DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/21/24 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: generating unit, obtaining unit and storing unit in claim 1:
generating unit - Image processing unit generates new image by combining a mask image with scanned image Applicants Specification paragraph 0038,
obtaining unit - output confirmation screen 800 may be a screen for presenting to the user the current output contents of the output image data and obtaining a designation of the output contents from the user– Applicants Specification paragraph 0073,
storing unit - data storage unit 202 to store the mask-combined image data – Applicants Specification paragraph 0038
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mashimo 20160112600 in view of Ingermanson et al 20100053211.
Regarding claim 1, Mashimo 20160112600 teaches An information processing apparatus comprising:
a generating unit configured to generate second image data by executing masking processing on first image data (detecting a picture region 502, the region separating section 202 also detects location information of the picture region 502 in the image data 500 (paragraph 0029). the masking region selection receiving section 203 selects, as masking regions requested by the user to be masked, picture regions 502 corresponding to the masking candidate regions selected by the user (paragraph 0030);
Mashimo fails to teach an obtaining unit configured to separately obtain a designation of a first storage destination and a designation of a second storage destination from a user;
a storing unit configured to store the first image data in the first storage destination and the second image data in the second storage destination;
Ingermanson et al teaches an obtaining unit configured to separately obtain a designation of a first storage destination and a designation of a second storage destination from a user (GUI screen (obtaining unit) of the user chooses a source folder containing images to be processed by way of the drop-down menu entitled "Source Folder" (paragraph 0053). GUI screen (obtaining unit) the user chooses a destination folder. Preferably, the automated image processing will generate reference "mask" images and *.csv files (Excel compatible) and place these files in the folder designated here. The destination folder may be found or created using the "Destination Folder" (fig 4 and paragraph 0054);
a storing unit configured to store the first image data in the first storage destination and the second image data in the second storage destination (the images are placed in a file system storage structure, for example a folder (storing unit), by the automated image processing system (paragraph 0050). the user chooses a source folder containing images to be processed by way of the drop-down menu entitled "Source Folder" (paragraph 0053). GUI screen the user chooses a destination folder. Preferably, the automated image processing will generate reference "mask" images and *.csv files (Excel compatible) and place these files in the folder designated here. The destination folder may be found or created using the "Destination Folder" (fig 4 and paragraph 0054)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mashimo to include: an obtaining unit configured to separately obtain a designation of a first storage destination and a designation of a second storage destination from a user; a storing unit configured to store the first image data in the first storage destination and the second image data in the second storage destination
The reason of doing so would to identify storage in which image data should be stored.
Regarding claim 2, Mashimo in view of Ingermanson et al teaches wherein the information processing apparatus is included in an image forming apparatus, and the obtaining unit obtains the designation of the first storage destination and the designation of the second storage destination by using an operation unit of the image forming apparatus (Ingermanson et al: GUI screen of the user chooses a source folder containing images to be processed by way of the drop-down menu entitled "Source Folder" (paragraph 0053). GUI screen the user chooses a destination folder. Preferably, the automated image processing will generate reference "mask" images and *.csv files (Excel compatible) and place these files in the folder designated here. The destination folder may be found or created using the "Destination Folder" (fig 4 and paragraph 0054).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mashimo to include: wherein the information processing apparatus is included in an image forming apparatus, and the obtaining unit obtains the designation of the first storage destination and the designation of the second storage destination by using an operation unit of the image forming apparatus;
The reason of doing so would to identify storage in which image data should be stored.
Regarding claim 3, Mashimo in view of Ingermanson et al teaches wherein the storing unit starts storing the first image data and storing the second image data in response a single instruction from the user (Ingermanson et al : GUI screen of FIG. 4, the user chooses a destination folder. Preferably, the automated image processing will generate reference "mask" images and *.csv files (Excel compatible) and place these files in the folder designated here (paragraph 0054).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mashimo to include: wherein the storing unit starts storing the first image data and storing the second image data in response a single instruction from the user;
The reason of doing so would to so that a user can initiate the storage of image data should be stored.
Regarding claim 4, Mashimo in view of Ingermanson et al teaches wherein the storing unit determines a file name for at least one of the first image data and the second image data based on a folder name of a storage destination (Ingermanson et al: GUI screen of the user chooses a source folder containing images to be processed by way of the drop-down menu entitled "Source Folder" (paragraph 0053). GUI screen the user chooses a destination folder. Preferably, the automated image processing will generate reference "mask" images and *.csv files (Excel compatible) and place these files in the folder designated here. The destination folder may be found or created using the "Destination Folder" (fig 4 and paragraph 0054)..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mashimo to include: wherein the storing unit determines a file name for at least one of the first image data and the second image data based on a folder name of a storage destination;
The reason of doing so would to so that a user can label the storage of image data should be stored.
Regarding claim 5, Mashimo in view of Ingermanson et al teaches wherein separately obtaining the designation of the first storage destination and the designation of the second storage destination from the user includes separately obtaining a designation of a first folder name and a designation of a second folder name from the user, and the storing unit in a case where a folder having the first folder name does not exist, generates a first folder having the first folder name and stores the first image data in the first folder, and in a case where a folder having the second folder name does not exist, generates a second folder having the second folder name and stores the second image data in the second folder (Ingermanson et al: GUI screen of the user chooses a source folder containing images to be processed by way of the drop-down menu entitled "Source Folder" (paragraph 0053). GUI screen the user chooses a destination folder. The destination folder may be found or created using the "Destination Folder" (fig 4 and paragraph 0054).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mashimo to include: wherein separately obtaining the designation of the first storage destination and the designation of the second storage destination from the user includes separately obtaining a designation of a first folder name and a designation of a second folder name from the user, and the storing unit in a case where a folder having the first folder name does not exist, generates a first folder having the first folder name and stores the first image data in the first folder and in a case where a folder having the second folder name does not exist, generates a second folder having the second folder name and stores the second image data in the second folder
The reason of doing so would to so that a user can label the storage of image data should be stored.
