DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 9642131, 10002520, 10264412, 10785610, 11638124, and 12069546. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to arrive at the instantly claimed invention.
See example claim comparison table below.
Claim 1:
Instant Application
Patent # 964131
Comment
1. A system, comprising: a first computing device of a responder, the first computing device comprising: a first wireless network interface configured to communicate via a wireless communication network; a first processor; and a first memory having first instructions stored thereon, the first instructions, when executed by the first processor, cause the first computing device to perform first operations comprising: obtaining information from a responder device in communication with the first computing device, wherein the information comprises one or more of biometric information or responder device status information; and
1. A method of automated communication between a computing device of a responder and a computing device of a dispatch unit, the method performed by the computing device of the responder, the method comprising:
Substantially similar subject matter. Obvious over dependent claims 2-8.
sending the information via the first wireless network interface; and a second computing device, comprising: a network interface; a display device; a second processor; and a second memory having second instructions stored thereon, the second instructions in response to execution by the second processor cause the second computing device to perform second operations comprising: receiving, via the network interface, the information from the first computing device; and
determining that an event has occurred, the event is associated with the responder; in response to determining that the event occurred, automatically sending an indication of the event to the computing device of the dispatch unit; receiving, from the computing device of the dispatch unit, a request for information, the computing device of the dispatch unit is configured to send the request for information in response to receiving the indication of the event; obtaining the requested information; and sending the requested information to the computing device of the dispatch unit.
Substantially similar subject matter. Obvious over dependent claims 2-8.
in accordance with the information, displaying, via the display device, a status of the responder.
Claims 6 and 7.
Substantially similar subject matter. Obvious over dependent claims 2-8.
Claims 2-17 are obvious over claims 2-8.
Claim 18:
Instant Application
Patent # 964131
Comment
18. A non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions embodied thereon for managing a plurality of responders, wherein each responder of the plurality of responders has a respective computing device of a plurality of computing devices and the instructions, in response to execution by a dispatch computing device, cause the dispatch computing device to perform operations comprising:
1. A method of automated communication between a computing device of a responder and a computing device of a dispatch unit, the method performed by the computing device of the responder, the method comprising:
Substantially similar subject matter. Obvious over dependent claims 2-8.
receiving responder status information from each computing device of the plurality of computing devices; and for each responder of the plurality of responders, displaying an indication of the responder status information received from the respective computing device of the responder, wherein the indication includes an indication of one or more of whether the responder is inside or outside of a vehicle, whether hardware of the responder is activated, whether a light bar of the responder is active, or whether a stress level of the responder exceeds a threshold.
determining that an event has occurred, the event is associated with the responder; in response to determining that the event occurred, automatically sending an indication of the event to the computing device of the dispatch unit; receiving, from the computing device of the dispatch unit, a request for information, the computing device of the dispatch unit is configured to send the request for information in response to receiving the indication of the event; obtaining the requested information; and sending the requested information to the computing device of the dispatch unit.
Substantially similar subject matter. Obvious over dependent claims 2-8.
Claims 18-20 are obvious over claims 2-8.
Similar analysis for Patent Nos. 10002520, 10264412, 10785610,11638124, and 12069546.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. USPN 2016/0135029.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. USPN 2016/0135029 in view of Kane USPN 2015/0365246.
