DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
NOT INVOKED DESPITE PRESENCE
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“spacer element” in claim 19. The term spacer provides sufficient structural description to perform the function of spacing.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittrich (US 2002/0062657) in view of Bahmata (US 2012/0183422) in view of Strong (US 2002/0135244) in view of Grybush (US 2018/0291885) in view of Damson (DE 10225871, citation to machine translation).
Annotations on Dittrich Fig 1
Claim 1, Dittrich discloses a refrigerant compressor (title) comprising an overall housing (fig 1, 10, par 0051) with a motor housing portion (portion of 10 holding motor 20), in which there is arranged a motor chamber (motor 20 is in 10) having, provided therein, an electric motor (20) comprising a stator (26) and a rotor (24), and with a compressor housing portion (11) which has a compressor unit (14a 14b), the overall housing has a first cover and a second cover (fig 1 depicts a first and second cover on either side of crankcase 11, See drawing above), between which a housing sleeve extends (central portion of crankcase 11), which has a motor housing portion (10) and a compressor housing portion (11) in which the compressor unit (14a,14b) is provided, the compressor housing portion has a cylinder housing (compressor housing 11 holds cylinder chambers 12a 12b and therefore meets the plain meaning of cylinder housing) with a cylinder head (cylinder head 40), the cylinder head has a cylinder head lower part (face of head 20 in contact with valve plate 30, par 0053) arranged on the cylinder housing which receives the cylinders, the cylinder head lower part carrying a valve plate (30) and on said valve plate there is arranged a cylinder head upper part (top of cylinder head 20) on a side opposite to said cylinder head lower part (bottom of cylinder head 20), which closes off the cylinder head lower part (top of cylinder head closes off the valves from the outside atmosphere and allows the compressor to function, par 0054).
Dittrich is silent on wherein the housing sleeve has an approximately cylindrical shape, the valve plate and the cylinder head upper part are made of steel, wherein the housing sleeve and the covers as well as the cylinder head lower part are made of light metal,
and wherein the cylinder head comprises an assembly of adjacent structural portions of different metal materials, including the valve plate of steel disposed adjacent to the cylinder head lower part of light metal.
Bahmata teaches a compressor housing sleeve (fig 4, cylindrical portion 20a) has a cylindrical shape (fig 4, 20a is called cylindrical, par 0020). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the housing sleeve (11) of Dittrich in a cylindrical shape as taught by Bahmata for the expected result of accommodating a rotating electrical motor as is known in the art.
Strong teaches an electric motor with a motor housing sleeve made of aluminum (par 0015). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (See MPEP 2144.07 In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960)). In this case, selecting aluminum is an art recognized suitable material for the motor “housing sleeve” of Dittrich due to its response to heat (Strong, par 0015) and availability as a material.
Grybush teaches a compressor with end housings (26) made of cast material such as aluminum (par 0032) and head covers made of aluminum (par 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (See MPEP 2144.07 In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960)). In this case, selecting aluminum is an art recognized suitable material for compressor housing and a cover for said housing (par 0045) of Dittrich for the intended purpose of using a castable and easily workable metal (Grybush, par 0045).
Damson teaches a refrigerant compressor (abstract) where the valve plate (33) and the cylinder head upper part (20) are made of steel because they are high stressed parts (pg 6 bottom paragraph), and the housing (18), cylinder block (19), and cylinder head lower part , are made of aluminum in order to reduce heat and increase heat transfer(pg 6 bottom paragraph).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (See MPEP 2144.07 In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960)). In this case, selecting steel is an art recognized suitable material for the compressor parts of Dittrich in order to select differing metals for strength, lightness, and thermal transfer.
As a result of Damson’s material teachings the combination meets the limitation “the valve plate (Damson, fig 1 steel valve plate 33) and the cylinder head upper part (Damson, housing cover 27) are made of steel,
and wherein the cylinder head [upper part] comprises an assembly of adjacent structural portions of different metal materials (Damson, fig 1 shows the steel valve plate 33, adjacent the aluminum cylinder head lower part 19), including the valve plate of steel disposed adjacent to the cylinder head lower part of light metal (id.).”
