DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 29 June 2026 have been considered. However, Sturm, cited on the IDS of 7 July 2026, has resulted in the new grounds of rejection shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (“Zheng”; US 2023/0188021), in view of Sturm et al. (“Sturm”; EP 1 897 209 B1, included on IDS of 7 July 2026, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 1: Zheng discloses a drive unit (Fig. 5) comprising:
a motor (200) including:
a rotor shaft (260) extending along an axis of rotation (Fig. 6),
a stator (210) mounted to the rotor shaft, and a rotor (240) at least partially surrounding the stator (paragraph 0131), the rotor having a rotor core (242), a plurality of magnets (244), and an overmold housing (245) that couples the plurality of magnets to the rotor core (paragraph 0131, Fig. 26, paragraph 0187) to form poles having more than one magnet per pole (paragraph 0119, each magnet has four poles); and
wherein the motor includes a motor fan (248), and
wherein the motor fan couples the rotor to the rotor shaft (via 246, Fig. 5).
Zheng does not explicitly disclose a blower assembly including a plurality of blower fan blades, the blower assembly configured to be driven by the motor.
However, Sturm discloses a blower assembly (4) including a plurality of blower fan blades (12), the blower assembly configured to be driven by the motor (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the motor of Zheng to include the blower of Sturm in order to move more air.
Regarding claim 2: Zheng discloses wherein the motor fan and the overmold housing are molded together (shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3: Zheng discloses the motor fan is an axial fan configured to induce a flow of air from behind the motor fan and is configured to blow the flow of air in a forward direction along the axis of rotation to cool the rotor shaft, the stator, and the rotor (shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5: Zheng modified by Sturm discloses the blower fan, Zheng further discloses the motor includes an end cap (54) that couples the rotor core to the rotor shaft, and wherein the end cap has a plurality of vents (58) such that the blower assembly is configured to induce a flow of air through the plurality of vents for cooling the rotor shaft, the stator, and the rotor (paragraph 0138, when combined with Sturm).
Regarding claim 6: Zheng discloses a rotor shaft, but does not explicitly disclose the blower assembly includes a blower fan and a bushing that is insert molded to the blower fan, and the wherein the bushing is positioned at least partially between the blower fan and the rotor shaft.
However, Sturm discloses the blower assembly includes a blower fan (12) and a bushing (10, shown in Fig. 3) that is insert molded to the blower fan, and the wherein the bushing is positioned at least partially between the blower fan (exterior to 2, Fig. 2) and the rotor shaft (11, interior to 2, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the rotor shaft of Zheng to include the bushing of Sturm in order to ensure the blower fan is attached.
Regarding claim 7: Zheng discloses the rotor shaft but does not explicitly disclose the blower assembly includes a blower fan and a lock ring, and wherein lock ring inhibits the blower fan from moving along the rotor shaft.
However, Sturm discloses the blower assembly includes a blower fan (12, Fig. 3) and a lock ring (50), and wherein lock ring inhibits the blower fan from moving along the rotor shaft (11 as it is attached to the rotor shaft).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the rotor shaft of Zheng to include the lock ring of Sturm in order to ensure the blower fan is attached.
Regarding claim 8: Zheng discloses a drive unit (Fig. 9) comprising:
a motor (200) including:
a rotor shaft (260) extending along an axis of rotation,
a stator (210) mounted to the rotor shaft, and
a rotor (240) at least partially surrounding the stator (paragraph 0131), the rotor configured to be driven by the stator, the rotor coupled to the rotor shaft to drive rotation of the rotor shaft about the axis of rotation (paragraph 0132);
wherein the motor includes a motor fan (248), and
wherein the motor fan couples the rotor to the rotor shaft (via 246, Fig. 5).
Zheng does not explicitly disclose a blower assembly including a plurality of blower fan blades, the blower assembly configured to be driven by the motor.
However, Sturm discloses a blower assembly (4) including a plurality of blower fan blades (12), the blower assembly configured to be driven by the motor (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the motor of Zheng to include the blower of Sturm in order to move more air.
Regarding claim 12: Zheng discloses the rotor includes a rotor core (242), a plurality of magnets (244), and an overmold housing (245) that secures the plurality of magnets relative to the rotor core (paragraph 0187), and wherein the overmold housing defines a plurality of windows (254) adjacent to the plurality of magnets such that at least a portion of each of the plurality of magnets is exposed to the stator (shown in Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 14: Zheng discloses the rotor includes a rotor outer diameter (at 240, Fig. 9); and
all components of the motor are encompassed within the rotor outer diameter (as shown in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 15: Zheng discloses a method of manufacturing a drive unit (Fig. 5), the method comprising:
providing a rotor shaft (260) and a stator (210) mounted to the rotor shaft;
forming a rotor core (242);
positioning the stator within the rotor core after the rotor core is formed (Fig. 5);
attaching the rotor core to the rotor shaft (Fig. 5, paragraph 0132); and
wherein forming the rotor core includes forming a motor fan (248) through overmolding, and
wherein the motor fan couples the rotor to the rotor shaft (via 246, Fig. 5).
