DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits in response to communications filed by Applicant on August 21, 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Herz et al. US2022/0224963 (“Herz”).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 18, 20. Herz discloses A vehicle comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive trigger signals associated with activation and deactivation of a plurality of automation modes associated with the vehicle ([0007] In an aspect of the disclosure, a vehicle may include one or more sensory output devices communicatively coupled to a server. A computer-implemented method for personalizing the vehicle may include: receiving, by one or more processors, a signal indicating at least one of an identity or passenger profile of a detected passenger in, boarding, or waiting for the vehicle; accessing, by the one or more processors, preference data and geographic location data for the passenger;); and a processor configured to:
obtain a first trigger signal associated with a request to activate a first automation mode ([0058] Sensory content may include, for example, electronic media content for generating output such as audio, video and text; virtual or augmented reality (AR/VR) content; vehicle simulation; image projection/projection mapping (e.g., on clothing, vehicle interior/exterior, etc.); surround screen; olfactory or tactile stimulus; merchandise; vehicle environment (e.g., seat/space configuration), climate control, noise cancellation, etc.); output from a robot or simulated character (e.g., driver/passenger/user avatar or simulated personality such as a cartoon character by way of image being displayed, audio being played, etc.);) and
a second trigger signal associated with a request to activate a second automation mode;
determine first optimal operational states for a first set of vehicle components associated with the first automation mode ([0058] Sensory content may include, for example, electronic media content for generating output such as audio, video and text; virtual or augmented reality (AR/VR) content; vehicle simulation; image projection/projection mapping (e.g., on clothing, vehicle interior/exterior, etc.); surround screen; olfactory or tactile stimulus; merchandise; vehicle environment (e.g., seat/space configuration), climate control, noise cancellation, etc.); output from a robot or simulated character (e.g., driver/passenger/user avatar or simulated personality such as a cartoon character by way of image being displayed, audio being played, etc.);) and, and second optimal operational states for a second set of vehicle components associated with the second automation mode, responsive to obtaining the first trigger signal and the second trigger signal; and cause the first set of vehicle components to operate in the first optimal operational states and the second set of vehicle components to operate in the second optimal operational states simultaneously, when no vehicle component is common between the first set of vehicle components and the second set of vehicle components ([0068] Client devices may include, for example, portable passenger devices 113, 115 (PPDs, FIG. 2) such as smartphones, smartwatches, notepad computers, laptop computers, mixed reality headsets, and special purpose media players and servers, such as vehicle media controllers (VMCs, FIG. 2) installed as part of vehicular electronic systems. VMCs 162 may be coupled to vehicle controllers (VCs) 164 as a component of a vehicular control system. The VC may control various other functions with various components, for example, engine control, interior climate control, interior or external lighting, anti-lock braking, navigation, or other functions, and may help coordinate media output of the VMC to other vehicular functions, especially navigation.).
Regarding claim(s) 2. Herz discloses a mapping of a plurality of sets of vehicle components to be adjusted with the plurality of automation modes; and an operational state information associated with an optimal operational state of each vehicle component, of the plurality of sets of vehicle components, for each automation mode of the plurality of automation modes ([0049] FIG. 19 is a diagram illustrating aspects of a data structure for use by one or more processors for relating a user-perceivable characteristic with a user preference profile. [0050] FIG. 20 is a flow chart illustrating aspects of assembling by one or more processors content (e.g., video) from a set of content components (e.g., video clips) based on user profile data (preference profile) information.).
Regarding claim(s) 3. Herz discloses fetch the mapping and the operational state information from the memory, responsive to obtaining the first trigger signal and the second trigger signal; determine the first set of vehicle components and the second set of vehicle components based on the mapping; and determine the first optimal operational states associated with the first set of vehicle components and the second optimal operational states associated with the second set of vehicle components based on the operational state information (([0049] FIG. 19 is a diagram illustrating aspects of a data structure for use by one or more processors for relating a user-perceivable characteristic with a user preference profile. [0050] FIG. 20 is a flow chart illustrating aspects of assembling by one or more processors content (e.g., video) from a set of content components (e.g., video clips) based on user profile data (preference profile) information.)).
