DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding the previous 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, the previous 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is withdrawn in light of the present claim amendments.
Regarding the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection, the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is withdrawn in light of the present claim amendments.
Regarding the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In response to applicant's argument that it is possible to suppress ship behavior that does not conform to the operator’s intended operation of the joystick—such as when the operator is holding the joystick while turning only their head to look backward wherein the ship is configured to enable an operator of the joystick to view scenery behind the ship in a front-rear direction of the ship, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Accordingly, an updated 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150246714 (“Morikami”) in view of US 7575491 (“Martin”) and US 20100023192 (“Rae”).
As per claim 1, Morikami discloses a ship steering device comprising a processor configured to:
receive first signal from a first operation of an input device mounted on a ship (see at least [0109]: at Step S11, the boat operator performs one of the operations of the front tilt operation, the rear tilt operation, the right tilt operation, the left tilt operation, the right rotation operation, and the left rotation operation, from the neutral state using the operating lever 9, [0110]: CPU 21 of the helm controller 20 acquires the information on the zone and the information on the operation position in the zone, [0112]: Step S14, the CPU 21 of the helm controller 20 controls the outboard motors 3L, 3R…on the basis of the information on the zone stored…and the information on the operation position in the zone acquire from the joystick),
the input device having a joystick that is movable from a neutral position to a moveable region (see at least abstract: an operation by an operating lever that is tiltable in all directions from a neutral state, when the operating lever is moved to a different zone, [0113]: Step S15, the CPU 21 of the helm controller 20 determines whether the joystick 10 has detected the neutral state of the operating lever 9),
the movable region being divided into a plurality of regions, and the first operation being a tilt of the joystick to the movable region (see at least [0109]: at Step S11, the boat operator performs one of the operations of the front tilt operation, the rear tilt operation, the right tilt operation, the left tilt operation, the right rotation operation, and the left rotation operation, from the neutral state using the operating lever 9, [0110]: CPU 21 of the helm controller 20 acquires the information on the zone and the information on the operation position in the zone);
determine a propulsion force in the ship based on a region where the joystick is position among the plurality of regions, in response to the received first signal (see at least [0034]: helm controller 20 controls shift positions, throttle opening degrees, steering angles of the two outboard motors 3L, 3R using the electric signals to thereby steer the boat 1, [0053]: when an instruction of changing the shift position to a rearward direction is given from the helm controller 20, the shift actuator 31 changes the shift position by changing the mesh of gears in the propulsion unit 33, [0112]: Step S14, the CPU 21 of the helm controller 20 controls the outboard motors 3L, 3R…on the basis of the information on the zone stored…and the information on the operation position in the zone acquire from the joystick); and
control one or more propulsion units of the ship based on the determined propulsion force (see at least [0053]: when an instruction of changing the shift position to a rearward direction is given from the helm controller 20, the shift actuator 31 changes the shift position by changing the mesh of gears in the propulsion unit 33, [0112]: Step S14, the CPU 21 of the helm controller 20 controls the outboard motors 3L, 3R…on the basis of the information on the zone stored…and the information on the operation position in the zone acquire from the joystick), wherein
the ship is configured to enable an operator of the joystick to view scenery behind the ship in a front-rear direction of the ship (see at least Fig. 1: a perspective view of a boat viewed from a diagonally rear direction, abstract: enabling steering easily reflecting the intention of a boat operator and improving a steering efficiency even when an operation of moving from zone to zone is performed),
the plurality of regions includes at least a first region and a second region (see at least [0109]: at Step S11, the boat operator performs one of the operations of the front tilt operation, the rear tilt operation, the right tilt operation, the left tilt operation, the right rotation operation, and the left rotation operation, from the neutral state using the operating lever 9,),
the propulsion force that is determined in a case where the joystick is positioned in the first region drives the ship forward in the front-rear direction (see at least [0109]: at Step S11, the boat operator performs one of the operations of the front tilt operation, the rear tilt operation, the right tilt operation, the left tilt operation, the right rotation operation, and the left rotation operation, from the neutral state using the operating lever 9),
the propulsion force that is determined in a case where the joystick is positioned in the second region drives the ship rearward in the front-rear direction (see at least [0109]: at Step S11, the boat operator performs one of the operations of the front tilt operation, the rear tilt operation, the right tilt operation, the left tilt operation, the right rotation operation, and the left rotation operation, from the neutral state using the operating lever 9).
Morikami does not explicitly disclose
the second region has a center angle greater than that of the first region, and
the processor is further configured to
receive a second signal from a second operation that causes the joystick to move from the movable region to the neutral position, and
start a ship stopping control that causes the ship to stop at a predetermined ship stopping site by controlling a propulsion force of the one or more propulsion units in response to the received second signal.
However, Martin discloses
the second region has a center angle greater than that of the first region (see at least column 5 lines 52-61: FIG. 3, a joystick deflection diagram for signal generation is shown. The steering indications are for the watercraft. The shaft 10 b is represented by the center circle and, in the off position (zero speed), the shaft is centered vertically. Deflecting the shaft 10 b upwardly (in the forward direction) causes the watercraft to go forward. Both motors propel the watercraft in a forward direction. Likewise, pulling straight back on the shaft 10 b in the bottom quadrant as shown will result in both motors being in a reverse mode and the watercraft would go backwards).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Morikami by incorporating the teachings of Martin with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide maneuverability. The combination would yield predictable results.
Further, Martin discloses that a forward region has a center angle greater than that of a reverse region (see at least column 5 lines 52-61: Fig. 3, a joystick deflection diagram for signal generation is shown). Martin discloses a recognized need in the art for a manually-activated controller for controlling speed, steering and direction of propulsion (forward or reverse of the watercraft), wherein different steering patterns can be selected for different objectives such as maneuverability or reverse maneuverability. There appears to be a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions to the recognized need by having different steering patterns for different objectives with different directions with different angles such as forward, reverse, left and right. It would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide reverse as larger than forward as Fig. 3 shows forward as larger than reverse with a reasonable expectation of success in order to achieve different objectives such as maneuverability and reverse maneuverability with different steering patterns.
