DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/04/2023; 12/13/2024; 04/03/2025; 05/05/2025; 06/25/2025; 08/11/2025; 10/08/2025; 12/04/2025; 04/03/2026; 06/10/2026; 08/07/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12/072,443.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Claim 1 of the U.S. Patent No. 12/072,443 discloses
generate a representation of one or more bounding shapes of one or more elements in an environment based at least on a neural network processing a projected representation of one or more classified detections (Claim 1: generating a representation of a range image; classification data representing one or more extracted classifications of elements in the environment; generating one or more bounding shapes of the elements based at least on the labeled geometry data); and
cause performance of one or more operations corresponding to a machine based at least on the representation of the one or more bounding shapes (Claim 1: providing data representing the one or more bounding shapes to a control component of an autonomous vehicle).
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12/164,059.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Claim 1 of the U.S. Patent No. 12/164,059 discloses
generate a representation of one or more bounding shapes of one or more elements in an environment based at least on a neural network processing a projected representation of one or more classified detections (Claim 1: generating one or more bounding shapes of the one or more elements based at least on the class confidence data wherein classifications corresponding to one or more pixels to one or more Neural Networks (NNs), class confidence data representing one or more classifications of one or more elements in the environment); and
cause performance of one or more operations corresponding to a machine based at least on the representation of the one or more bounding shapes (Claim 1: providing data representing the one or more bounding shapes to a control component of an autonomous vehicle).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Claim 2 of the U.S. Patent No. 12/164,059 discloses generate the projected representation of the one or more classified detections based at least on transforming a segmented range image into a top-down representation (Claim 2: generating one or more height maps that represent the LiDAR point cloud from a top-down view).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Claim 3 of the U.S. Patent No. 12/164,059 discloses generate the projected representation of the one or more classified detections based at least on projecting one or more classified points in a point cloud onto a plane (Claim 3: the one or more height maps having pixels storing minimum or maximum height values using one or more columns of the one or more points in the LiDAR point cloud).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Claim 4 of the U.S. Patent No. 12/164,059 discloses generate the projected representation of the one or more classified detections based at least on associating one or more sensor detections with one or more corresponding classification values from one or more predicted confidence maps (Claim 4: generating first class confidence data representing one or more initial classifications of an image of a first two-dimensional (2D) view of the environment).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Claim 5 of the U.S. Patent No. 12/164,059 discloses generate the projected representation of the one or more classified detections based at least on filtering out at least one of the one or more classified detections that is above a threshold height (Claim 5: extracting of the class confidence data using the one or more NNs comprises applying the representation of the height data and the one or more view transformed per-pixel classifications to separate input channels of the one or more NNs).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Claim 5 of the U.S. Patent No. 12/164,059 discloses generate the projected representation of the one or more classified detections based at least on storing, in at least one individual pixel of one or more pixels of the projected representation, extracted classification data associated with at least one of the one or more classified detections that project onto the at least one individual pixel (Claim 5: extracting of the class confidence data using the one or more NNs comprises applying the representation of the height data and the one or more view transformed per-pixel classifications to separate input channels of the one or more NNs).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Claim 7 of the U.S. Patent No. 12/164,059 discloses generate the projected representation of the one or more classified detections based at least on transforming at least one of one or more confidence maps or one or more segmentation masks into a different two-dimensional view (Claim 7: the representation of the height data and the one or more view transformed per-pixel classifications representing one or more initial classifications transformed into a top-down view of the environment).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Claim 5 of the U.S. Patent No. 12/164,059 discloses generate the one or more classified detections based at least on un-projecting classified image data into a three-dimensional space (Claim 5).
Regarding claim 9, Claim 5 of the U.S. Patent No. 12/164,059 discloses generate the projected representation of the one or more classified detections based at least on projecting one or more detected three-dimensional locations labeled with one or more classifications (Claim 5).
