Claim Status
Applicant’s amendment filed on August 26, 2026 is acknowledged. Currently claims 1,3-4 and 6-13 are pending. Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-12 have been amended. Claims 2 and 5 are cancelled. Claim 13 is added.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed August 26, 2026, have been entered. Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed May 27, 2026, are persuasive. Accordingly, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections are withdrawn in response.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed August 26, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made in view of Doumbouya in view of Ye.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable of Doumbouya et al., US 20190130202 A1, (hereinafter “Doumbouya”) in view of Ye et al., US 20180173940 A1, (hereinafter “Ye”).
Regarding claim 1, Doumbouya teaches a computer-implemented method of searching for the same object based on multi-camera images by using gallery images obtained through multiple cameras, the method comprising:
an obtaining step of obtaining a query image ([0101] “In some embodiments, and in particular in the body/face search described below, the query image comprises at least a portion of a body of the person-of-interest, and may additionally include at least a portion of a face of the person-of-interest. Images of the face and body may be taken from separate images, such that the query image may be a composite image which combines an image of the person's body and an image of the person's face.”);
a comparing step of determining similarity by comparing the query image with the gallery images, the comparing step comprising a calculation step of obtaining distance values between a feature value of the query image and feature values of the gallery images and a determination step of obtaining the similarity of the gallery images on the basis of the distance values ([0100] “In particular, the method 1400 determines a probability that a query image and a gallery image comprise at least a portion of the same person-of-interest. The determined probability is a measure of a likelihood that the person-of-interest and the potential person-of-interest are the same person.”) ([0102] “Before proceeding with the method shown in FIG. 14, the server system 108 determines feature vectors of the query image and the gallery image. As described above, a feature vector is an n-dimensional vector of numerical features (numbers) that represent an image of an object that can be processed by computers. By comparing the feature vector of one image of one object with the feature vector of another image, a computer implementable process may determine whether the one image and the other image are images of the same object.”) ([0103] “By calculating the Euclidean distance between the two feature vectors of the two images captured by the camera 108, a computer implementable process can determine a similarity score to indicate how similar the two images may be.”);
a ranking step of obtaining some of the gallery images as rank images on the basis of the similarity, wherein a gallery image ([0100] “The search commencement user input triggers a method 1400 performed by server system 108 which is directed at ranking potential persons-of-interest as a function of their similarity to the person-of-interest 308. In particular, the method 1400 determines a probability that a query image and a gallery image comprise at least a portion of the same person-of-interest.”) ([0108] “In greater detail, the trained model is trained with a pre-defined distance function used to compare the computed feature vectors. The same distance function is used when the trained model is deployed for the image search. The distance function is the Euclidian distance between the feature vectors where the feature vectors are normalized to have unit norms, and thus all feature vectors lie on a unit-norm hypersphere. After computing and storing the feature vectors of the detected objects in the database, searching similar objects is done using an exact nearest neighbor search: exhaustively evaluating the distance from the queried feature vector (feature vector of the query image) to all other vectors in the timeframe of interest.” wherein a minimum threshold is the lower value of the pre-defined distance and a maximum threshold is the upper value of the pre-defined distance); and
a rank recommendation step of obtaining at least one of the rank images as a recommendation image ([0127] “In some examples, as will be described in more detail below, the server system 108 may receive from the user, for example via the input device 114, a selection of one of the ranked gallery images (this particular user input may be referred to as a match confirmation user input).”) ([0121] “At block 1460, the server system 108 ranks the gallery images according to their respective fused similarity scores, and at block 1470 instructs display of the ranked gallery images on the display 126 of the computer terminal 104. The ranked gallery images correspond to the image search results 406 in FIG. 4.”),
wherein the method repeatedly performs the comparing step, the ranking step, and the rank recommendation step using the at least one recommendation image as the query image, ([0127] “In some examples, as will be described in more detail below, the server system 108 may receive from the user, for example via the input device 114, a selection of one of the ranked gallery images (this particular user input may be referred to as a match confirmation user input). The method set out in FIG. 14 may then be repeated using the selected gallery image as a new query image.”),
Doumbouya does not specifically disclose wherein a gallery image is excluded from the rank images; and
wherein the query image in the comparing step and the recommendation image in the rank recommendation step are images of the same object recorded through different cameras or recorded from different directions through one camera.
