DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant states that Lee fails to disclose that a first part is farther away from a long side of the substrate than a second part. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses a first part 33 and a second part 34, where the first is disposed inward of the substrate on the long side and the short side, and the second part 34 sits outside of the first part 33 on the long side and the short side. The first part 33 will always be farther away from any edge of the substrate than the second part 34, so Lee does disclose that:
The first being at a position at a first distance from the long side of the substrate in the second direction, and the second part being at a position at a second distance from the long side of the substrate in the second direction (Lee, Figure 13, the first part 33 is farther away from the long edge than the second part 34), wherein
The first distance is greater than the second distance (Lee, Figure 13, the first part 33 is farther away from the long edge than the second part 34).
As detailed in the rejection of claim 1 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US Publication No.: US 2012/0104937 A1 of record, “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a light emitting device (Figures 13-15) comprising:
A substrate that, in plan view, has a polygonal shape with a long side in a direction of that is a first direction a short side in a short side direction that is a second direction (Figures 13-15, substrate 10 has a polygonal (rectangle) shape);
A light emitting region including a plurality of light emitting elements provided on the substrate (Figure 13, light emitting region 20 comprises a plurality of light emitting element) and
Each of the plurality of light emitting elements having a first electrode and a second electrode (Figure 13, first electrode 21, second electrode 22; Paragraph 0099),
With the light emitting layer being interposed therebetween (Figure 13; Paragraph 0099 discloses a light emitting layer (organic emission layer) therebetween);
A first contact region which is disposed in a peripheral region of the light emitting region of the substrate and which is electrically connected to the second electrode (Figure 13, first contact region 24; Paragraph 0101); and
A moisture-resistant ring which is provided on the substrate and which surrounds the light emitting region and the first contact region (Figure 13, moisture-resistant ring 33/34; Paragraph 0098), wherein
The first electrode of each of the plurality of light emitting elements is electrically separated, and the second electrode is a common electrode shared by the plurality of light emitting elements (Paragraph 0099), wherein
The moisture-resistant ring has a first part and a second part disposed along one long side of the light emitting region of the substrate (Figure 13, moisture-resistant ring has a first part 33 and a second part 34),
The first being at a position at a first distance from the long side of the substrate in the second direction, and the second part being at a position at a second distance from the long side of the substrate in the second direction (Figure 13, the first part 33 is farther away from the long edge than the second part 34), wherein
The first distance is greater than the second distance (Figure 13, the first part 33 is farther away from the long edge than the second part 34), and wherein
The first contact region is disposed between the second part of the moisture-ring and the light emitting region in the second direction (Figure 13, the first contact region 24 is disposed between the second part 34 and the light emitting region 20).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the moisture-resistant ring has a first narrow-width portion having the first part on a side of the one long side and a first wide-width portion having the second part on the side of the one long side, wherein the first narrow-width portion of the moisture-resistant ring is between the first wide-width portion and a second wide-width portion in the first direction, wherein the first contact region is provided in the first wide width portion (Figure 13, as annotated below, first contact region 24), and wherein a second contact region electrically connected to the second electrode is provided in the second wide-width portion (Figure 13, as annotated below, second contact region 23; Paragraphs 0101-0103).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 2, wherein positions of the first narrow-width portion and the first wide-width portion in the second direction are different from each other relative to the one long side, and wherein positions of the first narrow-width portion and the first wide-width portion in the second direction coincide with each other relative to the other long side (Figure 13, as annotated in the rejection of claim 2 above, discloses that the first narrow-width portion does not overlap with one another, so they are different, but they are next to one another, so they coincide).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 3, wherein the first contact region is disposed on the side of the one long side relative to the light emitting region, in the first wide-width portion of the moisture-resistant ring (Figure 13, as annotated in the rejection of claim 2 above, discloses that the first contact region 24 is disposed in the first wide-width portion).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 1, further comprising: a pad which is adjacent to the second part and disposed in the region on the light emitting region side of the moisture-resistant ring and which is electrically connected to the first contact region (Figure 13, pad 35).