Consider claim 1, Johnson discloses a system, comprising: a first computing device of a responder (see fig. 1: cameras and other sensors associated with police officer), the first computing device comprising: a first wireless network interface configured to communicate via a wireless communication network (see fig. 1; 107); a first processor; and a first memory having first instructions stored thereon, the first instructions, when executed by the first processor, cause the first computing device to perform first operations comprising: obtaining information from a responder device in communication with the first computing device, wherein the information comprises one or more of biometric information or responder device status information (see [0089-0090]: “…utility belt status sensor to sense the status of a utility belt or instruments associated with the utility belt, such as whether a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has been unholstered, a weapons sensor sensing if a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has had a respective safety device released, or if the weapon has been discharged, a heart rate monitor to monitor the heart rate of the field officer 101, a stress sensor providing stress indicator data (e.g., pupil dilation, accelerated breathing, and/or adrenaline) sensed from field officer 101, a running sensor (e.g., an accelerometer) to determine if the officer 101 is running, and/or a sensor to determine if the officer is lying down or otherwise not in a vertical position…” “…Sensors 104 may also include (alternatively or in addition) flashing light status sensors, siren status sensors, door lock/unlock sensors, door open/close sensors, or seat occupancy sensors…”); and sending the information via the first wireless network interface; and a second computing device, comprising: a network interface; a display device; a second processor; and a second memory having second instructions stored thereon, the second instructions in response to execution by the second processor cause the second computing device to perform second operations comprising: receiving, via the network interface, the information from the first computing device (see [0092]: “…Each (or multiple groups) of the additional remote field officers may be equipped with their own sensing device(s) 102, sensor(s) 104, and/or vehicle 105, (with corresponding separate communication links 103 if implemented). Throughout this disclosure, exemplary details regarding remote officer 101, devices associated with remote officer 101 (such as sensing device(s) 102, communication link 103, sensor(s) 104, vehicle 105, communication link 106) and the operation of such devices may be equally applicable to additional remote field officers 111…” “… real-time or recorded sensor information of sensing device(s) 102 and sensors 104 (that may include rich media) may be transmitted with the communications network (via a broadband wireless network 107) to a remote location, such as to one or more of dispatch personnel 108, commander(s) 109 and other mobile field officers 111…”); and in accordance with the information, displaying, via the display device, a status of the responder (see [0116]: “…central station system may support one or more visualization clients (e.g., one or more displays for simultaneously displaying sensor video and/or image data from one or more of mobile systems/devices 401, 402) 411 so that other users such as dispatch, trainees, or other investigators can view rich media and other sensor information from the mobile devices…”).
However, Johnson does not explicitly disclose a map, wherein the status of the responder is displayed at a same time as the map.
In the related field of endeavor, Kane discloses a map, wherein the status of the responder is displayed at a same time as the map (see figs. 11B, 12, 15B, and 15D; [0139]: “…positional situational awareness is visualized through any of multiple display formats which indicate the location and status of responders within a predefined distance of the user 18-4 viewing the COP or the location of a user 18-2 and 18-3 who has initiated an alarm situation. The display options of the illustrated embodiment are accessed via the three buttons 70, 72, 74 which, from left to right, provide access to the display screens 15A, 15B and 15C, respectively: a list view 70v of responders, a map view 72v of the COP and a radar view 74v of the COP. The user 18 can return to the homepage at any time by pressing the home button 76, illustrated as a box containing 9 small squares. In the list view 70v, users 18 (e.g., responders) are sorted by linear distance from the user viewing the list to each of the other users 18 within the predefined distance. Each of the users within the predefined distance is identified by first and last name, along with a personal photograph, a call sign and transportation state. Users who are logged into the mobile application but who (i) are outside the predefined distance, or (ii) have polling turned off, or (iii) cannot otherwise be located (e.g., users logged into the browser applications only); appear at the bottom of the list. Including these users in the list ensures that everyone logged into the system is accounted for. The map view 72v displays all users who are within range of the current boundaries of the map 46 on the client screen 60 and who have an active position location on a map or satellite representation. The map 46 can be zoomed in or out to observe greater or less map detail. Pressing the identification arrow 84 in the upper right hand corner of the map view 72v centers the map on the user operating the mobile client device. As the user moves with the mobile client device, the map remains centered on that individual. The transportation state and call sign of each user is displayed in the map view 72v with an icon for ease of identification…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the first responder system of Johnson and the enhanced map view of the first responders to arrive at the instant recitation and provide optimal emergency response communication.
Consider claim 2 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses the information comprises the biometric information and obtaining the information comprises obtaining biometric data about the responder from one or more biometric sensors configured to generate the biometric data (see [0089-0090]: “…utility belt status sensor to sense the status of a utility belt or instruments associated with the utility belt, such as whether a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has been unholstered, a weapons sensor sensing if a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has had a respective safety device released, or if the weapon has been discharged, a heart rate monitor to monitor the heart rate of the field officer 101, a stress sensor providing stress indicator data (e.g., pupil dilation, accelerated breathing, and/or adrenaline) sensed from field officer 101, a running sensor (e.g., an accelerometer) to determine if the officer 101 is running, and/or a sensor to determine if the officer is lying down or otherwise not in a vertical position…”).
