DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 13-22 in the reply filed on 6/22/26 is acknowledged. Thus, claims 23-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/22/26.
An OA on the merits of claims 13-22 as followings:
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter as representing in claim 1 entirely, (e.g., first silicon wafer, sense plate, and TSVs , a second silicon wafer) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: -- A tuning fork gyroscope sensor” --.
Abstract should be revised to reflect product (sensor) invention elected.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“A tuning fork gyroscope” (claim 1, line 1) appears to be: --" A tuning fork gyroscope sensor” --, (see in light discussion of ¶¶ [0006, 0018] of the instant specification).
“The tuning fork gyroscope” (claims 14-22, line 1) should be updated to: -- “The tuning fork gyroscope sensor” --, to reflect changes as suggested above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A number of transition term: “comprising” is/are occurrence in claim 13 which made scope of the claim unclear. Therefore, the recites of:” a first silicon wafer comprising a sense plate, the first silicon wafer comprising through- silicon-vias (TSVs) penetrating therethrough” (claim 13, lines 2-3) should be updated to: -- a first silicon wafer includes a sense plate, and through- silicon-vias (TSVs) penetrating therethrough” --. For clarity of the structure invention feature.
Similar to the above: “a second silicon wafer bonded to the first silicon wafer, the second silicon wafer comprising a proof mass” (claim 13, lines 4-5) should be updated to: --"a second silicon wafer includes a proof mass, and wherein the second silicon wafer is directly bonded to the first silicon wafer” --, for clarity of the structure claim formats.
“comprises” (claim 18, line 1) should be updated to: -- “further comprises”--
It is unclear as to what being referring as” the proof mass is a vacuum” (claim 18, line 3) appears to be “the proof mass is vacuum sealed”, for clarity of the claim.
Claim 19 is awkwardly worded and should be rewritten to reflect structure limitation. It is suggested the use of: -- wherein the sense plate includes an insulation layer which is a polysilicon layer” --.
Claim 22 also recites a number of “comprising” term should be updated to:
-- further comprising a third silicon wafer includes a third sense plate connectively bonded to the second silicon wafer, and wherein the second silicon wafer is bonded and disposed between the first silicon wafer and the third silicon wafer” --, for clarity of the structure claim formats.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15, 19-22 as best understood is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinberg et al (US 7172919) and/or alternatively in view of Sawyer (US 6548321).
Weinberg et al discloses the claimed tuning fork gyroscope sensors, comprising:
a first silicon wafer 16 comprising a sense plate 26/28 (see Fig. 3), the first silicon wafer 16 comprising through- silicon-vias (TSVs) penetrating therethrough, and the TSVs having conductive material therein (see Fig. 3 as reproduced below); and
a second silicon wafer 30 bonded to the first silicon wafer, the second silicon wafer comprising a proof mass 12/14 (see Figs. 2-3 below).
Therefore, the limitation of claim 13 is met by the above applied reference.
Further, if argues that the Weinberg et al does not teach the TSVs then refers to the Sawyer for such above TSVs (64c/48c) formed on the first silicon wafer substrate 12c (see Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to employ the Sawyer’s teaching as mentioned above onto the Weinberg invention in order to form a device which meet manufacturing requirement for various known benefits includes economically and efficiency.
As applied to claim 14 regarding to the material of the first silicon wafer is a silicon on insulator (SOI) wafer. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate such material above onto the modified Weinberg /Sawyer, since SOI material are selected based on design considerations and trade-offs between cost, mechanical properties, and dielectric properties. Therefore, SOI material is not inventive when departing from modified Weinberg /Sawyer and common general knowledge.
Limitations of claim 15 is also met by the above since no further structure feature existed thereto (noting Fig. 5 of the Sawyer discloses the interconnection between proof mass 18 and the TSVs, 64c/48c respectively.
As applied to claim 19, refer to similar to discussion of claim 14 above for claim 19.
As applied to claims 20-21 applicant refers to discussion in light of ¶ [0084] for the metal bonded and silicon bonded between the two wafers, respectively.
As applied to claim 22, refer to embodiment of Fig. 8G for the teaching of third silicon wafer interconnected to the second silicon wafer and where the second silicon wafer 250 is between the first silicon wafer 230 and the third wafer 240, respectively.
Claim(s)16-17 as best understood is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinberg et al (US 7172919) in view of Huang (US 6189381).
The Weinberg et al does not teach the feature as recited in claim 16 wherein the first silicon wafer comprises a handle layer and the TSVs penetrate through the handle layer. Regarding to this, the Huang discloses the above feature, refer to Fig. 3L of Huang depict handle layer 51/52 as noted above, therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to employ the Huang ‘s teaching onto the modified Weinberg above in order to obtain a device having the above configurations feature facilitate operation would result.
As applied to claim 17, refer to Fig. 3L of the Huang for such teaching of where “the TSVs 68 is metal contact pad 69/70, respectively.
Potential Allowable claim
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MINH N TRINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729
8/4/26