DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC 112 and Objections to the Drawings, these have been withdrawn due to amendments to the claims and drawings.
Regarding rejections under 35 USC 103, Applicant argues that the steps of direct digital printing the white background on the printing field are not taught by the cited prior art. However, this newly recited limitation is met by newly cited Uptergrove (US 2011/0247654 A1).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “direct printing in a digital process” and “brilliant direct digital printing”. Examiner notes that this is not common term in the field of printing. The term “digital” will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation to include any printing process includes a digital or computational step. The term “direct printing” will be understood to include any method of printing on the substrate. The term “brilliant” will be understood to be subjective and include any color or glossiness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higareda et al. (US 2015/0298852 A1) in view of Uptergrove (US 2011/0247654 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Higareda teaches a plastic product, made of plastic material comprising a ratio of at least 30 wt.-% of recycled material. (the container includes a polymer comprising 100% post-consumer recycled polyethylene terephthalate, [0021])
Higareda is silent on wherein the plastic product comprises a printing field on an outerside of the plastic product, the printing field having a white background; and a printed picture printed on the printing field by direct printing in a digital printing process.
Higareda teaches dimensions of the container for the consumer product may also be sized or shaped to convey a message with a label or the like [0005].
Uptergrove meets the claimed a printed picture printed on the printing field by direct printing in a digital printing process (recyclable plastic article is disclosed that has an external surface with a digital image printed thereon by cured droplets of ink [0005], digitally printed, such as by a drop-on-demand ink jet process [0012]) that is direct digital printed on the outside of the plastic product (the article (e.g., container) may include a first coat, or base coat, [0012] secondary coat ink droplets 42 may collectively form a part of an application pattern which, in turn, may form all or a portion of an image [0029]) to enable brilliant direct digital printing thereon wherein the plastic product comprises a printing field (base coat 30, Fig. 1) on an outerside of the plastic product, the printing field having a white background. (base coat 30 may comprise white and/or colorless portions, [0012])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the white base coat and inkjet printing process of Uptergrove for the generic label of the recycled plastic container of Higareda because it allows for an ink composed so that during recycling processes the ink does not bleed in solutions and give off volatiles and provides improved visual characteristic (e.g., color or texture), see Uptergrove [0012].
Regarding claim 2, Higareda teaches the plastic product according to claim 1, wherein said plastic material comprises a ratio of at least 50 wt.-% of the recycled plastic material. (the container includes a polymer comprising 100% post-consumer recycled polyethylene terephthalate, [0021]).
Regarding claim 3, Higareda teaches the plastic product according to claim 1, wherein said plastic material comprises a ratio of at least 60 wt.-% of the recycled plastic material. (the container includes a polymer comprising 100% post-consumer recycled polyethylene terephthalate, [0021])
Regarding claim 4, Higareda teaches the plastic product according to claim 1, wherein said plastic material comprises a ratio of at least 70 wt.-% of the recycled plastic material. (the container includes a polymer comprising 100% post-consumer recycled polyethylene terephthalate, [0021])
Regarding claim 5, Higareda teaches the plastic product according to claim 1, wherein said plastic material comprises a ratio of at least 80 wt.-% of the recycled plastic material. (the container includes a polymer comprising 100% post-consumer recycled polyethylene terephthalate, [0021])
Regarding claim 6, Higareda teaches the plastic product according to claim 1, wherein said plastic material comprises a ratio of at least 90 wt.-% of the recycled plastic material. (the container includes a polymer comprising 100% post-consumer recycled polyethylene terephthalate, [0021])
Regarding claim 7, Higareda teaches the plastic product according to claim 1, wherein said plastic material 100 wt.-% of the recycled plastic material. (the container includes a polymer comprising 100% post-consumer recycled polyethylene terephthalate, [0021])
Regarding claim 9, Higareda teaches the 9. The plastic product according to claim 1, wherein the plastic product is a receptacle of a cartridge for receiving filling material. (Fig. 1, molded article includes a container defining an interior space, the container having a base, a sidewall connected to the base and extending therefrom, [0022] the container may be configured to couple to a trigger sprayer head to enable a user to dispense a fluid composition from within the container [0033]).
Regarding claim 16, Higareda teaches plastic product according to claim 1, wherein the plastic product is not white. (Examiner notes that the claim and specification does not define a measurement for “white”. Higareda teaches measuring the color of recycled plastic containers using CIELAB color spaced, [0070], described in Equation 1, L* is related to lightness, a* is related to the position of the color between red/magenta and green, and b* is related to the position of the color between yellow and blue. Table 6 shows that 100% PCR PET to have values of b from 2.02-3.02. Therefore, the containers of Higareda are not entirely white).
