DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially createddoctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent theunjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patentand to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutoryobviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claimsare not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinctfrom the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipatedby, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir.1985); In re Van Omum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign aterminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-20 of instant application 18/810,981 are rejected on the ground ofnon-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 ofUS Patent 12/095,675 B2.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinctfrom each other because claims 1-20 of US Patent 12/095,675 B2 contain the limitations ofclaims 1-20 of the instant application ‘981 and as such the 12/095,675 B2 patent anticipates claims 1-20 of the ‘981 instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 16-20 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goettle (hereinafter “Goe”, US Patent Publication 2020/0244346 A1).
As per claims 1, 20, Goe discloses A computer processing system (100) and method for dynamic bandwidth allocation of a network in a transportation network, the system comprising a processor configured to:
Receive schedule data, wherein the schedule data comprises data defining a plurality of different journeys between an origin and a destination, and data defining an equipment type (paragraphs [0064, 0072], Spot beam coverage region is based on knowledge of flight schedules and aircraft traffic between city pairs. A breakdown of passenger usage determines streaming video to tablets, smartphones, and laptops);
Identify a predetermined event type for each journey based on the schedule data (paragraphs [0064, 0139], Events such as seasonal changes in jet stream, seasonal changes in demand, weather, and communication service transitions are all events and factors that are identified);
Generate a request to change the bandwidth allocation of the network based on the predetermined event type and the equipment type (paragraphs [0076, 0078, 0088]).
As per claim 2, Goe discloses The computer processing system of claim 1, wherein the module is further configured to generate the request in response to identifying the predetermined event type for a particular journey (paragraph [0088]).
As per claim 3, Goe discloses The computer processing system of claim 1, wherein the system further comprises a second module (105) communicatively coupled to the first module (103) and configured to receive the request to change the bandwidth allocation of the network (paragraph [0062]).
As per claim 4, Goe discloses The computer processing system of claim 3, wherein the system further comprises a local access network including one or more control devices (113) communicatively connected to the second module (105) (paragraphs [0070, 0090]).
As per claim 5, Goe discloses The computer processing system of claim 4, wherein the one or more control devices (113) are configured to provide a network connection to a customer via a customer network (115) (paragraph [0059]).
As per claim 6, Goe discloses The computer processing system of claim 1, wherein the module (103) is further configured to identify an amount of data associated with the equipment type for a selected journey (paragraph [0072]).
As per claim 7, Goe discloses The computer processing system of claim 6, wherein the module (103) is further configured to identify a current bandwidth allocation for a customer (paragraph [0072]).
As per claim 8, Goe discloses The computer processing system of claim 7, wherein the module (103) is configured to generate the request based on the amount of data associated with the equipment type for a selected journey and the current bandwidth allocation for the customer (paragraph [0089]).
As per claim 9, Goe discloses The computer processing system of claim 1, wherein the module (103) is further configured to receive updates to the schedule data (paragraphs [0078, 0084]).
As per claim 10, Goe discloses The computer processing system of claim 1, wherein the module (103) further comprises a memory for storing a parsed version of the schedule data (paragraph [0113]).
As per claims 11, Goe discloses The computer processing system of claim 1, wherein the schedule data further comprises data defining an estimated time associated with each of the plurality of journeys (paragraph [0062]).
As per claim 16, Goe discloses The computer processing system of claim 1, wherein the equipment type is an aircraft type (paragraphs [0003, 0093]).
As per claim 17, Goe discloses The computer processing system of claim 1, wherein the journeys are flights (paragraph [0064]).
As per claim 18, Goe discloses The computer processing system of claim 1, wherein the schedule data is flight schedule data (paragraph [0064]).
As per claim 19, Goe discloses The computer processing system of claim 18, wherein the flight schedule data comprises one or more of passenger related information, flight number, flight date, flight status, scheduled arrival time, estimated arrival time scheduled departure time, or estimated departure time (paragraph [0064]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
March 4, 2026
/BARBARA B Anyan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457