DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear if applicant is further limiting the “at least one locking mechanism” to allow or block a movement of both “the first sealing member” or “the second sealing member” when the extension is limited to one of the first or second sealing members, hence it is unclear how the locking mechanism can allow or block movement of the first sealing member when the extension is limited to the second sealing member and vice versa.
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear how the “first end of the locking mechanism is communicated with the first pressure” if the extension is limited to the second sealing member, hence it appears applicant is limiting “the extension extended below the first sealing member”.
Regarding claim 6, it is unclear how the “first end of the locking mechanism is communicated with the second pressure” if the extension is limited to the first sealing member, hence it appears applicant is limiting “the extension extended below the second sealing member”.
Regarding claim 7, it is unclear how the “first end of the locking mechanism is communicated with the first pressure” if the extension is limited to the second sealing member, hence it appears applicant is limiting “the extension extended below the first sealing member”.
Regarding claim 8, it is unclear how the “first end of the locking mechanism is communicated with the second pressure” if the extension is limited to the first sealing member, hence it appears applicant is limiting “the extension extended below the second sealing member”.
Regarding claim 9, it is unclear how the “first end of the locking mechanism is communicated with the second pressure” if the extension is limited to the first sealing member, hence it appears applicant is limiting “the extension extended below the second sealing member”.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is identical to claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, it is unclear how the “first end of the locking mechanism is communicated with the second pressure” if the extension is limited to the first sealing member, hence it appears applicant is limiting “the extension extended below the second sealing member”.
Regarding claim 17, it is unclear how the “first end of the locking mechanism is communicated with the first pressure” if the extension is limited to the second sealing member, hence it appears applicant is limiting “the extension extended below the first sealing member”.
Regarding claim 19, it is unclear how the “the locking mechanism is communicated with the first pressure” if the extension is limited to the second sealing member, hence it appears applicant is limiting “the extension extended below the first sealing member”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Di Monte (Pub. No. US 2018/0038493).
Regarding claim 1, Di Monte disclose an apparatus (Figs. 1-12) to allow or stop an air flow into an enclosed environment or a piping system (200), comprising: (a) a housing (20) having an upper flow passage (40), a middle flow passage (45), a lower flow passage (60), wherein the upper flow passage is above the middle flow passage (Fig. 1), wherein the middle flow passage is above the lower flow passage (Fig. 1), wherein a first pressure (P1) exists in the upper flow passage (40), wherein a second pressure (P2) exists in the middle flow passage (60), wherein a third pressure (P3) exists in the lower flow passage (60); (b) a first valve seat (100), wherein the first valve seat is between the upper flow passage and the middle flow passage (Fig. 7), and wherein a at least one opening (106) is formed on the first valve seat; (c) a first sealing member (600), wherein the first sealing member (600) is configured and dimensioned to substantially cover the at least one opening (106) of the first valve seat (100), wherein the first sealing member (600) can move upwardly and downwardly above the first valve seat (100); (d) a second valve seat (110), wherein the second valve seat (110) is between the middle flow passage and the lower flow passage (Fig. 7), and wherein a at least one opening (112) is formed on the second valve seat (110); (e) a second sealing member (620), wherein the second sealing member is configured and dimensioned to substantially cover the at least one opening (112) of the second valve seat (110), wherein the second sealing member (620) can move upwardly and downwardly above the second valve seat (110); (f) an extension (900) extended below the first sealing member or the second sealing member (Fig. 7); and (g) at least one locking mechanism (800) disposed inside the extension (Fig. 8A) and configured to block or allow a movement of the first sealing member or the second sealing member (Fig. 8A); wherein the first sealing member (600) moves away from the first valve seat (100) when the second pressure (P2) is greater than the first pressure (P1) in a predetermined pressure difference; and wherein the second sealing member (620) moves away from the second valve seat (110) when the third pressure (P3) is greater than the second pressure (P2) in a predetermined pressure difference; and wherein the first pressure (P1) communicates with a system pressure in the enclosed environment or the piping system (200); and wherein the third pressure (P3) communicates with an ambient air pressure (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 2, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), further comprising: at least one carrier (700) connected with the first sealing member or the second sealing member (Fig. 7); at least one carrier alignment guide (710); and wherein the at least one carrier (700) is disposed through the at least one carrier alignment guide (710).
Regarding claim 3, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), wherein a plurality of openings (720) is formed through the at least one carrier alignment guide (710).
Regarding claim 4, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), wherein the locking mechanism (800) further comprises a first end (810), a second end (830) opposed to the first end, a body (820) between the first end and the second end (Fig. 8A), at least a locking mechanism opening (840) formed on the body (800), at least a lock member (850) having a first side (852) and second side (854) movably disposed in the locking mechanism opening (840), at least a pliable diaphragm (860) sealed inside the body.
