DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DEVICE AND NETWORK FOR INCLUDING A RECONFIGURABLE INTELLIGENT SURFACE
The use of the term WiFi, Bluetooth, Blue-Ray which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized entirely wherever each appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 112-119 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: there are no structural components of the claimed device that perform the claimed functional limitations.
Claims 126-128, 130-131 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 126, the phrase "for example"/”e.g.” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 127-128, 130-131, the term ”e.g.” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 112-126, 130-131 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021236510 A1 to GOOGLE LLC (“Google”) [provided by Applicant].
As to claim 112, Google discloses a device such as a user equipment, UE, configured for operating in a wireless communications network that provides wireless communication between a first entity (121) and a second entity (122), the wireless communication adapted to include a reconfigurable intelligent surface, RIS (14; 140) (figs. 4 and 7 (i.e. showing network), para. 0037, UE 110 (i.e. UE/first entity), RIS 406, base station (i.e. second entity));
wherein the device is configured or configurable for determining a RIS specific parameter to obtain a feedback information (para. 0070, fig. 7, 720 and 725, UE obtains link quality parameters; the UE 110 optionally requests to utilize an APD [para. 0073, RIS of APD] in the communication path with the base station or requests a surface reconfiguration of a current APD in the communication path. To illustrate, the UE APD manager 220 of FIG. 2 analyzes the link quality parameters received and/or generated at 725);
wherein the device is to report, to the wireless communication network, a feedback that comprises the feedback information (fig. 7, 720 and 725, and 730; para. 0110, base station 120 to transmit signal(s) towards the RIS of the APD 180 and receive feedback (e.g., link quality parameters) from the UE 110 on the received signals transformed by the RIS using the phase-sweeping pattern. The base station then analyzes the feedback to evaluate the efficacy of the APD 180 at a current position).
As to claim 113, Google further discloses the device of claim 112, wherein the RIS specific parameter is related to a RIS- specific function or a multi-path component, MPC, of the wireless communication provided or contributed by the RIS (fig. 7, 720 and 725, and 730; para. 0110, base station 120 to transmit signal(s) towards the RIS of the APD 180 and receive feedback (e.g., link quality parameters) from the UE 110 on the received signals transformed by the RIS using the phase-sweeping pattern, i.e. RIS-specific, contributed by the RIS; para. 0061, Base station control of an APD for use in communication paths between devices helps improve signal quality, such as by reducing multi-path fading at a receiver (e.g., at a UE for downlink communications, at a base station for uplink communications), i.e. can also be a multi-path component).
As to claim 114, Google further discloses the device of claim 112, wherein the RIS specific parameter comprises at least one of " a reflection state of the RIS;" (para. 0112, the base station analyzes feedback from each UE based on various positions and/or various surface configurations for the APDs (which can include interference reflected from other APDs) ) a position of the RIS;" (para. 0091, The base station then determines a position configuration for the APD by analyzing the link quality parameters) an orientation of the RIS;" (para. 0134, coordinated phase-sweeping patterns generate link quality parameters that include how the orientation and/or location of each APD affects the received signals at the UEs) a direction of a multi path component provided or contributed by the RIS;" a polarization or frequency translation (para. 0073, base station 120 analyzes historical records with link quality parameters and/or signal measurements from the same or other UEs at an estimated UE-location. Based on the analysis, the base station 120 selects a surface configuration directed towards correcting the channel impairments, such as by analyzing a codebook and selecting a surface configuration (e.g., a phase vector) that transforms various wireless signal characteristics (e.g., phase characteristics, amplitude characteristics, polarization characteristics)); and" a capability of the RIS (para. 0058, the base station 120 determines to utilize APD 604 in the communication path with the UE 110, such as based on an estimated UE-location of the UE 110, based on link quality parameters, and/or based on APD capabilities of the APD 604).
As to claim 115, Google further discloses the device of claim 112, wherein the feedback is at least a part of a measurement report provided by the device (para. 0148, receiving one or more link quality parameters from one or more UEs that measure a performance of the phase-sweeping operation at the APD(s); para. 0110, this allows the base station 120 to transmit signal(s) towards the RIS of the APD 180 and receive feedback (e.g., link quality parameters) from the UE 110 on the received signals transformed by the RIS using the phase-sweeping pattern. The base station then analyzes the feedback to evaluate the efficacy of the APD 180 at a current position).
