DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2, 7-8, 11, 15-16, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/16/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species Election 1: C, drawn to sending a simulation signal to the patient monitoring device to compensate for the leakage current, and Species Election 2: II, drawn to a BP Monitoring system, in the reply filed on 09/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-10, 12-14, 17-18, and 20 are hereby under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/13/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ville Vartiovaara (US 20170325684 A1), hereinafter referred to as Vartiovaara.
The claims are generally directed towards an electronic station within a surgical system, comprising: a communications interface configured to connect to a plurality of patient monitoring devices and a plurality of energy devices; and a processor configured to: receive a signal from one or more of the plurality of energy devices, wherein the signal notifies the electronic station of a leakage current associated with a patient monitoring device of the plurality of patient monitoring devices; determine to adjust the connection with the patient monitoring device to compensate for the leakage current associated with the patient monitoring device based on the received signal; and perform the adjustment to the connection with the patient monitoring device to compensate for the leakage current associated with the patient monitoring device.
Regarding claim 1, Vartiovaara discloses an electronic station within a surgical system (Abstract, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, para. [0003]), comprising:
a communications interface configured to connect to a plurality of patient monitoring devices and a plurality of energy devices (Fig. 1, element 30, para. [0034], “host device … one or more generic activator modules which may be connected to various sensor devices attached to the patient may be in communication with a host device … two or more sensor devices, such as a noninvasive blood pressure sensor device and a pulse oximeter sensor device …”); and
a processor (Fig. 1, element 26, para. [0026], “processor”, para. [0038]) configured to:
receive a signal from one or more of the plurality of energy devices, wherein the signal notifies the electronic station of a leakage current associated with a patient monitoring device of the plurality of patient monitoring devices (para. [0063-0066], “if a fault exists … any leakage current that exists will be detected … the voltage on these two bias rings will be sensed and the processor of the activator module can either generate an alarm or interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device …”, para. [0036], “receive alarm notifications” - the received signal being the voltage, which causes an alarm to be activated or the interruption of the power);
determine to adjust the connection with the patient monitoring device to compensate for the leakage current associated with the patient monitoring device based on the received signal (para. [0064-0065], “if a fault exists … leakage current that exists will be detected … the processor of the activator module can … interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device” - the adjustment being the determination to interrupt the supply of power); and
perform the adjustment to the connection with the patient monitoring device to compensate for the leakage current associated with the patient monitoring device (para. [0065], “the processor of the activator module can … interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device”).
Regarding claim 4, Vartiovaara discloses the electronic station of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: send a notification to the patient monitoring device, wherein the notification notifies the patient monitoring device of the leakage current (para. [0065], “the voltage on these two bias rings will be sensed and the processor of the activator module can either generate an alarm or interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device …”).
Regarding claim 9, Vartiovaara discloses an electronic station within a surgical system (Abstract, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, para. [0003]), comprising:
a communications interface configured to connect to a plurality of patient monitoring devices (Fig. 1, element 30, para. [0034], “host device … one or more generic activator modules which may be connected to various sensor devices attached to the patient may be in communication with a host device … two or more sensor devices, such as a noninvasive blood pressure sensor device and a pulse oximeter sensor device …”); and
a processor (Fig. 1, element 26, para. [0026], “processor”, para. [0038]) configured to:
detect a leakage current associated with a patient monitoring device of the plurality of patient monitoring devices (para. [0063-0066], “if a fault exists … any leakage current that exists will be detected … the voltage on these two bias rings will be sensed and the processor of the activator module can either generate an alarm or interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device …”, para. [0036], “receive alarm notifications”);
determine a mechanism to compensate for the leakage current associated with the patient monitoring device (para. [0064-0065], “if a fault exists … leakage current that exists will be detected … the processor of the activator module can … interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device” - the determined mechanism to interrupt the supply of the power); and
perform the mechanism to compensate for the leakage current associated with the patient monitoring device (para. [0065], “the processor of the activator module can … interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device”).
