DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing filed on July 15, 2026 Claims 1-26 have been examined in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 6/11/2025, has been acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed July 15, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-26 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s arguments filed 7/15/2026 have been fully considered, but are rendered moot due to new grounds of rejection.
In response to applicant’s arguments that the interpretation that claims 1-26 being directed to non-statutory subject matter is rendered moot by the present amendments entered above, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Toggling the display of a rendered visual aid is not sufficient for overcoming the abstract ideas mentioned in the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection below. Toggling the display of something is a mental process, because it can be imagined or not. In addition, specifying the types of visual aids that can be toggled (e.g. an alignment line, an annotation, or a color) is not sufficient for overcoming the abstract idea either.
In response to the applicant’s arguments that the operations recited in the claims will result in a changed state of a computer, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The operations recited in the claims are performed by computer software. Utilizing computer software does not change the state of the computer. Instead, the computer is acting as a medium for carrying out computer software. Regardless of whether the software performs the functions described in the claims, the computer’s performance (e.g. speed, efficiency, etc…) does not change.
In response to the applicant’s arguments that the claimed improvements are analogous to the improvement in computer-functionality cited by the Core Wireless Licensing S.A.R.L., v. LG Electronics, Inc., 880 F.3d 1356, 1362-63, 125 USPQ2d 1436, 1440-41 (Fed. Cir. 2018) court case, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Core Wireless succeeded, because the claims recited a specific UI structure that was tied to a device-level problem, fast navigation on small screens. Helping users process information more quickly or understand it better is not an improvement to the computer. Improving reader comprehension is a human cognitive benefit not a machine improvement. Unless the applicant(s) can show a specific UI mechanism that improves computer-functionality, not just a better looking display, the Core Wireless based argument is not convincing.
In response to the applicant’s arguments that the improvement in computer functionality is supported by the Ex Parte Desjardins, Appeal No. 2024-000567 (PTAB September 26, 2025) Appeals Review Panel Decision, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The main element of the Ex Parte Desjardins case was that the claimed training method improved how the model itself functioned, meaning it improved the technology itself. While the court case does caution examiners against treating technical components as abstract and stretching the “mental processes” grouping, the key to the court case was that the claimed invention improved the technology itself. While the applicant’s claims improve readability and reading comprehension for users/humans, nothing about the computer itself works any better. The specific arrangements and functions mentioned in the claims are all performed by the software that happens to be run on a computer or computing device and running that software on the computer/computing device does not improve the functionality of the computer/computing device.
Thus, the rejection of claims 1-24 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as well as new claims 25 and 26 stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-12 are drawn to a method and claims 13-26 are drawn to a device (i.e., a manufacture). As such, claims 1-24 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 1, the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite any judicial exceptions including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes).
Claims 1, 13, and 19 recites a method for presenting display enhancements to cascaded text in a user interface, comprising: generating a data model to identify linguistic relationships among respective words and word groups in a source text; augmenting the data model with linguistic properties associated with individual words in the source text; determining an arrangement of cascaded text based on the linguistic relationships identified in the data model, the arrangement of cascaded text including horizontal displacement and vertical displacement for the respective words and word groups; determining display enhancements to change a display of individual portions of the arrangement of cascaded text with one or more visual aids, wherein a visibility of the display enhancements is controlled based on user-selected options to show or hide the visual aids, wherein each of the visual aids corresponds to a respective one of the linguistic relationships or the linguistic properties identified in the data model, and is placed to identify the linguistic relationships among the respective words and word groups or the linguistic properties associated with individual words, wherein each of the visual aids is individually selectable to be toggled between a visible state and a non-visible state in response to user selection of a corresponding user interface control, without modifying the horizontal displacement and the vertical displacement of the arrangement of cascaded text, and wherein each of the visual aids comprises at least one of an alignment line, an annotation, or a color applied to individual ones of the respective words and word groups of the corresponding linguistic relationship or linguistic property; and outputting the arrangement of cascaded text and the display enhancements in a user interface. If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity, the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 13, and 19 recites abstract ideas.
Representative Claim 1: A method for presenting display enhancements to cascaded text in a user interface, comprising: generating a data model to identify linguistic relationships among respective words and word groups in a source text; augmenting the data model with linguistic properties associated with individual words in the source text; determining an arrangement of cascaded text based on the linguistic relationships identified in the data model, the arrangement of cascaded text including horizontal displacement and vertical displacement for the respective words and word groups; determining display enhancements to change a display of individual portions of the arrangement of cascaded text with one or more visual aids, wherein a visibility of the display enhancements is controlled based on user-selected options to show or hide the visual aids, wherein each of the visual aids corresponds to a respective one of the linguistic relationships or the linguistic properties identified in the data model, and is placed to identify the linguistic relationships among the respective words and word groups or the linguistic properties associated with individual words, wherein each of the visual aids is individually selectable to be toggled between a visible state and a non-visible state in response to user selection of a corresponding user interface control, without modifying the horizontal displacement and the vertical displacement of the arrangement of cascaded text, and wherein each of the visual aids comprises at least one of an alignment line, an annotation, or a color applied to individual ones of the respective words and word groups of the corresponding linguistic relationship or linguistic property; and outputting the arrangement of cascaded text and the display enhancements in a user interface.
Representative Claim 13: A system for presenting display enhancements to cascaded text in a user interface, comprising: at least one processor; and memory comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations to: generate a data model to identify linguistic relationships among respective words and word groups in a source text; augment the data model with linguistic properties associated with individual words in the source text; determine an arrangement of cascaded text based on the linguistic relationships identified in the data model, the arrangement of cascaded text including horizontal displacement and vertical displacement for the respective words and word groups; determine display enhancements to change a display of individual portions of the arrangement of cascaded text with one or more visual aids, wherein a visibility of the display enhancements is controlled based on user-selected options to show or hide the visual aids, wherein each of the visual aids corresponds to a respective one of the linguistic relationships or the linguistic properties identified in the data model, and is placed to identify the linguistic relationships among the respective words and word groups or the linguistic properties associated with individual words, wherein each of the visual aids is individually selectable to be toggled between a visible state and a non-visible state in response to user selection of a corresponding user interface control, without modifying the horizontal displacement and the vertical displacement of the arrangement of cascaded text, and wherein each of the visual aids comprises at least one of an alignment line, an annotation, or a color applied to individual ones of the respective words and word groups of the corresponding linguistic relationship or linguistic property; and output the arrangement of cascaded text and the display enhancements in a user interface.