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches a refrigerant compressor according to claim 1, wherein the cylinder head lower part (Dittrich, fig 1, cylinder head 40 and valve plate 30 connects to crankcase 11, para 0054) in turn carries a cylinder head upper part (upper part of 40) which closes off the cylinder head lower part and has at least one outlet chamber (pressure chamber 38, para 0054) integrated therein, and wherein in that refrigerant connections guided into the overall housing are arranged either in the cylinder head upper part (fig 4, channel 60, section 64 are in head 40, par 0057, 0061, first of two alternately claimed) or in one of the covers (second of two alternately claimed).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 1. Dittrich does not disclose wherein said compressor is a two-stage compressor, and in that an outlet chamber for medium pressure and an outlet chamber for high pressure are provided in the cylinder head upper part.
Grybush further teaches the compressor is a two-stage compressor (par 0061), and in that an outlet chamber for medium pressure (fig 10-11, first stage exhaust 398, par 0061) and an outlet chamber for high pressure (fig 10-11, second stage exhaust 406, par 0061) are provided in a cylinder head upper part (fig 10-11, the cylinder head is configured with passages for first stage and second stage intake and exhaust, par 0061).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cylinder head controlling flow to intake and exhaust for the two compression cylinders of Dettrich to route passages for two-stage compressor as taught by Grybush to be able to reach higher compressor discharge pressures.
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches a refrigerant compressor according to claim 1. Dittrich is silent on the refrigerant compressor is configured (Dittrich is a compressor and capable of compressing gas) for CO2 as refrigerant (CO2 as refrigerant does not limit the claim, See MPEP 2115). Material or article worked upon does not limit an apparatus claim (In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967), MPEP 2115). In this case the claim contains no further limitations than the particular gas pumped, and configuring the compressor to pump C02 does not express or imply any other particular structure in addition to the compressor configured to pump C02. Therefore, the C02 as refrigerant is an intended use of the machine and not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself.
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches a refrigerant compressor according to claim 1. Dittrich does not teach wherein the stator is mounted in the motor housing portion by means of supporting elements inserted into the motor housing portion, which supporting elements on the one hand abut against a stator-receiving surface of the motor housing portion and on the other hand surround the stator inserted into the supporting elements on its outer side and support it spring-elastically relative to the stator-receiving surface.
Strong Fig 1
Strong further teaches an electric motor (10) comprising a stator (fig 1, 20) and a rotor (22), wherein the stator (20) is mounted in the motor housing portion (16) by means of supporting elements (tolerance band 26) inserted into the motor housing portion, which supporting elements on the one hand abut against a stator-receiving surface (housing groove 27) and on the other hand surround the stator (20) inserted into the supporting elements on its outer side and support it elastically relative to the stator- receiving surface (par 0016).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor assembly of Dittrich by adding a tolerance band 26 of Strong between the stator and housing of Dittrich in order to reduce vibrations and noise of the motor (Strong, par 0018-0019).
Furthermore, the structure of applicant’s claimed support and Strong’s tolerance band (26) appear to be depicted nearly identically in applicant’s fig 8 and Strong’s fig 3, which would lead a reasonable person to believe that the two structures may have inherently the same attributes.
Annotations on Strong fig 3.
Applicant’s fig 8, Examiner notes that applicant’s fig 8 and Strong fig 9 appear to be substantially structurally similar
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 7, wherein the supporting elements have spring- elastic bodies (Strong, tolerance band 26 with waves 32 is elastomeric, par 0016). Strong does not explicitly disclose the elastic bodies being dimensioned such that they are in an elastically deformed state in all operating states of the motor housing portion occurring during operation of the refrigerant compressor.
Nevertheless, Strong teaches the dimensions of the band 26 would depend on the application (par 0016); and that size, torque, thermal range, acceptable cogging, ripple, noise, and vibration would all effect the end design and sizing of the tolerance band 26 (par 0016). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the operating states of the motor and refrigerant compressor in which the tolerance band 26 has an elastically deformable state is a matter of design choice; and that it is within the general skill of an ordinary practitioner of the art to select a tolerable size, torque, thermal range, cogging, ripple, noise, or vibration of the motor and thereby size the tolerance band 26 accordingly.
