DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communications filed 08/21/2024 (claimed foreign priority date 09/06/2023):
Claims 1-10 have been examined.
Legend: “Under BRI” = “under broadest reasonable interpretation;”
“[Prior Art/Analogous/Non-Analogous Art Reference] discloses through the invention” means “See/read entire document;” Paragraph [No..] = e.g., Para [0005] = paragraph 5; P = page, e.g., p4 = page 4; C = column, e.g. c3 = column 3;
L = line, e.g., l25 = line 25; l25-36 = lines 25 through 36.
Drawings
1. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “collecting/capturing the target object by the unmanned aerial vehicle” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Currently, the drawings only show the “collecting/capturing the target object 100 by the capture tool 15 connected to plural unmanned aerial vehicles,” not to “an/the unmanned aerial vehicle,” as claimed.
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “collecting/capturing the target object by the unmanned aerial vehicle” as described in the specification. Currently, the drawings only show the “collecting/capturing the target object 100 by the capture tool 15 connected to plural unmanned aerial vehicles,” not to “an/the unmanned aerial vehicle,” as claimed and/or specified. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Interpretation
1, The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
1.1 This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step,” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “state information generation unit” in claims 3 and 10.
Per fig. 3, Para [0032, 0034, 0037] of the specification, at least as published/originally filed, the claimed/specified "state information generation unit 30” appears to be a structure element/component of a bigger structure.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1.1 Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
1.1.1 Claims 1, 4-5 and 10 recite the limitations/features: “collecting a target object falling through the air by using an unmanned aerial vehicle;” “collection step of capturing the target object by the unmanned aerial vehicle;” “the unmanned aerial vehicle;” “a capture tool supported by the unmanned aerial vehicle;” “system that collects a target object falling through the air by using an unmanned aerial vehicle,” which is unclear to understand whether the claimed/specified “target object falling through the air” is being captured/caught by the claimed/specified “unmanned aerial vehicle,” OR the claimed/specified “target object falling through the air” is being captured/caught by the claimed/specified “capture tool having a net shape and supported by a plurality of the unmanned aerial vehicles,” in accordance with claim 6, which renders the claims indefinite.
It is also unclear how the claimed/specified “collecting a target object falling through the air by using an unmanned aerial vehicle;” “collection step of capturing the target object by the unmanned aerial vehicle;” “a capture tool supported by the unmanned aerial vehicle;” “system that collects a target object falling through the air by using an unmanned aerial vehicle” are being executed/performed/made/implemented, etc., compare to the “capturing the target object by the capture tool having a net shape and supported by a plurality of the unmanned aerial vehicles,” in accordance with claim 6, which renders the claims indefinite. Clarification is required.
Additionally, the claimed/specified “collecting/capturing the target object by an/the unmanned aerial vehicle” is not shown in the drawings that renders the claims indefinite.
For the purpose of this examination, in view of the specification, and under BRI it will be interpreted that the claimed/specified “target object falling through the air” is being captured/caught by the claimed/specified “capture tool having a net shape and supported by a plurality of the unmanned aerial vehicles,” in accordance with claim 6.
1.1.2 Claims 2-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, because of their dependencies on rejected independent claim 1, and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
1.1.3 Claim 7 recites the limitation "the plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles" in the body of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
1.1.4 Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, because of its dependency on rejected dependent claim 7, and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beijing Interstellar Glory Space Technology (CN109823577A), hereinafter BEIJING SPACE TECH.
As per claims 1 and 10, BEIJING SPACE TECH discloses through the invention (see entire document), a collection method/system of collecting a target object falling through the air by using an unmanned aerial vehicle (see entire document, particularly fig. 1, abstract, Para [0010, 0012, 0015-0020], claim 5 – teaching space return object recovery device according that includes four or six unmanned aerial vehicles (2) arranged around the periphery of the capture net (1) and connected to the capture net (1)), the method/system comprising:
an information transmission step of transmitting state information of the target object falling through the air from the target object (see entire document, particularly abstract, Para [0020, 0031, 0036, 0038, 0040] – teaching real-time communication established between the space reentry object and the flight crew, by setting up a return control system and a capture control system; capture and control system located on the ground or other structures and connected to the aircraft via wireless communication; return control system installed inside fairing 3 that uses the position and velocity at the moment of separation as initial values for navigation calculation, provides the position and velocity of fairing 3 in real time, and transmits them to the capture control system via a wireless channel; controller that uses the position and velocity at the moment of separation as initial values for navigation calculation, provides the position and velocity of fairing 3 in real time, and transmits them to the capture control system via transmitter and antenna; the position and velocity of fairing 3 collectively referred to as flight information); and
a collection step of capturing the target object by the unmanned aerial vehicle flying in accordance with command information generated based on the state information (see entire document, particularly fig. 1, abstract, Para [0010, 0012, 0015-0020, 0031, 0036-0038], claim 5 – teaching capturing control system that receives the flight information and guides the flight crew in moving to an estimated landing point obtained according to the flight information; space return object recovery device according that includes four or six unmanned aerial vehicles (2) arranged around the periphery of the capture net (1) and connected to the capture net (1); return control system installed inside fairing 3 that uses the position and velocity at the moment of separation as initial values for navigation calculation, provides the position and velocity of fairing 3 in real time, and transmits them to the capture control system via a wireless channel; flight crew guided to move towards the vicinity of the expected landing point, and any possible deviations in the landing point corrected in a timely manner based on the real-time flight information transmitted back);
a state information generation unit provided in the target object and configured to generate and transmit state information of the target object (see entire document, particularly fig. 1, abstract, Para [0010, 0012, 0015-0020, 0030-0031, 0036-0038] – teaching control system installed inside fairing 3 that provides the position and velocity of fairing 3 in real time, and transmits them to the capture control system via a wireless channel); and
a controller provided in the unmanned aerial vehicle and configured to generate command information based on the state information and control flight of the unmanned aerial vehicle (see entire document, particularly fig. 1, abstract, Para [0010, 0012, 0015-0020, 0030-0031, 0036-0038] – teaching real-time communication link established between the space return object and the flight crew guided to move towards the vicinity of the expected landing point; one of the plurality of drones 2 in the flight crew as the lead aircraft that controls and coordinates the flight of the flight crew).