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 1, further comprising: a circuit region which is adjacent to the second part and disposed in the region on the light emitting region side of the moisture-resistant ring and in which a part of a circuit for driving the light emitting element is formed (Paragraph 0053 discloses a circuit region; Paragraph 0099).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the moisture-resistant ring has a first narrow-width portion having the first part on the side of the one long side and a first wide-width portion having the second part on the side of the one long side, and wherein the moisture-resistant ring includes the first narrow-width portion, a second narrow-width portion disposed on the side of the one long side of the light emitting region, and the first wide-width portion disposed between the first narrow-width portion and the second narrow-width portion (Figure 13, as annotated below).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee discloses a light emitting device comprising (Figures 13-15):
A substrate that, in a plan view, has a polygonal shape with a long side in a long side direction that is a first direction and a short side in a short side direction that is a second direction (Figures 13-15, substrate 10 has a polygonal (rectangle) shape);
A light emitting region including a plurality of light emitting elements provided on the substrate (Figure 13, light emitting region 20 comprises a plurality of light emitting element) and
Each of the plurality of light emitting elements having a first electrode and a second electrode (Figure 13, first electrode 21, second electrode 22; Paragraph 0099),
With the light emitting layer being interposed therebetween (Figure 13; Paragraph 0099 discloses a light emitting layer (organic emission layer) therebetween);
A first contact region and a second contact region which are disposed in a peripheral region of the light emitting region of the substrate and which are electrically connected to the second electrode (Figure 13, first contact region 24, second contact region 23; Paragraph 0101); and
A moisture-resistant ring which is provided on the substrate and which surrounds the light emitting region, the first contact region, and the second contact region (Figure 13, moisture-resistant ring 33/34; Paragraph 0098), wherein
The first electrode of each of the plurality of light emitting elements is electrically separated, and the second electrode is a common electrode shared by the plurality of light emitting elements (Paragraph 0099), wherein
The moisture-resistant ring comprises a first depressed portion on a long side of the light emitting region of the substrate (Figure 13, moisture-resistant ring formed by 33/34, with a first depressed portion therebetween, as annotated below), wherein
The first depressed portion of the moisture-resistant ring is disposed between the first contact region and the second contact region (Figure 13, as annotated below).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 8, wherein the moisture-resistant ring further comprises a second depressed portion on the side of the one long side, and wherein the second depressed portion, the first contact region, the first depressed portion, and the second contact region are disposed in this order (Figure 13, as annotated below).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 8, wherein the first contact region, the second contact region, and the first depressed portion of the moisture-resistant ring are disposed between the light emitting region and one long side end portion of the substrate (Figure 13, as annotated in the rejection of claim 9 above discloses one long side from left to right, where the light emitting region is in between or into the page, and then first contact region, the second contact region, and the first depressed portion are all disposed between the light emitting region and the one long side end portion of the substrate).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 8, wherein the first contact region, the first depressed portion of the moisture-resistant ring, and the second contact region are disposed in series in the first direction (Figure 13, as annotated in the rejection of claim 8 above discloses the first contact region, the first depressed portion, and the second contact region, all disposed in series).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 8, wherein the first depressed portion of the moisture-resistant ring is an area with which a part of a mask for deposition comes into contact with the substrate in a case where the light emitting element is formed (Figure 13 discloses an empty space for the first depressed portion, where a mask would not be needed).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 8, further comprising: a first pad and a second pad which are disposed in the peripheral region of the light emitting region of the substrate and which are electrically connected to the first contact region and the second contact region, respectively, wherein the first contact region, the first pad, the first depressed portion of the moisture- resistant ring, the second contact region, and the second pad are disposed between the light emitting region and one long side end portion of the substrate (Figure 13, first and second pads 35).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 13, wherein the first pad, the first contact region, the first depressed portion of the moisture-resistant ring, the second contact region, and the second pad are disposed in series in the first direction (Figure 13, as annotated in the rejection of claim 8 above, discloses that the first pad, the first contact region, the first depressed portion of the moisture-resistant ring, the second contact region, and the second pad are disposed in series).
