DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification does not mention an “objective lens” as claimed in claims 1, 15, and 16. The examiner notes that the element is supported in Fig. 6.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “at least there lasers”. It is assumed this should be “at least 3 lasers”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“affecting units that are configured to affect at least one or more conditions selected out of one or more illumination conditions and one or more collection conditions, wherein the one or more illumination conditions comprise an illumination polarization parameter, and the one or more collection conditions comprise one or more variable aperture parameters” in claim 1; and
“affecting units of the optical measurement system affect at least one or more conditions selected out of one or more illumination conditions and one or more collection conditions, wherein the one or more illumination conditions comprise an illumination polarization parameter, and the one or more collection conditions comprise one or more variable aperture parameters” in claim 15; and
“affecting units of the optical measurement system affect at least one or more conditions selected out of one or more illumination conditions and one or more collection conditions, wherein the one or more illumination conditions comprise an illumination polarization parameter, and the one or more collection conditions comprise one or more variable aperture parameters” in claim 16.
The examiner notes that no double patenting rejection is made because the patented claims of US 12066385 do not contain the limitation of an objective lens, and the patented claims US 10564106 and US 11275027 are inventions that are significantly different than the pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 9, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill et al. (US 7710564 B1), hereinafter “Hill”, and further in view of Pandev et al (US 2017/0045356 A1), hereinafter “Pandev”.
Regarding claim 1, Hill teaches a system for use in measuring one or more characteristics of a patterned structure on semiconductor wafer (abstract, Fig. 1A), the system comprising:
a light source system that defines an illumination channel having a variable polarization unit (ref 105; col. 2, lines 35-65), the light source system comprises at least three different wavelengths (ref 101; col. 2, lines 35-45);
a detection system that defines a collection channel having a variable aperture (ref 123; col. 2, lines 50-60), wherein the detection system is configured to obtain measured data indicative of at least one spectrum obtained from the patterned structure (ref 127; col. 2, lines 35-45);
one or more affecting units that are configured to affect at least one or more conditions selected out of one or more illumination conditions and one or more collection conditions, wherein the one or more illumination conditions comprise an illumination polarization parameter, and the one or more collection conditions comprise one or more variable aperture parameters (refs 103, 109, 117, 123; col. 2, lines 35-65);
an objective lens shared by the illumination and collection channel (ref 111).
Hill is silent regarding the light source system comprises at least three illumination sources with different wavelengths, wherein the detection system is configured to obtain measured data indicative of at least one Raman spectrum obtained from the patterned structure and a control unit that is configured to apply model based metrology on the measured data to provide one or more characteristics of the patterned structure from the measured data.
However, Pandev teaches a wafer measurement device (abstract) including the light source system comprises at least multiple illumination sources with different wavelengths (paragraph [0040]), wherein the detection system is configured to obtain measured data indicative of at least one Raman spectrum obtained from the patterned structure (paragraph [0035]) and a control unit that is configured to apply model based metrology on the measured data to provide one or more characteristics of the patterned structure from the measured data (paragraphs [0006], [0060]-[0062]).
Pandev teaches one or more sources, paragraph [0040]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least three sources, as it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). One would chose at least three sources in order to illuminate at different wavelengths, giving different resolutions for different depths.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Hill with the teaching of Pandev by including the light source system comprises at least multiple illumination sources with different wavelengths, wherein the detection system is configured to obtain measured data indicative of at least one Raman spectrum obtained from the patterned structure and a control unit that is configured to apply model based metrology on the measured data to provide one or more characteristics of the patterned structure from the measured data in order to measure polarization, control bandwidth and intensity, and accurately determine the parameters.
Regarding claim 2, Hill teaches wherein the one or more collection conditions comprise a collection polarization parameter (col. 2, lines 35-45).
Regarding claim 3, Hill is silent regarding wherein the at least three illumination sources comprise at least there lasers.
However, Pandev teaches one or more sources, paragraph [0040].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least three sources, as it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). One would chose at least three sources in order to illuminate at different wavelengths, giving different resolutions for different depths.
Regarding claim 5, Hill is silent regarding wherein the one or more characteristics comprise a stress relaxation of the patterned structure.
However, Pandev teaches wherein the one or more characteristics comprise a stress relaxation of the patterned structure (paragraph [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Hill with the teaching of Pandev by including wherein the one or more characteristics comprise a stress relaxation of the patterned structure in order to characterize the wafer, as improper stress can cause wafer warping.
