Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 04/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ding (CN 116184561).
Regarding claims 1-3, 8 and 13-14, Ding discloses a method of manufacturing an optical fiber (title), the method comprising:
drawing a glass fiber from a glass preform (2) (Fig. 3) that is arranged in a glass furnace (3) (Fig. 3);
drawing the glass fiber (5) out of the glass furnace (Fig. 3) applying a fiber coating (503) to the glass fiber; page 8, paragraph (4-5)
Ding discloses coating the fiber with a fluorine dopant that modifies refractive index (page 7, paragraph 4) the coating having an acrylic base material with a fluorine as a dopant where the fluorine diffuses throughout the base material given the broadest reasonable interpretation
Page 6-7 indicates 502-503 being acrylic ester can be light curing coating, comprising a fluorine-containing acrylic ester monomer and other acrylic ester silicone polyimide polymers comprising fluorine and repeats throughout the translation doping fluorine into the coating or layer on the fiber (see at least claim 7) and Ding states a coating can be one or multiple layers (last paragraph of page 5). Ding discloses light curing an acrylic thus UV cured at least partially.
Thus applying one or more dopants to a base material of the fiber coating to modify a refractive index of the fiber coating.
Regarding claim 4, Ding also suggests the coating comprising chrolrosilane, or chlorine, (page 6; second to last paragraph)
Regarding claim 5, Ding discloses the one or more dopants include at least one of fluorine to decrease the refractive index of the fiber coating (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Ding discloses applying the one or more dopants to the base material of the fiber coating includes mixing the base material with a dopant medium of the one or more dopants to produce a doped base material see claim 1.
Ding discloses applying the fiber coating to the glass fiber includes applying, by a coating machine (601) or applicator, the doped base material to the glass fiber to form a coated glass fiber (Fig 1 and 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not indicate dopants that include at least one of sulfur hexafluoride, silicon tetrafluoride, or titanium tetrachloride in addition to the limitations of claim 1 requiring steps specifically on a glass fiber.
Regarding claims 9 and 11-12 the prior art does not disclose applying the fiber coating to the glass fiber includes applying, by a coating applicator, the base material to the glass fiber to form a coated glass fiber. Therefore the coating being a base material on the fiber and applying the one or more dopants to the base material of the fiber coating includes exposing the coated glass fiber to a gaseous dopant medium such that the one or more dopants diffuse into the base material of the fiber coating of the coated glass fiber and a secondary coating and doping and curing.
Claim 10 is objected to but allowed at least for including all of the limitation of claim 9 and claims 9 depends from.
Conclusion
JODI COHEN FRANKLIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JODI C FRANKLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741