Regarding claim 12, Vartiovaara discloses the electronic station of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to: send a notification to the patient monitoring device, wherein the notification notifies the patient monitoring device of the leakage current (para. [0065], “the voltage on these two bias rings will be sensed and the processor of the activator module can either generate an alarm or interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device …”).
Regarding claim 17, Vartiovaara discloses a surgical system (Abstract, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, para. [0003]), comprising:
a plurality of patient monitoring devices (Fig 3, para. [0034], “two or more sensor devices, such as a noninvasive blood pressure sensor device and a pulse oximeter sensor device …”);
a plurality of energy devices (Fig. 3, para. [0034], “host device … one or more generic activator modules which may be connected to various sensor devices attached to the patient may be in communication with a host device …”);
an electronic station configured to connect to the plurality of energy devices and the plurality of patient monitoring devices (Fig. 1, para. [0026], para. [0034], “host device … one or more generic activator modules which may be connected to various sensor devices attached to the patient may be in communication with a host device … two or more sensor devices, such as a noninvasive blood pressure sensor device and a pulse oximeter sensor device …”), wherein the electronic station comprises a processor (Fig. 1, element 26, para. [0026], “processor”, para. [0038]) configured to:
detect a leakage current associated with a patient monitoring device of the plurality of patient monitoring devices (para. [0063-0066], “if a fault exists … any leakage current that exists will be detected … the voltage on these two bias rings will be sensed and the processor of the activator module can either generate an alarm or interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device …”, para. [0036], “receive alarm notifications”);
determine a mechanism to compensate for the leakage current associated with the patient monitoring device (para. [0064-0065], “if a fault exists … leakage current that exists will be detected … the processor of the activator module can … interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device” - the determined mechanism to interrupt the supply of the power); and
perform the mechanism to compensate for the leakage current associated with the patient monitoring device (para. [0065], “the processor of the activator module can … interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device”).
Regarding claim 20, Vartiovaara discloses the surgical system of claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to: send a notification to the patient monitoring device, wherein the notification notifies the patient monitoring device of the leakage current (para. [0065], “the voltage on these two bias rings will be sensed and the processor of the activator module can either generate an alarm or interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device …”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5-6, 10, 13-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ville Vartiovaara (US 20170325684 A1), hereinafter referred to as Vartiovaara as applied to claims 1, 4, 9, 12, and 17 above, and further in view of Hua et al. (US 20220202290 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hua.
Regarding claim 3, Vartiovaara discloses the electronic station of claim 1.
However, Vartiovaara does not explicitly disclose wherein the adjustment of the connection with the patient monitoring device comprises sending a simulated signal to the patient monitoring device to compensate for the leakage current.
Hua teaches an analogous electronic station comprising a patient monitoring device (Fig. 1, para. [0009], para. [0048]). Hua teaches performing an adjustment for a measurement of the patient monitoring device based on a determination (para. [0181]). Hua further teaches the adjustment comprises sending a simulated signal to the patient monitoring device to compensate for an outlier (para. [0181], “outlier can be replaced with the previous result … written over by a new measurement …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adjustment disclosed by Vartiovaara to explicitly include sending a simulated signal to the patient monitoring device to compensate for the leakage current, as taught by Hua. This is because Hua teaches sending and replacing outlier values with a previous result allows for erroneous measurements to be removed, while also providing accurate measurements for performing further analysis (para. [0181]).
Regarding claim 5, Vartiovaara discloses the electronic station of claim 4, wherein: the patient monitoring device is configured to detect a patient biomarker (para. [0026], “sensor device is a noninvasive blood pressure (NIBP) monitor … calculate systolic, diastolic and mean blood pressure values …”), the leakage current causes incorrect readings of the patient biomarker associated with the patient monitoring device (para. [0004], “detect a leakage current at the power connection between the activator module and the sensor device”, para. [0064], “fault exists in a way that there is conductive matter touching at least one of the contact pads …”, para. [0065], “error condition”), the notification further notifies the patient monitoring device of the incorrect readings of the patient biomarker (para. [0065], “the processor of the activator module can … interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device”).