Regarding claim 8, Hill is silent regarding wherein the model based metrology exhibits a characterization of an electromagnetic field penetration into the patterned structure and out of the patterned structure, as well as a modeling of a creation of a Raman Spectrum inside the structure.
However, Pandev teaches wherein the model based metrology exhibits a characterization of an electromagnetic field penetration into the patterned structure and out of the patterned structure, as well as a modeling of a creation of a Raman Spectrum inside the structure (paragraphs [0044]-[0047], [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Hill with the teaching of Pandev by including wherein the model based metrology exhibits a characterization of an electromagnetic field penetration into the patterned structure and out of the patterned structure, as well as a modeling of a creation of a Raman Spectrum inside the structure in order to characterize the wafer.
Regarding claim 9, Hill is silent regarding wherein the control unit is configured to compare the measured signal to a calculated signal that is calculated based on a model of the model based metrology and for one or more assumed properties of a test structure to provide a comparison result that is indicative of a similarity between the patterned structure and the test structure.
However, Pandev teaches wherein the control unit is configured to compare the measured signal to a calculated signal that is calculated based on a model of the model based metrology and for one or more assumed properties of a test structure to provide a comparison result that is indicative of a similarity between the patterned structure and the test structure (paragraph [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Hill with the teaching of Pandev by including wherein the control unit is configured to compare the measured signal to a calculated signal that is calculated based on a model of the model based metrology and for one or more assumed properties of a test structure to provide a comparison result that is indicative of a similarity between the patterned structure and the test structure in order to characterize the wafer.
Regarding claim 14, Hill is silent regarding wherein the one or more characteristics of the patterned structure comprises at least one of dimension or material composition.
However, Pandev teaches wherein the one or more characteristics of the patterned structure comprises at least one of dimension or material composition (paragraph [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Hill with the teaching of Pandev by including wherein the one or more characteristics of the patterned structure comprises at least one of dimension or material composition in order to characterize the wafer.
Regarding claim 15, Hill teaches a method for use in measuring one or more characteristics of a patterned structure (abstract, Fig. 1A), the method comprising:
illuminating the patterned structure (ref 115, col. 1, lines 50-55) by an illumination channel of an optical measurement system (ref 103, col. 2, lines 35-65);
obtaining, by a detection channel of the optical measurement system, measured data indicative of at least one spectrum obtained from the patterned by a detection system of the optical measurement system (ref 127; col. 2, lines 35-45); and
wherein the illuminating and the obtaining are executed while one or more affecting units of the optical measurement system affect at least one or more conditions selected out of one or more illumination conditions and one or more collection conditions, wherein the one or more illumination conditions comprise an illumination polarization parameter, and the one or more collection conditions comprise one or more variable aperture parameters (refs 103, 109, 117, 123; col. 2, lines 35-65);
wherein the optical measurement system further comprises an objective lens shared by the illumination and collection channel (ref 111); and
wherein the illumination channel is defined by a light source system that has a variable polarization unit (ref 105; col. 2, lines 35-65).
Hill is silent regarding wherein measured data indicative of at least one Raman spectrum obtained from the patterned by a detection system of the optical measurement system; a control unit that is configured to apply model based metrology on the measured data to provide one or more characteristics of the patterned structure from the measured data; and the light source system comprises at least three illumination sources with different wavelengths.
However, Pandev teaches a wafer measurement device (abstract) including wherein measured data indicative of at least one Raman spectrum obtained from the patterned by a detection system of the optical measurement system (paragraph [0035]); a control unit that is configured to apply model based metrology on the measured data to provide one or more characteristics of the patterned structure from the measured data (paragraphs [0006], [0060]-[0062]); and the light source system comprises at least multiple illumination sources with different wavelengths (paragraph [0040]),
Pandev teaches one or more sources, paragraph [0040]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least three sources, as it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). One would chose at least three sources in order to illuminate at different wavelengths, giving different resolutions for different depths.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Hill with the teaching of Pandev by including the light source system comprises at least multiple illumination sources with different wavelengths, wherein the detection system is configured to obtain measured data indicative of at least one Raman spectrum obtained from the patterned structure and a control unit that is configured to apply model based metrology on the measured data to provide one or more characteristics of the patterned structure from the measured data in order to measure polarization, control bandwidth and intensity, and accurately determine the parameters.
