Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claims 15, 26, and 32 recite the limitation “at least one insertion indication…to indicate that the tube has been fully inserted” or “an insertion indication…to indicate when an end of the tube is fully inserted”. Since these claim limitations invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 15, 26, and 32 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Paragraph [0007] recites “one of the main body structure and the tube liner comprises a protrusion, and another of the main body structure and the tube liner comprises a groove configured to receive the protrusion. The audible indication is generated when the groove receives the protrusion once the tube has been fully inserted into the tube fitting.”.
Paragraph [0147] recites “the tube fitting 20 may provide a force indication (which may also be referred to as a tactile indication) that indicates, with a resistive force, that the tube 10 has been fully inserted into the main body structure 30 of the tube fitting 20. Although the force indication is described primarily with reference to FIGS. 7A-12B, other implementations of the tube fitting 20 may include the force indication”.
Paragraph [0167] recites “some implementations of the tube fitting 20 may provide a visual indication that visually indicates once the tube has been fully inserted into the tube fitting 20. Although the visual indication is described with reference to FIGS. 17A-27B, other implementations of the tube fitting 20 may include the visual indication”
According to the specification and to the paragraphs above, the structure of the insertion indication is either an audible sound between a snap-fit of a protrusion and a groove, a tactile indication such as a resistive force that prevents the tube from being pulled out, or a visual indication that the tube is fully inserted.
For purposes of the examination, examiner will interpret “at least one insertion indication…to indicate that the tube has been fully inserted” as “at least one insertion indication as an audible indication, a force indication such as tactile feedback, or a visual indication…to indicate that the tube has been fully inserted”; and
“an insertion indication…to indicate when an end of the tube is fully inserted” as “an insertion indication as an audible indication, a force indication such as tactile feedback, or a visual indication …to indicate when an end of the tube is fully inserted”.
Because these above claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
(1) amend the claim limitations to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or
(2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 23-29, and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wavin B. V. (WO 2009/024787 A1, hereinafter “Wavin”) in view of Usui (US 5,090,748) and further in view of Kluss (US 2011/0025054 A1).
In regard to claim 15, Wavin discloses a tube fitting (Fig. 1 shows a tube fitting at 2) for connection to a tube (Fig. 1, tube 6), the tube fitting comprising:
a main body structure (See image below) configured to receive an end of the tube (Fig. 1 and see image below, the main body structure receives an end of the tube 6) and fluidly connect the tube to another component (Fig. 1 and see image below, the main body structure is at least for connecting tube 6 to another component to define a pipeline system);
a retainer (See image below) positioned around an end of the main body structure (See image below, the retainer is positioned radially over and around an end of the main body structure);
a grab ring (See image below, indicated grab ring) including a ring body (See image below, indicated ring body defines a circumferential portion of the grab ring without the gaps between the teeth) and plurality of axially-inwardly facing teeth that extend radially inwardly from the ring body (See image below, indicated teeth are at least axially-inwardly since they are at an angle relative to a longitudinal axis and extend radially inwardly from the ring body); and
a securing ring (See image below, indicated securing ring) having an integrally formed main body (See image below, indicated main body which can be reasonably interpreted as integrally formed main body of the securing ring) with an outer radial surface and an outer diameter (See image below, indicated outer radial surface which also defines an outer diameter), the outer radial surface of the main body of the securing ring extending from a distal end of the main body of the securing ring and a proximal end of the main body of the securing ring (See image below, indicated outer radial surface extends from a distal end to a proximal end in order to distinctly define the outer radial surface), the securing ring being positioned axially inward from the grab ring (See image below, the securing ring is axially inward of the grab ring in the direction of the pipe insertion), the main body of the securing including an inclined surface opposite the outer radial surface of the main body (See image below, indicated inclined surface is opposite the outer radial surface of the main body), the inclined surface inclined inward (See image below, the indicated main body includes the indicated inclined surface which inclines inward similar to applicant’s invention such that the inclined surface transitions from the main body) and toward a distal end of the main body of the securing ring so as to approximately align with the plurality of axially-inwardly facing teeth of the grab ring (See image below, indicated inclined surface is toward a distal end of the main body of the securing ring and allows for approximately aligning the teeth such that the teeth do not bend beyond the inclined surface);
the main body structure and the retainer are configured such that, when the tube is only partially inserted into the tube fitting, the end of the tube is positioned at a depth that is less than a depth within the tube fitting (Fig. 1 and see image below, the main body structure and the retainer are configured such that prior to full insertion of tube 6, the tube 6 is partially inserted into the tube fitting and positioned at a depth less than a fully inserted depth of the tube); and
wherein, when the tube is fully inserted into the tube fitting, the end of the tube is positioned at the depth within the tube fitting (Fig. 5b shows an example of full insertion of the tube 6) and at least one insertion indication as an audible indication (Figs. 1 and 5a-5b, when protrusion or groove at 32 and 36 snap-fits with protrusion at 17, it provides at least an audible indication of full insertion of the tube 6), a force indication such as tactile feedback (Figs. 1 and 5a-5b, the snap-fit also provides a tactile feedback to the user that the fully insertion state was achieved and the tube 6 being prevented from pulling out also provides a tactile feedback ensuring full assembly), and a visual indication (Figs. 1 and 5a-5b, when the tube 6 is fully inserted and assembled with the fitting, it provides at least a visual indication of the fully inserted state of the tube 6) is provided within the tube fitting to indicate that the tube has been fully inserted into the tube fitting (Figs. 1 and 5a-5b, as previously mentioned, the fitting provides at least an audible indication, a force indication, and a visual indication of the tube 6 fully inserted into the tube fitting).
