DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 21, 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taira (US 20130010028 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Taira teaches, in a first embodiment, a maintenance device, comprising: a cap to be attached to a nozzle surface of an inkjet head (fig. 5; head 10, ejection face 10a, support cap unit 50; ¶[0044]); an air supply opening provided in the cap (fig. 5; valve 62, tank 64, tube 67; ¶[0056]-[0059]). Taira fails to teach the first embodiment comprising a vent hole which is provided in the cap and is opened to an atmosphere.
However, Taira further teaches, in a second embodiment, a maintenance device comprising a cap and a vent hole which is provided in the cap and is opened to an atmosphere (fig. 10; discharge tube 505, valve member 510a, outside space A2; ¶[0106]-[0112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vent hole of the second embodiment with the maintenance device of the first embodiment of Taira in order to provide a system to regulate the pressure of the humidifying gas within the cap space.
Regarding claim 2, Taira teaches the maintenance device according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein the cap includes an exhaust opening, and the vent hole is provided more on a downstream side than the exhaust opening in a direction that is directed from a side of the air supply opening toward a side of the exhaust opening (fig. 5; suction tube 75; ¶[0060]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 5, Taira teaches an inkjet recording apparatus, comprising: the inkjet head; and the maintenance device according to claim 1 (fig. 1; printer 1, head 10, cap unit 50; ¶[0026]-[0031]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taira (US 20130010028 A1) in view of Nukui et al. (US 20120206537 A1), hereinafter Nukui.
Regarding claim 3, Taira teaches the maintenance device according to claim 1. However, Taira fails to teach or fairly suggest a suppression member which is provided at least between the air supply opening and the nozzle surface and has a first gap with respect to the air supply opening and a second gap with respect to the nozzle surface.
Nukui teaches a capping unit for an inkjet printhead comprising a suppression member which is provided at least between the air supply opening and the nozzle surface and has a first gap with respect to the air supply opening and a second gap with respect to the nozzle surface (figs. 10-11; ejection surface 10a, guide members 262a, cap 340, opening 351a; ¶[0074]-[0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the suppression member of Nukui into the maintenance device of Taira in order to provide airflow of humidified air that passes along the entire length of the ejection surface to provide uniform humidification.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taira in view of Nukui as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Tanda (US 20140210903 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Taira in view of Nukui teaches the maintenance device according to claim 3. However, Taira in view of Nukui fails to teach or fairly suggest the suppression member is formed of a resin.
Tanda teaches that a capping unit for an inkjet printhead wherein the components of the capping unit are formed of resin are well known in the art (fig. 6; cap main body 362; ¶[0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the resin material of Tanda into the maintenance device of Taira as modified by Nukui in order to provide structures with desired elasticity and deterioration resistance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Katoh et al. (US 20120320125 A1) teaches a capping unit comprising a vent connected to an atmosphere.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TRK/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853