Representative Claim 19: At least one non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions for presenting display enhancements to cascaded text in a user interface that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations to: :generate a data model to identify linguistic relationships among respective words and word groups in a source text; augment the data model with linguistic properties associated with individual words in the source text; determine an arrangement of cascaded text based on the linguistic relationships identified in the data model, the arrangement of cascaded text including horizontal displacement and vertical displacement for the respective words and word groups; determine display enhancements to change a display of individual portions of the arrangement of cascaded text with one or more visual aids, wherein a visibility of the display enhancements is controlled based on user-selected options to show or hide the visual aids, wherein each of the visual aids corresponds to a respective one of the linguistic relationships or the linguistic properties identified in the data model, and is placed to identify the linguistic relationships among the respective words and word groups or the linguistic properties associated with individual words, wherein each of the visual aids is individually selectable to be toggled between a visible state and anon-visible state in response to user selection of a corresponding user interface control, without modifying the horizontal displacement and the vertical displacement of the arrangement of cascaded text, and wherein each of the visual aids comprises at least one of an alignment line, an annotation, or a color applied to individual ones of the respective words and word groups of the corresponding linguistic relationship or linguistic property; and output the arrangement of cascaded text and the display enhancements in a user interface.
(Examiner notes: The underlined claim terms above are interpreted as additional elements beyond the abstract idea and are further analyzed under Step 2A - Prong Two)
The additional elements are instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device as, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements of processors, non-transitory machine-readable medium, and a user interface are generic computer components for performing the above method, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements are generic components of a computing device used to apply the abstract idea.
Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the recited steps of a method for presenting display enhancements to cascaded text in a user interface, comprising: generating a data model to identify linguistic relationships; augmenting the model with linguistic properties associated with words in the source text; determining an arrangement of cascaded text based on the linguistic relationships; determining display enhancements to the arrangement of cascaded text; identifying linguistic relationships through visual aids; toggling a display of the visual aids; and outputting the arrangement of cascaded text and the display enhancements in a user interface (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas. The recited steps are a simulation that applies an abstract idea, specifically mental processes (observation (presenting text, augmenting a data model, determining an arrangement of text, determining display enhancements to arrangement of text, toggling a display of the visual aids, and outputting arrangement and display enhancements) and/or evaluation (identifying linguistic relationships, and identifying linguistic relationships through visual aids)). If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity (CMOHA), the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 13, and 19 recite abstract ideas.
Dependent Claims 2-12, 14-18, and 20-26 further narrow the abstract ideas of generating a data model to identify linguistic relationships; augmenting the model with linguistic properties associated with words in the source text; determining an arrangement of cascaded text based on the linguistic relationships; determining display enhancements to the arrangement of cascaded text; identifying linguistic relationships through visual aids; toggling a display of the visual aids; and outputting the arrangement of cascaded text and the display enhancements in a user interface (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” and is an abstract idea and then it also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas and then also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
Independent claim(s) 1, 13, and 19 recite/describe nearly identical steps (and therefore also recite limitations that fall within this subject matter grouping of abstract ideas), and this/these claim(s) is/are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 1, 13, and 19 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 2 the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A - Prong Two: In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “addition element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “generating a data model”, “validating a token”, “augmenting the model with linguistic relationships”, “determining an arrangement of text”, “determining display enhancements to the text (e.g. visual aids)”, “identifying linguistic relationships through visual aids”, “toggling a display of the visual aids”, and “outputting the text arrangement and display enhancements” etc. (Claims 1, 13, and 19) are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer.
Similarly, the limitations of applying “generating a data model”, “validating a token”, “augmenting the model with linguistic relationships”, “determining an arrangement of text”, “determining display enhancements to the text (e.g. visual aids)”, “identifying linguistic relationships through visual aids”, “toggling a display of the visual aids”, and “outputting the text arrangement and display enhancements” etc. Independent Claim(s) 1, 13, and 19, and dependent claims 2-12, 14-18, and 20-26 are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components in a vehicle. This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serves merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, it/they serve(s) to limit the application of the abstract idea to computerized environments (e.g., generating a data model, validating a token, augmenting the model with linguistic relationships, determining an arrangement of text, determining display enhancements to the text (e.g. visual aids) and outputting the text arrangement and display enhancements, etc.). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The recited additional element(s) of receiving input, verifying input, and displaying an image, (Claim(s) 1, 13, and 19), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Dependent claims 2-12, 14-18, and 20-24 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an "inventive concept." An "inventive concept" is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the identified additional elements in independent claim(s) 1, 13, and 19, and dependent claims 2-12, 14-18, and 20-24 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The recited additional element(s) of generating a data model, validating a token, augmenting the model with linguistic relationships, determining an arrangement of text, determining display enhancements to the text (e.g. visual aids), identifying linguistic relationships through visual aids, toggling a display of the visual aids, and outputting the text arrangement and display enhancements (Claim(s) 1, 13, and 19), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea) i.e. selecting users (i.e. using a user interface) is similar to “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data”, is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here) (See MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)).
