CTNF 18/810,531 CTNF 91784 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1, 8, 13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, line 1, claim 13, line 5, and claim 15, line 9, "when " should read - - in a case that - - In Claim 8, lines 2-3, “the 2nd lens of the first lens group is adjacently located on an object side of the 1st lens of the first lens group, and a sum of an Abbe number of the 1st lens of the first lens group and an Abbe number of the 2nd lens of the first lens group is greater than 20” should read - - the 2nd lens of the first lens group is located adjacent to the 1st lens of the first lens group, and a sum of an Abbe number of the 1st lens of the first lens group and an Abbe number of the 2nd lens of the first lens group is greater than 20 - - since the paragraph [00194] of the specification of the instant application explicitly states that “the first lens group G1 may include a 1st lens L11 and a 2nd lens L12 that are arranged from the object side to the image side. A sum of an Abbe number of the 1st lens L11 and an Abbe number of the 2nd lens L12 may be greater than 20”, and Fig. 3 of the instant application clearly shows that the 2nd lens L12 of the first lens group G1 is located on an image side of the 1st lens L11 of the first lens group G1 . Appropriate correction is required. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Xu (CN113946029A) . Regarding claim 1 , Xu teaches a long-focus lens (Fig. 1-10, Example 1, Tables 1-2 and 14, Pages 1-23 of English translation of CN113946029A), wherein in a case that the long-focus lens focuses on a distant view (Fig. 1, Page 14, Fig. 1 shows a schematic configuration diagram of an optical lens group of a first example in a telephoto position), a field of view of the long-focus lens (Fig. 1, Table 14) is less than 60° (Table 14, FOVi=2*9.99°=19.98°); and the long-focus lens (Fig. 1-2) comprises a first lens group (G1 in Fig. 1-2) and a second lens group (G2 in Fig. 1-2) that are arranged from an object side to an image side (Fig. 1-2), the first lens group has a positive focal power (Table 14, fG1=7.33 mm), the second lens group has a negative focal power (Table 14, fG2=-11.41 mm), and in a focusing process in which the long-focus lens switches focus between the distant view (Fig. 1) and a close-up view (Fig. 2), a distance between the first lens group and the second lens group changes (Fig. 1-2, Table 1), and a shortest focus distance of the long-focus lens is less than 10 centimeters (Table1 and Table 14, Um=55mm), the first lens group (G1 in Fig. 1-2) comprises three or four lenses (Fig. 1-2), or the second lens group comprises three or four lenses, or the long-focus lens comprises six to eight lenses. Regarding claims 2-12 , Xu also teaches the following elements: (Claim 2) in the focusing process in which the long-focus lens switches focus from the distant view (Fig. 1) to the close-up view (Fig. 2), the distance between the first lens group and the second lens group increases (Fig. 1-2, Table 1). (Claim 3) in the focusing process in which the long-focus lens switches focus from the distant view to the close-up view (Fig. 1-2, Table 1), a distance between the first lens group (G1 in Fig. 1-2) and an imaging plane (S13 in Fig. 1-2) of the long-focus lens remains unchanged (Fig. 1-2, Table 1), and a distance between the second lens group (G2 in Fig. 1-2) and the imaging plane (S13 in Fig. 1-2) of the long-focus lens decreases (Fig. 1-2, Table 1); or the distance between the first lens group and the imaging plane of the long-focus lens increases, and the distance between the second lens group and the imaging plane of the long-focus lens remains unchanged; or the distance between the first lens group and the imaging plane of the long-focus lens increases, and the distance between the second lens group and the imaging plane of the long-focus lens decreases. (Claim 4) a focal length F1 of the first lens group (Table 14, fG1=7.33mm) and an effective focal length (EFL) of the long-focus lens (Fig. 1-2, Table 14, the effective focal length EFL corresponding to fi=11.57mm or fm=9.05mm) satisfy the following: F1≤0.9 EFL (Table 14, fG1=7.33mm<(0.9*11.57mm=10.41mm), or fG1=7.33mm<(0.9*9.05mm=8.15mm)), or 0.9 EFL<F1<EFL. (Claim 