CTNF 18/811,023 CTNF 93915 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP §§ 706.02(l)(1) - 706.02(l)(3) for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp. 08-34 AIA Claim s 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,064,622 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the examined claims 21-40 would have been obvious over the reference claims 1-11 . Regarding claim 21, Patent ‘076 claims an apparatus for treating tissue, comprising: a tube including: a slot extending longitudinally along a first side of the tube, a first jaw member on a first side of the slot, and a second jaw member on a second side of the slot; and a shaft coupled to the tube along a second side of the tube, wherein the first jaw member is movably coupled to the shaft, such that the first jaw member is movable toward the second jaw member to converge tissue within the slot and cut the tissue within the slot; a first strip coupled to the first jaw member, the first strip including a first engaging surface defining the first side of the slot; a second strip coupled to the second jaw member, the second strip including a second engaging surface defining the second side of the slot, wherein the first strip is detachable from the first jaw member, and the second strip is detachable from the second jaw member; wherein the tube is extendable in a proximal or distal direction along a central longitudinal axis of the tube (see reference claim 1). Regarding claim 22, Patent ‘076 claims wherein the first strip includes a protrusion protruding from the first engaging surface (see reference claim 2). Regarding claim 23, Patent ‘076 claims wherein the protrusion includes at least one sharp edge configured to cut tissue (see reference claim 2). Regarding claim 24, Patent ‘076 claims wherein the second strip includes a recess shaped and sized to receive the protrusion (see reference claim 2). Regarding claim 25, Patent ‘076 claims wherein a length of the protrusion is equal to a length of the first strip, and a length of the recess is equal to a length of the second strip (see reference claim 3). Regarding claim 26, Patent ‘076 claims wherein the length of the first strip is equal to a length of the first jaw member, the length of the second strip is equal to a length of the second jaw member, the first jaw member is curved towards the second jaw member, and the second jaw member is curved towards the first jaw member (see reference claim 4). Regarding claim 27, Patent ‘076 claims wherein the tube is deflectable from a straight configuration to a curved configuration (see reference claim 5). Regarding claim 28, Patent ‘076 claims wherein at least one of the first jaw member and the second jaw member includes an electrode (see reference claim 6). Regarding claim 29, Patent ‘076 claims at least one grasping assembly, wherein the grasping assembly includes a base coupled to the shaft, a grasping element, and a strand extending between the base and the grasping element, and the grasping element is configured for deployment via pressurized gas from the base through the slot (see reference claim 7). Regarding claim 30, Patent ‘076 claims wherein the grasping element is configured to move radially outward from the shaft during deployment (see reference claim 7). Regarding claim 31, Patent ‘076 claims at least one of a nozzle configured to deploy magnetic paint, and a magnet on an interior surface of the tube (see reference claim 8). Regarding claim 32, Patent ‘076 claims wherein the first jaw member includes a plurality of curved, rigid support members extending radially-outward from a longitudinal axis of the shaft, and a sleeve supported by the plurality of support members (see reference claim 9). Regarding claim 33, Patent ‘076 claims wherein each of the plurality of curved, rigid support members is longitudinally spaced from at least one other curved, rigid support member of the plurality of curved, rigid support members in the extended configuration (see reference claim 9). Regarding claim 34, Patent ‘076 claims wherein the first jaw member and the second jaw member are configured to retract into the shaft (see reference claim 1). Regarding claim 35, Patent ‘076 claims wherein retracting the first jaw member and the second jaw member into the shaft transition the tube from a first configuration to a second configuration, wherein the second configuration has a smaller cross-sectional area than the first configuration (see reference claim 1). Regarding claim 36, Patent ‘076 claims an apparatus for treating tissue, comprising: a tubular member including: an opening extending longitudinally along a first side of the tubular member, a curved first side portion extending circumferentially about a central longitudinal axis of the tubular member and having a detachable first engaging surface, wherein the detachable first engaging surface extends along a first side of the opening, and a curved second side portion extending circumferentially about a central longitudinal axis of the tubular member and having a detachable second engaging surface, wherein the detachable second engaging surface extends along a second side of the opening; and a shaft coupled to the tubular member at a second side of the tubular member, wherein the first side portion is movably coupled to the shaft, such that the first side