Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (C.N. Patent Application Publication No. 114748504; hereinafter Zhu) in view of von Maltzahn et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0151287 A1; hereinafter Maltzahn). The rejections are mapped to the machine translation of CN 114748504.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Zhu discloses an invention that claims an application of young blood plasma exosomes for the treatment of mitochondrial dysfunction caused by degenerative diseases of aging (Abstract). Zhu does not explicitly address utilizing exosomes for treating brain injuries associated with ferroptosis. However, Maltzahn discloses using “chondrisomes”, which are derived from mitochondria and encapsulated in exosomes, for the treatment of intracerebral hemorrhage (para. [0854]) and reducing ferroptosis (para. [239]). Maltzahn discloses that the mitochondrial source can be the blood of healthy human volunteers (para. [0555]) and/or tissue from young donors (para. [0551]). Maltzahn further discloses that the chondrisome composition (para. [0502]; [0832]) reduces ROS levels in recipient cells.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the chondrisomes of Maltzahn with the plasma exosome generation/treatment protocol of Zhu. Maltzahn and Zhu disclose that damage and dysfunction of mitochondria are important factors in a range of human diseases and aging, respectively. Therefore, they both establish and provide motivation for generating a protocol that utilizes exosomes or chondrisomes derived from young blood and tissue donors as treatment options.
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 5, Zhu discloses a range of 18 – 40 years (p. 7, claim 2) old for the age of donors for the human plasma exosomes (p. 7, claim 3).
Regarding claim 4, Maltzahn discloses in Example 1-2a (para. [0946]), that human or mouse tissue can be used as a mitochondrial source for chondrisome production. Maltzahn further discloses (para. [1151]) injecting the chondrisomes (7.25 mg/kg) into the mice.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the concentration of the exosome/chondrisome composition injected into the mice of Maltzahn for incorporation into the exosome-derived treatment protocol of Zhu. Doing so would allow for the inventors to study the therapeutic potential of human-derived exosomes in a controlled animal model as motivation, before considering human trials.
Regarding claim 7, Zhu discloses an intravenous injection of the pharmaceutical composition into an organism (p. 5 – 6, Top of page 6 is the culmination of Embodiment 1).
Response to Arguments
Claims 1 – 7 are pending.
Claims 1 and 5 have been amended.
Claims 2 and 6 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 3 – 5 and 7 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Zhu in view of Maltzahn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, p. 3 – 5, filed 07/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3 – 5 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1, 3 – 5 and 7 is made and modified in view of Zhu and Maltzahn. The rejection of claim one includes: “explicitly” for Zhu and “Maltzahn further discloses that the chondrisome composition (para. [0502]; [0832]) reduces ROS levels in recipient cells”
Applicant's arguments, see remarks, p. 3 – 5, filed 07/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3 – 5 and 7 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are as follows:
Applicant argues that Zhu does not teach using young human plasma exosomes for preventing and treating ferroptosis-related brain injury after intracerebral hemorrhage.
The rejection of claim 1 discloses that Zhu provides the framework for treating mitochondrial dysfunction caused by degenerative diseases of aging with healthy young blood plasma exosomes. Zhu acknowledges that the most important function of mitochondria is to perform oxidative phosphorylation, synthesis of ATP, and provide energy for the cell (p. 3, middle of page). It is well known (see discussion of Hu below) that aging is characterized by mitochondrial dysfunction, which directly impairs oxidative phosphorylation, which increases reactive oxygen species (ROS) release, which promotes lipid peroxidation and ferroptotic signaling.
For the purpose of clarity, the Examiner has included a reference:
Hu et al., (Oxidative Stress in Intracerebral Hemorrhage: Sources, Mechanisms, and Therapeutic Targets, Oxidative Medicine and Cellular Longevity, Volume 2016; hereinafter Hu; Abstract; Whole paper; p. 2, Sections 3. OS in ICH and 4. Free Radical Sources after ICH)
Hu discloses that after intracerebral hemorrhage, decreased cerebral blood flow and iron released from red blood cells trigger lipid peroxidation (Increased ROS via redox-active iron species, “Fenton chemistry”)—particularly of polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFAs)—through a cascade of reactions in local brain tissues, promoting ferroptosis.
Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have difficulty directly deducing from the disclosure of Maltzahn that chondrisomes and mitochondria can prevent and treat ferroptosis-related brain injury after intracerebral hemorrhage.
The Applicant pointed out that Maltzahn does disclose that chondrisomes can be used for treating intracerebral hemorrhage (para. [0854]) and that the chondrisomes can reduce ferroptosis (para. [0239]). Maltzahn further discloses that the chondrisome composition (para. [0502]; [0832]) reduces ROS levels in recipient cells. The suggestions from Maltzahn can provide the motivation to a person of ordinary skill in the art and a technique for treating ferroptosis (reducing ROS) with chondrisomes.
In summary, Plasma-derived exosomes from young people are enriched in bioactive lipids and signaling molecules that maintain membrane integrity and reduce oxidative stress. Young plasma exosomes have a lipid composition that supports antioxidant functions, which can mitigate lipid peroxidation by neutralizing free radicals. Zhu discloses young plasma donor exosomes as an alternative to auxiliary activation of Peroxisome proliferator-activated receptors (p. 3, right above the Contents of the Invention Section) because they do not address the underlying issue of aging. Maltzahn disclosed that chondriosomes derived from young donors perform similar functions to the exosomes.
It would be prima facie obvious to utilize the knowledge of mitigating lipid peroxidation (reducing ROS) with an antioxidant, thereby treating a disease or disorder associated with lipid peroxidation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WALTER JACKSON III/ Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638