As to claim 116, Google further discloses the device of claim 112, wherein the device is to determine the RIS specific parameter to indicate a beam generated or reflected by the RIS (para. 0122, the base station analyzes feedback from each UE based on various positions and/or various surface configurations for the APDs (which can include interference reflected from other APDs) and selects surface configurations and/or APD positions to improve communications for the multiple UEs).
As to claim 117, Google further discloses the device of claim 112, wherein the device is configured or configurable to participate in a procedure to determine a communication configuration of the wireless communication in which the device is the first entity (121) (fig. 7, UE 110) and according to which an optimization of a communication parameter is obtained at least for a wireless communication between the second entity (122) and the RIS (14; 140) (fig. 7, para. 0076, The base station 120 and the UE 110 communicate using the APD at 755. In one or more implementations, the base station 120 transmits at least a portion of a first downlink wireless signal (e.g., signal ray 191) towards the surface of the APD, and the RIS of the APD transforms the portion of the first downlink wireless signal into a second downlink wireless signal (e.g., signal ray 192) using the surface configuration indicated at 745 and applied at 750. Alternatively or additionally, the UE transmits at least a portion of a first uplink wireless signal towards the RIS of the APD, and the RIS transforms the portion of the first uplink wireless signal into a second uplink wireless signal using the surface configuration indicated at 745 and applied at 750 ); between the device and the RIS (14; 140) (fig. 7, para. 0076, The base station 120 and the UE 110 communicate using the APD at 755. In one or more implementations, the base station 120 transmits at least a portion of a first downlink wireless signal (e.g., signal ray 191) towards the surface of the APD, and the RIS of the APD transforms the portion of the first downlink wireless signal into a second downlink wireless signal (e.g., signal ray 192) using the surface configuration indicated at 745 and applied at 750. Alternatively or additionally, the UE transmits at least a portion of a first uplink wireless signal towards the RIS of the APD, and the RIS transforms the portion of the first uplink wireless signal into a second uplink wireless signal using the surface configuration indicated at 745 and applied at 750 ); and/or between the first entity (121) and the second entity (122) via the RIS (14; 140) (fig. 7, para. 0076, The base station 120 and the UE 110 communicate using the APD at 755. In one or more implementations, the base station 120 transmits at least a portion of a first downlink wireless signal (e.g., signal ray 191) towards the surface of the APD, and the RIS of the APD transforms the portion of the first downlink wireless signal into a second downlink wireless signal (e.g., signal ray 192) using the surface configuration indicated at 745 and applied at 750. Alternatively or additionally, the UE transmits at least a portion of a first uplink wireless signal towards the RIS of the APD, and the RIS transforms the portion of the first uplink wireless signal into a second uplink wireless signal using the surface configuration indicated at 745 and applied at 750 ); to obtain the RIS-specific parameter as indicating a result of the procedure (fig. 7, para. 0073, the base station 120 identifies a surface configuration for the APD identified at 735 (e.g., APD 180). To illustrate, as described with reference to FIG. 6, the base station 120 analyzes downlink quality parameters from the UE 110 and/or uplink quality parameters).
As to claim 118, Google further discloses the device of claim 112, wherein the device is configured or configurable to provide the feedback information to indicate a channel property and/or about a link quality of a wireless communication link used by the device (para. 0110, base station 120 to transmit signal(s) towards the RIS of the APD 180 and receive feedback (e.g., link quality parameters) from the UE 110 on the received signals transformed by the RIS using the phase-sweeping pattern; para. 0002, a base station receives, from a user equipment (UE), at least one link quality parameter that is indicative of a channel impairment).