portion is movable toward the second side portion to move the detachable first engaging surface toward the detachable second engaging surface to converge tissue, and cut the tissue, and wherein a protrusion is fixed to and immovably coupled to the detachable first engaging surface, and the detachable second engaging surface includes a recess complementary to the protrusion (see reference claims 1 and 10). Regarding claim 37, Patent ‘076 claims wherein a length of the protrusion is equal to a length of the detachable first engaging surface, and wherein a length of the recess is equal to a length of the detachable second engaging surface (see reference claims 1 and 10). Regarding claim 38, Patent ‘076 claims wherein the first side portion and the second side portion are configured to retract into the tubular member, wherein retracting the first side portion and the second side portion into the tubular member transitions the tubular member from a first configuration to a second configuration, wherein the second configuration has a smaller cross-sectional area than the first configuration (see reference claims 1 and 10). Regarding claim 39, Patent ‘076 claims an apparatus for treating tissue, comprising: a tube including: a slot extending longitudinally along a first side of the tube, a first arcuate jaw member on a first side of the slot including a first engaging surface, and a second arcuate jaw member on a second side of the slot including a second engaging surface; a shaft coupled to the tube along a second side of the tube, wherein the first arcuate jaw member is movably coupled to the shaft, such that the first arcuate jaw member is movable toward the second arcuate jaw member to converge tissue within the slot between the first engaging surface and the second engaging surface, and a grasping assembly including: a connecting base coupled to the tube; a grasping element configured to be propelled as a projectile into a portion of tissue; and a strand coupled to both the connecting base and the grasping element, wherein proximal movement of the strand causes the grasping element and the tissue to move towards the connecting base (see reference claims 1, 7, and 10). Regarding claim 40, Patent ‘076 claims a first strip coupled to the first jaw arcuate member, the first strip including the first engaging surface defining the first side of the slot; a second strip coupled to the second arcuate jaw member, the second strip including the second engaging surface defining the second side of the slot, wherein the first strip and the first engaging surface are detachable from the first arcuate jaw member, and the second strip and the second engaging surface are detachable from the second arcuate jaw member (see reference claims 1 and 10-11). Therefore, examined claims 21-40 are not patentably distinct from reference claims 1-11 of Patent ‘076. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 21-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Schulze (US Pat No. 5599350) . Regarding claim 21, Schulze discloses (Figures 1-7) an apparatus (10) for treating tissue, comprising: a tube (elements 16 and 17 form a tube) including: a slot (43) extending longitudinally along a first side of the tube, a first jaw member (16) on a first side of the slot (43), and a second jaw member (17) on a second side of the slot (43); and a shaft (15) coupled to the tube along a second side of the tube, wherein the first jaw member (16) is movably coupled to the shaft (15), such that the first jaw member (16) is movable toward the second jaw member (17) to converge tissue within the slot (43) and cut the tissue within the slot (43); a first strip (47) coupled to the first jaw member (16), the first strip (47) including a first engaging surface (18) defining the first side of the slot (43); and a second strip (48) coupled to the second jaw member (17), the second strip (48) including a second engaging surface (19) defining the second side of the slot (43), wherein the first strip (47) is detachable from the first jaw member (16), and the second strip (48) is detachable from the second jaw member (17), (Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18: the strips 47/48 are separate elements from the jaw members 16/17 so they are detachable during the manufacturing process; the strips are also permanently detachable from the respective jaw members after the manufacturing process); wherein the tube (elements 16 and 17 forming a tube) is extendable in a proximal or distal direction along a central longitudinal axis of the tube (elements 16 and 17 forming a tube), (as shown in Figures 4-5), (Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18). Regarding claim 22, Schulze further discloses that the first strip (47) includes a protrusion (22) protruding from the first engaging surface (18), (Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18). Regarding claim 23, Schulze further discloses that the protrusion (22) includes at least one sharp edge (25, 26) configured to cut tissue, (Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18). Regarding claim 24, Schulze further discloses that the second strip (48) includes a recess (43) shaped and sized to receive the protrusion (22), (Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18). Regarding claim 25, Schulze further discloses that a length of