Zheng does not explicitly disclose attaching a blower assembly to one of the rotor shaft and the rotor core.
However, Sturm discloses attaching a blower assembly (4) to one of the rotor shaft (11) and the rotor core.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the motor of Zheng to include the blower of Sturm in order to move more air.
Regarding claim 16: Zheng discloses the forming the rotor core includes providing a plurality of laminations (paragraph 0119), each lamination including a protruding part and a gap formed by the protruding part, and wherein the forming the rotor core further includes stacking the plurality of laminations such that the protruding part of each lamination is inserted into the gap of an adjacent lamination to interlock the laminations together (inherent as they must be locked together).
Regarding claim 17: Zheng discloses the forming the rotor core includes overmolding a plurality of magnets (244) onto a body of the rotor core such that an overmold housing (245) is formed and the overmold housing secures the plurality of magnets to relative to the body of the rotor core (shown best in Fig. 26).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng and Sturm, further in view of Kershaw et al. (“Kershaw”; US 5,944,497).
Regarding claim 10: Zheng modified by Sturm discloses the blower fan blades, but does not explicitly disclose the blower fan blades are removable from the outer surface of the motor.
However, Kershaw discloses the blower fan blades (12) are removable from the outer surface of the motor (via 16 and 38, Fig. 2, column 5, lines 19-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the blades of Zheng to be removable, as disclosed by Kershaw, in order to allow for easy replacement.
Regarding claim 11: Zheng and Sturm, modified by Kershaw disclose the blower fan blades are removable; Kershaw further disclose the blower fan blades are attached to the outer surface of the motor with fasteners (38).
Claims 4, 9, 13 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng and Sturm, further in view of Machida et al. (“Machida”; US 2024/0149423).
Regarding claim 4: Zheng discloses the motor fan, but does not explicitly disclose the motor fan is a centrifugal fan configured to induce a flow of air from in front of the motor fan such that the flow of air travels past and cools the rotor shaft, the stator, and the rotor before reaching the motor fan, and wherein the motor fan is configured to exhaust the flow of air radially outward from the motor fan.
However, Machida discloses the motor fan (75a) is a centrifugal fan configured to induce a flow of air from in front of the motor fan such that the flow of air travels past and cools the rotor shaft, the stator, and the rotor before reaching the motor fan, and wherein the motor fan is configured to exhaust the flow of air radially outward from the motor fan (paragraph 0101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the motor fan of Zheng to be a centrifugal fan, as disclosed by Machida, in order to better cool the motor.
Regarding claim 9: Zheng discloses the rotor further includes an overmold housing (245), but does not explicitly disclose the blower fan blades are formed integrally with the overmold housing.
However, Machida discloses the blower fan blades are formed integrally with the overmold housing (in that motor fan blades 75a, and blower fan blades 75b are molded as the same component 75w).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the overmold housing of Zheng to include both the blower fan and motor fan, as disclosed by Machida, in order to provide more air to the motor (paragraph 0100).
Regarding claim 13: Zheng discloses the motor is integrally formed with the overmold housing, but does not explicitly disclose both the motor fan and the blower fan blades are integrally formed with the overmold housing.
However, Machida discloses wherein both the motor fan (75a) and the blower fan blades (75b) are integrally formed (75w).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the overmold housing of Zheng to include both the blower fan and motor fan, as disclosed by Machida, in order to provide more air to the motor (paragraph 0100).
Regarding claim 18: Zheng discloses the forming the rotor core includes forming a fan through overmolding and attaching the fan to the overmold housing (at 245), but Zheng does not explicitly disclose a motor fan, in addition to the blower fan.
However, Machida discloses a blower fan (75b) and a motor fan (75a) molded from the same structure (75w).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the overmold housing of Zheng to include the blower fan and the motor fan, as disclosed by Machida, in order to provide more air to the motor (paragraph 0100).
Regarding claims 19-20: Zheng modified by Machida disclose the motor fan and overmold housing are overmolded, but do not explicitly disclose whether or not it is the same or a separate process.
However, the skilled artisan would find it obvious at the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the same or different process with a reasonable expectation of success as these are the only, finite, options to overmold the components.
Regarding claim 21: Zheng modified by Sturm discloses the forming the rotor core includes forming a fan through overmolding and attaching the fan to the overmold housing (at 245), but Zheng does not explicitly disclose a motor fan, in addition to the blower fan formed during the same process.
However, Machida discloses a blower fan (75b) and a motor fan (75a) molded from the same structure (75w).
And, the skilled artisan would find it obvious at the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the same or different process with a reasonable expectation of success as these are the only, finite, options to overmold the components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the overmold housing of Zheng to include the blower fan and the motor fan, as disclosed by Machida, in order to provide more air to the motor (paragraph 0100).
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 7 July 2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN GUGGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834