Regarding claim(s) 4. Herz discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that one or more first vehicle components are common between the first set of vehicle components and the second set of vehicle components; and determine a priority order of activating the first automation mode and the second automation mode, responsive to determining that the one or more first vehicle components are common between the first set of vehicle components and the second set of vehicle components ([0063] Users of sensory content, e.g., passengers, may react passively during viewing by natural expression of their emotions. As used herein “passenger” includes all vehicle occupants to the extent their attention will not be diverted by entertainment from safely driving the vehicle, including non-drivers for all forms of content described herein and drivers only for non-distracting content, including mainly hands-free audio, imagery, olfactory or tactile content presented at times and in modes that will not distract the driver from driving. Significant use cases for the present technology include autonomous vehicles in which all occupants are passengers and no danger of distracting the driver by entertainment content exists. Use cases may also include human-driven vehicles, in which the entertainment content should be presented in a mode that does not distract the driver, for example, on a mobile device or mixed reality headset.).
Regarding claim(s) 6. Herz discloses wherein the priority order is based on a sequence of obtaining the first trigger signal and the second trigger signal ([0063], Significant use cases for the present technology include autonomous vehicles in which all occupants are passengers and no danger of distracting the driver by entertainment content exists. Use cases may also include human-driven vehicles, in which the entertainment content should be presented in a mode that does not distract the driver, for example, on a mobile device or mixed reality headset.).)
Regarding claim(s) 7. Herz discloses wherein the priority order is based on user preferences obtained from a vehicle user ([0014] In an aspect of the method, the user profile data relates to the group of people, and the method further includes determining membership in the group based on one or more of demographic or psychographic parameters.[0015] In an aspect of the method, the user profile data relates to the group of people, and the method further includes determining membership in the group based on history of digital content consumption.).
Regarding claim(s) 8. Herz discloses determine pre-automation operational states associated with at least one of the first set of vehicle components or the second set of vehicle components responsive to obtaining at least one of the first trigger signal or the second trigger signal, wherein the pre-automation operational states are current operational states of the first set of vehicle components and the second set of vehicle components before the first set of vehicle components and the second set of vehicle components are caused to operate in the first optimal operational states and the second optimal operational states respectively; and store an information associated with the pre-automation operational states ([0078] Each processor 202, 214 of the server 200 may be operatively coupled to at least one memory 204 holding functional modules 206, 208, 210, 212 of an application or applications for performing a method as described herein. The modules may include, for example, a communication module 206 for communicating with client devices and servers. The communication module 206 may include instructions that when executed by the processor 202 and/or 214 cause the server to communicate control data, content data, and sensor data with a client device via a network or other connection. A tracking module 208 may include functions for tracking emotional response and other interactive data for a user or cohort, for one or more content titles, subject to user permissions and privacy settings. In some embodiments, tracking module 208 may include functions for tracking travel events using sensor data from the source(s) 220 and/or navigation and vehicle data received through the network interface 218 or other coupling to a vehicle controller.).
Regarding claim(s) 9. Herz discloses obtain a third trigger signal associated with a vehicle automation mode deactivation request ([0091] The content consumption apparatus 300 may further include a random-access memory (RAM) 304 holding program instructions and data for rapid execution or processing by the processor during controlling sensory content in response trip information or other data. When the client 300 is powered off or in an inactive state, program instructions and data may be stored in a long-term memory, for example, a non-volatile magnetic, optical, or electronic memory storage device (not shown).).
Regarding claim(s) 10. Herz discloses fetch the information associated with the pre-automation operational states, responsive to obtaining the third trigger signal; and restore operational states of the first set of vehicle components and the second set of vehicle components back to their respective pre-automation operational states based on the information, responsive to obtaining the third trigger signal ([0044] FIG. 15 is a flow chart illustrating high-level aspects of a method for producing video customized for a preference profile of a person or cohort. [0045] FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating high-level aspects of a system or apparatus for producing video customized for a preference profile of a person or cohort.).
Regarding claim(s) 11. Herz discloses obtain inputs associated with a default operational state of at least one vehicle component of at least one of the first set of vehicle components or the second set of vehicle components; and cause the at least one vehicle component to operate in the default operational state, responsive to obtaining the third trigger signal([0044] FIG. 15 is a flow chart illustrating high-level aspects of a method for producing video customized for a preference profile of a person or cohort. [0045] FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating high-level aspects of a system or apparatus for producing video customized for a preference profile of a person or cohort.).