the protrusion (22) is equal to a length of the first strip (47), and a length of the recess (43) is equal to a length of the second strip (48), (Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18). Regarding claim 26, Schulze further discloses that the length of the first strip (47) is equal to a length of the first jaw member (16), the length of the second strip (48) is equal to a length of the second jaw member (17), the first jaw member (16) is curved towards the second jaw member (17), and the second jaw member (17) is curved towards the first jaw member (16), (Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18). Regarding claim 28, Schulze further discloses that at least one of the first jaw member (16) and the second jaw member (17) includes an electrode (33, 34), (Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulze, as applied to claim 21, and further in view of Ortiz (US Pat No. 7779845) . Regarding claim 27, Schulze discloses the apparatus of claim 21, but does not disclose wherein the tube is deflectable from a straight configuration to a curved configuration. However, Ortiz discloses an elongate tube is deflectable from a straight configuration (Fig6) to a curved configuration (Fig 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration of the tube as disclosed by Ortiz with the tube of Schulze. Such a combination is advantageous because it is easier to insert the device into the body lumen in a straight configuration while the curved configuration allows for additional accessibility to reach tissue that are hard to reach with a straight tube. In addition, having one tube that can be deflectable from straight configuration to a curved configuration allows for the use of one tube instead of different tubes increasing the efficiency of the medical procedure . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 29-30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulze, as applied to claim 21, and further in view of Saadat (US Pat No. 7361180) and Shelton (US Pat. Pub. No. 20080029574) . Regarding claims 29-30, Schulze discloses the apparatus of claim 21, further including a base coupled to the shaft, and a tissue contacting element that is configured to move radially outward from the shaft during deployment (Schulze; Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18), but as modified does not disclose wherein a grasping assembly includes a base coupled to the shaft, a grasping element and a strand extending between the base and the grasping element, and the grasping element is configured for deployment via pressurized gas from the base through the slot, wherein the grasping element is configured to move radially outward from the shaft during deployment. However, Saadat discloses in an analogous device (Fig 2B, 14), further including at least one grasping element, wherein the grasping element includes a base (12), a grasping element (30), and a strand extending between the base and the grasping element, and the grasping element is configured for deployment from the base through the slot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the grasping assembly as disclosed by Saadat with the apparatus with a base coupled to the shaft and a tissue contacting element that is configured to move radially outward from the shaft during deployment as disclosed by Schulze. Such a combination is advantageous because grasping element ensures proper acquisition of target area to be captured and cut. Shelton discloses a surgical cutting device that is configured for deployment via pressurized gas (Par. 162 Continued application of pressurized gas to the first cylinder area 515 and the third cylinder area 532 causes the knife assembly 30 to be fully extended through the end effector 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a surgical cutting device that is configured for deployment via pressurized gas as disclosed by Shelton with the apparatus with the grasping element is configured for deployment from the base through the slot as disclosed by Schulze/Saadat for the purpose of more precisely controlling the firing of the grasping element with a certain amount of force to ensure the effectiveness of the grasping element rather than manually controlling the grasping element . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 31 and 34-35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulze, as applied to claim 21, and further in view of Saadat (US Pat No. 7361180) . Regarding claim 31, Schulze discloses the apparatus of claim 21 but does not disclose further including at least one of a nozzle configured to deploy magnetic paint, and a magnet on an interior surface of the tube. However, Sadaat discloses a locking mechanism with magnets comprising ferromagnetic materials on the end of the anchors (See [0261]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Saadat about the use of magnet as a locking mechanism with the apparatus of Schulze/Allen. Magnets are widely used in the art as a locking feature used in forceps, clamps, etc. Use of magnet in one strip and materials that are magnetically attracted on the second strip assists in compressing the jaws of the device along their length, assuring good contact with the tissue along the length of the jaws. Regarding claim 34, Schulze further discloses that the first jaw member (16) and the