However, Ye teaches wherein a gallery image is excluded from the rank images ([0098] “The method 500 passes from step 510 to a ranking step 520. Execution of the step 520 ranks the gallery objects based on the distances from the gallery objects to the query object. The gallery objects are typically ranked in an order of increasing distance. The method 500 passes from step 520 to a decision step 530. Execution of the step 530 determines if the distance from the highest ranked gallery object to the query object is less than a pre-determined threshold. If the distance from the highest ranked gallery object to the query object is not less than the pre-determined threshold (No at step 530), the method 500 concludes. Otherwise, if the distance from the highest ranked gallery object to the query object is less than a pre-determined threshold (Yes at step 530), the method 500 proceeds under execution of the processor 205 from step 530 to a label assigning step 540. In execution of the step 540, the same identity label is assigned to both the highest ranked gallery object and the query object.”); and
wherein the query image in the comparing step and the recommendation image in the rank recommendation step are images of the same object recorded through different cameras or recorded from different directions through one camera ([0082] “The method 300 also starts at a receiving step 310. At execution of the step 310, at least one image containing a query object is received as input. For example, the image 120a is the query image containing the query object 131.”) ([0086] “The method 300 progresses under execution of the processor 205 from the step 350 to a selecting step 360. At the selecting step 360, an unprocessed gallery object is selected for comparing with the query object determined at step 320.”) ([0098] “In execution of the step 540, the same identity label is assigned to both the highest ranked gallery object and the query object. The highest ranked gallery object is considered a match to the query object. The method 500 concludes after completing the step 540.”) ([0090] “The query images of steps 310, 320 and 330 and the gallery images of steps 340 to 380 are typically captured using different cameras and/or different camera settings. In some arrangements, for example if the training sequence is completed on the cloud server 160, one of the query images and the gallery images are captured using a remote camera such as the camera 116.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to amend the query image similarity method of Doumbouya to include the ranking feature and to ensure that the query image in the disclosed steps is of the same query object of Ye to filter gallery images to more efficiency identify a recommendation image as well as to ensure that the object analyzed during the method of Doumbouya, is consistent with the original query image.
Regarding claim 3, Doumbouya in view of Ye teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the ranking step comprises obtaining the rank images in order of high similarity (Doumbouya - [0121] “At block 1460, the server system 108 ranks the gallery images according to their respective fused similarity scores, and at block 1470 instructs display of the ranked gallery images on the display 126 of the computer terminal 104. The ranked gallery images correspond to the image search results 406 in FIG. 4.”).
The motivation for combining Doumbouya and Ye is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Doumbouya in view of Ye teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the rank recommendation step comprises:
providing the rank images to a user (Doumbouya - [0127] “In some examples, as will be described in more detail below, the server system 108 may receive from the user, for example via the input device 114, a selection of one of the ranked gallery images (this particular user input may be referred to as a match confirmation user input). The method set out in FIG. 14 may then be repeated using the selected gallery image as a new query image.”); and
obtaining at least one of the rank images selected by the user as the recommendation image (Doumbouya - [0127] “In some examples, as will be described in more detail below, the server system 108 may receive from the user, for example via the input device 114, a selection of one of the ranked gallery images (this particular user input may be referred to as a match confirmation user input). The method set out in FIG. 14 may then be repeated using the selected gallery image as a new query image.”).