Regarding claim 5, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), wherein the first end (810) of the locking mechanism (800) is communicated with the first pressure (P1); wherein the second end (830) of the locking mechanism is communicated with the second pressure (P2).
Regarding claim 6, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), wherein the first end (810) of the locking mechanism (800) is communicated with the second pressure (P2); wherein the second end (830) of the locking mechanism is communicated with the third pressure (P3).
Regarding claim 7, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), wherein the first end (810) of the locking mechanism (800) is communicated with the first pressure (P1); wherein the second end (830) of the locking mechanism is communicated with the second pressure (P2); and wherein the second side (854) of the lock member (850) is above the second sealing member (620).
Regarding claim 8, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), wherein the first end (810) of the locking mechanism (800) is communicated with the second pressure (P2); wherein the second end (830) of the locking mechanism (800) is communicated with the third pressure (P3), and wherein the second side (854) of the lock member (850) is below the second sealing member (620).
Regarding claim 9, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), wherein the first end (810) of the locking mechanism (800) is communicated with the second pressure (P2); wherein the second end (830) of the locking mechanism (800) is communicated with the third pressure (P3); and wherein the second side (854) of the lock member (850) is disposed under the second valve seat (110) when the locking mechanism (800) is in a locked status; and wherein the second side (854) of the lock member is away from the second valve seat (110) when the locking mechanism (800) is in an unlocked status.
Regarding claim 10, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), further comprising a pressure indicator (500), wherein the pressure indicator further comprises a pliable diaphragm (520), an opening (Fig. 7) formed on the housing (20), an indicator pin (510) disposed in the opening, wherein the indicator pin (510) can move in the opening, wherein the indicator pin (510) is responsive to a pressure difference applied on the pliable diaphragm (520).
Regarding claim 11, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), further comprising an upper flow passage filter (140) located in the upper flow passage (40) and a lower flow passage filter (120) located in the lower flow passage (60), and wherein the upper flow passage filter and lower flow passage filter have a predetermined sieve size to prevent a plurality of foreign objects from entering the housing (20).
Regarding claim 12, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), wherein the first sealing member (600) further comprises a plurality of protruding members (Fig. 9) extending radially from an outer circumference of the first sealing member (600).
Regarding claim 13, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), wherein the second sealing member (620) further comprises a plurality of protruding members (Fig. 9) extending radially from an outer circumference of the second sealing member (620).
Regarding claim 14, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), wherein the second sealing member (620) further comprises a plurality of protruding members (Fig. 9) extending radially from an outer circumference of the second sealing member (620).
Regarding claim 15, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), wherein the locking mechanism (800) further comprises a first end (810), a second end (830) opposed to the first end, a body (820) between the first end and the second end (Fig. 8), at least a locking mechanism opening (840) formed on the body (820), at least a lock member (850) having a first side (852) and second side (854) movably disposed in the locking mechanism opening (Fig. 7A), at least a pliable diaphragm (860) sealed inside the body (820), wherein the first end of the locking mechanism is communicated with the second pressure (P2); wherein the second end of the locking mechanism (800) is communicated with the third pressure (P3), wherein the first side of the lock member (850) is attached to the pliable diaphragm (860), wherein the second side of the lock member points away from the pliable diaphragm (860), and wherein the second side of the lock member (850) moves under the second valve seat (110) to limit the movement of the second sealing member when the difference between the third pressure and the second pressure exceeds a predetermined value (Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 16, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), wherein the second side of the lock member (850) moves away from under the second valve seat (110) to an unlock status when the difference between the third pressure and the second pressure exceeds a predetermined value (Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 17, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), wherein the locking mechanism (800) further comprises a first end (810), a second end (830) opposed to the first end, a body (820) between the first end and the second end, at least a locking mechanism opening (840) formed on the body (Fig. 7A), at least a lock member (850) having a first side (852) and second side (854) movably disposed in the locking mechanism opening (Fig. 8A), at least a pliable diaphragm (860) sealed inside the body (Fig. 8A), wherein the first end of the locking mechanism (800) is communicated with the first pressure (P1); wherein the second end of the locking mechanism (800) is communicated with the second pressure (P2), wherein the first side of the lock member (850) is attached to the pliable diaphragm (860), wherein the second side of the lock member (850) points away from the pliable diaphragm (860), and wherein the second side of the lock member (850) moves under the first valve seat (100) to limit the movement of the first sealing member when the difference between the second pressure and the first pressure exceeds a predetermined value (Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 18, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), wherein the second side of the lock member (850) moves away from under the first valve seat (100) to an unlock status when the difference between the second pressure and the first pressure exceeds a predetermined value (Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 19, Di Monte discloses the apparatus (Figs. 1-12), wherein the locking mechanism (800) is communicated with the first pressure (P1) and a second pressure (P2).
Conclusion
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753