As to claim 119, Google further discloses the device of one of claim 118, wherein the channel property indicated in the feedback information relates to a multipath component, MPC, associated with a use of a RIS of the wireless communication network (para. 0110, base station 120 to transmit signal(s) towards the RIS of the APD 180 and receive feedback (e.g., link quality parameters) from the UE 110 on the received signals transformed by the RIS using the phase-sweeping pattern; para. 0002, a base station receives, from a user equipment (UE), at least one link quality parameter that is indicative of a channel impairment; para. 0061, Base station control of an APD for use in communication paths between devices helps improve signal quality, such as by reducing multi-path fading at a receiver (e.g., at a UE for downlink communications, at a base station for uplink communications), i.e. can also be a multi-path component); and/or wherein the link quality indicated in the feedback information relates to a link comprising a multipath component, MPC, associated with a use of a RIS of the wireless communication network (para. 0110, base station 120 to transmit signal(s) towards the RIS of the APD 180 and receive feedback (e.g., link quality parameters) from the UE 110 on the received signals transformed by the RIS using the phase-sweeping pattern; para. 0002, a base station receives, from a user equipment (UE), at least one link quality parameter that is indicative of a channel impairment; para. 0061, Base station control of an APD for use in communication paths between devices helps improve signal quality, such as by reducing multi-path fading at a receiver (e.g., at a UE for downlink communications, at a base station for uplink communications), i.e. can also be a multi-path component).
As to claim 120, Google discloses a wireless communications network (130) providing for wireless communication between a first entity (121) and a second entity (122), the wireless communication adapted to include a reconfigurable intelligent surface, RIS (14; 140) (figs. 4 and 7 (i.e. showing network), para. 0037, UE 110 (i.e. UE/first entity), RIS 406, base station (i.e. second entity)); wherein the wireless communication network comprises a controller unit (16) preconfigured, configured or configurable for organising a contribution of the RIS (14; 140) to the wireless communication network (para. 0026, the adaptive phase-changing device (APD) 180 is an apparatus that includes a Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface (RIS) 318, and components for controlling the RIS 318 (e.g., by modifying the surface configuration of the RIS); para. 0028, APD 180 includes APD manager 316 (i.e. controller unit)…apply various surface configurations to the RIS).
As to claim 121, Google further discloses the wireless communication network of claim 120, wherein a device of the wireless communication network being one of the first and second entity is configured or configurable for determining a RIS specific parameter to obtain a feedback information (para. 0070, fig. 7, 720 and 725, UE obtains link quality parameters; the UE 110 optionally requests to utilize an APD [para. 0073, RIS of APD] in the communication path with the base station or requests a surface reconfiguration of a current APD in the communication path. To illustrate, the UE APD manager 220 of FIG. 2 analyzes the link quality parameters received and/or generated at 725);wherein the device is to report, to the wireless communication network, a feedback that comprises the feedback information (fig. 7, 720 and 725, and 730; para. 0110, base station 120 to transmit signal(s) towards the RIS of the APD 180 and receive feedback (e.g., link quality parameters) from the UE 110 on the received signals transformed by the RIS using the phase-sweeping pattern. The base station then analyzes the feedback to evaluate the efficacy of the APD 180 at a current position); and is configured or configurable to provide the feedback information to indicate a channel property and/or about a link quality of a wireless communication link used by the device (para. 0110, base station 120 to transmit signal(s) towards the RIS of the APD 180 and receive feedback (e.g., link quality parameters) from the UE 110 on the received signals transformed by the RIS using the phase-sweeping pattern; para. 0002, a base station receives, from a user equipment (UE), at least one link quality parameter that is indicative of a channel impairment); wherein the wireless communication network or an entity thereof is adapted to determine, from the feedback information a configuration parameter of a wireless communication link between the first entity and the second entity using the RIS and/or to perform link optimization of the link (fig. 7, para. 0072, In determining to utilize an APD in the communication path, the base station sometimes identifies a particular APD to use, such as by using an estimated UE-location obtained using link quality parameter(s) at 720 (i.e. feedback) to identify an APD within a pre-determined distance of the estimated UE-location; para. 0076, The base station 120 and the UE 110 communicate using the APD at 755. In one or more implementations, the base station 120 transmits at least a portion of a first downlink wireless signal (e.g., signal ray 191) towards the surface of the APD, and the RIS of the APD transforms the portion of the first downlink wireless signal into a second downlink wireless signal (e.g., signal ray 192) using the surface configuration indicated at 745 and applied at 750. Alternatively or additionally, the UE transmits at least a portion of a first uplink wireless signal towards the RIS of the APD, and the RIS transforms the portion of the first uplink wireless signal into a second uplink wireless signal using the surface configuration indicated at 745 and applied at 750 ).