However, Rae teaches the processor is further configured to
receive a second signal from a second operation that causes the joystick to move from the movable region to the neutral position (see at least [0056]: While the control system is in dynamic positioning mode the helmsperson may operate a control device such as a joystick to move the vessel and then release the joystick or return the joystick to its neutral position), and
start a ship stopping control that causes the ship to stop at a predetermined ship stopping site by controlling a propulsion force of the one or more propulsion units in response to the received second signal (see at least [0056]: helmsperson may subsequently wish to move the vessel to a different position and/or heading and then maintain the vessel at that new position and/or heading. While the control system is in dynamic positioning mode the helmsperson may operate a control device such as a joystick to move the vessel and then release the joystick or return the joystick to its neutral position. Return of the joystick to its neutral position may cause re-engaging of dynamic positioning so that the control system again operates to maintain the vessel in the new position and/or heading (until the joystick is moved again, or the dynamic positioning mode is disabled)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Morikami by incorporating the teachings of Rae with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide improved dynamic positioning. The combination would yield predictable results.
As per claim 6, Morikami does not explicitly disclose wherein the center angle of the second region is greater than those of the other regions in the plurality of regions.
However, Martin teaches wherein the center angle of the second region is greater than those of the other regions in the plurality of regions (see at least column 5 lines 52-61: FIG. 3, a joystick deflection diagram for signal generation is shown. The steering indications are for the watercraft. The shaft 10 b is represented by the center circle and, in the off position (zero speed), the shaft is centered vertically. Deflecting the shaft 10 b upwardly (in the forward direction) causes the watercraft to go forward. Both motors propel the watercraft in a forward direction. Likewise, pulling straight back on the shaft 10 b in the bottom quadrant as shown will result in both motors being in a reverse mode and the watercraft would go backwards).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Morikami by incorporating the teachings of Martin with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide maneuverability. The combination would yield predictable results.
Further, Martin discloses that the center angle of the forward region is greater than those of the other regions in the plurality of regions (see at least column 5 lines 52-61: Fig. 3, a joystick deflection diagram for signal generation is shown). Martin discloses a recognized need in the art for a manually-activated controller for controlling speed, steering and direction of propulsion (forward or reverse of the watercraft), wherein different steering patterns can be selected for different objectives such as maneuverability or reverse maneuverability. There appears to be a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions to the recognized need by having different steering patterns for different objectives with different directions with different angles such as forward, reverse, left and right. It would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide reverse as larger than the other regions as Fig. 3 shows forward as larger than the other regions with a reasonable expectation of success in order to achieve different objectives such as maneuverability and reverse maneuverability with different steering patterns.
As per claim 7, Morikami discloses wherein
the plurality of regions includes the first region, the second region, a third region and a fourth region (see at least [0065]: In FIG. 4, as boundary lines for dividing the zones, a boundary line BL1 to a boundary line BL4 are illustrated which are tilted to the left and right at 45 degrees with respect to a front-rear center line passing through the axis of the operating lever 9 in the neutral state. The zone 1 to the zone 4 are equally divided quarters as described above so that the boat operator easily recognizes the zones, thus making it possible to prevent wrong operation),
the propulsion force determined in a case where the joystick is positioned in the third region drives the ship rightward in a width direction of the ship (see at least [0067]: zone 2…right tilt operation),
the propulsion force determined in a case where the joystick is positioned in the fourth region drives the ship leftward in the width direction (see at least [0069]: zone 4…left tilt operation).
Morikami does not explicitly disclose the center angle of the second region is greater than those of the first region, the third region, and the fourth region.
However, Martin teaches the center angle of the second region is greater than those of the first region, the third region, and the fourth region (see at least column 5 lines 52-61: FIG. 3, a joystick deflection diagram for signal generation is shown. The steering indications are for the watercraft. The shaft 10 b is represented by the center circle and, in the off position (zero speed), the shaft is centered vertically. Deflecting the shaft 10 b upwardly (in the forward direction) causes the watercraft to go forward. Both motors propel the watercraft in a forward direction. Likewise, pulling straight back on the shaft 10 b in the bottom quadrant as shown will result in both motors being in a reverse mode and the watercraft would go backwards).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Morikami by incorporating the teachings of Martin with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide maneuverability. The combination would yield predictable results.
Further, Martin discloses that the center angle of the forward region is greater than those of the reverse region, the leftward region, and the rightward region (see at least column 5 lines 52-61: Fig. 3, a joystick deflection diagram for signal generation is shown). Martin discloses a recognized need in the art for a manually-activated controller for controlling speed, steering and direction of propulsion (forward or reverse of the watercraft), wherein different steering patterns can be selected for different objectives such as maneuverability or reverse maneuverability. There appears to be a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions to the recognized need by having different steering patterns for different objectives with different directions with different angles such as forward, reverse, left and right. It would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide reverse as larger than those of the first region, the third region, and the fourth region as Fig. 3 shows forward as larger than those of the first region, the third region, and the fourth region with a reasonable expectation of success in order to achieve different objectives such as maneuverability and reverse maneuverability with different steering patterns.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220081085 ("Shirao") (see at least abstract: control device for an outboard motor controls a plurality of outboard motors included in a ship [0017], Fig. 3A-3I: forward backward axis). US 9132903 ("Gable") (see at least Fig. 5, Fig. 8B, Fig. 9B).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Angelina Shudy
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3668
/Angelina M Shudy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668