This conclusion is based on a factual determination. Applicant’s own disclosure at paragraph [0124] acknowledges that “FIG. 25 illustrates a block diagram of an example machine 2500 upon which any one or more of the techniques (e.g., methodologies) discussed herein may perform. In alternative embodiments, the machine 2500 may operate as a standalone device or may be connected (e.g., networked) to other machines. In a networked deployment, the machine 2500 may operate in the capacity of a server machine, a client machine, or both in server-client network environments. In an example, the machine 2500 may act as a peer machine in peer-to-peer (P2P) (or other distributed) network environment. The machine 2500 may be a personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, a set-top box (STB), a personal digital assistant (PDA), a mobile telephone, a web appliance, a network router, switch or bridge, or any machine capable of executing instructions (sequential or otherwise) that specify actions to be taken by that machine. Further, while only a single machine is illustrated, the term "machine" shall also be taken to include any collection of machines that individually or jointly execute a set (or multiple sets) of instructions to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein, such as cloud computing, software as a service (SaaS), other computer cluster configurations” (i.e. conventional nature of using a computer and/or computer program). This additional element therefore does not ensure the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
The dependent claims 2-12, 14-18, and 20-26 are dependent from claims 1, 13, and 19 and include all the limitations of the independent claims but fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). Therefore, the dependent claims recite the same abstract idea. The limitations of the dependent claims fail to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example:
The limitations of claims 2-5, 11-12, 14-17, 20-23, and 25-26 recite clarifications of toggling display of vertical and horizontal lines, toggling display of annotations, underlining and text labeling words or word groups, coloring or highlighting text, collapsing cascaded text, and colorizing sections of the arrangement of cascaded text. Such clarifications, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are merely defining/selecting a type of data to be manipulated which, per MPEP 2106.05(g), is insignificant extra-solution activity. Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable to these claims.
The limitations of claims 6-10, 18, and 24 recite clarifications of presenting text on separate pages, switching between different “views” (display enhancements) of text, using a web browser, and using browser extensions, plug-ins, or scripts. The limitations are further instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device/interface acting as an intermediary for performing the abstract ideas of generating a data model, validating a token, augmenting the model with linguistic relationships, determining an arrangement of text, determining display enhancements to the text (e.g. visual aids), identifying linguistic relationships through visual aids, toggling a display of the visual aids, and outputting the text arrangement and display enhancements, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable to these claims.
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claims 1-26 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dyke et al. (US 11,170,154 B1) in view of Chandra (US 2021/0117492 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Van Dyke discloses a method for presenting display enhancements to cascaded text in a user interface (Abstract Lines 1-11 Cascade rules may be applied to the text model to generate a cascaded text data structure. Cascaded data may be displayed on a range of media, including a phone, tablet, laptop, monitor, VR/AR devices), comprising:
generating a data model to identify linguistic relationships among respective words and word groups in a source text (Col. 12 Lines 38-42 The cascade generator 725 may apply cascade formatting 40 rules and algorithms to a language model generated by the machine learning service 735 created using constituency data and dependency data to generate probabilistic cascade output, Col. 21 Lines 51-53 At operation 1215, a text model may be built (e.g., by the input processor 1015 as described in FIG. 10, etc.) using the constituents and the dependency relationships (as shown in FIG. 6A, etc.));
augmenting the data model with linguistic properties associated with individual words in the source text (Col. 21 Lines 54-55 In an example, the text model may be further elaborated by linguistic features produced by additional be NLP-Services, including by example but not limitation, coreference information, sentiment tracking, named entity lists, topic tracking, probabilistic inference evaluation, pro- sodic contours, and semantic analysis);
determining an arrangement of cascaded text based on the linguistic relationships identified in the data model, the arrangement of cascaded text including horizontal displacement and vertical displacement for the respective words and word groups (Col. 22 Lines 8-10 In an example, the cascade rules comprise formatting rules that create line breaks and indents defined corresponding to constituents and dependencies, Col. 6 Lines 18-30 Part 2 of the Constituent Cascading operation specifies an indentation scheme to provide cues to linguistic structure (e.g., as shown in FIG. 6B, etc.). These cues are based on output from an automated dependency parser, which specifies the specific linguistic function of each word with respect to each other word (e.g., as shown in element 1115 or FIG. 11, element 1210 of FIG. 12, etc.). This function is used to determine horizontal displacement (indentation) of the cascade. The cues may be represented by horizontal displacement (indentation) of the constituent phrases within the cascade so that what is being indented are phrases on a given line);
determining display enhancements to change a display of individual portions of the arrangement of cascaded text with one or more visual aids, wherein a visibility of the display enhancements is controlled based on user-selected options to show or hide the visual aids (Col. 9 Lines 32-37 a separate NLP service that parses text into referents and antecedents is used to extend linguistically-driven automated text for-matting to include Referential Cuing, such that visual cues (e.g., color, etc.) identify referential relationships between words or constituents, Col. 29 Lines 10-14 FIG. 23 illustrates an example of an architecture 2300 for user and publisher preference management of cascaded text using natural language processing based on feedback input for linguistically-driven automated text formatting, according to an embodiment),
wherein each of the visual aids corresponds to a respective one of the linguistic relationships or the linguistic properties identified in the data model, and is placed to identify the linguistic relationships among the respective words and word groups or the linguistic properties associated with individual words (Col. 7 Lines 7-12 In addition to cascading, the output from these parsers may be used to modify text via highlighting, color coding, underlining, accompanying audio information, and the like to provide cognitive cues to reduce the cognitive load on the user, Col. 7 Lines 20-24 cuing may be achieved by modification of text formatting and/or accentuation such as using colors, italics, providing video output, vibratory output, audio output (e.g., tones, etc.)); and
outputting the arrangement of cascaded text and the display enhancements in a user interface (Col. 2 Lines 41-44 FIG. 16 illustrates an example of text transformation for displaying sentences of in a cascaded format for linguistically-driven automated text formatting, according to an embodiment, Col. 11 Lines 3-7 The end-user application may be deployed in a number of forms. For example, a browser plug-in and extensions may enable users to change the formatting of the text they read on the web and in applications using the cascading format).
However, Van Dyke is not relied upon teaching wherein each of the visual aids is individually selectable to be toggled between a visible state and a non-visible state in response to user selection of a corresponding user interface control, without modifying the horizontal displacement and the vertical displacement of the arrangement of cascaded text, and wherein each of the visual aids comprises at least one of an alignment line, an annotation, or a color applied to individual ones of the respective words and word groups of the corresponding linguistic relationship or linguistic property.
