Specification
The following title is suggested: “SYSTEMS, DEVICES, AND METHODS FOR PERTURBING A BIOSYSTEM TO QUANTIFY RESPONSIVENESS”. The word “pertubing” in the title should be amended to “perturbing”.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification must be amended to include priority information. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in combination with amendments, see Remarks and claims, filed 08/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in further view of the Heruth reference as detailed below.
Since the Heruth reference was not previously presented, the current office action is being mailed as second non-final rejection to allow applicant an opportunity to review the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
US Pat Pub No. 20210016113 to Hunt et al (hereinafter “Hunt”) in view of US 20050216064 to Heruth et al. (hereinafter “Heruth”).
Regarding claim 1. Hunt discloses a system (e.g., para 0025, 0026, 0031) comprising: stimulation circuitry configured to output a plurality of biostimulation signals to a target of a subject (para 0026 “stimulate a target area”, para 0026 “wearable headpiece”); sensor circuitry configured to obtain measures of a biosignal from the subject (para 0027 “sensors”); and processor circuitry (para 0031 “controller 112”) configured to: cause the stimulation circuitry to output the plurality of biostimulation signals [] a biosystem of the subject (para 0026, 0032); and quantify responsiveness of the biosystem [] based on the plurality of biostimulation signals (para 0026 “read out data of measured brain activity in response to the stimulation”) and measures of the biosignal responsive to the plurality of biostimulation signals applied to the target (para 0027, 0034-0036).
Hunt fails to disclose wherein the plurality of biostimulation signals respectively have different values for a stimulation parameter and which are each applied to the target and cause the stimulation circuitry to output the plurality of biostimulation signals to perturb a biosystem of the subject, and quantify responsiveness of the biosystem to the perturbation.
Heruth, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches perturbing at least one therapy parameter value of the baseline therapy parameter set, monitoring a perturbed value of the performance metric in response to the perturbed therapy parameter value, comparing the perturbed value of the performance metric to the value of the performance metric for the baseline therapy parameter set and adjusting the baseline therapy parameter set based on the comparison (para 0008, 0042-0043 claim 4, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Hunt with the teachings of Heruth to provide the predictable result of updating the baseline therapy parameter.
Regarding claim 2. Hunt as modified by Heruth renders obvious the system of claim 1, further including memory circuitry in communication with the processor circuitry (para 0082, 0085) which stores a depository of the plurality of biostimulation signals, wherein each of the plurality of biostimulation signals represent a processed tissue signal as a sequence of at least one state corresponding to a set of state parameters and correlated with causing a particular physiological effect of perturbing the biosystem (para 0023, 0061-0062, etc., using/training the machine learning model would include storing collected data).
Regarding claim 6. Hunt as modified by Heruth renders obvious the system of claim 1, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to quantify the responsiveness of the biosystem for the subject over time and based on feedback, wherein the feedback is selected from at least one of: additional measures of the biosignal, other physiological data, behavioral activity of the subject, environmental activity of the subject, and a combination thereof (para 0033, 0035, 0043, 0078, 0080 “continuous, closed loop”).
Regarding claim 8. Hunt as modified by Heruth renders obvious the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of biostimulation signals include different values for a stimulation parameter, wherein the stimulation parameter is selected from at least one of: pulse frequency, duration, amplitude, duty cycle, pulse width, delivery portal, and a combination thereof (para 0005, 0024, 0032, etc.).
Regarding claim 9. Hunt as modified by Heruth renders obvious the system of claim 1, wherein the processor circuitry includes a machine learning model which is trained using the plurality of biostimulation signals (para 0007, 0023, 0061, fig. 2) and measures of the biosignal to: identify a transfer pattern of stimulation parameters that optimize an effect associated with the biosignal (para 0064, 0066-0072, etc.); and predict the biosignal response and a homeostatic state, wherein the system outputs an indication of the biosignal response and the homeostatic state (para 0064, 0066-0072, “training module 210 allows controller 112 to output complex results”, etc. fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10. Hunt as modified by Heruth renders obvious the system of claim 9, wherein the plurality of biostimulation signals include a plurality of neuromodulation signals applied to a nerve target of the subject (para 0022 “closed loop stimulation of the brain”, brain would include various nerves).