Regarding claim 7, Mashimo in view of Ingermanson et al teaches wherein the obtaining unit provides to the user a single graphic object for obtaining an instruction to store the first image data and the second image data in a same folder from the user (Ingermanson et al: GUI screen of the user chooses a source folder containing images to be processed by way of the drop-down menu entitled "Source Folder" (paragraph 0053). GUI screen the user chooses a destination folder. Preferably, the automated image processing will generate reference "mask" images and *.csv files (Excel compatible) and place these files in the folder designated here. The destination folder may be found or created using the "Destination Folder" (fig 4 and paragraph 0054) Note: the folders are read as graphic object.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mashimo to include: wherein the obtaining unit provides to the user a single graphic object for obtaining an instruction to store the first image data and the second image data in a same folder from the user
The reason of doing so would to so that a user can identify the storage of image data should be stored.
Regarding claim 8, Mashimo in view of Ingermanson et al teaches wherein the obtaining unit provides to the user a single graphic object for obtaining an instruction to store the first image data and the second image data in separate folders from the user (Ingermanson et al: GUI screen of the user chooses a source folder containing images to be processed by way of the drop-down menu entitled "Source Folder" (paragraph 0053). GUI screen the user chooses a destination folder. Preferably, the automated image processing will generate reference "mask" images and *.csv files (Excel compatible) and place these files in the folder designated here. The destination folder may be found or created using the "Destination Folder" (fig 4 and paragraph 0054).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mashimo to include: wherein the obtaining unit provides to the user a single graphic object for obtaining an instruction to store the first image data and the second image data in a same folder from the user
The reason of doing so would to so that a user can identify the storage of image data should be stored.
Regarding claim 9, Mashimo in view of Ueno et al teaches a non-transitory storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer to function as the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (Mashimo: memory 540 (paragraph 0021).
Regarding claim 10, Mashimo teaches an information processing method comprising:
generating second image data by executing masking processing on first image data (detecting a picture region 502, the region separating section 202 also detects location information of the picture region 502 in the image data 500 (paragraph 0029). the masking region selection receiving section 203 selects, as masking regions requested by the user to be masked, picture regions 502 corresponding to the masking candidate regions selected by the user (paragraph 0030);
Mashimo fails to teach separately obtaining a designation of a first storage destination and a designation of a second storage destination from a user;
storing the first image data in the first storage destination and the second image data in the second storage destination;
Ingermanson et al teaches separately obtaining a designation of a first storage destination and a designation of a second storage destination from a user (GUI screen (obtaining unit) of the user chooses a source folder containing images to be processed by way of the drop-down menu entitled "Source Folder" (paragraph 0053). GUI screen (obtaining unit) the user chooses a destination folder. Preferably, the automated image processing will generate reference "mask" images and *.csv files (Excel compatible) and place these files in the folder designated here. The destination folder may be found or created using the "Destination Folder" (fig 4 and paragraph 0054); and
storing the first image data in the first storage destination and the second image data in the second storage destination (the images are placed in a file system storage structure, for example a folder (storing unit), by the automated image processing system (paragraph 0050). the user chooses a source folder containing images to be processed by way of the drop-down menu entitled "Source Folder" (paragraph 0053). GUI screen the user chooses a destination folder. Preferably, the automated image processing will generate reference "mask" images and *.csv files (Excel compatible) and place these files in the folder designated here. The destination folder may be found or created using the "Destination Folder" (fig 4 and paragraph 0054);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mashimo to include: separately obtaining a designation of a first storage destination and a designation of a second storage destination from a user;
storing the first image data in the first storage destination and the second image data in the second storage destination;
The reason of doing so would to so that a user can identify the storage of image data should be stored.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mashimo 20160112600 in view of Ingermanson et al 20100053211further in view of Parker et al US 5729734.
Regarding claim 6, Mashimo in view of Ingermanson et al teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 5
Mashimo in view of Ingermanson et al fails to teach wherein the storing unit sets access privileges for the second folder based on an account of the user when the second folder is generated.
Parker et al teaches wherein the storing unit sets access privileges for the second folder based on an account of the user when the second folder is generated (a plurality of access privilege selection icons are also provided within window 414. There is an icon entitled "Owner" 423. If the administrator selects the Owner 423 icon, the selected user, e.g., user C in sub-window 431, will be given owner-type privileges with respect to the selected item, e.g., test folder-1 (417). (column 10, lines 51-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mashimo in view of Ingermanson et al to include: wherein the storing unit sets access privileges for the second folder based on an account of the user when the second folder is generated;
The reason of doing so would to so that a user can give access the storage of image data.
Conclusion
Michael Burleson
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2683
Michael Burleson
June 10, 2026
/MICHAEL BURLESON/
/AKWASI M SARPONG/SPE, Art Unit 2681