second jaw member (17) are configured to retract into the shaft (15), (Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18). Regarding claim 35, Schulze further discloses that retracting the first jaw member (16) and the second jaw member (17) into the shaft (15) transition the tube from a first (extended) configuration to a second (retracted) configuration, wherein the second (retracted) configuration has a smaller cross-sectional area than the first (extended) configuration (Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 32-33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulze, as applied to claim 21, and further in view of Errico (US Pat. No. 8574184) . Regarding claims 32-33, Schulze discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the first jaw member includes a plurality of support members (Fig 5, 1350), and a sleeve supported by the plurality of support members (covering 1350), but does not disclose wherein the first jaw member includes a plurality of curved, rigid support members, and extending radially outward from the longitudinal axis of the shaft, wherein each of the plurality of curved, rigid support members is longitudinally spaced from at least one other curved, rigid support member of the plurality of curved, rigid support members in the extended configuration However, Errico discloses a support member that is curved, rigid and extends radially- outward from a longitudinal axis (Fig. 3, ref char 110; central support ring 110). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a support member that is curved, rigid and extends radially outward from a longitudinal axis as disclosed by Errico with the apparatus with jaw members that pivot around a shaft and that include a plurality of support members as disclosed by Schulze/Allen for the purpose of providing structural support to the jaw members during use. Furthermore, in the modified device, the curved, rigid support members would be longitudinally spaced apart from one another as the plurality of support members (1350) of Schulze are . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulze in view of Kimura, (US 20080015567) . Regarding claim 36, Schulze discloses (Figures 1-7) an apparatus (10) for treating tissue, comprising: a tubular member (elements 16 and 17 form a tube) including: an opening (43) extending longitudinally along a first side of the tubular member, a curved first side portion (16) extending circumferentially about a central longitudinal axis of the tubular member and having a detachable first engaging surface (47), wherein the detachable first engaging surface (47) extends along a first side of the opening (43), and a curved second side portion (17) extending circumferentially about a central longitudinal axis of the tubular member and having a detachable second engaging-5-Application No.: 15/606,520 Attorney Docket No.: 06530-0767-01000surface (48), wherein the detachable second engaging surface (48) extends along a second side of the opening (43); and a shaft (15) coupled to the tubular member at a second side of the tubular member, wherein the first side portion (16) is movably coupled to the shaft (15), such that the first side portion (16) is movable toward the second side portion (17) to move the detachable first engaging surface (47) toward the detachable second engaging surface (48) to converge tissue, and cut the tissue; and including a protrusion (22), and the detachable second engaging surface (48) includes a recess (portion of 43 in jaw member 17) complementary to the protrusion (22), (Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18). Schulze fails to disclose that the protrusion is fixed to and immovably coupled to the detachable first engaging surface. However, Kimura teaches (Figure 12) an apparatus for treating tissue, the apparatus comprising a protrusion (36) which is fixed to and immovably coupled to a detachable first engaging surface (25A), ([0118], [0169]-[0170]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schulze to include the protrusion fixed to and immovably coupled to the detachable first engaging surface, as taught by Kimura, because the modification would provide proper grip on the tissue while treating/cutting (Kimura; [0169]-[0170]). Regarding claim 37, Schulze further discloses that a length of the protrusion (22) is equal to the length of the detachable first engaging surface (47); and wherein a length of the recess (portion of 43 in jaw member 17) is equal to a length of the detachable second engaging surface (48), (Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18). Regarding claim 38, Schulze further discloses that the first side portion (16) and the second side portion (17) are configured to retract into the tubular member (15), (as the portions 16/17 are retracted, they are retracted into the shape of the tubular member), wherein retracting the first side portion (16) and the second side portion (17) into the tubular member transitions the tubular member (elements 16 and 17 forming the tube) from a first (extended) configuration to a second (retracted) configuration, wherein the second (retracted0 configuration has a smaller cross-sectional area than the first (extended) configuration (Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulze in view of Saadat . Regarding claim 39, Schulze discloses (Figures 