Strong fig 2
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 7, wherein the supports (Strong, band 20 with waves 32) are arranged running around the stator (Strong, fig 2, the band is arranged around the stator like a ring) and support the stator (Strong, para 0016) at a plurality of locations (fig 3 depicts a plurality of peaks and valleys) on opposite sides (fig 3 band 26 encircling the stator 20) of the rotor axis relative to the stator-receiving surface of the motor housing portion (Strong, fig 2).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 9, wherein the supporting elements have elastic bodies arranged at defined angular intervals around the rotor axis (Strong fig 2 shows band 20 with waves 32 at a regular wave pattern of equal angular intervals around the axis).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 7, wherein the elastic bodies (Strong, waves 32) are positioned relative to one another by a band material (Strong, tolerance band 26, par 0016) positioning them relative to one another (Strong, each wave 32 is positioned by band 26) and running around the stator (Strong, par 0016).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 11, wherein the elastic bodies (Strong, waves 32) are formed into the band material (Strong tolerance band 26).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 11, wherein the band material (Strong, tolerance band 26) is in the form of a ring-like clasp (Strong fig 3 is the same as applicant’s fig 8 depicting the ring-like clasp shape of the band) with open ends (Strong fig 3, tolerance band 26 has open ends in the same manner depicted in applicant’s fig 8).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 7, wherein the spring-elastic bodies (Strong, 32) have flank regions (Strong fig 3 is identical to applicants fig 8 and appears to have the claimed flank region) running at an acute angle (sides of waves 32 form acute angles with the surface it abuts against; *examiner notes that this interpretation is analogous to applicant’s disclosure of acute angle in applicant’s fig 8, specification par 0053, 0115, see drawings) to the outer side of the stator and/or to the stator-receiving surface between foot regions (Strong, peaks of waves 32) and support regions (valleys of waves 32), one of which abuts against the outer side of the stator (Strong, fig 2, band 26 presses against outside of stator) and the other of which abuts against the stator-receiving surface (Strong, fig 2, band 26 presses against inside of housing).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 7, wherein the spring-elastic bodies (Strong, 32) are successively formed into a spring-elastic band material (elastomeric material, par 0016) such that successive support regions (valleys of waves 32) abut against an outer side of the stator (Strong fig 2, band 26 presses against outside of stator) or against the stator-receiving surface and successive foot regions (peaks of waves 32) abut against the stator- receiving surface (band 26 presses against the inside of housing) or the outer side of the stator.
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 7, wherein the elastic bodies (Strong, fig 3, wave 32, par 0016) are located between edge regions (See annotated figure below) arranged peripherally around the stator, and the support regions (Strong, 32) are connected to the edge regions by means of flank regions (sides of wave 32) running at an acute angle (sides of waves 32 form acute angles with the surface it abuts against; *examiner notes that this interpretation is analogous to applicant’s disclosure of acute angle in applicant’s fig 8, specification par 0053, 0115, see drawings below) to the outer side of the stator and/or to the stator-receiving surface.
Annotations on Strong fig 3.
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 16, wherein, on the one hand, the support regions (Strong, 32) abut against the outer side of the stator or the stator-receiving surface.
Strong is silent as to whether the edge regions (Strong fig 9, See annotated drawing at claim 10) abut against the stator-receiving surface or the outer side of the stator.
Nevertheless, Strong teaches that the size and shape of the waves could be easily altered for an application to provide any desired holding force while minimizing or eliminating cogging from the motor 10. Therefore, it is within the general skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of Strong’s wave 32 to meet desired holding force.
The difference between Strong’s tolerance band 26 and the claim limitation is that Strong is silent as to whether each wave 32 protrudes in such a way that the edges of tolerance band 26 come into contact with either the outer wall of the stator or the inner wall of the motor housing.
Applicant does not disclose any unexpected result of the claimed edge portion abutting against the stator-receiving surface or the outer side of the stator, other than the predictable result of fixing the stator in place within the housing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape and position of Strong’s wave 32 such that the edges of tolerance band 26 abut against the stator-receiving surface or the outer side of the stator as an obvious change of shape (See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)). The rule is that changes of shape are a matter of choice which are obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669,). In this case, the claimed shape does nothing more than provide another variation of shape of the Strong tolerance band 26 which provides spring support of the stator with waves 32.