However, Vartiovaara does not explicitly disclose the adjustment to the connection with the patient monitoring device to compensate for the leakage current corrects the incorrect readings of the patient biomarker.
Hua teaches an analogous electronic station comprising a patient monitoring device (Fig. 1, para. [0009], para. [0048]). Hua teaches performing an adjustment for a measurement of the patient monitoring device based on a determination (para. [0181]). Hua further teaches the adjustment corrects incorrect readings of a patient biomarker (para. [0181], “outlier can be replaced with the previous result … written over by a new measurement …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adjustment disclosed Vartiovaara to additionally correct the incorrect readings of the patient biomarker, as taught by Hua. This is because Hua teaches sending and replacing outlier values with a previous result allows for erroneous measurements to be removed, while also providing accurate measurements for performing further analysis (para. [0181]).
Regarding claim 6, Vartiovaara discloses the electronic station of claim 5, wherein: the patient monitoring device is a blood pressure sensing system, the patient biomarker is blood pressure (para. [0026], “sensor device is a noninvasive blood pressure (NIBP) monitor … calculate systolic, diastolic and mean blood pressure values …”), the notification further notifies the blood pressure sensing system of the incorrect readings of the blood pressure (para. [0004], “detect a leakage current at the power connection between the activator module and the sensor device”, para. [0026], para. [0064], “fault exists in a way that there is conductive matter touching at least one of the contact pads …”, para. [0065], “the processor of the activator module can … interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device”).
However, Vartiovaara does not explicitly disclose the adjustment to the connection with the patient monitoring device to compensate for the leakage current corrects the incorrect readings of the blood pressure.
Hua teaches an analogous electronic station comprising a patient monitoring device (Fig. 1, para. [0009], para. [0048]). Hua teaches performing an adjustment for a measurement of the patient monitoring device based on a determination (para. [0181]). Hua further teaches the adjustment corrects incorrect readings of a patient biomarker (para. [0181], “outlier can be replaced with the previous result … written over by a new measurement …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adjustment disclosed Vartiovaara to additionally correct the incorrect readings of the blood pressure, as taught by Hua. This is because Hua teaches sending and replacing outlier values with a previous result allows for erroneous measurements to be removed, while also providing accurate measurements for performing further analysis (para. [0181]). Further, in regards to “blood pressure”, see the rejection above.
Regarding claim 10, Vartiovaara discloses the electronic station of claim 9.
However, Vartiovaara does not explicitly disclose wherein: the determined mechanism to compensate for the leakage current is to generate a simulated signal for the patient monitoring device, and the performed mechanism to compensate for the leakage current is to send the simulated signal to the patient monitoring device.
Hua teaches an analogous electronic station comprising a patient monitoring device (Fig. 1, para. [0009], para. [0048]). Hua teaches performing a mechanism for a measurement of the patient monitoring device based on a determination (para. [0181]). Hua further teaches the mechanism to compensate for the outlier is to generate a simulated signal for the patient monitoring device, and the performed mechanism to compensate for the outlier is to send the simulated signal to the patient monitoring device (para. [0181], “outlier can be replaced with the previous result … written over by a new measurement …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mechanism disclosed by Vartiovaara to explicitly include generating a simulated signal for the patient monitoring device, and the performed mechanism to compensate for the leakage current is to send the simulated signal to the patient monitoring device, as taught by Hua. This is because Hua teaches sending and replacing outlier values with a previous result allows for erroneous measurements to be removed, while also providing accurate measurements for performing further analysis (para. [0181]).
