DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on July 29, 2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 14-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration, and claims 1-13 have been examined as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 13 recite the limitation “the gaps” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the reference thermal refractive index coefficient” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sunne et al. (US 2013/0342921), of record.
Regarding claim 1, Sunne discloses an athermal metalens (Figs. 1-4), wherein the metalens comprises:
a substrate (110) and a plurality of nanostructures (140, 145);
the plurality of nanostructures are set on at least one side of the substrate, and are arranged in a periodicity (Fig. 1A);
wherein, a thermal refractive index coefficient of the plurality of nanostructures is less than a reference thermal refractive index coefficient (Figs. 6-8; paras. [0001, 0007-0008, 0032, 0044, 0048]).
Regarding claim 2, Sunne discloses wherein the metalens comprises: the reference thermal refractive index coefficient is greater than or equal to 0.01×10−6/K, and is less than or equal to 3000×10−6/K (Figs. 6-8; paras. [0001, 0044, 0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Sunne discloses wherein the metalens comprises:
the plurality of nanostructures (140, 145) are arranged in a plurality of unit cells (Figs. 1A-1B),
the plurality of nanostructures are in dense-packed patterns to form the unit cells (Figs. 1A-1B), and
the vertice or center of the dense-packed pattern is set with the nanostructure (Figs. 1A-1B).
Regarding claim 7, Sunne discloses an athermal metalens (Figs. 1-4), wherein the metalens comprises:
a substrate (110) and a plurality of nanostructures (140, 145);
the plurality of nanostructures are set on one side of the substrate at least and arranged in periodicity (Fig. 1A);
wherein each nanostructure is composed of at least two materials (), and the product of the thermal refractive index coefficient of the at least two materials is less than 0 (Figs. 6-8; paras. [0034-0035, 0040-0041, 0044, 0048]).
Regarding claim 8, Sunne discloses wherein the metalens comprises: the reference thermal refractive index coefficient is greater than or equal to 0.01×10−6/K, and is less than or equal to 3000×10−6/K (Figs. 6-8; paras. [0001, 0044, 0046]).
Regarding claim 9, Sunne discloses wherein when the nanostructure is composed of at least two materials (140, 145), the nanostructure is made of two different materials along the direction of the height axis (e.g., height axis in direction of plane in Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 10, Sunne discloses wherein when the nanostructure is composed of at least two materials (140, 145), the nanostructure is made of two different materials along the direction perpendicular to the height axis (e.g., height axis in direction normal to plane in Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 11, Sunne discloses wherein the metalens comprises:
the plurality of nanostructures are arranged in a plurality of unit cells (Figs. 1A-1B),
the plurality of nanostructures are dense-packed pattern to form the unit cell (Figs. 1A-1B), and
the vertice or center of the dense-packed pattern is set with the nanostructure (Figs. 1A-1B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 6, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunne et al. (US 2013/0342921), as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Diwan et al. (US 2021/0063623).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Sunne fails to explicitly disclose wherein the metalens comprises: a filler material, and the filler material is used to fill the gaps between the nanostructures.
However, Diwan discloses an athermal metalens (Figs. 1-7; para. [0032]), wherein the metalens comprises:
a filler material (13; para. [0025]), and the filler material is used to fill the gaps between the nanostructures (12) (Figs. 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the metalens comprises: a filler material, and the filler material is used to fill the gaps between the nanostructures, as in Diwan into the athermal metalens of Sunne to support the nanostructures for stability.
Regarding claims 5, 6 and 12, Sunne fails to explicitly disclose wherein the extinction coefficient of the plurality of nanostructures is less than 10−2, and wherein the extinction coefficient of the substrate is less than 10−4.
However, Diwan discloses wherein the extinction coefficient of the plurality of nanostructures (12) is less than 10−2 (paras. [0006, 0030]), and
wherein the extinction coefficient of the substrate (11) is less than 10−4 (paras. [0006, 0029]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the extinction coefficient of the plurality of nanostructures is less than 10−2, and wherein the extinction coefficient of the substrate is less than 10−4, as in Diwan into the athermal metalens of Sunne to have reduced separation of layers during temperature changes (Diwan, paras. [0005-0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The reference of Rodrigues et al. (US 2022/0334413) discloses a metalens comprising a plurality of nanostructures having a thermal coefficient (Abstract).
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871