Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondrad et al. in view of Malerba (7,334,839).
Regarding claim 1, Kondrad et al. disclose a seat for a vehicle 100 comprising: a passenger seat 332; an independent seat 336 positioned behind the passenger seat and operated independently from rear seats 152; and a sliding rail 324, disposed on a vehicle floor in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle, wherein each of the passenger seat and the independent seat is coupled to the sliding rail, so as to independently slide on the sliding rail.
However, Kondrad et al. fail to disclose the controller is configured to control at least one of the passenger seat or the independent seat to slide or to inquire whether to slide the at least one of the passenger seat or the independent seat based on at least one of the following factors: weight detected from the passenger seat or the independent seat; or crying sound of an infant or child detected in the vehicle.
Instead, Malebra discloses the controller (col. 6, lines 4-13) is configured to control at least one of the passenger seat or the independent seat to slide or to inquire whether to slide the at least one of the passenger seat or the independent seat based on at least one of the following factors: weight detected 201 from the passenger seat or the independent seat; or crying sound of an infant or child detected in the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Malebra and use a the movement system with controller and weight sensor to move the seats in the invention of Kondrad et al. because it is simple, and requires less user’s energy to move the seat.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondrad et al. in view of Malebra, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Kayumi et al. (US 2007/0013218).
Regarding claim 2, Kayumi et al. disclose a switch 131 configured to slide at least one of the passenger seat or the independent seat; and a controller 36 configured to control at least one of the passenger seat or the independent seat to slide or to inquire whether to slide the at least one of the passenger seat or the independent seat based on operations of the switch (para 0104-0106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kayumi et al. and use a switch with the controller to move the seats in the invention of Kondrad et al. because it allows quicker access during emergency situation.
Regarding claim 3, Kondrad et al. disclose the controller slides the passenger seat and the independent seat to a rear in response to detecting a presence of the infant or child in the passenger seat (see figures 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 5, Kondrad et al. distinctly fails to disclose the controller slides the passenger seat and the independent seat to the front in response to detecting a presence of the infant or child in the independent seat.
However, Kondrad et al. disclose the front seat slide rear during child care arrangement. Furthermore, Kondrad et al. disclose front and second seat subassemblies are capable of moving to the front depending on other arrangement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching and allow the seats to move forward during child care arrangement in Kondrad et al. because it is simple and efficient.
Regarding claim 6, Kondrad et al. disclose the passenger seat 332 and the independent seat 336 are positioned at a certain distance apart.
Regarding claim 8, Kondrad et al. disclose an AVN (Audio, Video, Navigation) system, wherein the controller inquires whether to slide the passenger seat or the independent seat through the AVN system in response to detecting a presence of the infant or child in the passenger seat or the independent seat (col. 17, lines 40-50 discloses words that can activate the controller).
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondrad et al. in view of Malebra and Kayumi et al., as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Nakagawa et al. (US 2010/0171515).
Regarding claim 4, Nakagawa et al. disclose the controller 25 turns off a passenger airbag 29 (para 0033) or inquires whether to turn off the passenger airbag in response to detecting a presence of the infant or child in the passenger seat.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Nakagawa et al. and place an airbag control system in the invention of Kondrad et al. in order to prevent any injuries.
Regarding claim 7, Nakagawa et al. disclose the controller 25 turns on a curtain airbag or inquires (step 25a determines the detection and whether to turn the airbag ON or OFF) whether to turn on the curtain airbag in response to detecting a presence of the infant or child in the passenger seat or the independent seat.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Nakagawa et al. and place an airbag control system in the invention of Kondrad et al. in order to prevent any injuries.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED A ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636