Regarding claim 17, Higareda teaches plastic product according to claim 1, wherein the recycled plastic material of the plastic product is not white. (Examiner notes that the claim and specification does not define a measurement for “white”. Higareda teaches measuring the color of recycled plastic containers using CIELAB color spaced, [0070], described in Equation 1, L* is related to lightness, a* is related to the position of the color between red/magenta and green, and b* is related to the position of the color between yellow and blue. Table 6 shows that 100% PCR PET to have values of b from 2.02-3.02. Therefore, the containers of Higareda are not entirely white).
Regarding claim 18, Higareda teaches plastic product according to claim 1, wherein the recycled plastic material of the plastic product is at least one of grey, green, and black. (Examiner notes that the claim and specification does not define a measurement for “grey”. Higareda teaches 100% recycled PET bottles have a yellow-grey tint [0015]. Table 6 shows that 100% PCR PET to have values of L 91.95 to 93.36, a -0.18t to -0.56, b from 2.02 to 3.02, which is a light grey).
Regarding claim 19, Higareda teaches plastic product according to claim 1, wherein the printing field extends over less than an entirely of the outer side of the plastic product.
Uptergrove teaches a portion of a surface 10 of a plastic article (e.g., a container) with an embodiment of a printed image 20 is generally illustrated in FIG. 1. Examiner notes that Fig. 1 depicts portions of surface 10 to be free of any base coat (30) or image (20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the partial base coat and image of Uptergrove for the generic label of the recycled plastic container of Higareda because it yields the predictable result of producing a digital images that adhere to the article without quality issues throughout its useful life, but are more readily removable during plastic recycling processes, [0004].
Regarding claim 20, Higareda teaches plastic product according to claim 1, wherein the white background extends only within a region of the printing field that includes the printed picture.
Uptergrove teaches the secondary coat (image) is distributed on at least a portion of the base coat 30, [0028]. That is Uptergrove teaches either covering the entirety of base coat 30 or less than the entirety.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine white background extends only within a region of the printing field of Uptergrove for the generic label of the recycled plastic container of Higareda because it yields the predictable result of producing a digital images that adhere to the article without quality issues throughout its useful life, but are more readily removable during plastic recycling processes, [0004].
Claim(s) 11, 12, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higareda et al. (US 2015/0298852 A1) in view of Usami (US 2023/0049178 A1), and Uptergrove (US 2011/0247654 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Higareda teaches a method for producing the plastic product according to claim 1, using an injection molding process, the method comprising: (a) providing a partially recycled plastic material comprising a ratio of at least 30 wt.-% of the recycled plastic material; (the container includes a polymer comprising 100% post-consumer recycled polyethylene terephthalate, [0021])
Higareda is silent on (b) liquefying the partially recycled plastic material to form a liquid plastic material; (c) injecting the liquid plastic material into a cavity of a mold; and (d) demolding the product after cooling.
Usami meets the claimed (b) liquefying the plastic material to form a liquid plastic material; (an injection device 25 that melts and supplies resin material that is the raw material [0020]) (c) injecting the liquid plastic material into a cavity of a mold; (injecting resin material from the injection device 25 into this mold cavity in the shape of the preform as shown in FIG. 2B, [0025]) and (d) demolding the product after cooling. (operations relating to the closing and opening of the mold (demolding) of the preforms 11 in the injection molding unit 21, [0019] Usami teaches the final step is the container 15 is taken out of the blow molding apparatus 20, see [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the injection molding steps of Usami as the generic plastic molding steps of Higareda because it is capable producing a wide variety of resin containers with good appearance, see [0002].
Higareda is silent on wherein the plastic product comprises a printing field on an outerside of the plastic product, the printing field having a white background; and a printed picture printed on the printing field by direct printing in a digital printing process.
Higareda teaches dimensions of the container for the consumer product may also be sized or shaped to convey a message with a label or the like [0005].
Uptergrove meets the claimed a printed picture printed on the printing field by direct printing in a digital printing process, wherein the plastic product comprises a printing field on an outerside of the plastic product, the printing field having a white background.
