DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action for application number 18/810,452 POST FRAME COLUMN BASE filed on 8/20/2024. Claims 1, 2 and 4-20 are pending. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/16/2026 and 9/21/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 2 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the post" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent No. 4,330,971 to Auberger.
With regards to claim 1, a connection between a supported structural member (13) and a supporting structural member (16), the connection made with a connector (40) and back fastenings (48), side fastenings (48) and flange fastenings (48), the connection having a supported structural member (13) including a base (14), a back face, and first and second side faces, the supporting structural member including a support surface (16), with the base (14) of the supported structural member resting on or being closely adjacent to the support surface of the supporting member; the connector (40) including a back member (41) with at least a portion of the back member being in registration with the back face of the post (See Figure 4), the connector also including a first side member (42) connected to the back member and the first side member extending from the back member at an angle thereto with the first side member having at least a portion that interfaces with the first side face of the post, the connector also including a second side member (42) connected to the back member and the second side member extends from the back member at an angle thereto with the second side member having at least a portion that interfaces with the second side face of the post, the connector also including a first foot flange (45) connected to the first side member and disposed at an angle thereto, at least a portion of the first foot flange interfacing with the support surface of the supporting member, the connector also including a second foot flange (45) connected to the second side member and disposed at an angle thereto, at least a portion of the second foot flange interfacing with the support surface of the supporting member; the back fastenings passing through the back member and entering the back face of the supported structural member; the side fastenings passing through the first and second side members and entering the first and second side faces of the supported structural member respectively; and the foot fastenings passing through the first and second foot members and entering the support surface of the supporting structural member.
With regards to claim 4, Auberger teaches wherein the first side member is connected to the back member along a first side bend along a first side edge of the back member; and the second side member is connected to the back member along a second side bend along a second side edge of the back member opposed from the first side edge of the back member. (See Figure 4)
With regards to claim 16, Auberger teaches wherein the back fastenings and the side fastenings do not extend all the way through the supported structural member. (See Figure 4)
With regards to claim 17, Auberger teaches wherein the connector is not inserted in the supporting structural member. (See Figure 4)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No. 4,330,971 to Auberger.
With regards to claims 9, 10 and 15, the fasteners are shown to be nails (48) with flared heads that interface with the first and second foot flanges. It is obvious that the flanged fastenings could be substituted as self drilling (claims 10 and 15) threaded fasteners received in pre-drilled bores in the supporting structural member as this is functionally equivalent to a nail used to fasten items together.
With regards to claim 11, Auberger teaches wherein the back fastenings and the side fastenings do not extend all the way through the supported structural member. (See Figure 4)
With regards to claim 12, Auberger teaches wherein the connector is not inserted in the supporting structural member (16). (See Figure 4)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-8, 13, 14 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regards to claim 2, the prior art does not teach wherein the connector includes a first foot strengthening member connected to the first foot flange and disposed at an angle thereto, and the connector includes a second foot strengthening member connected to the second foot flange and disposed at an angle thereto c. the first foot strengthening member is disposed at an orthogonal angle to the first foot flange and extends from the first foot flange in parallel relation to the first side member; and the second foot strengthening member is disposed at an orthogonal angle to the second foot flange and extends from the second foot flange in parallel relation to the second side member.
With regards to claim 5, the prior art does not teach wherein the first foot flange is connected to the first side member along a first bottom bend along the bottom edge of the first side member and along the first bottom bend there is provided one or more strengthening gussets with the strengthening gussets extending between the first side member and the first foot flange, the one or more strengthening gussets each being formed with a bridge member that extends between the first side member and the first foot flange, and descending from either side of the bridge member are first and second gusset side panels that are substantially triangular in shape with one portion of each gusset side panel extending between the bridge member and the first side member and a second portion of the gusset side panel extending between the bridge member and first foot flange; and the second foot flange is connected to the second side member along a second bottom bend along the bottom edge of the second side member and along the second bottom bend there is provided one or more strengthening gussets with the strengthening gussets extending between the second side member and the second foot flange, the one or more strengthening gussets each being formed with a bridge member that extends between the second side member and the second foot flange, and descending from either side of the bridge member are first and second gusset side panels that are substantially triangular in shape with one portion of each gusset side panel extending between the bridge member and the second side member and a second portion of the gusset side panel extending between the bridge member and second foot flange.
With regards to claim 6, the prior art does not teach wherein the back member is also formed with a top edge and an opposed bottom edge and the bottom edge of the back member is removed from the support surface of the supporting structural member, exposing a lower portion of the back face of the supported structural member.
With regards to claim 13, the prior art does not teach wherein the first foot member is formed with an opening for receiving the flange fastening, and the opening in the first foot member is bracketed by strengthening gussets formed in a bend between the first foot member and the first side member; and the second foot member is formed with an opening for receiving the flange fastening, and the opening in the second foot member is bracketed by strengthening gussets formed in a bend between the second foot member and the second side member.
With regards to claim 18, the prior art does not teach wherein the first foot member is formed with an opening for receiving the flange fastening, and the opening in the first foot member is bracketed by strengthening gussets formed in a bend between the first foot member and the first side member; and the second foot member is formed with an opening for receiving the flange fastening, and the opening in the second foot member is bracketed by strengthening gussets formed in a bend between the second foot member and the second side member.
With regards to claim 19, the prior art does not teach wherein the back member is formed with horizontally disposed elongated slots that expose the back face of the supported member.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication should be directed to Amy J. Sterling at telephone number 571-272-6823 or to Supervisor Jonathan Liu at 571-272-8227 if the examiner cannot be reached. The examiner can normally be reached (M-F 8 a.m.-5:00 p.m.). The fax machine number for the Technology center is 571-273-8300 (formal amendments) or 571-273-6823 (informal amendments only). Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the Technology Center receptionist at 571-272-3600.
/AMY J. STERLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631 10/13/26