BEIJING SPACE TECH does not explicitly teach “transmitting state information of the target object falling through the air from the target object.”
However, it was known in the art at the time of Applicant's filing that the “transmitting state information of the target object falling through the air from the target object” was a common thing, meaning that “state information of the target object falling through the air is being transmitted via a transmitter positioned inside of the target object, or mounted/attached onto the target object,” similar to how it is presented in Para [0036] of BEIJING SPACE TECH – “control system installed inside fairing 3 that uses the position and velocity at the moment of separation as initial values for navigation calculation, provides the position and velocity of fairing 3 in real time, and transmits them to the capture control system via a wireless channel.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant's filing to modify BEIJING SPACE TECH such that it comprises “transmitting state information of the target object falling through the air from the target object.” The result of such a combination would have been predictable and would not change the operation of BEIJING SPACE TECH.
As per claim 2, BEIJING SPACE TECH further discloses through the invention (see entire document) state information that includes position state information of the target object relative to the ground, and velocity state information of the target object relative to the ground (see entire document, teaching these limitations/features particularly in Para [0031, 0036]).
As per claim 3, BEIJING SPACE TECH further discloses through the invention (see entire document) state information generation unit provided in the target object that generates the position state information and the velocity state information based on radio waves received from a satellite positioning system (see entire document, teaching these limitations/features particularly in Para [0013, 0031, 0036], claim 2).
As per claim 4, BEIJING SPACE TECH further discloses through the invention (see entire document) command information that includes position command information for the unmanned aerial vehicle relative to the ground, speed command information for the unmanned aerial vehicle relative to the ground, and acceleration command information for the unmanned aerial vehicle relative to the ground (see entire document, teaching these limitations/features particularly in abstract, Para [0007, 0012, 0015-0017, 0020, 0030, 0033, 0037-0038] – teaching guiding the flight crew (e.g., plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles) to the expected landing point and promptly correct any potential landing point deviations based on real-time flight information, which the Examiner finds that the above in the BEIJING SPACE TECH reference teaches on “commanding position information, speed, acceleration for the unmanned aerial vehicle relative to the ground in the instant application, by giving these limitations/features BRI).
As per claim 5, BEIJING SPACE TECH further discloses through the invention (see entire document) target object captured by a capture tool supported by the unmanned aerial vehicle (see entire document, teaching these limitations/features particularly in fig. 1, abstract, Para [0007, 0009-0010, 0016-0017, 0020, 0030, 0037-0039]).
As per claim 6, BEIJING SPACE TECH further discloses through the invention (see entire document) target object captured by the capture tool having a net shape and supported by a plurality of the unmanned aerial vehicles (see entire document, teaching these limitations/features particularly in fig. 1, abstract, Para [0007, 0009-0010, 0016-0017, 0020, 0030, 0037-0039]).
As per claim 7, BEIJING SPACE TECH further discloses through the invention (see entire document) flight of the plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles controlled such that relative positions of the plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles with respect to the target object are at a fixed distance from each other (see entire document, teaching these limitations/features particularly in fig. 1, Para [0016, 0030, 0037]).
As per claim 8, BEIJING SPACE TECH further discloses through the invention (see entire document) flight of the plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles controlled such that respective distances between the plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles are maintained at a fixed distance from each other (see entire document, teaching these limitations/features particularly in fig. 1, Para [0016, 0030, 0037]).
As per claim 9, BEIJING SPACE TECH further discloses through the invention (see entire document) target object falling through the air supported by a parachute (see entire document, teaching these limitations/features particularly in fig. 1, Para [0014, 0032, 0035]).
RELEVANT PRIOR ART THAT WAS CITED BUT NOT APPLIED
The following relevant prior art references that were found, by the Examiner while performing initial and/or additional search, cited but not applied:
Hanlon (US9663234) – (see entire Hanlon document, particularly abstract – teaching systems and methods for delivering packages via aerial vehicles; the system that comprises a label that includes a parachute to enable the packages to be dropped from the aerial vehicle, yet land at the package's destination without damage; the system that includes a self-adhesive backing, a plurality of parachute cords, a parachute, and a breakaway cover; the parachute cords that includes a shock absorber to reduce the shock on the package of the parachute opening; the parachute and/or the breakaway cover that include graphics to provide address, velocity, or spin information for the package; the parachute cords that include a harness to separate the cords and reduce tangling of the cords and spinning of the parachute canopy with respect to the package).
Conclusion
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YURI KAN, P.E./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662