Regarding claims 10, 19, and 21, Claim 20 of the U.S. Patent No. 12/164,059 discloses the one or more processors are comprised in at least one of: a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system implemented using a robot; a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources (Claim 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziyaee et al. (US Patent No. 10,860,034) in view of Banerjee et al. (US 2020/0301013; Cited in IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Ziyaee discloses one or more processors and a system, the processor comprising processing circuitry to:
generate a representation of one or more bounding shapes of one or more elements in an environment based at least on a neural network (Col. 5 lines 4-10; Col. 6 lines 14-20; Col. 6 lines 42-49; e.g., one or more objects that have classified as static may correspond to barriers (e.g., walls, fences, medians, guard rails, or curbs) and these barriers may be correlated with boundaries in or other features in navigation map) and (Col. 3 lines 5-10; Col. 3 lines 15-20; Col. 4 lines 35-45; e.g., a birds-eye-view map may be input to a machine learning system (e.g., a convolutional neural network) to obtain a classified map that labels objects detected in the space with classifications (e.g., static or dynamic)); and
cause performance of one or more operations corresponding to a machine based at least on the representation of the one or more bounding shapes (Col. 3 lines 24-30; e.g., outputting commands to the actuators ot manuever o a vehicle in operation 180); It is noted that commands are based on the classified map and object moving from object tracker.
Ziyaee fails to specifically disclose a neural network processing a projected representation of one or more classified detections.
However, Banerjee discloses a neural network processing a projected representation of one or more classified detections (paragraphs [0006], [0019]; e.g., each data type of fused hybrid data is fed into an independent CNN network to learn features and then the learned features are concatenated and fed through fully connected layers via a CNN to detect and classify object (class score) and predict the bounding box for the object ).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Ziyaee in combination of Banerjee as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to processing a projected representation of one or more classified detections in order to detect or classify objects in the scene based on the image data and the encoded projected depth data (Banerjee: paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Ziyaee in combination with Banerjee discloses the one or more processors and the system of claims 1 and 11, wherein the processing circuitry is further to generate the projected representation of the one or more classified detections based at least on transforming a segmented range image into a top-down representation (Ziyaee: Col. 1 lines 54-55; see birds-eye-view maps).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Ziyaee in combination with Banerjee discloses the one or more processors and the system of claims 1 and 11, wherein the processing circuitry is further to generate the projected representation of the one or more classified detections based at least on projecting one or more classified points in a point cloud onto a plane (Ziyaee: Col. 2 lines 50-57; Col. 4 lines 10-15).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Ziyaee in combination with Banerjee discloses the one or more processors and the system of claims 1 and 11, wherein the processing circuitry is further to generate the projected representation of the one or more classified detections based at least on associating one or more sensor detections with one or more corresponding classification values from one or more predicted confidence maps (Ziyaee: Col. 6 lines 5-11; lines 26-40).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Ziyaee in combination with Banerjee discloses the one or more processors and the system of claims 1 and 11, wherein the processing circuitry is further to generate the projected representation of the one or more classified detections based at least on filtering out at least one of the one or more classified detections that is above a threshold height (Ziyaee: Col. 6 lines 5-11; lines 26-40) and (Banerjee: paragraphs [0024], [0119]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Ziyaee in combination with Banerjee discloses the one or more processors and the system of claims 1 and 11, wherein the processing circuitry is further to generate the projected representation of the one or more classified detections based at least on storing, in at least one individual pixel of one or more pixels of the projected representation, extracted classification data associated with at least one of the one or more classified detections that project onto the at least one individual pixel (Ziyaee: Col. 2 lines 50-57; Col. 4 lines 10-16; Col. 6 lines 5-11; Col. 6 lines 26-40).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Ziyaee in combination with Banerjee discloses the one or more processors and the system of claims 1 and 11, wherein the processing circuitry is further to generate the projected representation of the one or more classified detections based at least on transforming at least one of one or more confidence maps or one or more segmentation masks into a different two-dimensional view (Ziyaee: Col. 6 lines 5-11; lines 26-40) and (Banerjee: paragraph [0144], [0146]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Ziyaee in combination with Banerjee discloses the one or more processors and the system of claims 1 and 11, wherein the processing circuitry is further to generate the one or more classified detections based at least on un-projecting classified image data into a three-dimensional space (Ziyaee: Col. 3 lines 5-10; Col. 3 lines 60-65).