Regarding claim 13, Vartiovaara discloses the electronic station of claim 12, wherein: the patient monitoring device is configured to detect a patient biomarker (para. [0026], “sensor device is a noninvasive blood pressure (NIBP) monitor … calculate systolic, diastolic and mean blood pressure values …”), the leakage current causes incorrect readings of the patient biomarker associated with the patient monitoring device (para. [0004], “detect a leakage current at the power connection between the activator module and the sensor device”, para. [0064], “fault exists in a way that there is conductive matter touching at least one of the contact pads …”, para. [0065], “error condition”), the notification further notifies the patient monitoring device of the incorrect readings of the patient biomarker (para. [0065], “the processor of the activator module can … interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device”).
However, Vartiovaara does not explicitly disclose the performed mechanism to compensate for the leakage current corrects the incorrect readings of the patient biomarker.
Hua teaches an analogous electronic station comprising a patient monitoring device (Fig. 1, para. [0009], para. [0048]). Hua teaches performing a mechanism for a measurement of the patient monitoring device based on a determination (para. [0181]). Hua teaches the performed mechanism corrects incorrect readings of a patient biomarker (para. [0181], “outlier can be replaced with the previous result … written over by a new measurement …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mechanism disclosed Vartiovaara to additionally correct the incorrect readings of the patient biomarker, as taught by Hua. This is because Hua teaches sending and replacing outlier values with a previous result allows for erroneous measurements to be removed, while also providing accurate measurements for performing further analysis (para. [0181]).
Regarding claim 14, Vartiovaara discloses the electronic station of claim 13, wherein: the patient monitoring device is a blood pressure sensing system, the patient biomarker is blood pressure (para. [0026], “sensor device is a noninvasive blood pressure (NIBP) monitor … calculate systolic, diastolic and mean blood pressure values …”), the notification further notifies the blood pressure sensing system of the incorrect readings of the blood pressure (para. [0004], “detect a leakage current at the power connection between the activator module and the sensor device”, para. [0026], para. [0064], “fault exists in a way that there is conductive matter touching at least one of the contact pads …”, para. [0065], “the processor of the activator module can … interrupt the supply of the power to the sensor device”).
However, Vartiovaara does not explicitly disclose the performed mechanism to compensate for the leakage current corrects the incorrect readings of the blood pressure.
Hua teaches an analogous electronic station comprising a patient monitoring device (Fig. 1, para. [0009], para. [0048]). Hua teaches performing a mechanism for compensating for a measurement of the patient monitoring device based on a determination (para. [0181]). Hua teaches the mechanism corrects incorrect readings of a patient biomarker (para. [0181], “outlier can be replaced with the previous result … written over by a new measurement …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mechanism disclosed Vartiovaara to additionally correct the incorrect readings of the blood pressure, as taught by Hua. This is because Hua teaches sending and replacing outlier values with a previous result allows for erroneous measurements to be removed, while also providing accurate measurements for performing further analysis (para. [0181]). Further, in regards to “blood pressure”, see the rejection above.
Regarding claim 18, modified Vartiovaara discloses the surgical system of claim 17.
However, Vartiovaara does not explicitly disclose wherein: the determined mechanism to compensate for the leakage current is to generate a simulated signal for the patient monitoring device, and the performed mechanism to compensate for the leakage current is to send the simulated signal to the patient monitoring device.
Hua teaches a surgical system comprising a patient monitoring device (Fig. 1, para. [0009], para. [0048]). Hua teaches performing an adjustment for a measurement of the patient monitoring device based on a determination (para. [0181]). Hua further teaches the mechanism to compensate for the outlier is to generate a simulated signal for the patient monitoring device, and the performed mechanism to compensate for the outlier is to send the simulated signal to the patient monitoring device (para. [0181], “outlier can be replaced with the previous result … written over by a new measurement …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mechanism disclosed by Vartiovaara to explicitly include generating a simulated signal for the patient monitoring device, and the performed mechanism to compensate for the leakage current is to send the simulated signal to the patient monitoring device, as taught by Hua. This is because Hua teaches sending and replacing outlier values with a previous result allows for erroneous measurements to be removed, while also providing accurate measurements for performing further analysis (para. [0181]).
Conclusion
/KYLE W. KRETZER/Examiner, Art Unit 3791