However, Johnson does not explicitly disclose body temperature sensor or blood pressure sensor.
Nevertheless, Johnson discloses stress sensor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to incorporate the finite amount of bio sensors in order to effectively assess an emergency situation and yield predictable results of a communication network.
Consider claim 4 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses obtaining the information comprises processing the biometric data to determine whether a stress level of the responder exceeds a stress threshold, and wherein the biometric information comprises whether the stress level of the responder exceeds the stress threshold (see [0089-0090]: “…utility belt status sensor to sense the status of a utility belt or instruments associated with the utility belt, such as whether a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has been unholstered, a weapons sensor sensing if a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has had a respective safety device released, or if the weapon has been discharged, a heart rate monitor to monitor the heart rate of the field officer 101, a stress sensor providing stress indicator data (e.g., pupil dilation, accelerated breathing, and/or adrenaline) sensed from field officer 101, a running sensor (e.g., an accelerometer) to determine if the officer 101 is running, and/or a sensor to determine if the officer is lying down or otherwise not in a vertical position…”).
Consider claim 5 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses the information comprises the responder device status information, and wherein the responder device is associated with the responder (see [0089-0090]: “…utility belt status sensor to sense the status of a utility belt or instruments associated with the utility belt, such as whether a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has been unholstered, a weapons sensor sensing if a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has had a respective safety device released, or if the weapon has been discharged, a heart rate monitor to monitor the heart rate of the field officer 101, a stress sensor providing stress indicator data (e.g., pupil dilation, accelerated breathing, and/or adrenaline) sensed from field officer 101, a running sensor (e.g., an accelerometer) to determine if the officer 101 is running, and/or a sensor to determine if the officer is lying down or otherwise not in a vertical position…”).
Consider claim 6 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses the status of the responder includes an indication of whether the responder is inside or outside of a vehicle of the responder and the responder device is associated with the vehicle of the responder (see [0090]: “…Sensors 104 may also include (alternatively or in addition) flashing light status sensors, siren status sensors, door lock/unlock sensors, door open/close sensors, or seat occupancy sensors…”).
Consider claim 7 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses the status of the responder includes an indication of whether a light bar of a vehicle of the responder is active; and the responder device comprises the light bar (see [0090]: “…Sensors 104 may also include (alternatively or in addition) flashing light status sensors, siren status sensors, door lock/unlock sensors, door open/close sensors, or seat occupancy sensors…”).
Consider claim 8 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses the information includes an indication of whether a holster is open or closed and the responder device comprises a holster sensor (see [0089-0090]: “…utility belt status sensor to sense the status of a utility belt or instruments associated with the utility belt, such as whether a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has been unholstered, a weapons sensor sensing if a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has had a respective safety device released, or if the weapon has been discharged, a heart rate monitor to monitor the heart rate of the field officer 101, a stress sensor providing stress indicator data (e.g., pupil dilation, accelerated breathing, and/or adrenaline) sensed from field officer 101, a running sensor (e.g., an accelerometer) to determine if the officer 101 is running, and/or a sensor to determine if the officer is lying down or otherwise not in a vertical position…”).
Consider claim 9 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses the status includes an indication that a weapon associated with the responder is drawn (see [0089-0090]: “…utility belt status sensor to sense the status of a utility belt or instruments associated with the utility belt, such as whether a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has been unholstered, a weapons sensor sensing if a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has had a respective safety device released, or if the weapon has been discharged, a heart rate monitor to monitor the heart rate of the field officer 101, a stress sensor providing stress indicator data (e.g., pupil dilation, accelerated breathing, and/or adrenaline) sensed from field officer 101, a running sensor (e.g., an accelerometer) to determine if the officer 101 is running, and/or a sensor to determine if the officer is lying down or otherwise not in a vertical position…”).