Furthermore, Since the shape would continue to support the stator against the motor housing using spring force from tolerance band 26, the Strong’s tolerance band 26 would continue to function in the same manner in the claimed configuration, and the claimed configuration would not modify the operation of Strong’s tolerance band 26.
Therefore, the claimed configuration of the support regions and edge regions is an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the refrigerant compressor of claim 7, wherein the support elements are formed from a spring steel (Strong, band 26 made of steel, par 0016; where that steel had a spring rate, par 0016).
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 7, wherein one of the supports (Strong, 26) is positioned in respect of its position in the motor housing portion by a step (Strong, groove 27; the expected result of the groove 27 is positioning of band 26, par 0016) adjoining the stator-receiving surface .
Regarding claim 21, the combination teaches the refrigerant compressor of claim 1, wherein the approximately cylindrical shape is a circular-cylindrical shape (Bahmata, fig 4, 20a is called cylindrical, par 0020; cylinders met the plain meaning of circular-cylindrical shape, because a conventional cylinder is a circular cylinder).
Regarding claim 22, the combination teaches the refrigerant compressor of claim 1, wherein the light metal is aluminum (Strong, motor housing sleeve made of aluminum, par 0015; Grybush, end housing and cast covers made of aluminum, par 0032, 0045).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittrich in view of Bahmata in view of Strong in view of Grybush in view of Damson in view of Mueller (DE9320524, citations to machine translation).
Annotations on Mueller fig 1
Regarding claim 2, the Dittrich combination teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 1.
Dittrich does not disclose at least one contact insert for guiding electrical lines into the overall housing is provided in one of the covers.
Nevertheless, Dittrich discloses the electric motor (20) but is silent about electrical connections to the motor to power or control said motor. The motor’s (20) requirement for electrical connections is a motivation to provide an electrical connection to motor (20) through some part of the outer housing (11 or two housing ends) of the compressor in order to reach the motor.
Mueller teaches a refrigerant compressor (fig 1, par 0019) with an electric motor (24), wherein at least one contact insert (fig 1, electrical supply lines 32, par 0020) for guiding electrical lines (32) into the housing at an analogous cover (See annotated drawing).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover at the motor axial end of Dittrich by adding a contact insert for guiding electrical lines to a cover nearest the electrical motor as taught by Muller for the expected result of providing electrical power to the motor (20) of Dittrich.
Regarding claim 3, the Dittrich combination in view of Mueller teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 2, wherein all electrical lines (Mueller, electrical lines 13) guided into the overall housing (Dittrich, 11) are guided by means of at least one contact insert (Mueller, electrical lines pass through the inserts, See annotated fig 1) in at least one of the covers (Mueller, electrical inserts are at the covers as taught by Mueller, See claim 2) of the overall housing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The nearest prior art is Banham (US 2020/0136470).
Banham fig 4
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance. It is noted by the examiner, and stated here for the record of prosecution, that the aspect of the instant invention determined to be novel and patentably distinct from the prior art is “wherein the supports are arranged successively in the direction of the rotor axis and are positioned spaced apart from one another in the motor housing portion by a spacer element, and wherein the spacer element is inserted into the stator-receiving surface.”
These limitations distinguish over Banham’s grooves cut into the outer housing or stator in order to place corrugated rings 32a-32e (Braham, para 0031, 0037) because the claimed spacer is insert into the stator-receiving surface and provides the benefit of placement of the rings without material removal (as applicant has argued on pages 11 and 12 of the Remarks dated 27 February 2024), and thereby make the claim read over the prior art. The sum of these limitations is not disclosed by the prior art and it would not be obvious to combine references in an effort to meet all of the claimed elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Page 3, applicant argues that the previous combination does not teach the specific selection of structural materials in the new amendment.
New art Damson shows an analogous compressor cylinder head with the same mixture of claimed elements made of the claimed materials, and also teaches a motivation for the claimed selection of materials. Therefore, the claims are rejected under a new combination of prior art above.
Examiner notes that under the new combination the previous prior art Schoegler (US 2013/0034456) was replaced by Damson.
Conclusion
/GEOFFREY S LEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3746 /DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746