Uptergrove meets the claimed a printed picture printed on the printing field by direct printing in a digital printing process, (recyclable plastic article is disclosed that has an external surface with a digital image printed thereon by cured droplets of ink [0005], digitally printed, such as by a drop-on-demand ink jet process [0012]) wherein the plastic product comprises a printing field on an outerside of the plastic product, (the article (e.g., container) may include a first coat, or base coat, [0012] secondary coat ink droplets 42 may collectively form a part of an application pattern which, in turn, may form all or a portion of an image [0029]) the printing field having a white background. (base coat 30 may comprise white and/or colorless portions, [0012])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the white base coat and inkjet printing process of Uptergrove for the generic label of the recycled plastic container of Higareda because it allows for an ink composed so that during recycling processes the ink does not bleed in solutions and give off volatiles and provides improved visual characteristic (e.g., color or texture), see Uptergrove [0012].
Regarding claim 12, Higareda as modified by Usami meets the claimed method according to claim 11, wherein the mold comprises an outer mold and a core which delimit the cavity, (Usami teaches the injection mold core 32 is inserted into the neck mold 27 from above in the drawing, with the neck mold 27 being set on the injection mold cavity 31 and the molds are closed, [0024]) and the core is pulled out of the interior of the plastic product after step (c) and before step (d). (Usami teaches at the ejection unit 24, the neck part 12 of the container 15 is released from the neck mold 27, and the container 15 is taken out of the blow molding apparatus 20, see [0063])
Regarding claim 13, Higareda teaches a method for producing at least a component of the plastic product according to claim 1, the method comprising: (a) providing recycled plastic material comprising a ratio of at least 30 wt-% to 100 wt-% of the recycled plastic material, (the container includes a polymer comprising 100% post-consumer recycled polyethylene terephthalate, [0021])
Higareda is silent on (b) conducting continuous liquefaction of the plastic material, (c) extruding the plastic material to produce the plastic product or the component of the plastic product.
Usami teaches (b) conducting continuous liquefaction of the plastic material, (an injection device 25 that melts and supplies resin material that is the raw material [0020]) (c) extruding the plastic material to produce the plastic product or the component of the plastic product. (injecting resin material from the injection device 25 into this mold cavity in the shape of the preform as shown in FIG. 2B, [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the injection molding steps of Usami as the generic plastic molding steps of Higareda because it is capable producing a wide variety of resin containers with good appearance, see [0002].
Regarding claim 15, Higareda as modified by Usami teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the plastic product comprises an outer contour corresponding to an inner contour of an outer mold (injection mold core 32 is the mold that defines the inner contour of the preform 11, [0024]) and an inner contour corresponding to an outer contour of a core, (injection mold cavity 31 is the mold that defines the outer contour of the preform 11, [0024])
Higareda as modified by Usami is silent on wherein the inner contour has a demolding bevel of 0.1° to 45°.
Usami depicts mold cavity 31 to include multiple contours including curved bevel of varying angles, see Fig. 2A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to vary the contour of the mold of Usami to meet the claimed demolding bevel of 0.1° to 45° in order to define the shape of the neck part of the formed product, see Usami [0024].
Higareda is silent on wherein the plastic product comprises a printing field on an outerside of the plastic product, the printing field having a white background; and a printed picture printed on the printing field by direct printing in a digital printing process.
Higareda teaches dimensions of the container for the consumer product may also be sized or shaped to convey a message with a label or the like [0005].
Uptergrove meets the claimed a printed picture printed on the printing field by direct printing in a digital printing process (recyclable plastic article is disclosed that has an external surface with a digital image printed thereon by cured droplets of ink [0005], digitally printed, such as by a drop-on-demand ink jet process [0012]) wherein the plastic product comprises a printing field on an outerside of the plastic product, (the article (e.g., container) may include a first coat, or base coat, [0012] secondary coat ink droplets 42 may collectively form a part of an application pattern which, in turn, may form all or a portion of an image [0029]) the printing field having a white background. (base coat 30 may comprise white and/or colorless portions, [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the white base coat and inkjet printing process of Uptergrove for the generic label of the recycled plastic container of Higareda because it allows for an ink composed so that during recycling processes the ink does not bleed in solutions and give off volatiles and provides improved visual characteristic (e.g., color or texture), see Uptergrove [0012].
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Limatibul (US 2023/0405982 A1). Limatibul teaches [0002] Many studies suggest recycled plastics contain over 25% w/w less green-house/carbon gas emissions than virgin resins. The more PCR resins you include in your products, the higher impact you can make on saving the environment. [0053] to help incorporate PCR or increase the existing PCR content in containers from 30% w/w to 60% w/w.
Limatibul teaches that some recycled pellet properties do not meet the requirements in the recycling industry. The requirement includes extrusion evaluation, pellet testing, physical and mechanical properties, bottle production and testing, [0056]. Recyclable tube can be achieved by adding more than 50% w/w HDPE in the laminate tube. The HDPE resin selection has been shown in Table 2, [0057].
Conclusion
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744