Consider claim 10 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses information includes an indication of whether hardware of the responder is activated, and the responder device comprises a camera or a communication system (see fig. 1: 102; [0089-0090]: “…utility belt status sensor to sense the status of a utility belt or instruments associated with the utility belt, such as whether a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has been unholstered, a weapons sensor sensing if a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has had a respective safety device released, or if the weapon has been discharged, a heart rate monitor to monitor the heart rate of the field officer 101, a stress sensor providing stress indicator data (e.g., pupil dilation, accelerated breathing, and/or adrenaline) sensed from field officer 101, a running sensor (e.g., an accelerometer) to determine if the officer 101 is running, and/or a sensor to determine if the officer is lying down or otherwise not in a vertical position…”).
Consider claim 11 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses the status comprises an indication of an availability of the responder to respond to an incident (see fig. 9 “Day Shift”).
Consider claim 12 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses a third computing device of a second responder, the third computing device comprising: a second wireless network interface configured to communicate via a second wireless communication network; a third processor; and a third memory having third instructions stored thereon, the third instructions, when executed by the third processor, cause the third computing device to perform third operations comprising: obtaining second information from a second responder device in communication with the third computing device, wherein the second information comprises one or more of second biometric information or second responder device status information; and sending the second information via the second wireless network interface, and wherein the second operations further comprise: receiving, via the network interface, the second information from the third computing device (see [0092]: “…Each (or multiple groups) of the additional remote field officers may be equipped with their own sensing device(s) 102, sensor(s) 104, and/or vehicle 105, (with corresponding separate communication links 103 if implemented). Throughout this disclosure, exemplary details regarding remote officer 101, devices associated with remote officer 101 (such as sensing device(s) 102, communication link 103, sensor(s) 104, vehicle 105, communication link 106) and the operation of such devices may be equally applicable to additional remote field officers 111…” “… real-time or recorded sensor information of sensing device(s) 102 and sensors 104 (that may include rich media) may be transmitted with the communications network (via a broadband wireless network 107) to a remote location, such as to one or more of dispatch personnel 108, commander(s) 109 and other mobile field officers 111…”); and in accordance with the second information, displaying, via the display device, a second status of the second responder at a same time as the status of the responder (see [0116]).
Consider claim 13 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses the information comprises the biometric information and the second information comprises the second responder device status information (see [0089-0090]: “…utility belt status sensor to sense the status of a utility belt or instruments associated with the utility belt, such as whether a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has been unholstered, a weapons sensor sensing if a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has had a respective safety device released, or if the weapon has been discharged, a heart rate monitor to monitor the heart rate of the field officer 101, a stress sensor providing stress indicator data (e.g., pupil dilation, accelerated breathing, and/or adrenaline) sensed from field officer 101, a running sensor (e.g., an accelerometer) to determine if the officer 101 is running, and/or a sensor to determine if the officer is lying down or otherwise not in a vertical position…”).
Consider claim 14 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses the status of the responder includes whether the responder is in or out of a vehicle and the second status of the second responder includes an indication of a stress level of the second responder (see [0090]: “…Sensors 104 may also include (alternatively or in addition) flashing light status sensors, siren status sensors, door lock/unlock sensors, door open/close sensors, or seat occupancy sensors…”).
Consider claim 15 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses the status of the responder includes whether a light bar of a vehicle of the responder is active and the second status of the second responder includes an indication of a stress level of the second responder (see [0090]: “…Sensors 104 may also include (alternatively or in addition) flashing light status sensors, siren status sensors, door lock/unlock sensors, door open/close sensors, or seat occupancy sensors…”).
Consider claim 17 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses the information further comprises live video and sending the information comprises streaming the live video to the second computing device (see [0099]: “…Live or recorded rich media or other sensor data may be streamed in real-time or after the fact to other remote field officers 111. FIG. 3 illustrates an exemplary process. Rich media or other sensor data described herein is acquired by remote mobile officers 111 with sensors on their person or in their vehicles…”).
Examiner Note: See detailed rejection analysis of independent claim 1 for any remaining independent claim rejections.
