DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Regarding Claim-8, the limitation “a transfer layer is provided on an end face of a soldering pad close to the fuse” is not shown in the drawings. Therefore, the – “a transfer layer is provided on an end face of a soldering pad close to the fuse”- must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Regarding Claim-2, the limitation “an avoidance groove corresponding to a welding window is provided in the mica sheet”- is not shown in the drawings. Therefore, the – “an avoidance groove corresponding to a welding window is provided in the mica sheet”- must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)- 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over- MIHARA et al., (US 20220190451) in view of LAN et al. (US 20260094946).
Regarding Claim-1, MIHARA et al.- discloses a busbar (Fig. -2, Item#3) for integrating battery cells and a voltage sense harness (“VSH”) component electrically connected to the busbar, the busbar including a plurality of connection bars (Fig. -2, Item#12b, & 14b) connected to positive or negative electrodes of the battery cells and an insulating layer covering both sides of the plurality of connection bars (Fig. -8, Item#36A, 36B, covers both the connection line and the connection bar) in one piece, the VSH component including a first circuit board with a plurality of connection lines and an insulating film covering both sides of the plurality of connection lines (Fig. -8, Item# 36A, 36B), one end of a connection bar located away from a battery cell being connected to a corresponding connection line through a fuse (Fig. -4, Item#11), the fuse being provided on the outside of the corresponding insulating film and insulating layer (Fig. -4, Item#15), also refer to annotated figures 2 and 4 below.
MIHARA et al. - does not disclose the welding of fuses, in fact MIHARA et al. did not disclose how the fuses are mechanically connected to the connection bar or the PCB. However, LAN et. al. - discloses the welding of fuses, each of the insulating film and insulating layer having welding windows, wherein the plurality of connection lines and the plurality of connection bars are respectively provided with welding pads at corresponding welding windows, and two ends of the fuse are respectively electrically connected to corresponding welding pads (Fig.-4, Item#260, & Paragraph [0044]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the welding of fuses as disclosed by LAN et. al. for better attachment of the fuse, and better conductive performance of this battery bus bar connection system, and since MIHARA et al. – did not disclose how the fuses were mechanically attached to the connection bar.
Regarding Claim-3, MIHARA et al.- discloses that the welding terminals (Fig. 4, Item-12B) protrude at both ends of the Fuse Fig. -8, Item#36A, 36B, covers both the connection line and the connection bar as one piece)
Regarding Claim-4, modified MIHARA et al.- discloses that that the insulating layer and insulating film bars are on the same side are an integrated structure (Fig. -8, Item#36A, 36B, covers both the connection line and the connection bar).
Claim-5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified - MIHARA et al. (US 20220190451) - further in view of Jeon et at. (US 20220336908) and Otsubo et al . (US 11152327).
Regarding Claim-5, modified MIHARA et al. does not disclose that the plurality of connecting lines, the plurality of connecting bars, and fuse is made of the same conductive materials. However, Jeon et at. (US 20220336908) discloses that all connecting lines and bars are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials (Fig.-2, Item- 230, and paragraph [0072]). Also, Otsubo et al . (US 11152327) discloses that all fuses are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials (Fig.-1, Tem-6, 7, and Claim-6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use all connecting lines, bars and fuses are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials to achieve better electrical circuit performance through these connectors, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding Claim-6, modified MIHARA et al. does not disclose that the plurality of connecting lines, the plurality of connecting bars, and fuse is made of metal aluminum. However, Jeon et at. (US 20220336908) discloses that all connecting lines and bars are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials (Fig.-2, Item- 230, and paragraph [0072]). Also, Otsubo et al . (US 11152327) discloses that all fuses are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials (Fig.-1, Tem-6, 7, and Claim-6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use all connecting lines, bars and fuses are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials to achieve better electrical circuit performance through these connectors, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding Claim-7, modified MIHARA et al. does not disclose that the plurality of connecting lines, the plurality of connecting bars, and fuse is made of metal copper. However, Jeon et at. (US 20220336908) discloses that all connecting lines and bars are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials (Fig.-2, Item- 230, and paragraph [0072]). Also, Otsubo et al . (US 11152327) discloses that all fuses are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials (Fig.-1, Tem-6, 7, and Claim-6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use all connecting lines, bars and fuses are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials to achieve better electrical circuit performance through these connectors, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding Claim-8, modified MIHARA et al. does not disclose that the plurality of connecting lines, the plurality of connecting bars, and the fuse are made of different conductive materials, and a transfer layer is provided on an end face of a soldering pad close to the fuse or on the side of the fuse end close to the soldering pad. However, Jeon et at. (US 20220336908) discloses that all connecting lines and bars are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials (Fig.-2, Item- 230, and paragraph [0072]). Also, Otsubo et al . (US 11152327) discloses that all fuses are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials (Fig.-1, Tem-6, 7, and Claim-6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use all connecting lines, bars and fuses are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials to achieve better electrical circuit performance through these connectors, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding Claim-9, modified MIHARA et al. does not disclose that the plurality of connecting lines and the plurality of connecting bars are made of metal aluminum, and the fuse is made of metal copper. However, Jeon et at. (US 20220336908) discloses that all connecting lines and bars are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials (Fig.-2, Item- 230, and paragraph [0072]). Also, Otsubo et al . (US 11152327) discloses that all fuses are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials (Fig.-1, Tem-6, 7, and Claim-6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use all connecting lines, bars and fuses are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials to achieve better electrical circuit performance through these connectors, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding Claim-10, modified MIHARA et al. does not disclose that the plurality of connecting lines and the plurality of connecting bars are made of metal copper, and the fuse is made of metal aluminum. However, Jeon et at. (US 20220336908) discloses that all connecting lines and bars are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials (Fig.-2, Item- 230, and paragraph [0072]). Also, Otsubo et al . (US 11152327) discloses that all fuses are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials (Fig.-1, Tem-6, 7, and Claim-6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use all connecting lines, bars and fuses are made of the same conductive material, like aluminum and/or copper materials to achieve better electrical circuit performance through these connectors, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
OBAIDUL GANI
Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847