Chandra teaches wherein each of the visual aids is individually selectable to be toggled between a visible state and a non-visible state in response to user selection of a corresponding user interface control, without modifying the horizontal displacement and the vertical displacement of the arrangement of cascaded text ([0057] In one embodiment of the invention, the highlighter tool panel 60 includes a text entry box for adding a user to a list of users whose highlights can be selectively toggled on or off), and
wherein each of the visual aids comprises at least one of an alignment line, an annotation, or a color applied to individual ones of the respective words and word groups of the corresponding linguistic relationship or linguistic property ([0031] In one embodiment of the invention, the highlighted object (e.g., a selection of text) is stored along with any annotations (visual aid) or comments the user may have added, as well as a date and time indicating when the highlight was generated, [0059] For instance, green highlighted text may support a particular proposition or indicate a positive treatment of a particular subject (linguistic relationship), while red highlighted text may indicate a negative treatment of the same subject).
Van Dyke and Chandra are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of text formatting. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for a method for presenting display enhancements to cascaded text in a user interface, as disclosed by Van Dyke, further including wherein each of the visual aids is individually selectable to be toggled between a visible state and a non-visible state in response to user selection of a corresponding user interface control, without modifying the horizontal displacement and the vertical displacement of the arrangement of cascaded text, and wherein each of the visual aids comprises at least one of an alignment line, an annotation, or a color applied to individual ones of the respective words and word groups of the corresponding linguistic relationship or linguistic property, as taught by Chandra for the purpose of saving users a lot of time when trying to find information of interest to them (Chandra, [0009]).
Regarding Claim 2, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements include one or more vertical alignment lines positioned within the cascaded text to illustrate amounts of the horizontal displacement and the vertical displacement among multiple lines of the cascaded text (Col. 4 Lines 31-37 In an example, the cascade is formed using line breaks and indentations based on constituency and dependency data obtained from parsing operations. Cascade rules are applied such that prioritization is placed on constituents remaining complete on a line, or indicated as a continuous unit in situations where device display limitations may prevent display on a single line, Col. 3 Lines 14-17 FIG. 25 illustrates an example of dual display of cascaded text using natural language processing based on feedback input for linguistically-driven automated text formatting, according to an embodiment), and
wherein the user-selected options include a setting to toggle display of the one or more vertical alignment lines (Col. 8 Lines 39-41 It is noted that the vertical lines shown in FIG. 4 are for illustrative purposes, they are not part of the text output (although the vertical lines are not part of the output, they are disclosed by Van Dyke and shown in Fig. 4, even if just for illustrative purposes), Col. 12 Lines 63-67 A mode selection button 815 may be provided that allows a user to turn features (such as vertical lines) on or off (toggle) For example, text may be displayed in a cascade format and when a cascade mode is enabled, the related terms may be highlighted when coreference tracking is enabled, etc.).
Regarding Claim 3, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements include one or more annotations to identify particular words or word groups in the cascaded text based on syntactical properties, wherein the user-selected options include a setting to toggle display of the one or more annotations onto the particular words or word groups (Col. 3 Lines 62-67 A part of speech is a category of syntactic function (e.g., noun, verb, preposition, etc.) of a word. Unlike parts of speech that describe the function of a single word, constituency delineates sets of words that function as a unit to fill particular grammatical roles in the sentence (e.g., subject, direct object, etc.) (identifying words or word groups based on syntactical properties), Col. 7 Lines 8-12 the output from these parsers may be used to modify text via highlighting, color-coding, underlining, accompanying audio information, and the like to provide cognitive cues to reduce the cognitive load on the user, Col. 12 Lines 63-67 A mode selection button 815 may be provided that allows a user to turn features (such as vertical lines) on or off (toggle) For example, text may be displayed in a cascade format and when a cascade mode is enabled, the related terms may be highlighted when coreference tracking is enabled, etc., Col. 32 Lines 5-7 key phrases may be bolded or not bolded (analogous to toggling or switching between display style of words), verbs may be colored or bolded, etc. to highlight underlying linguistic properties).
Regarding Claim 4, Van Dyke discloses wherein the syntactical properties correspond to one or more of: a part of speech, or a syntax group, or a relationship between groups, and wherein the one or more annotations include underlining and text labeling to identify the syntactical properties of the particular words or word groups (Col. 3 Lines 65-67 – Col. 4 Lines 1-3 constituency delineates sets of words that function as a unit to fill particular grammatical roles in the sentence (e.g., subject, direct object, etc.). Hence, the concept of ‘constituency’ provides more information about how groups of words are related within the sentence, Col. 4 Lines 58-63 The systems and methods discussed herein present a means of explicitly cuing syntactic boundaries and dependency relationships via visual cues such as line-breaks (e.g., carriage return, line feed, etc.), indentations, highlighting in color, italics, underlining, etc.).
Regarding Claim 5, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements include color highlighting and text formatting changes to identify individual words in the cascaded text, wherein the color highlighting and text formatting changes are applied to a respective word of the cascaded text in response to user selection of the respective word in the user interface (Col. 7 Lines 7-11 the output from these parsers may be used to modify text via highlighting, color-coding, underlining, accompanying audio information, and the like to provide cognitive cues to reduce the cognitive load on the user, Col. 7 Lines 20-25 cuing may be achieved by modification of text formatting and/or accentuation such as using colors, italics, providing video output, vibratory output, audio output (e.g., tones, etc.), and the like using parsing outputs such as constituency data and dependency data, Col. 32 Lines 4-7 For example, constituents, coreference information and key phrases may be bolded or not bolded, verbs may be colored or bolded, etc. to highlight underlying linguistic properties).