5) a focal length F2 of the second lens group (Table 14, fG2=-11.41 mm) and an effective focal length (EFL) of the long-focus lens (Fig. 1-2, Table 14, the effective focal length corresponding to fi=11.57mm) satisfy the following: –EFL<F2 (Table 14, -11.57mm<-11.41mm). (Claim 6) the focal length F1 of the first lens group (Table 14, fG1=7.33 mm) and the focal length F2 of the second lens group (Table 14, fG2=-11.41 mm) satisfy the following: 1<(F1–F2)/F1≤3, or 3<(F1–F2)/F1<9 (Table 14, (F1–F2)/F1=(7.33+11.41)/7.33=2.56). (Claim 7) the first lens group (G1 in Fig. 1-2) comprises a 1st lens (E1 in Fig. 1-2) close to the object side, and a focal length f11 (Table 14, f1=6.13 mm) of the 1st lens of the first lens group and the focal length F1 of the first lens group (Table 14, fG1=7.33mm) satisfy the following: 0.5<f11/F1<1 (Table 14, 6.13/7.33=0.836); and the second lens group comprises a 1st lens (E4 in Fig. 1-2) close to the object side, and a focal length f21 (Table 14, f4=-10.15 mm) of the 1st lens of the second lens group and the focal length F2 of the second lens group (Table 14, fG2=-11.41 mm) satisfy the following: 0.2<f21/F2<1 (Table 14, (-10.15)/(-11.41)=0.89). (Claim 8) the first lens group (G1 in Fig. 1-2) further comprises a 2nd lens (E2 in Fig. 1-2), the 2nd lens of the first lens group is located adjacent to the 1st lens of the first lens group (Fig. 1-2), and a sum of an Abbe number of the 1st lens of the first lens group and an Abbe number of the 2nd lens of the first lens group is greater than 20 (Table 1, 55.95+25.92=81.87). (Claim 9) a sum of Abbe numbers of a plurality of lenses of the second lens group (G2 in Fig. 1-2) is greater than 18 (Table 1, 55.95+19.24=75.19). (Claim 10) a thickness T1 of the first lens group (Fig. 1-2, Table 1, T1=0.9313+0.2077+0.3961+0.5694+0.2000+0.5777=2.8822mm) and the focal length F1 of the first lens group (G1 in Fig. 1-2, Table 14, fG1=7.33mm) satisfy the following: 0.1<T1/F1≤0.3, or 0.3<T1/F1<1 (Table 1 and Table 14, 2.8822/7.33=0.393); or a thickness T2 of the second lens group (Fig. 1-2, Table 1, T2=0.4376+0.6886+0.5944=1.7206mm) and the focal length F2 of the second lens group (G2 in Fig. 1-2, Table 14, fG2=-11.41 mm) satisfy the following: –1<T2/F2<–0.1 (Table 1 and Table 14, 1.7206/(-11.41)=-0.151). (Claim 11) the thickness T1 of the first lens group (Fig. 1-2, Table 1, T1=0.9313+0.2077+0.3961+0.5694+0.2000+0.5777=2.8822mm), the thickness T2 of the second lens group (Fig. 1-2, Table 1, T2=0.4376+0.6886+0.5944=1.7206mm), and the effective focal length EFL (Fig. 1-2, Table 14, the effective focal length EFL corresponding to fi=11.57mm or fm=9.05mm) of the long-focus lens satisfy the following: T1+T2≤0.6 EFL (Table 1 and Table 14, T1+T2=2.8822+1.7206=4.6028, which is less than 0.6*EFL=0.6*11.57=6.942), or 0.6 EFL<T1+T2≤0.8 EFL, or 0.8 EFL<T1+T2<EFL. (Claim 12) an image height ImgH of the long-focus lens satisfies the following: ImgH>2 mm (Table 14, ImgH=2.16mm) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN113946029A) in view of Shabtay (US 2022/0004085) . Regarding claim 13 , Xu teaches a camera assembly (Pages 2 and 23, a digital camera, or an imaging module integrated on a mobile phone, Fig. 1-10, Example 1, Tables 1-2 and 14, Pages 2-23), comprising a photosensitive element (Page 15, Paragraph 1, Page 23, Paragraph 8, the inherent photosensitive element, within the digital camera or the imaging module integrated on a mobile phone, corresponding to the image surface S13), and a long-focus lens (Fig. 1-2, Tables 1 and 14), wherein the photosensitive element is located on an image side of the long-focus lens (Fig. 1-2). As stated in the rejection of claim 1, Xu also teaches that in a case that the long-focus lens focuses on a distant view, a field of view of the long-focus lens is less than 60°; and the long-focus lens comprises a first lens group and a second lens group that are arranged from an object side to an image side, the first lens group has a positive focal power, the second lens group has a negative focal power, and in a focusing process in which the long-focus lens switches focus between the distant view and a close-up view, a distance between the first lens group and the second lens group changes, and a shortest