Wavin does not expressly disclose and the main body structure and the retainer cooperate together to prevent the retainer from freely rotating about the end of the main body structure (Fig. 1 appears to show a snap-fit connection between the retainer and the main body structure, however, does not explicitly show any structure inhibiting rotation between the retainer and the main body structure); and
wherein the ring body of the grab ring and the plurality of axially-inwardly facing teeth of the grab ring are not extended over any portion of the outer radial surface of the main body of the securing ring between the distal end of the main body of the securing ring and the proximal end of the main body of the securing ring.
In the related field of pipe fittings with retainers and a main body structure for receiving a tube, Usui teaches a retainer (Fig. 6, retainer 1) having a plurality of locking claws (Fig. 6, claws 3) which fit in a corresponding locking groove of a main body structure (Figs. 6 and 7, claws 3 fit in corresponding grooves 7 of a main body structure 4) in order to have at least the advantage of a secured connection between the retainer and the main bod structure, allow prevention of unwanted mud, dust, and dirt (In 2:60-68 to 3:1-6 discloses the advantages of the claws of the retainer connecting to the grooves of the main body structure), and an alternative to an embodiment that prevents unwanted rotation (Fig. 7 is an alternative and mechanically equivalent structure to the embodiment shown in Fig. 5 which has a single groove 7 that allows rotation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably suggest the advantage of Fig. 7 relative to Fig. 5 is unwanted rotation between the retainer 1 and main body structure 4, however, if a user wants rotation, then the main body structure 4 can have a single groove 7 instead of a plurality of grooves 7.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connection between the retainer and the main body structure of Wavin to have the retainer with a plurality of claws that connect to corresponding grooves on the main body structure with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a secured connection between the retainer and the main bod structure, allow prevention of unwanted mud, dust, and dirt and an alternative that prevents unwanted rotation as taught by Usui.
With regard to “wherein the ring body of the grab ring and the plurality of axially-inwardly facing teeth of the grab ring are not extended over any portion of the outer radial surface of the main body of the securing ring between the distal end of the main body of the securing ring and the proximal end of the main body of the securing ring”, the claim attempts to distinguish over the grab ring of Wavin because it has a portion of the grab ring that extends over a portion of the securing ring. However, the crux of applicant’s grab ring is a ring that has teeth to grip on an outer surface of an inserted pipe which is the exact same function as performed by the grab ring of Wavin. It would be within one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute known grab rings for one another for at least the advantage of known reliability and commercial availability.
In the related field of tube fittings with grab rings with teeth, Kluss teaches a tube fitting having a securing ring and a grab ring (Fig. 1 shows a tube fitting having a securing ring 25 and a grab ring 18), wherein no portion of the grab ring extends over any portion of the securing ring (Fig. 1, no parts of 18 extends over 25) in order to have at least a known, reliable, and commercially available configuration of a grab ring and a securing ring to grip an inserted tube (Fig. 1, the configuration of 18 and 25 is at least known and reliable as evidenced by Kluss and see https://blog.supplyhouse.com/no-soldering-clamps-or-glue-needed-with-sharkbite-fittings/ and https://www.porterpipe.com/1021586/product/n/generic-10065670 that such type of configuration of grab ring and securing ring is well known and commercially available similar to applicant’s invention).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the configuration of the grab ring and the securing ring of Wavin for the configuration of Kluss such that wherein the ring body of the grab ring and the plurality of axially-inwardly facing teeth of the grab ring are not extended over any portion of the outer radial surface of the main body of the securing ring between the distal end of the main body of the securing ring and the proximal end of the main body of the securing ring with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a known, reliable, and commercially available configuration of a grab ring and a securing ring to grip an inserted tube as taught by Kluss. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) with regard to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In regard to claim 23, Wavin, Usui, and Kluss disclose the tube fitting of claim 15, and Wavin further discloses wherein, when the tube is only partially inserted into the tube fitting, the at least one insertion indication is not performed (Fig. 1, there is at least one position prior to full insertion such that the tube is only partially inserted which does not perform the at least one insertion indication of an audible indication, a force indication, and a visual indication).