Regarding Claim 6, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements include pagination applied to respective sentences, wherein respective sentences of a plurality of sentences of the source text are presented on separate pages, and wherein the user interface includes a user interface control to switch between the separate pages (Col. 22 Lines 17-28 In an example of a paragraph or a collection of sentences, the text may be processed before it is provided to the constituency parser or dependency parser to split text into a list of sentences. Each sentence may be processed individually… sentences may be displayed sequentially with each being cascaded separately, but in accordance with user preferences, Col. 32 Lines 25-30 a cascade formatted passage may be displayed in one window of the screen while a translation of the passage in another language may be presented in cascaded format in a second window of the screen (analogous to separate pages). In another example, block text may be displayed one side and cascade formatted text on the other side of a dual display).
Regarding Claim 7, Van Dyke discloses wherein the user interface includes a user-selectable option to switch between separate presentations of an exploration view and a reading view, wherein the exploration view presents the display enhancements to the arrangement of cascaded text, and wherein the reading view removes the display enhancements from the arrangement of cascaded text (Col. 3 Lines 14-17 FIG. 25 illustrates an example of dual display of cascaded text using natural language processing based on feedback input for linguistically-driven automated text formatting, according to an embodiment, Col. 32 Lines 29-34 block text may be displayed one side and cascade formatted text on the other side of a dual display. In yet another example, there is provided split screen scrolling in block and cascade and/or languages may be displayed on different sides of the screen or on different displays of a dual display configuration).
Regarding Claim 8, Van Dyke discloses wherein the user interface is provided in a web browser (Col. 10 Lines 53-55 The end-user device may communicate with the system 705 via a web-browser, downloaded application, on-demand application, etc.).
Regarding Claim 9, Van Dyke discloses wherein the web browser outputs the arrangement of cascaded text and the display enhancements using a plug-in, browser extension, or script (Col. 11 Lines 3-7 The end-user application may be deployed in a number of forms. For example, a browser plug-in and extensions may enable users to change the formatting of the text they read on the web and in applications using the cascading format).
Regarding Claim 10, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements to the arrangement of cascaded text are based on use of one or more features or capabilities of a head-worn display device, and wherein the user interface enables an augmented reality, virtual reality, or mixed reality view of the arrangement of cascaded text (Col. 11 Lines 37-45 According to another example embodiment, end-user computing device 715 provides augmented video (AV), augmented reality (AR), and virtual reality (VR) application of the cascade formatting may be completed within user-worn visual dis-play devices, including AV and VR headsets, glasses, and contact or implantable lenses to allow the user to see text in the cascade format).
Regarding Claim 11, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements to the arrangement of cascaded text include summarization or collapsing of the cascaded text, and wherein the summarization or collapsing is applied to the cascaded text based on the linguistic relationships or the linguistic properties identified in the data model (Col. 3 Lines 41-43 Display rules, including cascade rules, are then applied to these representations to make linguistic relation-ships more visible for the reader).
Regarding Claim 12, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements to the arrangement of cascaded text include colorizing sections of the arrangement of cascaded text in accordance with positions of the sections of the arrangement indicated by the linguistic relationships or the linguistic properties identified in the data model (Col. 9 Lines 32-37 a separate NLP service that parses text into referents and antecedents is used to extend linguistically-driven automated text formatting to include Referential Cuing, such that visual cues (e.g., color, etc.) identify referential relationships between words or constituents (e.g., as shown in FIG. 8), Col. 31 Lines 56-60 The modified text 2515 may be presented with the part-of-speech, constituency data, dependency data, etc. highlighted (e.g., underlined, bolded, colored, shaded, etc.) so that a user is able to identify the structure of the text 2510, Col. 32 Lines 4-7 For example, constituents, coreference information and key phrases may be bolded or not bolded, verbs may be colored or bolded, etc. to highlight underlying linguistic properties).
Regarding Claim 13, Van Dyke discloses a system for presenting display enhancements to cascaded text in a user interface (Abstract Lines 1-11 Cascade rules may be applied to the text model to generate a cascaded text data structure. Cascaded data may be displayed on a range of media, including a phone, tablet, laptop, monitor, VR/AR devices), comprising:
at least one processor (Col. 14 Lines 11-13 Processed input 1015 that includes processed text may be transmitted by the input processor 1010 to a set of NLP services 1020); and
memory comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations to (Col. 34 Lines 5-8 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a hardware processor core, or any combination thereof), a main memory 2804 and a static memory 2806):
generate a data model to identify linguistic relationships among respective words and word groups in a source text (Col. 12 Lines 38-42 The cascade generator 725 may apply cascade formatting 40 rules and algorithms to a language model generated by the machine learning service 735 created using constituency data and dependency data to generate probabilistic cascade output, Col. 21 Lines 51-53 At operation 1215 , a text model may be built (e.g., by the input processor 1015 as described in FIG. 10, etc.) using the constituents and the dependency relationships (as shown in FIG. 6A, etc.));
augment the data model with linguistic properties associated with individual words in the source text (Col. 21 Lines 54-55 In an example, the text model may be further elaborated by linguistic features produced by additional be NLP-Services, including by example but not limitation, coreference information, sentiment tracking, named entity lists, topic tracking, probabilistic inference evaluation, pro- sodic contours, and semantic analysis);
determine an arrangement of cascaded text based on the linguistic relationships identified in the data model, the arrangement of cascaded text including horizontal displacement and vertical displacement for the respective words and word groups (Col. 22 Lines 8-10 In an example, the cascade rules comprise formatting rules that create line breaks and indents defined corresponding to constituents and dependencies, Col. 6 Lines 18-30 Part 2 of the Constituent Cascading operation specifies an indentation scheme to provide cues to linguistic structure (e.g., as shown in FIG. 6B, etc.). These cues are based on output from an automated dependency parser, which specifies the specific linguistic function of each word with respect to each other word (e.g., as shown in element 1115 or FIG. 11, element 1210 of FIG. 12, etc.). This function is used to determine horizontal displacement (indentation) of the cascade. The cues may be represented by horizontal displacement (indentation) of the constituent phrases within the cascade so that what is being indented are phrases on a given line);
determine display enhancements to change a display of individual portions of the arrangement of cascaded text with one or more visual aids, wherein a visibility of the display enhancements is controlled based on user-selected options to show or hide visual aids (Col. 9 Lines 32- , a separate NLP service that parses text into referents and antecedents is used to extend linguistically-driven automated text for-matting to include Referential Cuing , such that visual cues (e.g., color, etc.) identify referential relationships between words or constituents, Col. 29 Lines 10-14 FIG. 23 illustrates an example of an architecture 2300 for user and publisher preference management of cascaded text using natural language processing based on feedback input for linguistically-driven automated text formatting, according to an embodiment),
wherein each of the visual aids corresponds to a respective one of the linguistic relationships or the linguistic properties identified in the data model, and is placed to identify the linguistic relationships among the respective words and word groups or linguistic properties associated with individual words (Col. 7 Lines 7-12 In addition to cascading, the output from these parsers may be used to modify text via highlighting, color coding, underlining, accompanying audio information, and the like to provide cognitive cues to reduce the cognitive load on the user, Col. 7 Lines 20-24 cuing may be achieved by modification of text formatting and/or accentuation such as using colors, italics, providing video output, vibratory output, audio output (e.g., tones, etc.)); and
output the arrangement of cascaded text and the display enhancements in a user interface (Col. 2 Lines 41-44 FIG. 16 illustrates an example of text transformation for displaying sentences of in a cascaded format for linguistically-driven automated text formatting, according to an embodiment, Col. 11 Lines 3-7 The end-user application may be deployed in a number of forms. For example, a browser plug-in and extensions may enable users to change the formatting of the text they read on the web and in applications using the cascading format).