Regarding Claim 15, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 8, further comprising: a circuit region which is disposed in the peripheral region of the light emitting region of the substrate and in which a part of a circuit for driving the light emitting element is formed, wherein the first contact region, the second contact region, the circuit region, and the first depressed portion of the moisture-resistant ring are disposed between the light emitting region and one long side end portion of the substrate (Paragraph 0053 discloses a circuit region; Paragraph 0099).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 15, wherein the first contact region, the circuit region, the first depressed portion of the moisture-resistant ring, and the second contact region are disposed in series in the first direction (Paragraph 0053 discloses a circuit region; Paragraph 0099).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 8, further comprising: a first pad and a second pad which are disposed in the peripheral region of the light emitting region of the substrate and which are electrically connected to the first contact region and the second contact region, respectively, and a circuit region which is disposed in the peripheral region of the light emitting region of the substrate and in which a part of a circuit for driving the light emitting element is formed, wherein the first contact region, the second contact region, the first pad, the second pad, the circuit region, and the first depressed portion of the moisture-resistant ring are disposed between the light emitting region and one long side end portion of the substrate (Figure 13, first and second pads 35; Paragraph 0053 discloses a circuit region; Paragraph 0099).
Regarding Claim 18, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 17, wherein the first pad, the first contact region, the circuit region, the first depressed portion of the moisture-resistant ring, the second contact region, and the second pad are disposed in series in the first direction (Figure 13, as annotated in the rejection of claim 8 above, discloses that the first pad, the first contact region, the circuit region, the first depressed portion of the moisture-resistant ring, the second contact region, and the second pad are disposed in series).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Koyama et al (US Publication No.: US 2022/0171308 A1 of record, “Koyama”).
Regarding Claim 19, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 1.
Lee fails to disclose a photosensitive member; a charging section which charges the photosensitive member; an exposure section and which forms an electrostatic latent image on a surface of the photosensitive member; a development section which develops the electrostatic latent image; and a transfer section which transfers the developed image to a recording medium.
However, Koyama discloses an image forming apparatus (Koyama, Figure 1; Paragraph 0025), comprising a photosensitive member (Koyama, Figure 1, photosensitive member 102); a charging section which charges the photosensitive member (Koyama, Figure 1, charging section 107); an exposure section and which forms an electrostatic latent image on a surface of the photosensitive member (Koyama, Figure 1, exposure section 106); a development section which develops the electrostatic latent image (Koyama, Figure 1, development section 108); and a transfer section which transfers the developed image to a recording medium (Figure 1, transfer section 110/111; Paragraph 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light emitting device as disclosed by Lee to be part of an image forming apparatus as disclosed by Koyama. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing the image forming process (Koyama, Paragraphs 0025-0026).
Regarding Claim 20, Lee discloses the light emitting device according to claim 8.
Lee fails to disclose a photosensitive member; a charging section which charges the photosensitive member; an exposure section and which forms an electrostatic latent image on a surface of the photosensitive member; a development section which develops the electrostatic latent image; and a transfer section which transfers the developed image to a recording medium.
However, Koyama discloses an image forming apparatus (Koyama, Figure 1; Paragraph 0025), comprising a photosensitive member (Koyama, Figure 1, photosensitive member 102); a charging section which charges the photosensitive member (Koyama, Figure 1, charging section 107); an exposure section and which forms an electrostatic latent image on a surface of the photosensitive member (Koyama, Figure 1, exposure section 106); a development section which develops the electrostatic latent image (Koyama, Figure 1, development section 108); and a transfer section which transfers the developed image to a recording medium (Figure 1, transfer section 110/111; Paragraph 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light emitting device as disclosed by Lee to be part of an image forming apparatus as disclosed by Koyama. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing the image forming process (Koyama, Paragraphs 0025-0026).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871