In regard to claim 24, Wavin, Usui, and Kluss disclose the tube fitting of claim 15, and Wavin further discloses further comprising a tube liner positioned at least partially within the main body structure (Figs. 1 and 5a, sleeve 4 defines a tube liner positioned at least partially within the main body structure) and configured to extend into the tube (Fig. 1, sleeve 4 is at least partially extended into the tube 6 as shown),
wherein, when the tube is fully inserted into the tube fitting, the main body structure and the tube liner cooperate together to provide an audible indication to indicate that the tube has been fully inserted into the tube fitting (Figs. 1 and 5a-5b, the main body structure can include the bush 12 which cooperate with the tube liner 4 to provide an audible snap-fit between 14 and 36).
In regard to claim 25, Wavin, Usui, and Kluss disclose the tube fitting of claim 24, and Wavin further discloses wherein:
one of the main body structure and the tube liner comprises a protrusion (Figs. 1 and 5a-5b, the main body structure can include the bushing 12 which has a protrusion at 14), and
the other of the main body structure and the tube liner comprises a groove configured to receive the protrusion (Fig. 1, tube liner 4 has a groove 36),
wherein the audible indication is generated when the groove receives the protrusion (Figs. 5a-5b, when 14 snap-fits into 36, it provides at least an audible indication).
In regard to claim 26, Wavin discloses a kit for connecting fluid conduits (Fig. 1 shows various parts that define at least a kit for connecting fluid conduits such as tube 6 to other tubes), the kit comprising:
a tube fitting (Fig. 1, tube fitting 2) having a body assembly (See image below) configured to receive an end of a tube (Fig. 1, end of tube 6) and fluidly connect the tube to another component (Fig. 1, tube fitting 2 fluidly connects tube 6 to other tubes), the tube fitting comprising:
a retainer positioned around an end of the body assembly (See image below);
a seal member positioned at least partially within the body assembly (See image below) and configured to provide a seal with an outer portion of the tube (See image below, the seal member is for contact an outer portion of the tube 6 when inserted to provide a seal);
a grab ring including a ring body and one or more teeth that extend radially inwardly from the ring body (See image above for claim 15, the grab ring has a ring body in which one or more teeth extend radially inwardly from the ring body), the one or more teeth configured to secure the tube (See image below, the grab ring has one or more teeth to secure the tube); and
a protection ring positioned axially between the grab ring and the seal member (See image below, the protection ring is axially between the grab ring and the seal member); wherein, when the tube is fully inserted into the tube fitting, the end of the tube is positioned at a depth within the tube fitting and at least one insertion indication as an audible indication, a force indication such as tactile feedback, or a visual indication is provided within the tube fitting to indicate that the tube has been fully inserted into the tube fitting (See claim 15 above for the same reasons which recites “when the tube is fully inserted…into the tube fitting”), and Wavin in view of Usui disclose the body assembly and the retainer cooperate together to prevent the retainer from freely rotating about the end of the body assembly (See claim 15 above for the same reasons to combine Wavin and Usui); and
Wavin further discloses a tube stiffener (Fig. 1, sleeve 4 defines at least a tube stiffener) configured to extend axially into the tube once the tube is at least partially inserted into the body assembly (Fig. 1, 4 extends axially into tube 6 once 6 is at least partially inserted into the body assembly);
wherein the protection ring has an integrally formed body with an outer radial surface and an outer diameter, the outer radial surface of the body of the protection ring extending from a distal end of the body of the protection ring and a proximal end of the body of the protection ring, wherein the one or more teeth of the grab ring align opposite to the outer radial surface of the protection ring (See claim 15 above for the same reasons and interpreting the securing ring of claim 15 as equivalent with the protection ring of claim 26) and Wavin in view of Usui and Kluss disclose such that the one or more teeth of the grab ring and the ring body of the grab ring are not extended over any portion of the outer radial surface of the body of the protection ring between the distal end of the body of the protection ring and the proximal end of the body of the protection ring (See claim 15 above for the same reasons to combine Wavin, Usui, and Kluss to disclose “one or more teeth…are not extended over any portion of the outer radial surface…of the protection ring”).