Consider claim 18, Johnson discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions embodied thereon for managing a plurality of responders, wherein each responder of the plurality of responders has a respective computing device of a plurality of computing devices and the instructions, in response to execution by a dispatch computing device (see fig. 1; [0089-0090; 0116]), cause the dispatch computing device to perform operations comprising: receiving responder status information from each computing device of the plurality of computing devices (see fig. 1; [0089-0090; 0116]); and for each responder of the plurality of responders, displaying an indication of the responder status information received from the respective computing device of the responder, wherein the indication includes an indication of one or more of whether the responder is inside or outside of a vehicle, whether hardware of the responder is activated, whether a light bar of the responder is active, or whether a stress level of the responder exceeds a threshold (see fig. 1; [0089-0090; 0116]).
However, Johnson does not explicitly disclose displaying a map at a same time as the indication of the responder status information received from the respective computing device of the responder is displayed, wherein the map includes indications of locations of the plurality of computing devices of responders, and wherein the indications of locations of the plurality of computing devices of responders correspond, respectively, with the indications of the responder status information from each computing device of the plurality of computing devices.
In the related field of endeavor, Kane discloses displaying a map at a same time as the indication of the responder status information received from the respective computing device of the responder is displayed, wherein the map includes indications of locations of the plurality of computing devices of responders, and wherein the indications of locations of the plurality of computing devices of responders correspond, respectively, with the indications of the responder status information from each computing device of the plurality of computing devices (see figs. 11B, 12, 15B, and 15D; [0139]: “…positional situational awareness is visualized through any of multiple display formats which indicate the location and status of responders within a predefined distance of the user 18-4 viewing the COP or the location of a user 18-2 and 18-3 who has initiated an alarm situation. The display options of the illustrated embodiment are accessed via the three buttons 70, 72, 74 which, from left to right, provide access to the display screens 15A, 15B and 15C, respectively: a list view 70v of responders, a map view 72v of the COP and a radar view 74v of the COP. The user 18 can return to the homepage at any time by pressing the home button 76, illustrated as a box containing 9 small squares. In the list view 70v, users 18 (e.g., responders) are sorted by linear distance from the user viewing the list to each of the other users 18 within the predefined distance. Each of the users within the predefined distance is identified by first and last name, along with a personal photograph, a call sign and transportation state. Users who are logged into the mobile application but who (i) are outside the predefined distance, or (ii) have polling turned off, or (iii) cannot otherwise be located (e.g., users logged into the browser applications only); appear at the bottom of the list. Including these users in the list ensures that everyone logged into the system is accounted for. The map view 72v displays all users who are within range of the current boundaries of the map 46 on the client screen 60 and who have an active position location on a map or satellite representation. The map 46 can be zoomed in or out to observe greater or less map detail. Pressing the identification arrow 84 in the upper right hand corner of the map view 72v centers the map on the user operating the mobile client device. As the user moves with the mobile client device, the map remains centered on that individual. The transportation state and call sign of each user is displayed in the map view 72v with an icon for ease of identification…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to combine the first responder system of Johnson and the enhanced map view of the first responders to arrive at the instant recitation and provide optimal emergency response communication.
Consider claim 19 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses displaying the indication of the responder status information received from the respective computing device for each responder of the plurality of responders includes displaying a first indication for a first responder and a second indication for a second responder (see [0092]: “…Each (or multiple groups) of the additional remote field officers may be equipped with their own sensing device(s) 102, sensor(s) 104, and/or vehicle 105, (with corresponding separate communication links 103 if implemented). Throughout this disclosure, exemplary details regarding remote officer 101, devices associated with remote officer 101 (such as sensing device(s) 102, communication link 103, sensor(s) 104, vehicle 105, communication link 106) and the operation of such devices may be equally applicable to additional remote field officers 111…” “… real-time or recorded sensor information of sensing device(s) 102 and sensors 104 (that may include rich media) may be transmitted with the communications network (via a broadband wireless network 107) to a remote location, such as to one or more of dispatch personnel 108, commander(s) 109 and other mobile field officers 111…”), and wherein the first indication comprises whether a first light bar of a vehicle of the first responder is active and the second indication comprises whether the stress level of the second responder exceeds the threshold (see [0089-0090]: “…utility belt status sensor to sense the status of a utility belt or instruments associated with the utility belt, such as whether a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has been unholstered, a weapons sensor sensing if a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has had a respective safety device released, or if the weapon has been discharged, a heart rate monitor to monitor the heart rate of the field officer 101, a stress sensor providing stress indicator data (e.g., pupil dilation, accelerated breathing, and/or adrenaline) sensed from field officer 101, a running sensor (e.g., an accelerometer) to determine if the officer 101 is running, and/or a sensor to determine if the officer is lying down or otherwise not in a vertical position…” “…Sensors 104 may also include (alternatively or in addition) flashing light status sensors, siren status sensors, door lock/unlock sensors, door open/close sensors, or seat occupancy sensors…”).
