DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-11 and 13-15 in the reply filed on 04/03/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 12 and 16 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 13-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is not clear if the mold is required structure of the imprint apparatus or recited as intended use. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the mold has been interpreted to be required structure.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the target shearing force". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 13, it is not clear if the mold is required structure of the imprint apparatus or recited as intended use. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the mold has been interpreted to be intended use and not required by the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the target shearing force". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 15, it is not clear if the mold is required structure of the imprint apparatus or recited as intended use. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the mold has been interpreted to be required structure.
In claim 15, it is not clear if the information processing apparatus defined in claim 13 is required structure of the imprint apparatus or recited as intended use. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the mold has been interpreted to be required structure.
In claim 15, it is not clear if the claim elements recited in the claim are the same or different from the claim elements sharing the same claim terminology as in claim 13. For example, both claim 13 and 15 recite a mold.
In claim 15, ln 9, it is not clear if the target film thickness is referencing the target film thickness of claim 13, or the previously recited target film thickness of claim 15.
All claims dependent on the above rejected claims are rejected as well because they include all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama et al. (US2020/0307038) hereinafter Nakayama in view of Suehira et al. (US2008/0099941) hereinafter Suehira and Cherala (US2017/0334126 of record).
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama teaches:
An imprint apparatus (Fig 2-3: imprint apparatus 12) that performs an imprint process of forming, by using a mold (Fig 2: mold 6), a pattern of an imprint material on a layer formed on a surface pattern existing in a substrate ([0030]), the apparatus comprising:
an obtainment unit (Fig 2: application apparatus 13; [0028]) configured to obtain information indicating a relationship among a thickness of the layer (Fig 5: step s7; [0054-0056]) and a shearing force generated in the imprint material in a state in which the mold is in contact with the imprint material state (Fig 5: step s3; [0032, 0040]); and
a control unit configured to control the imprint process (Fig 2: control unit 14; [0026-0027]),
wherein the control unit
includes a calculation unit configured to, if the thickness of the layer ([0027, 0040, 0056]), and a target shearing force are input ([0045-0046]), output a target film thickness of the imprint material required for generating the target shearing force in the imprint material based on the information obtained by the obtaining unit ([0046, 0056, 0058-0064]), and
controls supply of the imprint material onto the layer such that the film thickness of the imprint material in the state achieves the target film thickness in the imprint process ([0046, 0056, 0058-0064]).
Nakayama does not teach an obtainment unit configured to obtain information indicating a relationship among a film thickness of the imprint material existing between the mold and the layer in a state in which the mold is in contact with the imprint material.
In the same field of endeavor regarding imprinting, Suehira teaches an obtainment unit configured to obtain information indicating a film thickness of the imprint material existing between the mold and the layer in a state in which the mold is in contact with the imprint material ([0040, 0052, 0091-0096]) for the motivation of determining the distance between the pattern-formed substrate and the substrate surface with high accuracy ([0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the obtainment unit as taught by Nakayama to perform the distance measuring as taught by Suehira in order to determine the distance between the pattern-formed substrate and the substrate surface with high accuracy.
Nakayama in view of Suehira does not teach an obtainment unit configured to obtain information indicating a relationship among a geometric shape of the surface pattern and inputting the geometric shape of the surface pattern to the calculation unit.
In the same field of endeavor regarding imprinting, Cherala teaches an obtainment unit configured to obtain information indicating a geometric shape of the surface pattern ([0004, 0055, 0057]) and inputting the geometric shape of the surface pattern to a calculation unit ([0004, 0055]) for the motivation of addressing issues caused by distortions in in an underlying substrate ([0003-0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the imprint apparatus as taught by Nakayama in view of Suehira to include the distortion correction system as taught by Cherala in order to address issues caused by distortions in in an underlying substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Nakayama in view of Suehira and Cherala teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Suehira further teaches wherein the obtainment unit includes a storage unit configured to store the information ([0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Nakayama in view of Suehira and Cherala teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Cherala further teaches wherein the geometric shape of the surface pattern includes at least one of a depth of the surface pattern and a pitch of the surface pattern ([0007,0048]).