However, Van Dyke is not relied upon teaching wherein each of the visual aids is individually selectable to be toggled between a visible state and a non-visible state in response to user selection of a corresponding user interface control, without modifying the horizontal displacement and the vertical displacement of the arrangement of cascaded text, and wherein each of the visual aids comprises at least one of an alignment line, an annotation, or a color applied to individual ones of the respective words and word groups of the corresponding linguistic relationship or linguistic property.
Chandra teaches wherein each of the visual aids is individually selectable to be toggled between a visible state and a non-visible state in response to user selection of a corresponding user interface control, without modifying the horizontal displacement and the vertical displacement of the arrangement of cascaded text ([0057] In one embodiment of the invention, the highlighter tool panel 60 includes a text entry box for adding a user to a list of users whose highlights can be selectively toggled on or off), and
wherein each of the visual aids comprises at least one of an alignment line, an annotation, or a color applied to individual ones of the respective words and word groups of the corresponding linguistic relationship or linguistic property ([0031] In one embodiment of the invention, the highlighted object (e.g., a selection of text) is stored along with any annotations (visual aid) or comments the user may have added, as well as a date and time indicating when the highlight was generated, [0059] For instance, green highlighted text may support a particular proposition or indicate a positive treatment of a particular subject (linguistic relationship), while red highlighted text may indicate a negative treatment of the same subject).
Regarding Claim 14, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements include one or more vertical alignment lines positioned within the cascaded text to illustrate amounts of the horizontal displacement and the vertical displacement among multiple lines of the cascaded text (Col. 4 Lines 31-37 In an example, the cascade is formed using line breaks and indentations based on constituency and dependency data obtained from parsing operations. Cascade rules are applied such that prioritization is placed on constituents remaining complete on a line, or indicated as a continuous unit in situations where device display limitations may prevent display on a single line, Col. 3 Lines 14-17 FIG. 25 illustrates an example of dual display of cascaded text using natural language processing based on feedback input for linguistically-driven automated text formatting, according to an embodiment), and wherein the user-selected options include a setting to toggle display of the one or more vertical alignment lines (Col. 8 Lines 39-41 It is noted that the vertical lines shown in FIG. 4 are for illustrative purposes, they are not part of the text output (although the vertical lines are not part of the output, they are disclosed by Van Dyke and shown in Fig. 4, even if just for illustrative purposes), Col. 12 Lines 63-67 A mode selection button 815 may be provided that allows a user to turn features (such as vertical lines) on or off (toggle) For example, text may be displayed in a cascade format and when a cascade mode is enabled, the related terms may be highlighted when coreference tracking is enabled, etc.).
Regarding Claim 15, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements include one or more annotations to identify particular words or word groups in the cascaded text based on syntactical properties, wherein the user-selected options include a setting to toggle display of the one or more annotations onto the particular words or word groups (Col. 7 Lines 8-12 the output from these parsers may be used to modify text via highlighting, color-coding, underlining, accompanying audio information, and the like to provide cognitive cues to reduce the cognitive load on the user, Col. 12 Lines 63-67 A mode selection button 815 may be provided that allows a user to turn features (such as vertical lines) on or off (toggle) For example, text may be displayed in a cascade format and when a cascade mode is enabled, the related terms may be highlighted when coreference tracking is enabled, etc.).
Regarding Claim 16, Van Dyke discloses wherein the syntactical properties correspond to one or more of: a part of speech, or a syntax group, or a relationship between groups, and wherein the one or more annotations include underlining and text labeling to identify the syntactical properties of the particular words or word groups (Col. 3 Lines 65-67 – Col. 4 Lines 1-3 constituency delineates sets of words that function as a unit to fill particular grammatical roles in the sentence (e.g., subject, direct object, etc.). Hence, the concept of ‘constituency’ provides more information about how groups of words are related within the sentence, Col. 4 Lines 58-63 The systems and methods discussed herein present a means of explicitly cuing syntactic boundaries and dependency relationships via visual cues such as line-breaks (e.g., carriage return, line feed, etc.), indentations, highlighting in color, italics, underlining, etc.).
