DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 28, 32 and 33 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 28, line 3: --cylindrical-- should be added before “body”.
Claim 32 should be rewritten as: “The cutting tool of claim 31, wherein the space between any two adjacent posts defines a cylindrical exterior surface.”
Claim 33 should be rewritten as: “The cutting tool of claim 21, wherein the space between any two adjacent posts defines a cylindrical exterior surface.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-29, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sharkey et al., U.S. Patent 6,464,727.
Regarding claim 21, Sharkey et al. discloses a tool fully capable of cutting bone, cartilage and disc removal comprising: a cylindrical body (12) configured to be mounted to a shaft of a power source; and a plurality of cutting teeth extending radially outwardly and circumferentially from an exterior surface of the cylindrical body, wherein each of the plurality of cutting teeth has a post (14 or 92) connected to the exterior surface of the cylindrical body and a cutter head (16 or 96, 98) disposed at a distal end of each post fully capable of effecting bi-directional cutting during oscillating motion of the cutting tool, wherein any two adjacent posts of the cutting teeth defines a space having a convex bottom (the bottom of the spaces between adjacent posts is the outer surface of the cylindrical body, which is convex) (Figs. 1A, 2, 6 and examiner annotated 1B below).
Regarding claims 22-25, Sharkey et al. discloses wherein each cutter head (16) is wider than each post (14); wherein each cutter head (16) is circular; wherein the plurality of cutting teeth are arranged in longitudinal columns and circumferential rows; and wherein the longitudinal columns and the circumferential rows are helically arrayed (Figs. 1A and 2 and Col. 6 lines 50-55).
Regarding claim 26, Sharkey et al. discloses wherein each cutter head is shaped frustoconically (examiner annotated Fig. 1B above).
Regarding claims 27-29, Sharkey et al. discloses wherein the cylindrical body (12) is configured to be removably mounted to the shaft (via recess 32); wherein the cutter heads (16) are wider than the respective posts (14) forming disc material collection spaces between the cutter head and the cylindrical body (Figs. 1A and 2); and wherein each cutting head is triangular (cross-section of 98 is triangular) (Figs. 6).
Regarding claim 33, Sharkey et al. discloses wherein the space between the any two adjacent posts (14) defines a cylindrical exterior surface (via outer surface of cylindrical body 12) (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 21, 31 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Victor et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2018/0042618.
Regarding claims 21, 31 and 32, Victor et al. discloses a cutting tool for bone, cartilage and disc removal comprising: a cylindrical body (104) configured to be mounted to a shaft of a power source; and a plurality of cutting teeth extending radially outwardly and circumferentially from an exterior surface of the cylindrical body, wherein each of the plurality of cutting teeth has a post connected to the exterior surface of the cylindrical body and a cutter head disposed at a distal end of each post fully capable of effecting bi-directional cutting during oscillating motion of the cutting tool, wherein any two adjacent posts of the cutting teeth defines a space having a convex bottom; wherein the cylindrical body includes a convex distal end; and wherein the space between the any two adjacent posts defines a cylindrical exterior surface (via outer surface of cylindrical body 104) (Fig. 4 and examiner annotated Figs. 5 and 5B below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharkey et al., U.S. Patent 6,464,727.
Regarding claim 30, Sharkey et al. discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for wherein each cutter head is hexagonal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the cutter head of Sharkey et al. to be hexagonal since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of component as an obvious matter of design choice. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 26 May 2026, with respect to the objection to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 26 May 2026, with respect to the objection of claims 21, 24 and 27 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 21, 24 and 27 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 26 May 2026, with respect to rejections of claims 21-33 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 21-33 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
/ERIC S GIBSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775