As to claim 122, Google further discloses the wireless communications network (130) of claim 120, wherein the controller unit (16) is configured for discovering the RIS (14; 140) and to provide a signal (18) to the wireless communications network (130) to include the RIS (14; 140) into the wireless communication to organise the contribution of the RIS (14; 140) (para. 0028, the CRM 310 of the APD 180 includes an adaptive phase-changing device manager 316 (APD manager 316). Alternatively, or additionally, the APD manager 316 may be implemented in whole or part as hardware logic or circuitry integrated with or separate from other components of the APD 180. Generally, the APD manager 316 manages a surface configuration of the APD 180, such as by processing information exchanged with a base station over wireless link(s) 133 and using the information to configure a reconfigurable intelligent surface 318 (RIS 318) of the APD 180. To illustrate, the APD manager 316 receives an indication of a surface configuration over the wireless links 133 (e.g., an APD slow-control channel, an APD fast-control channel), extracts the surface configuration from the codebook(s) 314 using the indication, and applies the surface configuration to the RIS 318. Alternatively or additionally, the APD manager 316 manages a position of the APD, such as by receiving directions to change the position of the APD 180 from the base station 120, and initiating changes to a physical position, location, and/or orientation of the APD 180 (and/or a platform to which the APD 180 is attached) as further described. In aspects, the APD manager 316 initiates the transmission of uplink messages to the base station over the wireless links 133, such as acknowledgments/negative acknowledgments (ACKs/NACKs). The APD manager 316 may also receive an indication of a phase-sweeping pattern over the wireless links 133 and apply various surface configurations to the RIS based on the phase-sweeping pattern).
As to claim 123, Google further discloses the wireless communications network (130) of claim 120, wherein the controller unit (16) is configured for discovering a multipath component, MPC (22), provided by the RIS (14; 140) and to report the MPC (22) to the wireless communications network (130) (para. 0006, reflections create multi-path and frequency-selective fading that may increase recovery errors at the receiver; para. 0007, Adaptive phase-changing devices (APDs) include a Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface (RIS) that, when properly configured, modifies propagating signals (i.e. multi-path component) to correct for or reduce errors introduced by communication path(s); para. 0028, the APD manager 316 manages a surface configuration of the APD 180, such as by processing information exchanged with a base station over wireless link(s) 133 and using the information to configure a reconfigurable intelligent surface 318 (RIS 318) (i.e. discovers multipath) of the APD 180. To illustrate, the APD manager 316 receives an indication of a surface configuration over the wireless links 133 (e.g., an APD slow-control channel, an APD fast-control channel), extracts the surface configuration from the codebook(s) 314 using the indication, and applies the surface configuration to the RIS 318. Alternatively or additionally, the APD manager 316 manages a position of the APD, such as by receiving directions to change the position of the APD 180 from the base station 120, and initiating changes to a physical position, location, and/or orientation of the APD 180 (and/or a platform to which the APD 180 is attached) as further described. In aspects, the APD manager 316 initiates the transmission (i.e. notifies network) of uplink messages to the base station over the wireless links 133); wherein the wireless communications network (130) is configured for using the MPC (22) responsive to the report (para. 0028, In aspects, the APD manager 316 initiates the transmission of uplink messages to the base station over the wireless links 133).
As to claim 124, Google further discloses the wireless communications network (130) of claim 120, wherein the controller unit (16) is configured for identifying the RIS (14; 140) and to associate a RIS (14; 140) identifier with the RIS (14; 140) so as to distinguish the RIS (14; 140) from a different RIS in the wireless communications network (130) (fig. 3, para. 0045, APD 180 obtains the surface-configuration codebooks through manufacturing or installation processes that store the surface-configuration codebook(s) 510 (i.e. identifier) in the CRM of the APD 180; para. 0046, surface-configuration codebook 510 includes configuration information that specifies a surface configuration for some or all of the configurable surface elements (e.g., elements 320) forming the RIS of the APD 180; para. 0029, the APD manager 316 receives an indication of a surface configuration over the wireless links 133 (e.g., an APD slow-control channel, an APD fast-control channel), extracts the surface configuration from the codebook(s) 314 using the indication, and applies the surface configuration to the RIS 318; fig. 6 illustrating multiple RISs in a network); wherein the wireless network is adapted for wireless communication by selectively using the RIS (14; 140) based on the RIS identifier to organise the contribution of the RIS (14; 140) (para. 0029, the APD manager 316 receives an indication of a surface configuration over the wireless links 133 (e.g., an APD slow-control channel, an APD fast-control channel), extracts the surface configuration from the codebook(s) 314 using the indication, and applies the surface configuration to the RIS 318).