The motivation for combining Doumbouya and Ye is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Doumbouya teaches a computer-implemented method of searching for the same object based on multi-camera images by using gallery images obtained through multiple cameras, the method comprising:
an obtaining step of obtaining a query image ([0101] “In some embodiments, and in particular in the body/face search described below, the query image comprises at least a portion of a body of the person-of-interest, and may additionally include at least a portion of a face of the person-of-interest. Images of the face and body may be taken from separate images, such that the query image may be a composite image which combines an image of the person's body and an image of the person's face.”);
a comparing step of determining similarity by comparing the query image with the gallery images, the comparing step comprising a calculation step of obtaining distance values between a feature value of the query image and feature values of the gallery images and a determination step of obtaining the similarity of the gallery images on the basis of the distance values ([0100] “In particular, the method 1400 determines a probability that a query image and a gallery image comprise at least a portion of the same person-of-interest. The determined probability is a measure of a likelihood that the person-of-interest and the potential person-of-interest are the same person.”) ([0102] “Before proceeding with the method shown in FIG. 14, the server system 108 determines feature vectors of the query image and the gallery image. As described above, a feature vector is an n-dimensional vector of numerical features (numbers) that represent an image of an object that can be processed by computers. By comparing the feature vector of one image of one object with the feature vector of another image, a computer implementable process may determine whether the one image and the other image are images of the same object.”) ([0103] “By calculating the Euclidean distance between the two feature vectors of the two images captured by the camera 108, a computer implementable process can determine a similarity score to indicate how similar the two images may be.”);
a clustering step of clustering the gallery images on the basis of the similarity ([0129] “Graph partitioning algorithms are used to identify clusters of object profiles that are strongly inter-connected. Clusters will tend to contain nodes that represent the same object or individual. Images associated with the cluster in which the initial query images find themselves (as a result of the graph partitioning algorithm) are considered to be the most relevant search results.”); and
a cluster recommendation step of values are smaller than a maximum threshold ([0129] “Graph partitioning algorithms are used to identify clusters of object profiles that are strongly inter-connected. Clusters will tend to contain nodes that represent the same object or individual. Images associated with the cluster in which the initial query images find themselves (as a result of the graph partitioning algorithm) are considered to be the most relevant search results.”) ([0108] “In greater detail, the trained model is trained with a pre-defined distance function used to compare the computed feature vectors. The same distance function is used when the trained model is deployed for the image search. The distance function is the Euclidian distance between the feature vectors where the feature vectors are normalized to have unit norms, and thus all feature vectors lie on a unit-norm hypersphere. After computing and storing the feature vectors of the detected objects in the database, searching similar objects is done using an exact nearest neighbor search: exhaustively evaluating the distance from the queried feature vector (feature vector of the query image) to all other vectors in the timeframe of interest.” wherein a minimum threshold is the lower value of the pre-defined distance and a maximum threshold is the upper value of the pre-defined distance) ([0121] “At block 1460, the server system 108 ranks the gallery images according to their respective fused similarity scores, and at block 1470 instructs display of the ranked gallery images on the display 126 of the computer terminal 104. The ranked gallery images correspond to the image search results 406 in FIG. 4.”),
wherein the method repeatedly performs the comparing step, the clustering step, and the cluster recommendation step using the k recommendation images as the query images ([0127] “In some examples, as will be described in more detail below, the server system 108 may receive from the user, for example via the input device 114, a selection of one of the ranked gallery images (this particular user input may be referred to as a match confirmation user input). The method set out in FIG. 14 may then be repeated using the selected gallery image as a new query image.”), and
.
Doumbouya does not specifically disclose filtering the clustered gallery images in accordance with preset conditions to obtain filtered gallery images; and
wherein the query image in the comparing step and the k recommendation images in the cluster recommendation step are images of the same object recorded through different cameras or recorded from different directions through one camera.