Regarding claim 16, Hill teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium for use in measuring one or more characteristics of a patterned structure (abstract, Fig. 1A), the non-transitory computer readable medium stores instructions for:
illuminating the patterned structure (ref 115, col. 1, lines 50-55) by an illumination channel of an optical measurement system (ref 103, col. 2, lines 35-65);
obtaining, by a detection channel of the optical measurement system, measured data indicative of at least one spectrum obtained from the patterned by a detection system of the optical measurement system (ref 127; col. 2, lines 35-45); and
wherein the illuminating and the obtaining are executed while one or more affecting units of the optical measurement system affect at least one or more conditions selected out of one or more illumination conditions and one or more collection conditions, wherein the one or more illumination conditions comprise an illumination polarization parameter, and the one or more collection conditions comprise one or more variable aperture parameters (refs 103, 109, 117, 123; col. 2, lines 35-65);
wherein the optical measurement system further comprises an objective lens shared by the illumination and collection channel (ref 111); and
wherein the illumination channel is defined by a light source system that has a variable polarization unit (ref 105; col. 2, lines 35-65).
Hill is silent regarding wherein measured data indicative of at least one Raman spectrum obtained from the patterned by a detection system of the optical measurement system; a control unit that is configured to apply model based metrology on the measured data to provide one or more characteristics of the patterned structure from the measured data; and the light source system comprises at least three illumination sources with different wavelengths.
However, Pandev teaches a wafer measurement device (abstract) including wherein measured data indicative of at least one Raman spectrum obtained from the patterned by a detection system of the optical measurement system (paragraph [0035]); a control unit that is configured to apply model based metrology on the measured data to provide one or more characteristics of the patterned structure from the measured data (paragraphs [0006], [0060]-[0062]); and the light source system comprises at least multiple illumination sources with different wavelengths (paragraph [0040]),
Pandev teaches one or more sources, paragraph [0040]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least three sources, as it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). One would chose at least three sources in order to illuminate at different wavelengths, giving different resolutions for different depths.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Hill with the teaching of Pandev by including the light source system comprises at least multiple illumination sources with different wavelengths, wherein the detection system is configured to obtain measured data indicative of at least one Raman spectrum obtained from the patterned structure and a control unit that is configured to apply model based metrology on the measured data to provide one or more characteristics of the patterned structure from the measured data in order to measure polarization, control bandwidth and intensity, and accurately determine the parameters.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill and Pandev as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Naka et al. (US 2006/0038980), hereinafter “Naka”.
Regarding claim 4, Hill is silent regarding a laser beam selection unit configured to select an excitation wavelength of the different wavelengths.
However, Naka teaches wafter measurement (abstract) including a laser beam selection unit configured to select an excitation wavelength of the different wavelengths (paragraph [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Hill with the teaching of Naka by including a laser beam selection unit configured to select an excitation wavelength of the different wavelengths in order to use a wavelength that measures the chosen layer, paragraph [0117]).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill and Pandev as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Janik (US 7433056).
Regarding claim 6, Hill is silent regarding wherein the one or more characteristics comprise crystallinity of the patterned structure.
However, Janik teaches wafter measurement (abstract) including wherein the one or more characteristics comprise crystallinity of the patterned structure (col. 11, lines 34-58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Hill with the teaching of Janik by including wherein the one or more characteristics comprise crystallinity of the patterned structure in order to obtain further sample properties.
Regarding claim 7, Hill is silent regarding wherein the one or more characteristics comprise a distribution of at least one of a stress relaxation of the patterned structure or a crystallinity of the patterned structure.
However, Janik teaches wafter measurement (abstract) including wherein the one or more characteristics comprise a distribution of at least one of a stress relaxation of the patterned structure or a crystallinity of the patterned structure (col. 11, lines 34-58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Hill with the teaching of Janik by including wherein the one or more characteristics comprise a distribution of at least one of a stress relaxation of the patterned structure or a crystallinity of the patterned structure in order to obtain further sample properties.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a system for use in measuring one or more characteristics of a patterned structure on semiconductor wafer, the system comprising, among other essential elements, wherein the control unit is configured to determine a measurement scheme that defines at least the one or more conditions based on theoretical Raman spectra, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 1 and the above claim. Claims 11-13 are dependent from claim 10 and therefore are also included in the allowed subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pandev (US20160282105A1) teaches a model-based wafer measurement device, but does not teach the above subject matter.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877