As to claim 125, Google further discloses the wireless communications network (130) of claim 120, being configured for changing an operating mode of the RIS (14; 140) for the wireless communication (para. 0029, The APD manager 316 may also receive an indication of a phase-sweeping pattern over the wireless links 133 and apply various surface configurations to the RIS based on the phase-sweeping pattern).
As to claim 126, Google further discloses the wireless communication network of claim 125, wherein the controller unit (16) is configured for distinguishing between a reconfigurable multipath component, MPC (22), provided by the RIS (14; 140) and a non-configurable MPC-contribution, e.g., from a collocated scatterer such as based on a measurement, a reference signal, RS, an exposure function, a data base or the like; or.wherein the controller unit (16) is to organise the contribution of the RIS (14; 140) by controlling an effect of the RIS (14; 140) on at least one multipath component, MPC (22), e.g., by controlling the RIS (14; 140), for example, in an open-loop or closed-loop manner (para. 0007, Adaptive phase-changing devices (APDs) include a Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface (RIS) that, when properly configured, modifies propagating signals (i.e. multi-path component) to correct for or reduce errors introduced by communication path(s); para. 0028, the APD manager 316 manages a surface configuration of the APD 180, such as by processing information exchanged with a base station over wireless link(s) 133 and using the information to configure a reconfigurable intelligent surface 318 (RIS 318) (i.e. discovers multipath) of the APD 180. To illustrate, the APD manager 316 receives an indication of a surface configuration over the wireless links 133 (e.g., an APD slow-control channel, an APD fast-control channel), extracts the surface configuration from the codebook(s) 314 using the indication, and applies the surface configuration to the RIS 318. Alternatively or additionally, the APD manager 316 manages a position of the APD, such as by receiving directions to change the position of the APD 180 from the base station 120, and initiating changes to a physical position, location, and/or orientation of the APD 180 (and/or a platform to which the APD 180 is attached) as further described. In aspects, the APD manager 316 initiates the transmission (i.e. notifies network) of uplink messages to the base station over the wireless links 133).
As to claim 130, Google further discloses the wireless communication network of one of claim 120, configured for changing a configuration of the RIS (14; 140) synchronised and coordinated with beamforming at the at least one of the first entity (121) and the second entity (122), e.g., a gNB, wherein the wireless communication network is adapted to control the RIS (14; 140) to serve as a distributed virtual Transmission/reception Point (TRP) (para. 0051, In changing the surface configuration, the APD 180 (by way of the APD manager 316) can apply a default surface configuration, return to a previous surface configuration (e.g., a surface configuration used prior to the indicated surface configuration), and/or apply a new surface configuration. To maintain synchronized timing with the base station 120, the APD 180 receives and/or processes a base station synchronizing signal; para. 0059-0060, beamformed signal).
As to claim 131, Google further discloses the wireless communication network of claim 120, wherein at least one of the first entity (121) and the second entity (122) comprises at least one of:" a base station;" a repeater;" an IAB node;" a relay node;" a user equipment;" a central entity of the wireless communication network, e.g. a third party controller, RNC, core network, CN (fig. 7, UE (i.e. first entity), base station (i.e. second entity); .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 127, 129 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021236510 A1 to GOOGLE LLC (“Google”) [provided by Applicant] in view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0097742 A1 to LY et al. (“Ly”).
