Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 8/21/24 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the arrangement in which both the display and speaker are mounted on the same side of the partition as set forth in claim 7, lines 4-6 and in claim 14, lines 5-7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liang et al. (US 10,165,378 B2).
Re claim 1: Liang et al. teaches media playing device, comprising:
a display (100);
a speaker (speaker group (200);
a camera (photographic component (310); and
a controller (340) communicatively coupled to the display, the speaker, and the camera (see figure 4A), wherein the controller is configured to:
in response to a user staying at a first position relative to the display, control the speaker to face the user (figures 5A, 7 and column 7, lines 1-3);
in response to the speaker facing the user, cause the speaker to play a sound associated with the display (sound created in audible region (36));
wherein the camera is located at a second position relative to the speaker (see figures 1 and 4A; location of speaker(s) (200) and camera (310) with respect to each other), adjust a first orientation of the speaker according to an image captured by the camera (see discussion in column 6, line 32 – column 7, line 9), where the speaker faces the user, wherein the first orientation of the speaker is in sync with a second orientation of the camera (note as the captured image is used to make adjustments to the speaker orientation); and
receive an operation on the media playing device from the user corresponding to a second image captured by the camera (the is achieved by receiving a captured image of a new position of the user for further control of the speaker(s) orientations; also note column 7, lines 53-67 in which the user can control adjustments be performed).
Re claim 16: This claim sets forth a method that corresponds to those operation performed by the device of claim 1. This method is taught by the method operations of those elements as discussed in Liang et al with respect to claim 1.
Re claim 2: note the direction of output from the speakers (figure 7) infers that the speaker(s) are directional speaker(s)
Re claims 3 and 17: note sensor (330) used to detect the position of a user in front of display (100)
Re claim 5: note Liang et al. teaches at least a distance sensor (330) satisfying the alternatively claimed feature as set forth
Re claim 6: see for example figure 1 in which a display, i.e. a display surface (111) is mounted separately from the speaker (210,220), which as seen from figure 13 can be mounted in a separate shell (721)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 10-13, 15, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. in view of Takahashi (JP2018006822A).
Re claim 11`: This claim sets forth a method that corresponds to those operation performed by the device of claim 1. This method is taught by the method operations of those elements as discussed in Liang et al with respect to claim 1. Note also that Liang et al. uses a processor for the control of the speaker’s orientation, however Liang does not specifically teach that the processor obtains instructions from a memory for these control operations. Takahashi teaches in a similar environment that a processor is controlled using stored instructions, i.e. software (see paragraph [0039]) for control of speaker adjustments thereby providing a software-based control of speaker adjustments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate such teaching of Takahashi into the arrangement of Liang et al. to predictably provide overall software control of speaker orientation adjustment using stored instructions. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Re claim 12: note in the arrangement taught by Liang et al. detection is made if the user is at a position such as depicted in figure 7 or has moved to a different position such as in figures 8 and 9
Re claims 4 and 18: The teaching of Liang et al. is discussed above and incorporated herein. Although Liang et al. teaches an arrangement that includes both contents that are displayed and contents played by a speaker; Liang et al. does not specifically teach a controller used to control each according to an operation. Takahashi teaches in a similar environment the use of a controller (such as computer (1)) that controls each of the display and speaker outputs (see discussion in paragraphs [0036]) to enable for have both video and corresponding audio provided to a user of a communication unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate such a controller taught by Takahashi into the arrangement of Liang et al. to predictably provide a means allowing for both video and corresponding audio to be provided to a user. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Re claims 10 and 19: The teaching of Liang et al. is discussed above and incorporated herein. Liang however does not teach to record possible alternative features including a possible feature of the user as set forth. This feature is interpreted broadly as a possible coordinate of a user. Takahashi teaches in a similar environment to record user’s position points Pn (see discussion in paragraphs [0048-0049]) from a unit (16) that are then used by unit (17), within computer (1) to calculate optimal sound directions toward a user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate such a feature into the arrangement of Liang et al. to predictably provide a means to calculate optimal sound directions toward a user. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Re claim 13: Takahashi teaches the use of a controller (such as computer (1)) that controls each of the display and speaker outputs (see discussion in paragraphs [0036]) to enable for have both video and corresponding audio provided to a user of a communication unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate such a controller taught by Liang et al. in view of Takahashi as applied to claim 11 to predictably provide a means allowing for both video and corresponding audio to be provided to a user. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Re claim 15: Takahashi teaches to record user’s position points Pn (see discussion in paragraphs [0048-0049]) from a unit (16) that are then used by unit (17), within computer (1) to calculate optimal sound directions toward a user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate such a feature into the arrangement of Liang et al. in view of Takahashi as applied to claim 11 to predictably provide a means to calculate optimal sound directions toward a user. Therefor the claimed subject matter would have been obvious before the filing of the invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9,14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claimed media playing device including those features of claim 1 which in combination wherein the display is mounted on one side of a transparent partition facing outwardly, and the speaker is mounted on the other side of the transparent partition; or the display and the speaker are both mounted on a same side of the transparent partition facing outwardly, wherein sounds from the speaker travel outside the transparent partition via holes in the transparent partition as set forth in claim 7 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. The limitations of claims 8-9 depend upon those features of claim 7/1. The claimed operations including those features of claim 11 which in combination wherein the display is mounted on one side of a transparent partition facing outwardly, and the speaker is mounted on the other side of the transparent partition; or the display and the speaker are both mounted on a same side of the transparent partition facing outwardly, wherein sounds from the speaker travel outside the transparent partition via holes in the transparent partition along with providing a prompt as set forth in claim 14 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. The claimed method including those features of claim 16 which in combination further comprises controlling a microphone to face the user in response to the user staying at the first position relative to a display of the media playing device; and controlling contents on the display according to sounds received by the microphone as set forth in claim 20 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record.
Conclusion
/ANDREW SNIEZEK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/A.S./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693 3/11/26