DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-7, 12, and 14-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,075,430.
U.S. Application No. 18/810,545
U.S. Patent No. 12,075,430
Claim 1. A method, comprising: transmitting, by a base station to a first user equipment (UE), a configuration message including a configuration indicator, the configuration indicator indicating the first UE to measure quality of one or more sidelink communications on resources of a sidelink resource pool in a wireless network; and
receiving, by the base station from the first UE, a feedback report including an identification of a second UE in the wireless network and a sidelink measurement result in a physical sidelink channel of a sidelink communication from the second UE,
the sidelink measurement result being monitored by the first UE on the resources of the sidelink resource pool.
Claim 1. A method, comprising: receiving, by a first user equipment (UE) from a base station, a configuration request message including a configuration indicator, the configuration indicator indicating the first UE to measure quality of a sidelink communication from a second UE on resources of a resource pool in a wireless network,
and transmitting, by the first UE, a feedback report to the base station, the feedback report including an identification of the second UE in the wireless network and a measurement result of the sidelink communication from the second UE.
wherein the sidelink communication on the resources of the resource pool is associated with one or more messages from the second UE in a physical sidelink channel;
Claim 2
Claim 1
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 6
Claim 7
Claim 7
Claim 8. A network device, comprising:
at least one processor; and
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network device to perform operations including:
transmitting a configuration message including a configuration indicator to a first user equipment (UE), the configuration indicator indicating the first UE to measure quality of one or more sidelink communications on resources of a sidelink resource pool in a wireless network; and
receiving a feedback report from the first UE, the feedback report including an identification of a second UE in the wireless network and a sidelink measurement result of a sidelink communication from the second UE,
the sidelink measurement result being monitored by the first UE on the resources of the sidelink resource pool.
Claim 12. A user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one processor; and
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming for execution by the at least one processor, the programming including instructions to cause the UE to perform operations including:
receiving a configuration request message including a configuration indicator from a base station, the configuration indicator indicating the UE to measure quality of a sidelink communication from a second UE on resources of a resource pool in a wireless network,
transmit a feedback report to the base station, the feedback report including an identification of the second UE in the wireless network and a measurement result of the sidelink communication from the second UE.
wherein the sidelink communication on the resources of the resource pool is associated with one or more messages from the second UE in a physical sidelink channel
Claim 9
Claim 14
Claim 10
Claim 15
Claim 11
Claim 16
Claim 12. A user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one processor; and
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform operations including:
receiving, from a base station, a configuration message including a configuration indicator, the configuration indicator indicating the UE to measure quality of one or more sidelink communications on resources of a sidelink resource pool in a wireless network;
monitoring the resources of the sidelink resource pool to obtain a sidelink measurement result in a physical sidelink channel of a sidelink communication from a second UE in the wireless network;
and transmitting, to the base station, a feedback report including an identification of the second UE and the sidelink measurement result in the physical sidelink channel of the sidelink communication from the second UE
Claim 12. A user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one processor; and
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming for execution by the at least one processor, the programming including instructions to cause the UE to perform operations including:
receiving a configuration request message including a configuration indicator from a base station, the configuration indicator indicating the UE to measure quality of a sidelink communication from a second UE on resources of a resource pool in a wireless network,
wherein the sidelink communication on the resources of the resource pool is associated with one or more messages from the second UE in a physical sidelink channel; and
transmit a feedback report to the base station, the feedback report including an identification of the second UE in the wireless network and a measurement result of the sidelink communication from the second UE.
Claim 13
Claim 14
Claim 14
Claim 15
Claim 15
Claim 16
Claim 16
Claim 6
Claim 17
Claim 7
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively (see table above showing the patent claims that correspond to the instant application claims). The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, " a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claim preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 10-12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tseng et al US 20180054237 (hereinafter Tseng).