Regarding claim 11. Hunt as modified by Heruth renders obvious the system of claim 1, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to establish a stimulus program that causes the stimulation circuitry to output an additional plurality of biostimulation signals to the subject or other subjects and timing for the additional plurality of biostimulation signals to achieve a goal associated with a homeostatic state (para 0049 discusses controlling stimulation, 0082-0085 discloses the program; the claim does not provide any details regarding the goal associated with a homeostatic; therefore under its broadest reasonable interpretation, any results obtained would read over the claimed limitation as stated).
Regarding claim 12. Hunt as modified by Heruth renders obvious the system of claim 1, wherein the processor circuitry includes a machine learning model (para 0061) which is trained to: identify a first transfer pattern that maps the measures of a second biosignal and the plurality of biostimulation signals; identify a second transfer pattern that maps the measures of the biosignal and the second biosignal; and input the biosignal, as a proxy for the second biosignal, to the machine learning model and to predict an effect of an additional biostimulation signal on the second biosignal (para 0064, 0066-0067 “training model” using various inputs to train the model, “methods can include continuously providing stimulation to a particular area of a subject's brain”).
Regarding claim 13. Hunt discloses a method (e.g., para 0025, 0026, 0031) comprising: applying a plurality of biostimulation signals to a target of a subject to [] a biosystem of the subject (para 0026 “stimulate a target area”, para 0026 “wearable headpiece”, 0032); receiving measures of a biosignal from the subject responsive to the plurality of biostimulation signals applied to the target (para 0027, 0034-0036); and quantifying responsiveness of the biosystem [] based on the plurality of biostimulation signals and the measures of the biosignal (para 0026 “read out data of measured brain activity in response to the stimulation”).
Hunt fails to disclose wherein the plurality of biostimulation signals respectively have different values for a stimulation parameter and which are each applied to the target and cause the stimulation circuitry to output the plurality of biostimulation signals to perturb a biosystem of the subject, and quantify responsiveness of the biosystem to the perturbation.
Heruth, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches perturbing at least one therapy parameter value of the baseline therapy parameter set, monitoring a perturbed value of the performance metric in response to the perturbed therapy parameter value, comparing the perturbed value of the performance metric to the value of the performance metric for the baseline therapy parameter set and adjusting the baseline therapy parameter set based on the comparison (para 0008, 0042-0043 claim 4, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Hunt with the teachings of Heruth to provide the predictable result of updating the baseline therapy parameter.
Regarding claim 16. Hunt as modified by Heruth renders obvious the method of claim 13, further including identifying a transfer pattern of stimulation parameters that optimize an effect associated with the biosignal using a machine learning model which is trained using the plurality of biostimulation signals and the measures of the biosignal (para 0064, 0066-0072, etc.).
Regarding claim 17. Hunt as modified by Heruth renders obvious the method of claim 13, further including downloading the plurality of biostimulation signals from external memory circuitry, wherein each of the plurality of biostimulation signals represent a processed tissue signal as a sequence of at least one state corresponding to a set of state parameters and correlated with causing a particular physiological effect of perturbing the biosystem (para 0023, 0061-0062, etc., using/training the machine learning model would include storing collected data).
Regarding claim 18. Hunt as modified by Heruth renders obvious the method of claim 13, further including receiving baseline measures of the biosignal without biostimulation applied and comparing the baselines measures to the measures of the biosignal responsive to the plurality of biostimulation signals applied to the target to quantify the responsiveness of the biosystem (para 0027, 0034-0036; it is understood that various stimulation could be applied including stimulation having a beat frequency less than 100 Hz, which would include 0).
Regarding claim 19. Hunt as modified by Heruth renders obvious the method of claim 13, further including: receiving measures of a second biosignal from the subject; using a machine learning model to: identify a first transfer pattern that maps the measures of the second biosignal and the plurality of biostimulation signals; and identify a second transfer pattern that maps the measures of the biosignal and the second biosignal; and inputting the biosignal, as a proxy for the second biosignal, to the machine learning model and to predict an effect of an additional biostimulation signal on the second biosignal (para 0064, 0066-0067 “training model” using various inputs to train the model, “methods can include continuously providing stimulation to a particular area of a subject's brain”).
Regarding claim 20. Hunt discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that when executed cause processor circuitry to: cause stimulation circuitry to output a plurality of biostimulation signals to a target of a subject to [] a biosystem of the subject (para 0026 “stimulate a target area”, para 0026 “wearable headpiece”, 0032); receive measures of a biosignal from the subject responsive to the plurality of biostimulation signals (para 0027, 0034-0036); and quantify responsiveness of the biosystem [] based on the plurality of biostimulation signals and the measures of the biosignal responsive to the plurality of biostimulation signals (para 0026 “read out data of measured brain activity in response to the stimulation”).