Regarding claim 9, Ziyaee in combination with Banerjee discloses the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further to generate the projected representation of the one or more classified detections based at least on projecting one or more detected three-dimensional locations labeled with one or more classifications (Ziyaee: Col. 3 lines 5-10; Col. 3 lines 60-65) and (Banerjee: paragraph [0119]).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Ziyaee in combination with Banerjee discloses the one or more processors and the system of claims 1 and 11, wherein the one or more processors are comprised in at least one of: a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system implemented using a robot; a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources (Ziyaee: Col. 2 lines 60-65; see a machine learning system classifies objects detected) and (Banerjee: paragraphs [0074]; [0131]; e.g., see Lidar sensor in the autonomous car).
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziyaee in combination with Banerjee, in view of Douillard et al. (US Patent No. 10,593,042; Cited in IDS)
Regarding claim 20, Ziyaee discloses a method comprising:
generating a representation of one or more bounding shapes of one or more elements in the environment based at least on a neural network in the environment (Col. 5 lines 4-10; Col. 6 lines 14-20; Col. 6 lines 42-49; e.g., one or more objects that have classified as static may correspond to barriers (e.g., walls, fences, medians, guard rails, or curbs) and these barriers may be correlated with boundaries in or other features in navigation map) and (Col. 3 lines 5-10; Col. 3 lines 15-20; Col. 4 lines 35-45; e.g., a birds-eye-view map may be input to a machine learning system (e.g., a convolutional neural network) to obtain a classified map that labels objects detected in the space with classifications (e.g., static or dynamic)); and
causing performance of one or more operations associated with the machine based at least on the one or more bounding shapes (Col. 3 lines 24-30; e.g., outputting commands to the actuators ot manuever o a vehicle in operation 180); It is noted that commands are based on the classified map and object moving from object tracker.
Ziyaee fails to specifically disclose a neural network processing a projected representation of one or more classified detections and generating, within a simulation that is rendered using one or more ray-tracing operations, a visualization of at least a portion of a simulated environment around a simulated ego-machine.
However, Banerjee discloses a neural network processing a projected representation of one or more classified detections (paragraphs [0006], [0019]; e.g., each data type of fused hybrid data is fed into an independent CNN network to learn features and then the learned features are concatenated and fed through fully connected layers via a CNN to detect and classify object (class score) and predict the bounding box for the object ).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Ziyaee in combination of Banerjee as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to processing a projected representation of one or more classified detections in order to detect or classify objects in the scene based on the image data and the encoded projected depth data (Banerjee: paragraph [0004]).
Ziyaee in combination of Banerjee fails to specifically disclose generating, within a simulation that is rendered using one or more ray-tracing operations, a visualization of at least a portion of a simulated environment around a simulated ego-machine.
However, Douillard discloses generating, within a simulation that is rendered using one or more ray-tracing operations, a visualization of at least a portion of a simulated environment around a simulated ego-machine (Col. 5 lines 5-8; Col. 7 lines 11-15; Col. 10 lines 5-7).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Ziyaee in combination of Banerjee and Douillard as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to generating, within a simulation that is rendered using one or more ray-tracing operations, a visualization of at least a portion of a simulated environment around a simulated ego-machine in order to performing object classification (Douillard: Col. 1 lines 35-36).
Regarding claim 21, Ziyaee in combination with Banerjee and Douillard discloses the method of claim 20, wherein the one or more operations include at least one of: performing one or more control operations associated with the simulated ego-machine within the simulated environment; or testing or validating the neural network (Ziyaee: Col. 6 lines 42-50; Col. 7 lines 20-25).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY X PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648