Regarding claim 1, Tseng discloses a method, comprising:
transmitting, by a base station (202, see fig. 2, [0057]) to a first user equipment (UE) (204, 206, see fig. 2, [0038]), a configuration message including a configuration indicator (270, see fig. 2, [0057], [0060]), the configuration indicator indicating the first UE to measure quality of one or more sidelink communications on resources of a sidelink resource pool in a wireless network (SL-measurement configuration message may include component carrier list, see fig. 2, [0057]-[0060]); and
receiving, by the base station from the first UE, a feedback report (274, see fig. 2, [0072]) including an identification of a second UE in the wireless network and a sidelink measurement result in a physical sidelink channel of a sidelink communication from the second UE (), the sidelink measurement result being monitored by the first UE on the resources of the sidelink resource pool (see [0062]-[0063], [0065]).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Tseng further discloses transmitting, by the base station to the first UE, a configuration of the sidelink resource pool (see [0057]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Tseng further discloses wherein the sidelink measurement result comprises a signal quality parameter, the signal quality parameter comprising at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a received signal strength indication (RSSI), a signal-to-interference ratio (SIR), a signal-to-noise plus interference ratio (SINR), or a frame error rate (FER) measurement (see [0072]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Tseng further discloses wherein the configuration indicator indicates at least one of sidelink resources to be monitored or the identification of the second UE to be monitored for the sidelink communication (see tables 3 and 4, [0057]-[0060], [0066]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 8, Tseng discloses a network device (202, 800, see figs. and 8, [0088]), comprising:
at least one processor (826, see fig. 8, [0089]); and
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor (828, see fig. 8, [0089]), cause the network device (202, see fig. 2, [0057]) to perform operations including:
transmitting a configuration message including a configuration indicator (270, see fig. 2, [0057], [0060]) to a first user equipment (UE) (204, 206, see fig. 2, [0038]), the configuration indicator indicating the first UE to measure quality of one or more sidelink communications on resources of a sidelink resource pool in a wireless network (SL-measurement configuration message may include component carrier list, see fig. 2, [0057]-[0060]); and
receiving a feedback report from the first UE (274, see fig. 2, [0072]), the feedback report including an identification of a second UE in the wireless network and a sidelink measurement result of a sidelink communication from the second UE (candidate CC, see tables 3 and 4, [0072]), the sidelink measurement result being monitored by the first UE on the resources of the sidelink resource pool (see [0062]-[0063], [0065]).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 8, Tseng further discloses wherein the sidelink measurement result comprises a signal quality parameter, the signal quality parameter comprising at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a received signal strength indication (RSSI), a signal-to-interference ratio (SIR), a signal-to-noise plus interference ratio (SINR), or a frame error rate (FER) measurement (see [0072]).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 8, Tseng further discloses wherein the configuration indicator indicates at least one of sidelink resources to be monitored or the identification of the second UE to be monitored for the sidelink communication (see tables 3 and 4, [0057]-[0060], [0066]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 12, Tseng discloses a user equipment (UE) (202, 204, 800, see fig. 8, [0088]), comprising:
at least one processor (826, see fig. 8, [0089]); and
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming instructions (828, see fig. 8, [0089]), that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform operations including:
receiving, from a base station (202, 800, see figs. and 8, [0088]), a configuration message including a configuration indicator (270, see fig. 2, [0057], [0060]), the configuration indicator indicating the UE to measure quality of one or more sidelink communications on resources of a sidelink resource pool in a wireless network (SL-measurement configuration message may include component carrier list, see fig. 2, [0057]-[0060]);
monitoring the resources of the sidelink resource pool to obtain a sidelink measurement result in a physical sidelink channel of a sidelink communication from a second UE (202, 204, 800, see fig. 8, [0088]) in the wireless network (see [0057]-[0062], [0065]-[0070]); and
transmitting, to the base station, a feedback report (274, see fig. 2, [0072]) including an identification of the second UE and the sidelink measurement result in the physical sidelink channel of the sidelink communication from the second UE (candidate CC, see tables 3 and 4, [0072]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 12, Tseng further discloses wherein the sidelink measurement result comprises a signal quality parameter, the signal quality parameter comprising at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), a received signal strength indication (RSSI), a signal-to-interference ratio (SIR), a signal-to-noise plus interference ratio (SINR), or a frame error rate (FER) measurement (see [0072]).
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 12, Tseng further discloses wherein the configuration indicator indicates at least one of sidelink resources to be monitored or the identification of the second UE to be monitored for the sidelink communication (see tables 3 and 4, [0057]-[0060], [0066]-[0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6-7, 9, 13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al US 20180054237 (hereinafter Tseng) in view of Li et al US 20190098654 (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 13 as applied to claims 1, 8, and 12, Tseng discloses the claimed invention except wherein the feedback report is carried in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), or a random access channel (RACH). Li discloses a UE transmitting a message to a base station via a PUSCH in response to an uplink grant (see [0050], [0090]). It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with Tseng by transmitting the SL-measurement report to the base station via a PUSCH granted by the base station, for the benefit of providing reliable and low latency communication between base station and UE.
Regarding claims 6 and 16 as applied to claims 5 and 15, Tseng discloses the claimed invention except wherein the configuration indicator is included in at least one of a downlink control information (DCI) message, a media access control (MAC) control element message, or a radio resource control (RRC) message. Li discloses a configuration indicator included in at least one of a downlink control information (DCI) message, a media access control (MAC) control element message, or a radio resource control (RRC) message (SR configuration via RRC messaging, see [0050], [0090]). It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with Tseng by transmitting a SL-measurement configuration from the base station to the UE via RRC messaging, as taught by Li, for the benefit of providing reliable and low latency communication between base station and UE.
Regarding claims 7 and 17 as applied to claims 1 and 12, Tseng discloses the claimed invention except transmitting, by the base station to the first UE, a resource grant message identifying available resources for transmitting the feedback report. Li discloses transmitting, by the base station to the first UE, a resource grant message identifying available resources for transmitting a message (see [0050], [0090]). It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with Tseng by transmitting a resource grant message from the base station to the UE, as taught by Li, for the benefit of providing reliable and low latency communication between base station and UE thus enabling the UE to end the SL-measurement report to the base station.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Baghel et al US 20180049235 discloses cross-carrier scheduling for V2X communication.
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648