Hunt fails to disclose wherein the plurality of biostimulation signals respectively have different values for a stimulation parameter and which are each applied to the target and cause the stimulation circuitry to output the plurality of biostimulation signals to perturb a biosystem of the subject, and quantify responsiveness of the biosystem to the perturbation.
Heruth, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches perturbing at least one therapy parameter value of the baseline therapy parameter set, monitoring a perturbed value of the performance metric in response to the perturbed therapy parameter value, comparing the perturbed value of the performance metric to the value of the performance metric for the baseline therapy parameter set and adjusting the baseline therapy parameter set based on the comparison (para 0008, 0042-0043 claim 4, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Hunt with the teachings of Heruth to provide the predictable result of updating the baseline therapy parameter.
Claim(s) 3-5 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt as modified by Heruth as applied to claims above, in view of US Pat Pub No. 20170340881 to Connolly et al. (hereinafter “Connolly”).
Regarding claim 3. Hunt as modified by Heruth renders obvious the system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the processor circuitry is configured to: project the measures of the biosignal received from the sensor circuitry to provide a trajectory along a shape in phase space representing a biosignal cycle of the biosignal; and based on clusters in the trajectory along the shape, quantify the responsiveness of the biosystem to the perturbation.
Connolly, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches providing digital representation of the signals to modify the neuromodulatory signals in the digital domain (para 0120). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Hunt as modified by Heruth with the teachings of Connolly because doing so would provide digital representation of the signals to provide the predictable result of modifying the neuromodulatory signals in the digital domain
Regarding claim 4. Hunt as modified by Heruth and Connolly renders obvious the system of claim 3, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to project the measures of the biosignal received from the sensor circuitry onto a Fourier basis to provide the trajectory along a torus in phase space representing the biosignal cycle of the biosignal (Connolly para 0132, it is noted that “to provide the trajectory along a torus in phase space representing the biosignal cycle of the biosignal” is the result of using the Fourier. Therefore, it is understood that applying Fourier to the signal by the references disclosed, would provide the same result; see MPEP 2143.).
Regarding claim 5. Hunt as modified by Heruth and Connolly renders obvious the system of claim 3, wherein the processor circuitry is configured to output an indication of homeostatic context based on a size and angle of the clusters (Hunt para 0086 “displaying information to the user”; Connolly, para 0097, etc.; It is noted that the claim does not provide any details regarding the “homeostatic context” and how it uses “size and angle of the clusters” in such determination.).
Regarding claim 14. Hunt as modified by Heruth renders obvious the method of claim 13, but fails to disclose wherein quantifying the responsiveness of the biosystem includes: providing a trajectory of the measures of the biosignal along a shape in phase space representing a biosignal cycle of the biosignal; and quantifying the responsiveness of the biosystem to the perturbation based on clusters in the trajectory along the shape.
Connolly, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches providing digital representation of the signals to modify the neuromodulatory signals in the digital domain (para 0120). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Hunt as modified by Heruth with the teachings of Connolly because doing so would provide digital representation of the signals to provide the predictable result of modifying the neuromodulatory signals in the digital domain
Regarding claim 15. Hunt as modified by Heruth and Connolly renders obvious the method of claim 14, wherein quantifying the responsiveness of the biosystem includes: providing the trajectory along a torus in phase space representing the biosignal cycle of the biosignal by projecting the measures of the biosignal onto a Fourier basis; and quantifying the responsiveness of the biosystem to the perturbation based on clusters in the trajectory along the torus (Connolly para 0132, it is noted that “to provide the trajectory along a torus in phase space representing the biosignal cycle of the biosignal” is the result of using the Fourier. Therefore, it is understood that applying Fourier to the signal by the references disclosed, would provide the same result; see MPEP 2143.).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt as modified by Heruth, as applied to claims above, in view of US Pat Pub No. 20040049237 to Larson et al. (hereinafter “Larson”).
Regarding claim 7. Hunt as modified by Heruth renders obvious the system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the processor circuitry is configured to strobe the measures of the biosignal at a particular frequency.
Larson, from a similar field of endeavor teaches that it is known to process the signal by strobing the sensed signal which is equivalent to a downsampling of the continuously moving averaged samples (para 0050). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Hunt as modified by Heruth with the known teachings of Larson to provide the predictable result of downsampling of the continuously moving averaged samples.
Conclusion
/SANA SAHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796