As to claim 127, Google does not expressly disclose the wireless communication network of claim 120, wherein the RIS (14; 140) contributes to a communication in at least a first cell and a second cell being part of the same or of different wireless communication networks; wherein the RIS (14; 140) is associated with one cell of the first and the second cells as a primary RIS cell and wherein the RIS is associated with the other cell of the first and the second cells as a secondary cell being subordinated to the primary cell, e.g., in terms of requesting and controlling reconfiguration of the particular RIS or its contribution .
Ly discloses at para. 0062, fig. 1: a wireless communications system 100 with a large cell 110 (i.e. primary cell) with RIS 155, then two smaller cells 110 within the large cell (i.e. same overall network of fig. 1, but also different networks in terms of cells), with RISs 155 within and at the border of one of the smaller cells (i.e. subordinate, secondary), with communication occurring throughout the entire network (i.e. any RIS is associated with any cell).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the wireless system of Ly into the
invention of Google. The suggestion/motivation would have been for supplemental RISs for wireless communications (Ly, para. 0002). Including the wireless system of Ly into the invention of Google was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Ly.
As to claim 129, Google does not expressly disclose the wireless communications network (130) of claim 120, wherein the RIS (14;140) is part of a first section of the wireless communication network and a second section of the wireless communication network; wherein the controller unit (16) is configured for negotiating a use of the RIS (14; 140) for the first section and the second section; and/or wherein the RIS (14; 140) contributes to the wireless communication inside the wireless communication network and to a communication outside the wireless communication network; wherein the controller unit (16) is configured for negotiating with a controller unit (16) at least influencing the wireless communication outside the wireless communication network about a use of the RIS (14; 140);wherein optionally the first section is controlled by a first network operator, wherein the second section is controlled by a second network operator.
Ly discloses at para. 0062, fig. 1: a wireless communications system 100 with a large cell 110 (i.e. first section, outside wireless network) with RIS 155, then two smaller cells 110 within the large cell (i.e. second section, inside wireless network), with RISs 155 within and at the border of one of the smaller cells, with communication occurring throughout the entire network (i.e. RIS (14; 140) contributes to the wireless communication inside the wireless communication network and to a communication outside the wireless communication network). Furthermore, para.0182, fig. 12 discloses processor 1240 (i.e. controller unit) to cause the device 1205 to perform various aspects of supplemental RIS (i.e. device being RIS) for wireless communications as described herein. Para. 0180: The communications manager 1220 (i.e. negotiating with a controller unit (16) at least influencing the wireless communication outside the wireless communication network about a use of the RIS (14; 140)) may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, to the UE, an indication of a configuration of the first RIS and the second RIS, the configuration indicating the first RIS for the bidirectional wireless communication and the second RIS for the unidirectional wireless communication. The communications manager 1220 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for communicating with the UE via the first RIS or the second RIS, or both, based on the configuration. Lastly, para. 0075: A macro cell covers a relatively large geographic area (e.g., several kilometers in radius) and may allow unrestricted access by the UEs 115 with service subscriptions with the network provider supporting the macro cell. A small cell may be associated with a lower-powered base station 105, as compared with a macro cell, and a small cell may operate in the same or different (e.g., licensed, unlicensed) frequency bands as macro cells. Small cells may provide unrestricted access to the UEs 115 with service subscriptions with the network provider or may provide restricted access to the UEs 115 having an association with the small cell (e.g., the UEs 115 in a closed subscriber group (CSG), the UEs 115 associated with users in a home or office) (i.e. wherein optionally the first section is controlled by a first network operator, wherein the second section is controlled by a second network operator).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the wireless system of Ly into the
invention of Google. The suggestion/motivation would have been for supplemental RISs for wireless communications (Ly, para. 0002). Including the wireless system of Ly into the invention of Google was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Ly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 128 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240154648 A1 discloses at para. 0026: FIG. 1 illustrates an example of a wireless communications system 100 that supports network communications between RISs in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The wireless communications system 100 may include one or more base stations 105, one or more UEs 115, and a core network 130. In some examples, the wireless communications system 100 may be a Long Term Evolution (LTE) network, an LTE-Advanced (LTE-A) network, an LTE-A Pro network, or a New Radio (NR) network. In some examples, the wireless communications system 100 may support enhanced broadband communications, ultra-reliable (e.g., mission critical) communications, low latency communications, communications with low-cost and low-complexity devices, or any combination thereof.
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463