Regarding Claim 17, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements to the arrangement of cascaded text include colorizing sections of the arrangement of cascaded text in accordance with positions of the sections of the arrangement indicated by the linguistic relationships or the linguistic properties identified in the data model (Col. 9 Lines 32-37 a separate NLP service that parses text into referents and antecedents is used to extend linguistically-driven automated text formatting to include Referential Cuing, such that visual cues (e.g., color, etc.) identify referential relationships between words or constituents (e.g., as shown in FIG. 8), Col. 31 Lines 56-60 The modified text 2515 may be presented with the part-of-speech, constituency data, dependency data, etc. highlighted (e.g., underlined, bolded, colored, shaded, etc.) so that a user is able to identify the structure of the text 2510, Col. 32 Lines 4-7 For example, constituents, coreference information and key phrases may be bolded or not bolded, verbs may be colored or bolded, etc. to highlight underlying linguistic properties).
Regarding Claim 18, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements include pagination applied to respective sentences, wherein respective sentences of a plurality of sentences of the source text are presented on separate pages, and wherein the user interface includes a user interface control to switch between the separate pages (Col. 22 Lines 17-28 In an example of a paragraph or a collection of sentences, the text may be processed before it is provided to the constituency parser or dependency parser to split text into a list of sentences. Each sentence may be processed individually… sentences may be displayed sequentially with each being cascaded separately, but in accordance with user preferences, Col. 32 Lines 25-30 a cascade formatted passage may be displayed in one window of the screen while a translation of the passage in another language may be presented in cascaded format in a second window of the screen. In another example, block text may be displayed one side and cascade formatted text on the other side of a dual display).
Regarding Claim 19, Van Dyke discloses at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions for presenting display enhancements to cascaded text in a user interface that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations to (Col. 34 Lines 44-63 Non-limiting machine readable medium examples may include solid-state memories, and optical and magnetic media. In an example, machine readable media may exclude transitory propagating signals (e.g., non-transitory machine-readable storage media). Specific examples of non-transitory machine-readable storage media may include: non-volatile memory, such as semiconductor memory devices):
generate a data model to identify linguistic relationships among respective words and word groups in a source text (Col. 12 Lines 38-42 The cascade generator 725 may apply cascade formatting 40 rules and algorithms to a language model generated by the machine learning service 735 created using constituency data and dependency data to generate probabilistic cascade output, Col. 21 Lines 51-53 At operation 1215, a text model may be built (e.g., by the input processor 1015 as described in FIG. 10, etc.) using the constituents and the dependency relationships (as shown in FIG. 6A, etc.));
augment the data model with linguistic properties associated with individual words in the source text (Col. 21 Lines 54-55 In an example, the text model may be further elaborated by linguistic features produced by additional be NLP-Services, including by example but not limitation, coreference information, sentiment tracking, named entity lists, topic tracking, probabilistic inference evaluation, pro- sodic contours, and semantic analysis);
determine an arrangement of cascaded text based on the linguistic relationships identified in the data model, the arrangement of cascaded text including horizontal displacement and vertical displacement for the respective words and word groups (Col. 22 Lines 8-10 In an example, the cascade rules comprise formatting rules that create line breaks and indents defined corresponding to constituents and dependencies, Col. 6 Lines 18-30 Part 2 of the Constituent Cascading operation specifies an indentation scheme to provide cues to linguistic structure (e.g., as shown in FIG. 6B, etc.). These cues are based on output from an automated dependency parser, which specifies the specific linguistic function of each word with respect to each other word (e.g., as shown in element 1115 or FIG. 11, element 1210 of FIG. 12, etc.). This function is used to determine horizontal displacement (indentation) of the cascade. The cues may be represented by horizontal displacement (indentation) of the constituent phrases within the cascade so that what is being indented are phrases on a given line);
determine display enhancements to change a display of individual portions of the arrangement of cascaded text with one or more visual aids, wherein a visibility of the display enhancements is controlled based on user-selected options to show or hide visual aids (Col. 9 Lines 32- , a separate NLP service that parses text into referents and antecedents is used to extend linguistically-driven automated text for-matting to include Referential Cuing , such that visual cues (e.g., color, etc.) identify referential relationships between words or constituents, Col. 29 Lines 10-14 FIG. 23 illustrates an example of an architecture 2300 for user and publisher preference management of cascaded text using natural language processing based on feedback input for linguistically-driven automated text formatting, according to an embodiment),
wherein each of the visual aids corresponds to a respective one of the linguistic relationships or the linguistic properties identified in the data model, and is placed to that identify the linguistic relationships among the respective words and word groups or linguistic properties associated with individual words (Col. 7 Lines 7-12 In addition to cascading, the output from these parsers may be used to modify text via highlighting, color coding, underlining, accompanying audio information, and the like to provide cognitive cues to reduce the cognitive load on the user, Col. 7 Lines 20-24 cuing may be achieved by modification of text formatting and/or accentuation such as using colors, italics, providing video output, vibratory output, audio output (e.g., tones, etc.)), and
output the arrangement of cascaded text and the display enhancements in a user interface (Col. 2 Lines 41-44 FIG. 16 illustrates an example of text transformation for displaying sentences of in a cascaded format for linguistically-driven automated text formatting, according to an embodiment, Col. 11 Lines 3-7 The end-user application may be deployed in a number of forms. For example, a browser plug-in and extensions may enable users to change the formatting of the text they read on the web and in applications using the cascading format).
However, Van Dyke is not relied upon teaching wherein each of the visual aids is individually selectable to be toggled between a visible state and a non-visible state in response to user selection of a corresponding user interface control, without modifying the horizontal displacement and the vertical displacement of the arrangement of cascaded text, wherein each of the visual aids comprises at least one of an alignment line, an annotation, or a color applied to individual ones of the respective words and word groups of the corresponding linguistic relationship or linguistic property.