Regarding claim 4, Nakayama in view of Suehira and Cherala teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Nakayama in view of Suehira and Cherala further teaches wherein the information indicates a relationship among a geometric shape of the surface pattern, a thickness of the layer, a film thickness of the imprint material existing between the mold and the layer in a state in which the mold is in contact with the imprint material, and a shearing force generated in the imprint material in the state, and if the geometric shape of the surface pattern, the thickness of the layer, and a target shearing force are input, the calculation unit outputs the target film thickness based on the information (see art rejection of claim 1).
Cherala further teaches wherein the information indicates a relationship among a geometric shape of a pattern of the mold ([0045, 0048]) and inputting the geometric shape of the pattern of the mold ([0048]).
It would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art makes obvious wherein the information indicates a relationship among a geometric shape of a pattern of the mold, a geometric shape of the surface pattern, a thickness of the layer, a film thickness of the imprint material existing between the mold and the layer in a state in which the mold is in contact with the imprint material, and a shearing force generated in the imprint material in the state, and if the geometric shape of the pattern of the mold, the geometric shape of the surface pattern, the thickness of the layer, and a target shearing force are input, the calculation unit outputs the target film thickness based on the information.
Regarding claim 5, Nakayama in view of Suehira and Cherala teaches the apparatus of claim 4.
Cherala further teaches wherein the geometric shape of the pattern of the mold includes at least one of a depth of the pattern of the mold and a pitch of the pattern of the mold ([0045, 0048]).
Regarding claim 9, Nakayama in view of Suehira and Cherala teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Nakayama further teaches wherein the control unit decides a supply amount of the imprint material required to make the film thickness of the imprint material in the state achieve the target film thickness, and controls supply of the imprint material onto the layer such that the imprint material is supplied in the supply amount ([0058-0060]).
Regarding claim 10, Nakayama in view of Suehira and Cherala teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Nakayama further teaches wherein the control unit decides, based on the target film thickness, such that the imprint material is supplied ([0058-0060]).
Cherala further teaches a supply position where the imprint material is to be supplied onto the layer, and controls supply of the imprint material onto the layer such that the imprint material is supplied to the supply position ([0004, 0009, 0046, 0048]).
It would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that the prior art makes obvious wherein the control unit decides, based on the target film thickness, a supply position where the imprint material is to be supplied onto the layer, and controls supply of the imprint material onto the layer such that the imprint material is supplied to the supply position.
Regarding claim 11, Nakayama in view of Suehira and Cherala teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Cherala further teaches a supply unit configured to supply the imprint material onto the layer, wherein in the imprint process, control unit controls supply of the imprint material by the supply unit (Fig 1: fluid dispense system 132; [0055]).
Nakayama further teaches the control unit controls supply of the imprint material such that the film thickness of the imprint material in the state achieves the target film thickness ([0046, 0056, 0058-0064]).
Regarding claim 13, Nakayama teaches:
An information processing apparatus (Fig 2: control unit 14; [0026-0027]) that, in an imprint process of forming, by using a mold, a pattern of an imprint material on a layer formed on a surface pattern existing in a substrate ([0030]), outputs a film thickness of the imprint material to be formed on the layer, the apparatus comprising
a calculation unit (Fig 2: control unit 14) configured to, if a thickness of the layer ([0027, 0040, 0056]) and a target shearing force are input ([0045-0046]), based on information indicating a relationship among a thickness of the layer (Fig 5: step s7; [0054-0056]), and a shearing force generated in the imprint material in a state in which the mold is in contact with the imprint material (Fig 5: step s3; [0032, 0040]), output a target film thickness of the imprint material required for generating the target shearing force in the imprint material ([0046, 0056, 0058-0064]).
Nakayama does not teach a calculation unit configured to consider a film thickness of the imprint material existing between the mold and the layer in a state in which the mold is in contact with the imprint material.