However, Ye teaches filtering the clustered gallery images in accordance with preset conditions to obtain filtered gallery images ([0098] “The method 500 passes from step 510 to a ranking step 520. Execution of the step 520 ranks the gallery objects based on the distances from the gallery objects to the query object. The gallery objects are typically ranked in an order of increasing distance. The method 500 passes from step 520 to a decision step 530. Execution of the step 530 determines if the distance from the highest ranked gallery object to the query object is less than a pre-determined threshold. If the distance from the highest ranked gallery object to the query object is not less than the pre-determined threshold (No at step 530), the method 500 concludes. Otherwise, if the distance from the highest ranked gallery object to the query object is less than a pre-determined threshold (Yes at step 530), the method 500 proceeds under execution of the processor 205 from step 530 to a label assigning step 540. In execution of the step 540, the same identity label is assigned to both the highest ranked gallery object and the query object.”); and
wherein the query image in the comparing step and the k recommendation images in the cluster recommendation step are images of the same object recorded through different cameras or recorded from different directions through one camera ([0082] “The method 300 also starts at a receiving step 310. At execution of the step 310, at least one image containing a query object is received as input. For example, the image 120a is the query image containing the query object 131.”) ([0086] “The method 300 progresses under execution of the processor 205 from the step 350 to a selecting step 360. At the selecting step 360, an unprocessed gallery object is selected for comparing with the query object determined at step 320.”) ([0098] “In execution of the step 540, the same identity label is assigned to both the highest ranked gallery object and the query object. The highest ranked gallery object is considered a match to the query object. The method 500 concludes after completing the step 540.”) ([0090] “The query images of steps 310, 320 and 330 and the gallery images of steps 340 to 380 are typically captured using different cameras and/or different camera settings. In some arrangements, for example if the training sequence is completed on the cloud server 160, one of the query images and the gallery images are captured using a remote camera such as the camera 116.”).
The motivation for combining Doumbouya and Ye is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Doumbouya in view of Ye teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the minimum threshold is smaller than the maximum threshold (Doumbouya - [0108] “In greater detail, the trained model is trained with a pre-defined distance function used to compare the computed feature vectors. The same distance function is used when the trained model is deployed for the image search. The distance function is the Euclidian distance between the feature vectors where the feature vectors are normalized to have unit norms, and thus all feature vectors lie on a unit-norm hypersphere. After computing and storing the feature vectors of the detected objects in the database, searching similar objects is done using an exact nearest neighbor search: exhaustively evaluating the distance from the queried feature vector (feature vector of the query image) to all other vectors in the timeframe of interest.” wherein a minimum threshold is the lower value of the pre-defined distance and a maximum threshold is the upper value of the pre-defined distance) (Ye - [0098] “The method 500 passes from step 510 to a ranking step 520. Execution of the step 520 ranks the gallery objects based on the distances from the gallery objects to the query object. The gallery objects are typically ranked in an order of increasing distance. The method 500 passes from step 520 to a decision step 530. Execution of the step 530 determines if the distance from the highest ranked gallery object to the query object is less than a pre-determined threshold. If the distance from the highest ranked gallery object to the query object is not less than the pre-determined threshold (No at step 530), the method 500 concludes. Otherwise, if the distance from the highest ranked gallery object to the query object is less than a pre-determined threshold (Yes at step 530), the method 500 proceeds under execution of the processor 205 from step 530 to a label assigning step 540. In execution of the step 540, the same identity label is assigned to both the highest ranked gallery object and the query object.”).
The motivation for combining Doumbouya and Ye is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 1 but in the form of an apparatus. Therefore, claim 11 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 12, Doumbouya in view of Ye teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium on which a program for performing the computer-implemented method of claim 1 is recorded (Doumbouya - [0018] “In a further aspect of the disclosure, there is provided a computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer program code executable by a processor.”).
The motivation for combining Doumbouya and Ye is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Doumbouya in view of Ye teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium on which a program for performing the computer-implemented method of claim 6 is recorded (Doumbouya - [0018] “In a further aspect of the disclosure, there is provided a computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer program code executable by a processor.”).
The motivation for combining Doumbouya and Ye is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMANDA H PEARSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2666
/MING Y HON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666