Regarding claim(s) 12. Herz discloses obtain user inputs associated with preferred operational states of one or more second vehicle components of at least one of the first set of vehicle components or the second set of vehicle components, when the first set of vehicle components is operating in the first optimal operational states or the second set of vehicle components is operating in the second optimal operational states; and cause the one or more second vehicle components to operate in the preferred operational states responsive to obtaining the user inputs. ([0044] FIG. 15 is a flow chart illustrating high-level aspects of a method for producing video customized for a preference profile of a person or cohort. [0045] FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating high-level aspects of a system or apparatus for producing video customized for a preference profile of a person or cohort.).
Regarding claim(s) 13. Herz discloses wherein the processor is further configured to cause the one or more second vehicle components to continue operation in the preferred operational states responsive to obtaining the third trigger signal ([0044] FIG. 15 is a flow chart illustrating high-level aspects of a method for producing video customized for a preference profile of a person or cohort. [0045] FIG. 16 is a block diagram illustrating high-level aspects of a system or apparatus for producing video customized for a preference profile of a person or cohort.).
Regarding claim(s) 14. Herz discloses obtain a deactivation request to deactivate the first automation mode, when the first set of vehicle components is operating in the first optimal operational states and the second set of vehicle components is operating in the second optimal operational states; and restore operational states of the first set of vehicle components to respective pre-automation operational states responsive to obtaining the deactivation request ([0040] FIG. 8C is a schematic block diagram of the social (AI) robot aspects of the database of sensory contents with profile values. [0041] FIG. 9 is a flow chart illustrating aspects of a method for personalizing sensory output for a vehicle or in relation to a vehicular trip. [0042] FIGS. 10-13 are flow charts illustrating further optional aspects or operations of the method diagrammed in FIG. 9. [0043] FIG. 14 is a conceptual block diagram illustrating components of an apparatus or system for personalizing sensory output for a vehicle or in relation to a vehicular trip.)
Regarding claim(s) 15. Herz discloses wherein the processor is further configured to store a priority information associated with a priority position of the first automation mode in a priority order of activating the first automation mode and the second automation mode, responsive to obtaining the deactivation request ([0040] FIG. 8C is a schematic block diagram of the social (AI) robot aspects of the database of sensory contents with profile values. [0041] FIG. 9 is a flow chart illustrating aspects of a method for personalizing sensory output for a vehicle or in relation to a vehicular trip. [0042] FIGS. 10-13 are flow charts illustrating further optional aspects or operations of the method diagrammed in FIG. 9. [0043] FIG. 14 is a conceptual block diagram illustrating components of an apparatus or system for personalizing sensory output for a vehicle or in relation to a vehicular trip.)
Regarding claim(s) 16. Herz discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a request to reactivate the first automation mode after obtaining the deactivation request when the second set of vehicle components is operating in the second optimal operational states; determine the priority position of the first automation mode in the priority order based on the priority information, responsive to obtaining the request to reactivate the first automation mode; and adjust operational states associated with the first set of vehicle components based on the priority position ([0078] Each processor 202, 214 of the server 200 may be operatively coupled to at least one memory 204 holding functional modules 206, 208, 210, 212 of an application or applications for performing a method as described herein. The modules may include, for example, a communication module 206 for communicating with client devices and servers. The communication module 206 may include instructions that when executed by the processor 202 and/or 214 cause the server to communicate control data, content data, and sensor data with a client device via a network or other connection. A tracking module 208 may include functions for tracking emotional response and other interactive data for a user or cohort, for one or more content titles, subject to user permissions and privacy settings. In some embodiments, tracking module 208 may include functions for tracking travel events using sensor data from the source(s) 220 and/or navigation and vehicle data received through the network interface 218 or other coupling to a vehicle controller.).
Regarding claim(s) 17. Herz discloses wherein the transceiver receives the trigger signals from a user device, a vehicle Human-Machine Interface (HMI) or a vehicle control unit ([0020] a display screen configuration including one or more displays, tactile gear/interface, olfactory interface, haptic devices, pneumatic devices, hydraulic devices, motorized devices, a port to a mobile phone, or other output devices for stimulating or altering human perception in response to encoded electronic signals.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Inquiry
/TRUC M DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658