloses that the implant magnet should have a dipole having an axis that is parallel to the end surfaces of the magnet (par. 0006, 0027). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the magnet of Thenuwara to have a dipole having an axis that is parallel to the end surfaces of the magnet as taught by Zimmerling, as this arrangement has benefits as described in par. 0043 of Zimmerling.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892, especially US 2008/0009920, which discloses a cochlear implant using magnets for alignment.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796