focus distance of the long-focus lens is less than 10 centimeters, the first lens group comprises three or four lenses, or the second lens group comprises three or four lenses, or the long-focus lens comprises six to eight lenses. Xu does not teach that a first actuator, and the first actuator is connected to the long-focus lens and is configured to control the long-focus lens to move toward or away from the photosensitive element. Shabtay teaches that (Fig. 2A-2D and Fig. 11A-11D, [0099-0111]) a first actuator (the actuator corresponding to 212 and/or 230 in Fig. 2A, [0102-0103]), and the first actuator is connected to a lens assembly (206 in Fig. 2A) and is configured to control the lens assembly (206 in Fig. 2A) to move toward or away (Fig. 2A-2D, [0099-0111]) from a photosensitive element (208 in Fig. 2A, [0100]). Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Shabtay for the system of Xu such that in the system of Xu, a first actuator, and the first actuator is connected to the long-focus lens and is configured to control the long-focus lens to move toward or away from the photosensitive element. The motivation is to provide digital cameras with a pop-out mechanisms that allow for large EFLs and large image sensor sizes and low camera heights in a collapsed mode (Shabtay, [0178]). Regarding claim 14 , Xu also teaches the following elements: (Claim 14) the camera assembly further comprises a second actuator, and the second actuator is connected to a first lens group and is configured to control the first lens group to move along an optical axis; and/or the camera assembly further comprises a third actuator, and the third actuator is connected to a second lens group and is configured to control the second lens group to move along the optical axis (Page 8, Paragraph 4, the actuator corresponding to the motor that drives the first lens group or the second lens group to move to change the distance between the first lens group and the second lens group) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN113946029A) in view of Shabtay (US 2022/0004085) and Kawamura (US 2014/0111870) . Regarding claim 15 , Xu teaches an electronic device (Pages 2 and 23, a mobile phone or a digital camera, Fig. 1-10, Example 1, Tables 1-2 and 14, Pages 2-23), comprising a camera assembly (Fig. 1-10, Example 1, Tables 1-2 and 14). As stated in the rejection of claim 13, Xu in view of Shabtay teaches that a camera assembly comprises a photosensitive element, a first actuator, and a long-focus lens, wherein the photosensitive element is located on an image side of the long-focus lens; and the first actuator is connected to the long-focus lens, and is configured to control the long-focus lens to move toward or away from the photosensitive element; wherein when the long-focus lens focuses on a distant view, a field of view of the long-focus lens is less than 60°; and the long-focus lens comprises a first lens group and a second lens group that are arranged from an object side to an image side, the first lens group has a positive focal power, the second lens group has a negative focal power, and in a focusing process in which the long-focus lens switches focus between the distant view and a close-up view, a distance between the first lens group and the second lens group changes, and a shortest focus distance of the long-focus lens is less than 10 centimeters, and the first lens group comprises three or four lenses, or the second lens group comprises three or four lenses, or the long-focus lens comprises six to eight lenses. Xu does not explicitly point out that the electronic device comprises an image processor, the image processor is in a communication connection to the camera assembly, and the image processor is configured to: obtain an image signal from the camera assembly, and process the image signal. Kawamura teaches that (Fig. 17, [0001, 0112-0117]) an electronic device ([0001, 0112-0117], Fig. 17) comprises an image processor (the processor corresponding to 4 in Fig. 17, [0113]) and a camera assembly (the assembly corresponding to 1 and 2 in Fig. 17), the image processor (the processor corresponding to 4 in Fig. 17, [0113]) is in a communication connection to the camera assembly (Fig. 17, [0113]), and the image processor (the processor corresponding to 4 in Fig. 17, [0113]) is configured to: obtain an image signal from the camera assembly, and process the image signal (Fig. 17, [0113]). Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Kawamura for the system of Xu in view of Shabtay such that in the system of Xu in view of Shabtay, the electronic device comprises an image processor, the image processor is in a communication connection to the camera assembly, and the image processor is configured to: obtain an image signal from the camera assembly, and process the image signal. The motivation is that favorable optical performance, miniaturization, and high speed focusing operations can be realized (Kawamura, [0117]). Regarding claims 16-21 , Xu also teaches the following elements: (Claim 16) the first lens group (G1 in Fig. 1-2) comprises a 1st lens (E1 in Fig. 1-2) close to the object side, and a focal length f11 (Table 14, f1=6.13 mm) of the 1st lens of the first lens group and the focal length F1 of the first lens group (Table 14, fG1=7.33mm) satisfy the following: 0.5<f11/F1<1 (Table 14, 6.13/7.33=0.836); and the second lens group comprises a 1st lens (E4 in Fig. 1-2) close to the object side, and a focal length f21 (Table 14, f4=-10.15 mm) of the 1st lens of the second lens group and the focal length F2 of the second lens group (Table 14, fG2=-11.41 mm) satisfy the following: 0.2<f21/F2<1 (Table 14, (-10.15)/(-11.41)=0.89). (Claim 17) the first lens group (G1 in Fig. 1-2) further comprises a 2nd lens (E2 in Fig. 1-2), the 2nd lens of the first lens group is located adjacent to the 1st lens of the first lens group (Fig. 1-2), and a sum of an Abbe number of the 1st lens of the first lens group and an Abbe number of the 2nd lens of the first lens group is greater than 20 (Table 1, 55.95+25.92=81.87). (Claim 18) a sum of Abbe numbers of a plurality of lenses of the second lens group (G2 in Fig. 1-2) is greater than 18 (Table 1, 55.95+19.24=75.19). (Claim 19) a thickness T1 of the first lens group (Fig. 1-2, Table 1, T1=0.9313+0.2077+0.3961+0.5694+0.2000+0.5777=2.8822mm) and the focal length F1 of the first lens group (G1 in Fig. 1-2, Table 14, fG1=7.33mm) satisfy the following: 0.1<T1/F1≤0.3, or 0.3<T1/F1<1 (Table 1 and Table 14, 2.8822/7.33=0.393); or a thickness T2 of the second lens group (Fig. 1-2, Table 1, T2=0.4376+0.6886+0.5944=1.7206mm) and the focal length F2 of the second lens group (G2 in Fig. 1-2, Table 14, fG2=-11.41 mm) satisfy the following: –1<T2/F2<–0.1 (Table 1 and Table 14, 1.7206/(-11.41)=-0.151). (Claim 20) the thickness T1 of the first lens group (Fig. 1-2, Table 1, T1=0.9313+0.2077+0.3961+0.5694+0.2000+0.5777=2.8822mm), the thickness T2 of the second lens group (Fig. 1-2, Table 1, T2=0.4376+0.6886+0.5944=1.7206mm), and the effective focal length EFL (Fig. 1-2, Table 14, the effective focal length EFL corresponding to fi=11.57mm or fm=9.05mm) of the long-focus lens satisfy the following: T1+T2≤0.6 EFL (Table 1 and Table 14, T1+T2=2.8822+1.7206=4.6028, which is less than 0.6*EFL=0.6*11.57=6.942), or 0.6 EFL<T1+T2≤0.8 EFL, or 0.8 EFL<T1+T2<EFL. (Claim 21) an image height ImgH of the long-focus lens satisfies the following: ImgH>2 mm (Table 14, ImgH=2.16mm). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHAN LIU whose telephone number is (571)270-0383. The examiner can normally be reached on 9am-5pm EST M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jennifer Carruth can be reached on 571-272-9791. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Shan Liu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/810,531 Page 2 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/810,531 Page 3 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/810,531 Page 4 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/810,531 Page 5 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/810,531 Page 6 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/810,531 Page 7 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/810,531 Page 8 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/810,531 Page 9 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/810,531 Page 10 Art Unit: 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/810,531 Page 11 Art Unit: 2871