Chandra teaches wherein each of the visual aids is individually selectable to be toggled between a visible state and a non-visible state in response to user selection of a corresponding user interface control, without modifying the horizontal displacement and the vertical displacement of the arrangement of cascaded text ([0057] In one embodiment of the invention, the highlighter tool panel 60 includes a text entry box for adding a user to a list of users whose highlights can be selectively toggled on or off), and
wherein each of the visual aids comprises at least one of an alignment line, an annotation, or a color applied to individual ones of the respective words and word groups of the corresponding linguistic relationship or linguistic property ([0031] In one embodiment of the invention, the highlighted object (e.g., a selection of text) is stored along with any annotations (visual aid) or comments the user may have added, as well as a date and time indicating when the highlight was generated, [0059] For instance, green highlighted text may support a particular proposition or indicate a positive treatment of a particular subject (linguistic relationship), while red highlighted text may indicate a negative treatment of the same subject).
Regarding Claim 20, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements include one or more vertical alignment lines to illustrate amounts of the horizontal displacement and the vertical displacement among multiple lines of the cascaded text (Col. 4 Lines 31-37 In an example, the cascade is formed using line breaks and indentations based on constituency and dependency data obtained from parsing operations. Cascade rules are applied such that prioritization is placed on constituents remaining complete on a line, or indicated as a continuous unit in situations where device display limitations may prevent display on a single line, Col. 3 Lines 14-17 FIG. 25 illustrates an example of dual display of cascaded text using natural language processing based on feedback input for linguistically-driven automated text formatting, according to an embodiment), and wherein the user-selected options include a setting to toggle display of the one or more vertical alignment lines (Col. 8 Lines 39-41 It is noted that the vertical lines shown in FIG. 4 are for illustrative purposes, they are not part of the text output (although the vertical lines are not part of the output, they are disclosed by Van Dyke and shown in Fig. 4, even if just for illustrative purposes), Col. 12 Lines 63-67 A mode selection button 815 may be provided that allows a user to turn features (such as vertical lines) on or off (toggle) For example, text may be displayed in a cascade format and when a cascade mode is enabled, the related terms may be highlighted when coreference tracking is enabled, etc.).
Regarding Claim 21, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements include one or more annotations to identify particular words or word groups in the cascaded text based on syntactical properties, wherein the user-selected options include a setting to toggle display of the one or more annotations onto the particular words or word groups (Col. 7 Lines 8-12 the output from these parsers may be used to modify text via highlighting, color-coding, underlining, accompanying audio information, and the like to provide cognitive cues to reduce the cognitive load on the user, Col. 12 Lines 63-67 A mode selection button 815 may be provided that allows a user to turn features (such as vertical lines) on or off (toggle) For example, text may be displayed in a cascade format and when a cascade mode is enabled, the related terms may be highlighted when coreference tracking is enabled, etc.).
Regarding Claim 22, Van Dyke discloses wherein the syntactical properties correspond to one or more of: a part of speech, or a syntax group, or a relationship between groups, and wherein the one or more annotations include underlining and text labeling to identify the syntactical properties of the particular words or word groups (Col. 3 Lines 65-67 – Col. 4 Lines 1-3 constituency delineates sets of words that function as a unit to fill particular grammatical roles in the sentence (e.g., subject, direct object, etc.). Hence, the concept of ‘constituency’ provides more information about how groups of words are related within the sentence, Col. 4 Lines 58-63 The systems and methods discussed herein present a means of explicitly cuing syntactic boundaries and dependency relationships via visual cues such as line-breaks (e.g., carriage return, line feed, etc.), indentations, highlighting in color, italics, underlining, etc.).
Regarding Claim 23, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements to the arrangement of cascaded text include colorizing sections of the arrangement of cascaded text in accordance with positions of the sections of the arrangement indicated by the linguistic relationships or the linguistic properties identified in the data model (Col. 9 Lines 32-37 a separate NLP service that parses text into referents and antecedents is used to extend linguistically-driven automated text formatting to include Referential Cuing, such that visual cues (e.g., color, etc.) identify referential relationships between words or constituents (e.g., as shown in FIG. 8), Col. 31 Lines 56-60 The modified text 2515 may be presented with the part-of-speech, constituency data, dependency data, etc. highlighted (e.g., underlined, bolded, colored, shaded, etc.) so that a user is able to identify the structure of the text 2510, Col. 32 Lines 4-7 For example, constituents, coreference information and key phrases may be bolded or not bolded, verbs may be colored or bolded, etc. to highlight underlying linguistic properties).
Regarding Claim 24, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements include pagination applied to respective sentences, wherein respective sentences of a plurality of sentences of the source text are presented on separate pages, and wherein the user interface includes a user interface control to switch between the separate pages (Col. 22 Lines 17-28 In an example of a paragraph or a collection of sentences, the text may be processed before it is provided to the constituency parser or dependency parser to split text into a list of sentences. Each sentence may be processed individually… sentences may be displayed sequentially with each being cascaded separately, but in accordance with user preferences, Col. 32 Lines 25-30 a cascade formatted passage may be displayed in one window of the screen while a translation of the passage in another language may be presented in cascaded format in a second window of the screen. In another example, block text may be displayed one side and cascade formatted text on the other side of a dual display).
Regarding Claim 25, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements to the arrangement of cascaded text include summarization or collapsing of the cascaded text, and wherein the summarization or collapsing is applied to the cascaded text based on the linguistic relationships or the linguistic properties identified in the data model (Col. 3 Lines 41-43 Display rules, including cascade rules, are then applied to these representations to make linguistic relation-ships more visible for the reader).
Regarding Claim 26, Van Dyke discloses wherein the display enhancements to the arrangement of cascaded text include summarization or collapsing of the cascaded text, and wherein the summarization or collapsing is applied to the cascaded text based on the linguistic relationships or the linguistic properties identified in the data model (Col. 3 Lines 41-43 Display rules, including cascade rules, are then applied to these representations to make linguistic relation-ships more visible for the reader).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gorman et al. (WO 2021/207422 A1) is in the field of generating cascaded text formatting for electronic documents and displays (Abstract).
Yu (US 2019/0213257 A1) is in the field of a system and method for improving sentence diagram construction and analysis (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT J UTAMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715