In regard to claim 27, Wavin, Usui, and Kluss disclose the kit of claim 26, and Wavin further discloses wherein the at least one insertion indication is an audible indication (See claim 15 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 28, Wavin, Usui, and Kluss disclose the kit of claim 26, and Wavin further discloses wherein the at least one insertion indication is a force indication (See claim 15 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 29, Wavin, Usui, and Kluss disclose the kit of claim 26, and Wavin further discloses wherein the protection ring has an indication member that is visible to provide a visual indication (See image below, indicated indication member is a portion of the protection ring which is at least visible prior to assembly, therefore, prior to assembly, the indicated indication member at least provides a visual indication to a user that it is the surface to be inserted into the body assembly), wherein the indication member is configured to press against an inner surface of the body assembly (See image below, when the indication member is inserted into the body assembly, it at least is configured to press against an inner surface of the body assembly as shown).
In regard to claim 32, Wavin, Usui, and Kluss disclose a tube fitting for connection to a tube, the tube fitting comprising:
a main body structure configured to receive an end of the tube and fluidly connect the tube to another component;
a grab ring including a ring body and one or more teeth that extend radially inwardly from the ring body, the one or more teeth configured to secure the tube; and
a securing ring having an integrally formed main body with an outer radial surface and an outer diameter, the outer radial surface of the main body of the securing ring extending from a distal end of the main body of the securing ring and a proximal end of the main body of the securing ring, the securing ring being positioned axially inward from the grab ring, the main body of the securing ring including an inclined surface opposite the outer radial surface of the main body, the inclined surface inclined inward and toward the distal end of the body of the securing ring so as to approximately align with the one or more teeth, wherein the ring body of the grab ring and the one or more teeth of the grab ring are not extended over any portion of the outer radial surface of the main body of the securing ring between the distal end of the main body of the securing ring and the proximal end of the main body of the securing ring; and
a retainer positioned around an end of the main body structure such that the retainer is prevented from freely rotating about the end of the main body structure;
wherein an insertion indication as an audible indication, a force indication such as tactile feedback, or a visual indication is provided within the tube fitting to indicate when an end of the tube is fully inserted to a depth within the tube fitting (See claims 15 and 26 above that requires the same limitations).
In regard to claim 33, Wavin, Usui, and Kluss disclose the tube fitting of claim 32, wherein the insertion indication is an audible indication (See claim 15 above that requires the same limitations).
In regard to claim 34, Wavin, Usui, and Kluss disclose the tube fitting of claim 32, wherein the insertion indication is a force indication (See claim 15 above that requires the same limitations).
In regard to claim 35, Wavin, Usui, and Kluss disclose the tube fitting of claim 32, wherein the insertion indication is a visual indication (See claim 15 above that requires the same limitations).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wavin (WO 2009/024787 A1) in view of Usui (US 5,090,748) and Kluss (US 2011/0025054 A1) and further in view of Kluss et al. (US 2011/0140417 A1, hereinafter “Kluss ‘417”).
Wavin, Usui, and Kluss disclose the kit of claim 26, and Wavin further discloses further comprising a demount ring (Fig. 1, demount ring at 19) movable in a concealed position in which the demount ring is positioned completely within the body assembly (Fig. 1, 19 is movable to push against the teeth of the grab ring for releasing the tube 6 and concealed completely within the body assembly) and
Wavin, Usui, and Kluss do not expressly disclose an exposed position in which the demount ring is positioned partially outside of the body assembly.
In the related field of push-fit pipe couplings, Kluss ‘417 teaches a push-fit pipe coupling (Fig. 4 shows a push-fit pipe coupling) having a demount member (Fig. 4, demount member 53) that in an exposed position (Fig. 4 shows an exposed position), the demount member is positioned partially outside of the push-fit pipe coupling (Fig. 4 shows the exposed position where the grab ring 52 grips onto pipe 55 as 55 is pulled axially outward which partially exposes the demount member as shown) which would at least allow the advantage of a user from outside to visibly indicate the demount member to be in the correct position.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the demount member of Wavin in view of Usui and Kluss to have a portion of the demount member extend partially outside of the retainer sleeve to define an exposed position with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of visibly indicating correct position of the demount member as taught by Kluss ‘417.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 36 and 37 are allowed.
Claims 16-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/25/2026 have been fully considered with respect to claims 15, 26, and 32 but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same references applied in the prior rejection of record for all teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See the updated rejection that includes the prior art Kluss that teaches a configuration of a grab ring that does not extend over a securing ring and such a configuration is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art and commercially available.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679