Consider claim 20 as applied to respective claim, Johnson discloses displaying the indication of the responder status information received from the respective computing device for each responder of the plurality of responders includes displaying a first indication for a first responder and a second indication for a second responder, and wherein the first indication comprises an indication of the stress level of the first responder and the second indication comprises an indication of the stress level of the second responder (see [0089-0090]: “…utility belt status sensor to sense the status of a utility belt or instruments associated with the utility belt, such as whether a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has been unholstered, a weapons sensor sensing if a gun, Taser, pepper spray or other weapon has had a respective safety device released, or if the weapon has been discharged, a heart rate monitor to monitor the heart rate of the field officer 101, a stress sensor providing stress indicator data (e.g., pupil dilation, accelerated breathing, and/or adrenaline) sensed from field officer 101, a running sensor (e.g., an accelerometer) to determine if the officer 101 is running, and/or a sensor to determine if the officer is lying down or otherwise not in a vertical position…” “…Sensors 104 may also include (alternatively or in addition) flashing light status sensors, siren status sensors, door lock/unlock sensors, door open/close sensors, or seat occupancy sensors…”; [0116]: “…central station system may support one or more visualization clients (e.g., one or more displays for simultaneously displaying sensor video and/or image data from one or more of mobile systems/devices 401, 402) 411 so that other users such as dispatch, trainees, or other investigators can view rich media and other sensor information from the mobile devices…”).
Consider claim 21 as applied to respective claim, Johnson as modified by Kane discloses the map includes an indication of location of the first computing device of the responder (see figs. 11B, 12, 15B, and 15D; [0139]: “…positional situational awareness is visualized through any of multiple display formats which indicate the location and status of responders within a predefined distance of the user 18-4 viewing the COP or the location of a user 18-2 and 18-3 who has initiated an alarm situation. The display options of the illustrated embodiment are accessed via the three buttons 70, 72, 74 which, from left to right, provide access to the display screens 15A, 15B and 15C, respectively: a list view 70v of responders, a map view 72v of the COP and a radar view 74v of the COP. The user 18 can return to the homepage at any time by pressing the home button 76, illustrated as a box containing 9 small squares. In the list view 70v, users 18 (e.g., responders) are sorted by linear distance from the user viewing the list to each of the other users 18 within the predefined distance. Each of the users within the predefined distance is identified by first and last name, along with a personal photograph, a call sign and transportation state. Users who are logged into the mobile application but who (i) are outside the predefined distance, or (ii) have polling turned off, or (iii) cannot otherwise be located (e.g., users logged into the browser applications only); appear at the bottom of the list. Including these users in the list ensures that everyone logged into the system is accounted for. The map view 72v displays all users who are within range of the current boundaries of the map 46 on the client screen 60 and who have an active position location on a map or satellite representation. The map 46 can be zoomed in or out to observe greater or less map detail. Pressing the identification arrow 84 in the upper right hand corner of the map view 72v centers the map on the user operating the mobile client device. As the user moves with the mobile client device, the map remains centered on that individual. The transportation state and call sign of each user is displayed in the map view 72v with an icon for ease of identification…”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 and 20 are allowable over prior art. However, Double Patenting rejection remains outstanding.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Examiner should be directed to Fayyaz Alam whose telephone number is (571) 270-1102. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9:30am to 7:00pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
Fayyaz Alam
October 13, 2026
/FAYYAZ ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646