1-7) an apparatus (10) for treating tissue, comprising: a tube (elements 16 and 17 form a tube) including: a slot (43) extending longitudinally along a first side of the tube, a first arcuate jaw member (16) on a first side of the slot including a first engaging surface (18), and a second arcuate jaw member (17) on a second side of the slot including a second engaging surface (19); a shaft (15) coupled to the tube along a second side of the tube, wherein the first arcuate jaw member (16) is movably coupled to the shaft (15), such that the first arcuate jaw member (16) is movable toward the second arcuate jaw member (17) to converge tissue within the slot between the first engaging surface (18) and the second engaging surface (19), (Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18). Schulze further discloses a connecting base coupled to the tube through the shaft (15), and a tissue contacting element that is configured to move radially outward from the shaft during deployment (Schulze; Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18), but does not disclose wherein a grasping assembly including a base coupled to the shaft, a grasping element and a strand coupled to both the base and the grasping element, and the grasping element configured to be propelled as a projectile into a portion of tissue, wherein the grasping element is configured to move radially outward from the shaft during deployment, and wherein proximal movement of the strand causes the grasping element and the tissue to move towards the connecting base. However, Saadat discloses in an analogous device (Fig 2B, 14), further including at least one grasping element, wherein the grasping element includes a base (12), a grasping element (30), and a strand extending between the base and the grasping element, and the grasping element is configured for deployment from the base through the slot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the grasping assembly as disclosed by Saadat with the apparatus with a base coupled to the shaft and a tissue contacting element that is configured to move radially outward from the shaft during deployment as disclosed by Schulze. Such a combination is advantageous because grasping element ensures proper acquisition of target area to be captured and cut. Shelton discloses a surgical cutting device that is configured for deployment via pressurized gas to be propelled as a projectile into a portion of tissue (Par. 162 Continued application of pressurized gas to the first cylinder area 515 and the third cylinder area 532 causes the knife assembly 30 to be fully extended through the end effector 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a surgical cutting device that is configured for deployment via pressurized gas as disclosed by Shelton with the apparatus with the grasping element is configured for deployment from the base through the slot as disclosed by Schulze/Saadat for the purpose of more precisely controlling the firing of the grasping element with a certain amount of force to ensure the effectiveness of the grasping element rather than manually controlling the grasping element. Regarding claim 40, Schulze further discloses (Figures 1-7) a first strip (47) coupled to the first jaw member (16), the first strip (47) including the first engaging surface (18) defining the first side of the slot (43); a second strip (48) coupled to the second jaw member (17), the second strip (48) including the second engaging surface (19) defining the second side of the slot (43), wherein the first strip (47) and the first engaging surface (18) are detachable from the first jaw member (16), and the second strip (48) and the second engaging surface (19) are detachable from the second jaw member (17), (Col. 3, line 13 – Col. 4, line 18: the strips 47/48 and corresponding surfaces 18/19 are separate elements from the jaw members 16/17 so they are detachable during the manufacturing process; the strips are also permanently detachable from the respective jaw members after the manufacturing process). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CATHERINE PREMRAJ whose telephone number is (571)272-8013. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Stoklosa can be reached at 571-272-1213. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /C.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3794 /EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 2 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 3 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 4 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 5 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 6 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 7 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 8 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 9 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 10 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 11 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 12 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 13 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 14 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 15 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 16 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 17 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/811,023 Page 18 Art Unit: 3794