In the same field of endeavor regarding imprinting, Suehira teaches a calculation unit (analyzer 111, imprint control mechanism 112) configured to consider information indicating a film thickness of the imprint material existing between the mold and the layer in a state in which the mold is in contact with the imprint material ([0040, 0052, 0091-0096]) for the motivation of determining the distance between the pattern-formed substrate and the substrate surface with high accuracy ([0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the calculation unit as taught by Nakayama to consider the distance measuring as taught by Suehira in order to determine the distance between the pattern-formed substrate and the substrate surface with high accuracy.
Nakayama in view of Suehira does not teach a calculation unit configured to consider a geometric shape of the surface pattern.
In the same field of endeavor regarding imprinting, Cherala teaches a calculation unit ([0055]) configured to obtain information indicating a geometric shape of the surface pattern ([0004, 0055, 0057]) for the motivation of addressing issues caused by distortions in in an underlying substrate ([0003-0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the imprint apparatus as taught by Nakayama in view of Suehira to include the distortion correction system as taught by Cherala in order to address issues caused by distortions in in an underlying substrate.
Regarding claim 14, Nakayama in view of Suehira and Cherala teaches the apparatus of claim 13.
Suehira further teaches a storage unit configured to store the information ([0061]).
Regarding claim 15, Nakayama in view of Suehira and Cherala teaches the apparatus of claim 13.
Nakayama further teaches:
An imprint apparatus (Fig 2-3: imprint apparatus 12) that performs an imprint process of forming, by using a mold (Fig 2: mold 6), a pattern of an imprint material on a layer formed on a surface pattern existing in a substrate ([0030]), the apparatus comprising:
an obtainment unit configured to obtain a target film thickness of the imprint material output from an information processing apparatus defined in claim 13 (Fig 2: control unit 14; [0026-0027, 0046, 0056, 0058-0064]); and
a control unit (Fig 2: control unit 14; [0026-0027]) configured to control supply of the imprint material onto the layer such that a film thickness of the imprint material in the state achieves the target film thickness in the imprint process ([0046, 0056, 0058-0064]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, Nakayama in view of Suehira and Cherala teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Nakayama further teaches a stage configured to hold and drive the substrate (Fig 1: wafer stage 4; [0034]).
Nakayama in view of Suehira and Cherala does not teach an operation amount obtainment unit configured to obtain an operation amount of the stage, wherein the obtainment unit obtains the information from a result obtained by obtaining the operation amount by the operation amount obtainment unit during driving of the stage in accordance with a triangular wave drive profile while changing each of the geometric shape of the surface pattern, the thickness of the layer, and the film thickness of the imprint material.
The remaining prior art of record fails to teach or suggest an operation amount obtainment unit configured to obtain an operation amount of the stage, wherein the obtainment unit obtains the information from a result obtained by obtaining the operation amount by the operation amount obtainment unit during driving of the stage in accordance with a triangular wave drive profile while changing each of the geometric shape of the surface pattern, the thickness of the layer, and the film thickness of the imprint material in combination with the remaining subject matter of the claim.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest each and every limitation of the claim, the claim is indicated for allowable subject matter.
Claim 8 is indicated for allowable subject matter due to dependency on claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Nakayama in view of Suehira and Cherala teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Nakayama further teaches a stage configured to hold and drive the substrate (Fig 1: wafer stage 4; [0034]).
Nakayama in view of Suehira and Cherala does not teach an operation amount obtainment unit configured to obtain an operation amount of the stage, wherein the obtainment unit obtains the information from a result obtained by obtaining the operation amount by the operation amount obtainment unit during driving of the stage in accordance with a sine wave drive profile while changing each of the geometric shape of the surface pattern, the thickness of the layer, and the film thickness of the imprint material.
The remaining prior art of record fails to teach or suggest an operation amount obtainment unit configured to obtain an operation amount of the stage, wherein the obtainment unit obtains the information from a result obtained by obtaining the operation amount by the operation amount obtainment unit during driving of the stage in accordance with a sine wave drive profile while changing each of the geometric shape of the surface pattern, the thickness of the layer, and the film thickness of the imprint material in combination with the remaining subject matter of the claim.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest each and every limitation of the claim, the claim is indicated for allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741